User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 641 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 641

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    This game is over the top in all of the right ways. It's very similar to Far Cry 3 as far as its mechanics and systems go. However, it contains a lot more humor and creativity than the "AAA" experience you get from Far Cry 3. Buy this game. It's cheap and it's great. Enough said.
  2. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    blood dragon takes the great game play of Far Cry 3 and adds to it a really funny humorous dialogue there is not much story in it but the fun and humor will make you laugh so hard and it isn't short it will take 7 hours to complete so it's definitely worth playing
  3. Xon
    Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Thank God for this game that is all about having FUN. The game doesn't take itself too serisouly, perhaps it could've to make it funnier, but everything is tongue-in-the-cheek.
    The game is polished and easy to get into, the graphics unique and it is a mind-bending companion piece to FarCry 3.
    Cheep and cheerful all round.
  4. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is maybe the best DLC of 2013. It is funny as hell and has many allusions of movies from the late 70s, 80s and early 90s. In keeping with the setting the graphics are neon-flooded, you may like it, but also you may not. Generally the game is pretty easy, just because you are a damn Cyborg-Human and you are saving the world. The world is not that open as in Far CryFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon is maybe the best DLC of 2013. It is funny as hell and has many allusions of movies from the late 70s, 80s and early 90s. In keeping with the setting the graphics are neon-flooded, you may like it, but also you may not. Generally the game is pretty easy, just because you are a damn Cyborg-Human and you are saving the world. The world is not that open as in Far Cry 3 and the enemies are really dumb. The game is a really funny, 5 hours, shooter. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    So much fun. The graphic style is very nice, i didnt find bugs yet and its a lot of fun. I never played a classical FarCry Game but this is not necessary at all. It is a game for fun and depending on the differculty you choose it isnt so easy. I really like it. Just UPlay is a bit unnecssary... (i bought it on steam)
  6. Jul 27, 2013
    5
    The trailer accurately shows off the main drawcard of this game- the cheesy homage to 1970s-80s action sci-fi genre. Had the plot paid this homage with wit and satire this may have been more interesting- instead it is a montage of predictable cliche that quickly wears thin faster than the recycled wisecracks uttered by your hero.

    But what about the gameplay? Well it's dull. The
    The trailer accurately shows off the main drawcard of this game- the cheesy homage to 1970s-80s action sci-fi genre. Had the plot paid this homage with wit and satire this may have been more interesting- instead it is a montage of predictable cliche that quickly wears thin faster than the recycled wisecracks uttered by your hero.

    But what about the gameplay?

    Well it's dull. The hardest difficulty truly is laughably easy for even the most casual FPS gamer and the main campaign can be completed in a couple of hours. This lack of content is filled by an "open-world" approach. Unfortunately this open world is distinguished by repetitive terrain (exposed hills, windy roads, water) with repetitive side missions (2 types- save hostage or kill animal) and repetitive enemies (6 types; blood dragon cyborg with either pistol, submachine gun, minigun, flamer, or molotov) on an unimaginative map (island with 4 identical sectors). Supposedly adding more depth to this is a collectible system where those with a completionist streak must wander the landscape one-shotting animals, and picking up TVs, notepads, VHS tapes etc. Collectibles and side mission will grant you access to weapon upgrades which will increase their power. These enhancements are superfluous for progressing the main story and entirely unnecessary for it's completion in the late stage- I'm avoiding the use of spoilers here but I mean "unnecessary" in the most literal sense possible. Finally if you thought the final boss in Aliens: Colonial Marines was an epic disappointment then you'll be even more surprised by this one!

