Fallout: New Vegas PC

Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2913 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 542
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    One of the best games available from Bethesda, it has a lot of back story and a beautiful symphony of characters and story. Over all FalloutOne of the best games available from Bethesda, it has a lot of back story and a beautiful symphony of characters and story. Over all Fallout 3's story was better, but New Vegas's is not bad, and has a better combat system, great game, gamers from every genre will find something in this game. Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    one of the best games ever if it wernet for the bugs it be perfect its not about the shootings its more about how you want to play its likeone of the best games ever if it wernet for the bugs it be perfect its not about the shootings its more about how you want to play its like your world recommend for evreyone to play Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2016
    9
    After Fallout 3 i was not sure if ever a 3d first/third person design might be able to give me again the same deep rpg experience theAfter Fallout 3 i was not sure if ever a 3d first/third person design might be able to give me again the same deep rpg experience the "classic" isometric Fallout 1 and 2 gave me. Don´t misunderstand me, Fallout 3 had a really great world and item design that instantly was able to pull me into this hypothetical universe, but it somehow lacked on the kind and ammount of quest connections as the previous fallouts did it.

    Well, i was wrong with my fear, obsidian did a great job on this.

    As always i will talk about the for everyone visible things. The graphics and designs fit for the fallout universe and look, well, ok is the best i might say. I am only evaluating the basic maingame and not any mods here so the graphics of fallout new vegas already looked outdated when the game got released. Textures are low res and everything looks a bit "wishy washy". Beside that - compared to other fallouts - the world looks partially a bit empty, lots of flat empty spaces or whide areas where nearly...nothing is. The rest of the world design reminds a bit more of a "mad max" movie then a fallout design, but thats just personal taste aspects and i won´t weight that in any way. Shooting and aiming feels sluggish if you don´t use the v.a.t.s. - but at last it´s an rpg and not a shooter.

    So now we know how the meal looks, let´s check the taste.

    Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas still share a skill and perk system. In new vegas a lot of unpopular perks got changed or even exchanged to more fitting or community requested ones. The system is lend from the original fallouts and not that way hard to get through as most perks and their relations are visible offering a nice rpg experience to build your personal type of character. Prefer shooting through enemy lines or do you like sneaking? Or are you the talking toaster convincing everyone with your words of mouth? All possible.

    The mainstory at first looks a bit flat, but after some hours of gameplay it expands into a spiderweb of sub-(more or less)related quests given by all types of npc that will route you all over the map to a lot of locations to explore. There is always something to do and nearly never anything repeats. The game nearly never leaves you stand in the middle of the mojave without knowing where to go next.

    The equipment (weapons, armor) consist of the same from fallout 3 and additional a lot of missing stuff from the original games. Special/unique equipment is well hidden and in nearly every location something interesting can be found so exploration by quest or on your own hand gets always rewarded with something.

    Fallout New Vegas is by far till now (i already played F4) the only third person offspring that is able to deliver the most close deep experience the original fallouts gave the players.

    I still give it a 9, the worst thing are the graphics but the title is from 2010 and in a true rpg graphics are always at a lower rating position then the rpg experience itself.
    Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    Better world and story than Fallout 3, but still carries over as many glitches and bugs. The day Bethesda can release a bug free game is theyBetter world and story than Fallout 3, but still carries over as many glitches and bugs. The day Bethesda can release a bug free game is they day they deserve a 10/10. Which has never happened, ever.
    This game should have been a 10/10. But the lame excuse that your game is too big to fully polish once again gets your game slapped down the few it could have had.
    Your ideas are genious, Bethesda. But your follow through is balls.
    Expand
  6. Dec 16, 2010
    8
    This Game has gotten a mixed comment with me. It is a typical FALLOUT game, and a such has a great reception with me. The bugs aren'tThis Game has gotten a mixed comment with me. It is a typical FALLOUT game, and a such has a great reception with me. The bugs aren't noteworthy as STEAM sorts them all out and i haven't encountered any. The fact that there is no play without Internet is bad, but the additions and all the faithful exploring makes me glad that this game was brought to the public as it is one great RPG. Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2012
    0
    Bethesda is now infamous for its laggy, buggy, and glitchy games. Fallout: New Vegas is no exception and continues in the proud tradition ofBethesda is now infamous for its laggy, buggy, and glitchy games. Fallout: New Vegas is no exception and continues in the proud tradition of making a mockery of customers by charging $60 for a broken piece of plastic garbage.

    Now, is it fun? I suppose it is some fun in the traditional fallout sense.

    Admittedly most bugs, glitches, and lags aren't quite game-breakers. However, the save-game file sizes and the constant need to turn the PS3 on and off just isn't worth the hassle.

    Will Bethesda ever patch up the thing, though? I doubt it. One needs only take a look at Bethesda's record of shoddy patching.

    Bethesda's quality control borders on the criminal.

    Now, I know people vary wildly in personal opinion and expectations of the game, but the fact that this piece of garbage got 7.9 is nothing less than a conspiracy on the part of critics and if not, Bethesda lied to EVERYONE.
    Expand

See all 542 User Reviews