    Essentially this game plays like an ambitious mod by a small team. But such mods are meant as fun, and temporary, distractions from a bigger game. If you are looking for such a distraction, and are intrigued by the setting, then you may find Blood Dragon worthwhile for a few dollars on sale- just do not expect to find a complete and engrossing game. Personally, however, I believe better value can be found from among Steam's Indie selections.
    Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    6
    Pomysł fajny, klimat fajny, szkoda tylko że Ubi wpakowało tak niepasujący dodatek do całkowicie innego Far Cry 3. Jest mi niezmiernie smutno, że Ubisoft nie mógł zrobić tego dodatku jako oddzielnej gry. Kupując Far Cry 3 nie spodziewałem się że dostanę tak niepasujące dodatki do niego. Sam dodatek to też nie ideał. Nie ma tutaj ciekawych pomysłów na misję, większości misji to osłaniaj,Pomysł fajny, klimat fajny, szkoda tylko że Ubi wpakowało tak niepasujący dodatek do całkowicie innego Far Cry 3. Jest mi niezmiernie smutno, że Ubisoft nie mógł zrobić tego dodatku jako oddzielnej gry. Kupując Far Cry 3 nie spodziewałem się że dostanę tak niepasujące dodatki do niego. Sam dodatek to też nie ideał. Nie ma tutaj ciekawych pomysłów na misję, większości misji to osłaniaj, zabij. Nie wykorzystano tutaj tego potencjału co pokazał nam zwykły Far Cry. Nie mówiąc już o niedopracowaniach i bugach które podążają za nami przez całą grę. Oczywiście, nie jest tak źle. Klimat jak i fabuła to coś na co Ubioft postawił najbardziej. Szkoda jednak że potencjał fabuły pokazuje się najbardziej pod koniec dodatku i szybko się kończy. Myślę że gdyby Ubi zależało na specyficznym futurystycznym klimacie, bardziej, zobaczyli byśmy coś o wiele lepszego.Sorki, jednak nie tego oczekiwałem. Moja ocena 6/10 Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    I thought Far Cry 3 was mediocre and boring, but this? This... is just fun as hell, as well as cheap. Well worth the price. Buy it if you're looking for a zany shooter.
  9. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    An okay game that's all. The developers seem to think that the deliberately cheesy plot and OTT weapons are very clever and original but, to be honest, they wear a little thin and both Serious Sam and Bulletstorm got there first and did it much better. It is a sandbox shooter where those other games are much more linear. However, as with many sandbox games, the open world stuff feels likeAn okay game that's all. The developers seem to think that the deliberately cheesy plot and OTT weapons are very clever and original but, to be honest, they wear a little thin and both Serious Sam and Bulletstorm got there first and did it much better. It is a sandbox shooter where those other games are much more linear. However, as with many sandbox games, the open world stuff feels like a chore and the missions are the really fun part. Here, despite the low price, the game offers poor value for money as you can rattle through it in a couple of hours and the sandbox stuff feels like padding. The weapons are bit crap too, as the minigun is so much better than the other weapons that I rarely used anything else. However it is fun while it lasts and it is definitely worth the £5 or so that I paid during the Steam sale. Expand
  10. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    I can't remember the last time I had such dumb fun with a game. Everything tries so hard to be serious or be taken seriously these days, it's rare to find a game that manages to be care free AND good. Which is exactly what Blood Dragon is. Don't come to this game expecting a dramatic, tear jerking story or realistic gameplay or a massive world filled with a year's-worth of content, justI can't remember the last time I had such dumb fun with a game. Everything tries so hard to be serious or be taken seriously these days, it's rare to find a game that manages to be care free AND good. Which is exactly what Blood Dragon is. Don't come to this game expecting a dramatic, tear jerking story or realistic gameplay or a massive world filled with a year's-worth of content, just take it for what it is: A brief, hilarious, nonsensical, EPIC romp through 80's VHS nostalgia. It's not perfect, but I have the feeling it was never supposed to be. My only REAL gripe is the graphics. I understand what the aim was, and by all counts they nailed the look of an old, burned-out CRT television, but there were moments I caught myself squinting at the screen trying to pick out an enemy amid rampant neon coronas or too-dark environments. I ended up having to make the game much brighter than I think was ever intended just so I could see what I was doing. I would have loved to see a graphics setting that turned down all the filters. It's not game breaking, but it does get a little annoying after a while. All in all though, Blood Dragon is more than worth the $15 price tag. What few dings the game has are more than compensated for in the ear-to-ear grin that covered my face for most of my time on the island. Expand
  11. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    The gameplay is solid, the humour is very good and the price range for this standalone is spot on.

    However, everything is so, so dark (as in graphically) to the point where at times its difficult to determine what is going on! I understand that this neon red and black effect is an artistic choice for the style of game it is an over the top parody on every 80s movie ever made of the
    The gameplay is solid, the humour is very good and the price range for this standalone is spot on.

    However, everything is so, so dark (as in graphically) to the point where at times its difficult to determine what is going on! I understand that this neon red and black effect is an artistic choice for the style of game it is an over the top parody on every 80s movie ever made of the same ilk but the end result is simultaneously impressive and disconcerting.

    But it isn't unplayable, or anything near it. It's a good, albeit short. A condense AAA gaming title for those who loved the Far Cry 3 engine and want a bit more, but at the same time something a bit different. You'll enjoy it just don't expect miracles in terms of depth or replayability.
    Expand
  12. Rox
    Nov 9, 2013
    9
    The voice over, the music, the ambient lighting, the 80's... it makes you want to keep playing regardless of the tedium of fighting the same enemies and the minor clipping. I am so glad that Ubi made this a stand alone and didn't use it to milk more money out of Farcry 3 consumers. Let me just note too that the ending absolutely blew me away! If your from or into the era, the 80'sThe voice over, the music, the ambient lighting, the 80's... it makes you want to keep playing regardless of the tedium of fighting the same enemies and the minor clipping. I am so glad that Ubi made this a stand alone and didn't use it to milk more money out of Farcry 3 consumers. Let me just note too that the ending absolutely blew me away! If your from or into the era, the 80's nostalgia will slap you hard then follow it up with the cold hard robo-hand of Rex Colt. This title is worth every cent of the $15 and a definite buy on sale for any 80's fan or FPS fan with a sense of humor. I gave it 9 out of 10 due to the lazy programing of repetitious enemies. Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2013
    7
    This game rocks. Best 80's cheese game ever made. The game play is really funny and i like this game even more than original Far Cry 3. This is really good Sci-fi FPS. In this game your character is really unstopable and it is fun to play.
  14. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    Blood Dragon manages to bring back many good old memories from the 90's video games on a next gen gameplay and it has a lot smart sci-fi references. It is a must play. The only thing disappointing is the length of only 3-4 hours.
  15. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    Nice game. I love the singleplayer, I love the funny scenario and 80's theme. Music is awesome! Amazing graphics too. Too bad there is no save menu/quicksave feature and necessary to use Uplay. S oafter 2-3 hours of gameplay I LOST MY SAVE/CHECKPOINT. I was really pissed of... I had to play same missions and tutorial once again, not cool guys.
  16. Jan 10, 2014
    4
    игра классная, но очень короткая. Да и сетевой нету. Но тех. характеристики очень радуют. можно спокойно на ультрах гонять, с 2гб оперативы и 1гб видеокарты.
  17. Jan 11, 2014
    2
    Played for an hour, reached a checkpoint, came back to find nothing was saved and I'd have to do it all again. And that's not a bug- that's the way the game is designed. If you need to go live your life at a different point in the game than the developers think you should? Too bad. Either you stay and keep playing til the game says you can leave, or you lose all that progress. Didn't I payPlayed for an hour, reached a checkpoint, came back to find nothing was saved and I'd have to do it all again. And that's not a bug- that's the way the game is designed. If you need to go live your life at a different point in the game than the developers think you should? Too bad. Either you stay and keep playing til the game says you can leave, or you lose all that progress. Didn't I pay for this? Isn't it on my computer? Isn't it supposed to be fun? So let me decide when I'm done. Get your #$!@ together Ubisoft, stop treating your paying customers like idiots. Expand
  18. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    super nice game,it feels like a film when i am playing it,the music,sound effect,pictures,all fantastic,makes me feel like i am in 80s science fiction films
    but it is too short and only few kinds of enemy,Carrier,and all enemy bases is almost the same,all places to collect things to unlock weapon parts,they all the same,and at most 15 hours u will 100% complete in this game.which makes u
    super nice game,it feels like a film when i am playing it,the music,sound effect,pictures,all fantastic,makes me feel like i am in 80s science fiction films
    but it is too short and only few kinds of enemy,Carrier,and all enemy bases is almost the same,all places to collect things to unlock weapon parts,they all the same,and at most 15 hours u will 100% complete in this game.which makes u can not enjoy it very much,
    but it gives me a completely new feeling other games can not give,i like it !
    Expand
  19. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Very good game i love it. It is worth it to play this game. I brought the disk version but i didn't have problems with it. People who are looking for new games to play, play this game you won't regret it
  20. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    A brilliant homage to the sci-fi action movies and the pop culture of the 80s.

    Yes, the game could use some more length and a greater variety of enemies. Or a more involved plot, maybe. But it is what it is. It's a game where you can hunt dinosaurs with lasers firing from their eyes with a futuristic neon-painted bow. Or a sniper rifle if you're cheap. A lot of new games try to be
    A brilliant homage to the sci-fi action movies and the pop culture of the 80s.

    Yes, the game could use some more length and a greater variety of enemies. Or a more involved plot, maybe.

    But it is what it is. It's a game where you can hunt dinosaurs with lasers firing from their eyes with a futuristic neon-painted bow. Or a sniper rifle if you're cheap.

    A lot of new games try to be as serious as they can, although we've all seen serious before. But this one is for the nostalgic gamers.
    Expand
  21. Mar 25, 2014
    8
    As a stand-alone title, Blood Dragon is a fantastic first-person shooter. It uses the same game engine and mechanics as Far Cry 3, but does away with the skill tree and inventory management. You can still upgrade weapons and level up, but given that the game is much shorter, everything is scaled accordingly. The weapons are awesome, they all feel great and look nice. It's still open-worldAs a stand-alone title, Blood Dragon is a fantastic first-person shooter. It uses the same game engine and mechanics as Far Cry 3, but does away with the skill tree and inventory management. You can still upgrade weapons and level up, but given that the game is much shorter, everything is scaled accordingly. The weapons are awesome, they all feel great and look nice. It's still open-world with plenty of firefights going on and garrisons to take over with side quests and collectibles for weapon upgrades. What amazes me is how they've managed to deliver the full Far Cry experience in such a short game. To do EVERYTHING - i.e. take over all bases, complete story, random exploration, hunting all animals, getting all collectibles, all side quests etc. takes around 8 hours, and even on Hard the game isn't much of a challenge. Despite the short length, it is perhaps one of the most action-packed, no-fillers shooters ever. The level of comedy, references, quotes are better than any other shooter I've come across. I'd go as far as saying that if you have never played a Far Cry game before, this is the best one to play! It still retains the essence of Far Cry - it's all about survival, still has that Rambo bad-ass feel to it and rewards stealth. In some respects it's more similar to the original game because of the dragons, which can be compared to the mutants but only much cooler. In summary, Blood Dragon is a great shooter. Although its length can be criticised, one must remember that the game was not sold as a full title. Personally I think it could easily be a $35 game given the quality and entertainment value. If you've yet to play a Far Cry game and you're a fan of shooters and cyberpunk themes, Blood Dragon is a must-play. Expand
  22. Mar 29, 2014
    6
    Incredibly short... My playtime with all side missions and almost all collectibles acquired was 5 hours 17 mins. An average player,who is not a completion, will clock in at around 3-hours.There are many people who finished this game in 50-55 mins (check YouTube speed-runs). ....................................
    The game was sold as a standalone, but i wonder if it was necessary. It should
    Incredibly short... My playtime with all side missions and almost all collectibles acquired was 5 hours 17 mins. An average player,who is not a completion, will clock in at around 3-hours.There are many people who finished this game in 50-55 mins (check YouTube speed-runs). ....................................
    The game was sold as a standalone, but i wonder if it was necessary. It should have been a DLC for Far Cry 3 since its pretty much the same game polished with crappy neon lighting graphics . Well a $15 DLC would have raised eyebrows, so they released it as a standalone $15 game and everyone is going "WOW UBISOFT FAN SERVICE FTW !!".....People are praising its humor but its pretty lame and cheesy, in the 7 missions you get there are some lolz moment but not that much to the extent that it may be used to describe this game.
    The game is very easy. its the first game where i haven't died even once. You just jump on people and its insta kill with bonus exp. You dont have to be above them, just run to someone and press Spacebar..If another enemy is nearby u score a bonus comb kill on him too. This is what modern FPS shooters have come to, kiddie friendly game play with no challenge at all. I'm sure there will be a video on YouTube showing someone finishing the game using a knife only.
    Expand
  23. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Far Cry 3 : The Eighties Edition. Feels like home.
    A game that has a very DLC feeling to it. Only one island with standard guns, 16 garrisons and about 6 hours of overall gameplay.
    But whatever man...it features the 80`s as main star! Just about everything we love about those years is there. Michael Biehn, corny oneliners, training montage, sci-fi theme, neons, wacky scientists,
    Far Cry 3 : The Eighties Edition. Feels like home.
    A game that has a very DLC feeling to it. Only one island with standard guns, 16 garrisons and about 6 hours of overall gameplay.

    But whatever man...it features the 80`s as main star!
    Just about everything we love about those years is there. Michael Biehn, corny oneliners, training montage, sci-fi theme, neons, wacky scientists, robots and...dragons.
    Besides that this game is little different than Far Cry 3, just as much fun but not as big, so no use talking about the game mechanics.

    One single flaw of it is that you don`t get to fight the main villain at the very end. That`s a -1 right there! So instead of 9, it gets an 8/10.
    Expand
  24. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    While other shooters are off trying to be as gritty as possible, FC3: Blood Dragon has no issue with being an 80s sci-fi action movie cliché. Vibrant colors, tons of blood, and a stream of catch phrases that'd make Arnie and Sly proud. A little short, but definitely with the $15 price tag.
  25. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    I cant give this game anything less than a 10. I just can't. Its too fun. I don't think that I really have anything to complain about. This is a homage to cheesy 80's action movies, and it does it brilliantly, from the neon lights to the excellent musical score which NAILS it. This is a must buy.
  26. Jun 16, 2014
    8
    If you loved Far Cry 3, you should love this.
    If you loved the 80's, you should love this.
    If you tried Far Cry 3 because you heard it was Skyrim with guns, you were disappointed...
    However, this one has dragons so you might want to give it another shot...
  27. Jun 20, 2014
    7
    Blood Dragon is an interesting off-shoot of the Far Cry franchise. It seeks to fit every 80's cyber punk cliche into one game and it succeeds. It's one of the few games that have made me laugh out loud and it has a great aesthetic going for it. However, that's about all it has going for it that Far Cry 3 didn't already do better. The game is much more shallow than the original. The skillBlood Dragon is an interesting off-shoot of the Far Cry franchise. It seeks to fit every 80's cyber punk cliche into one game and it succeeds. It's one of the few games that have made me laugh out loud and it has a great aesthetic going for it. However, that's about all it has going for it that Far Cry 3 didn't already do better. The game is much more shallow than the original. The skill tree is fixed and you have no say in what unlocks next. half of the upgrades are simple health upgrades as well. You unlock attachments by completing missions and then you need to go purchase them at a shop, but it's really not all that worth since you get the best weapon in the game after 3-4 hours of gameplay. The story is full of cliches to make you laugh but it isn't interesting at all. The cutscenes are bad and you have no idea what you're doing in missions other than killing enemies. The worst part is how laughably short the game is. Even for a $15 title, a 4 hour story is quite bad. I even went through and liberated every camp, found every secret, and obtained every achievement and my game time didn't pass 7 hours. It should also be noted that this game requires the Uplay client even if the game is purchased on Steam. Uplay is slow, but I've never had a huge problem with it. Overall, Blood Dragon is an enjoyable game but simply doesn't live up to the standard set by Far Cry 3. Expand
  28. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    This game was probably the most fun I've had with an FPS in years! It was certainly way more enjoyable than the original Far Cry 3. Not only is it very fun to play, but it's also extremely funny. The core gameplay is mostly the same as FC3: kill baddies, liberate strongholds, hunt animals, kill more baddies. However, it makes everything so much more fun. Not only do you have access to aThis game was probably the most fun I've had with an FPS in years! It was certainly way more enjoyable than the original Far Cry 3. Not only is it very fun to play, but it's also extremely funny. The core gameplay is mostly the same as FC3: kill baddies, liberate strongholds, hunt animals, kill more baddies. However, it makes everything so much more fun. Not only do you have access to a number of weapons from the start, but you can also do many 'takedowns' (stealth melee kills) early on. While you do level your skills over time, it's a linear progression, and you get to focus on killing more stuff instead of deciding which dumb tattoo to get. There are also a host of weapon upgrades to earn, which make the already over-the-top guns (like the "Phazertron") even more awesome. Now, one downside of all this is that you're pretty powerful from the start, so there's much less feeling of accomplishment. By mid-game you'll be taking on while garrisons without worry. But I personally think this fits in with the game in general: the entire thing is a larger-than-life satire of 80's movies and modern video games (especially FC3), and part of that is the way you feel like 80's action hero as you gun down scores of soldiers and fight off lazer dragons. This is not to say that it's overly easy, but rather that it correctly realizes that we're having more fun laying waste to the enemy than dying every 10 mins. For a $20 game, this was worth every penny! Expand
  29. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    "You don't mow down lawns, you mow down lives!"

    This game is so ridiculous it's good. The sound is great and the guns have a nice "pop" to them. The visuals are better than decent and the campaign is 3 or 4 hours long.
  30. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    This game is similar in fasion to Far Cry 3, but it fully embraces its silly 80's Sci-fi action. This is what makes the game fully enjoyable as an expansion. The main story line is tons of cheesy one liners and typical 80's plot twists, but still tells a convincing of enough story for you to want to play. If you were to pick up this game for the story alone, you are looking at the wrongThis game is similar in fasion to Far Cry 3, but it fully embraces its silly 80's Sci-fi action. This is what makes the game fully enjoyable as an expansion. The main story line is tons of cheesy one liners and typical 80's plot twists, but still tells a convincing of enough story for you to want to play. If you were to pick up this game for the story alone, you are looking at the wrong game.

    The character cast is limited to about 3-4 main characters and numerous minor characters. I will not spoil each group of MC's, but each feels completely at home in this sci-fi world Ubisoft has created. Some of the characters are your typical one dimensional 80's cheese, but that's what you WANT to expect. This game is all the cliches of the past made just for today.The characters flow into the story quiet well and it makes the game into an amazingly stupid action title. Cutscences in the game are presentated as "arcade style 32 Bit" interactions and add to the atmosphere of the working sci-fi title.

    The levels that you interact with are great. It terms of size relative to Far Cry 3, it is just alittle smaller than the first island you start one. There are not alot pacing breaks.Entering buildings and having a pause to say go into a dungeon are a thing of the past. Most of the world is on the map and never take away from the game itselves. It's completely open world and thats great and bad. It's great to because you are a cyborg bad ♥♥♥ and can do whatever you want. The downside is that it lacks the depth of exploring and uncovering mysterys. They still have hidden files and items, but that alone has something lacking that Far Cry 3 had going for it. The hidden items reveal backstory on characters and thoghts. What it has that Far Cry 3 does not have are tons and tons of hidden easter eggs. I won't ruin them but when you find them you will chuckle at each and every one of them. This expansion is a single player expericence only, unlike Far Cry 3 which has some multiplayer elements.

    Gameplay wise it is identical to Far Cry 3 minus a few things. Since you are a bad ♥♥♥ mofo cyborg you can run infinitly and you no longer take any fall damage. This is because you are a cyborg....do i really need to explain the science behind it? Moving on you get about one of each item and upgrade it with the "money" you get in the game. These futuristic guns are not only badass but become better with upgrades. Just like Far Cry 3, you will find that one or so gun that will be your bread and butter (for me it was the pistol and machine gun). The hunting is not as in depth as it was in Far Cry 3. It exists but usually as a means to upgrade your weapons or complete achievements.

    In terms of replayability it is moderate to high depending on what you want to get out of it. Since this goes through UPLAY and not steam the achievements are fun to get but dont count outside of UPLAY. This count be a damper to some people, me on the other hand did not mind and still 100 percent this game. After trying to get all the achievements it is great to just run around and kill stuff or explore the island and find all the items and easter eggs. You could restart the campaign, but most people will not and be satisified with the game.

    The achievements are fun and enjoyable for anyone who is a completionist. As i stated before, they count towards UPLAY achievements and not STEAM. Some could be time consuming to level up or upgrade weapons, but if you are an expericenced gamer you can get 95 percent on the first playthrough. My ranking on difficulty for getting all the achievements ranges from easy to average.

    The video, audio and control layout is basically all the same as Far Cry 3. The graphics are great just like Far Cry 3, but it is a darker game with lazers and light beams lighting up the screen. This is the majority of the "light" in the game. It is suppose to be a destroyed wasteland from a nuclear war so dont expect lush bright sun effects. the audio is superb with the soundtrack taking the cake. It is one of the most memoriable soundtracks of any video game in recent history. With typical 80's sci fi movie sound and power anthems it will make your experience in this world that much more enjoyable. The layout for controls is the same but the tutorials are fun and make it easy to get back into a FPS if you have forgotten (i know you havent).

    My final thoughts on Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon. This game brings back fun into a game without sacrificing too much core gameplay. it is a fun game from beginning to end without too big of hiccups of run here and do that. It is just long enough and just short enough to never feel like it stays too long in one place. The sad part is when you finally complete the game it will leave you wanting more.
    Expand
  31. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    It's hard to find faults with this game. It's got that 80s neon feel, over the top weapons, great voice acting, cheesy as hell and lots of violence. It's exactly what it wants to be and is loads of fun in the process. I'm not usually a fan of shooters but this one stands out against the crowd in its presentation.
  32. Jul 17, 2014
    8
    Absolutely superb if you were born in the 70s or earlier, and clearly remember the 80s. It's hard to say if the appeal is diminished for younger players, but I expect they get the jokes about VHS, action films and arcade games just the same. It's a riotous and garish carnival of all the tropes of an era when sci-fi and metal were closer friends than they are today, and it does a muchAbsolutely superb if you were born in the 70s or earlier, and clearly remember the 80s. It's hard to say if the appeal is diminished for younger players, but I expect they get the jokes about VHS, action films and arcade games just the same. It's a riotous and garish carnival of all the tropes of an era when sci-fi and metal were closer friends than they are today, and it does a much better job of affectionately sending up the manly action hero than Duke Nukem ever did.

    It's a short game, reflected in its low price, but there's a lot to do in its large map if you go looking for it. The game doesn't demand that you engage with all of its side activities, but I did and got a good 13 hours of fun out of it in return. It's certainly a game that I'll come back to in the future.
    Expand
  33. Aug 15, 2014
    9
    Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon. A little while back, I reviewed the other Far Cry games in the series. I reviewed Far Cry 2, which I thought was underrated, and Far Cry 3, which I think is one of the greatest first-person shooters I've ever played. Now that this DLC/stand-alone expansion is out for the game, I decided to get this game off of Steam and play it. It is supposed to be differentFar Cry 3: Blood Dragon. A little while back, I reviewed the other Far Cry games in the series. I reviewed Far Cry 2, which I thought was underrated, and Far Cry 3, which I think is one of the greatest first-person shooters I've ever played. Now that this DLC/stand-alone expansion is out for the game, I decided to get this game off of Steam and play it. It is supposed to be different from the Far Cry games, taking the setting from a modern day tropical island, (or in Far Cry 2's case, Africa) into the 1980's vision of the future, in an alternate 2007. So, does this game perfectly represent the 80's vision of the future, or should the Far Cry series have just stuck with modern tropical islands as its settings? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is very similar to that of Far Cry 3's. You have an open world to explore with first-person shooter and stealth elements mixed in. This time, instead of playing as an adult named Jason Brody, you are playing as a cyber-soldier named Rex Colt, which gives you the perks of being one. Leveling is now automatic, meaning you can no longer choose your skills when you level up. The skills you learn are determined by what level you are on. While this change can be welcoming for those who don't like having to choose which perks they want, I did somewhat miss Far Cry 3's approach to perks, as I enjoy choosing the perks I want. I prefer choosing perks than having them be chosen automatically by level. While this change is not entirely welcoming, the gameplay is still every bit as fun and exciting as Far Cry 3's. You can approach missions however you want, and do everything any way you want. This is a good thing, however, it is also a bad thing, as this gameplay is very much the same as Far Cry 3's. The normal Far Cry 3 has the exact same gameplay as this expansion, but more of it. The campaign of this game is way too short at only seven missions total, where Far Cry 3 has over 30. That's not to say the campaign isn't fun, because it is. In fact its campaign has many moments that are much more fun than Far Cry 3's at times. This game does add a few new features, such as using Blood Dragons, which are brand new creatures added to this game, to attack enemy outposts. However, when you decide not to use them, this game will just be more Far Cry 3, which can once again be both good and bad. The gameplay of this game is every bit as fun as Far Cry 3, but it in no way surpasses the gameplay of the predecessor. As for the graphics, I have to say, this game's graphics are among the most creative and beautiful I have ever seen in a video game. Since this game represents what people on the 1980's thought the future would hold for them, there are neon lights everywhere, the sky is dark red throughout most of the game, and all of the characters are textured in a more unique fashion than Far Cry 3. This is one area where Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon might actually surpass Far Cry 3. As excellent as Far Cry 3's graphics were, they definitely weren't nearly as creative as this game's. The graphics of this game are very beautiful and creative, just how a video game should be. As for the story, while not quite as good as Far Cry 3's, it is still very creative. It tells the story of how Rex Colt saved the world from Sloan and his Blood Dragons. Along the way, he gets caught up in a conflict between Scientists and Sloan's Omega Forces. This game has quite an 80's vibe to it, so expect lots of references to things from the 80's such as Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Transformers, Mortal Kombat, and even Star Wars at one point! As good as this game's story is however, it is a little bit cliched. Far Cry 3 suffered from the same problem, but made up for it with original characters and plot lines. While Blood Dragon doesn't have this advantage, it more than makes up for it with its clever writing and references. This game has a great sense of humor, and made me laugh at several points. While this game doesn't have quite as good of a story as Far Cry 3's, it is still enjoyable for being a throwback to the 1980's. Overall, I'd say that this game is definitely worth buying, especially if you have already played Far Cry 3. While it is not as good as Far Cry 3, it is definitely good as a game you can play afterwards. Even if you haven't played Far Cry 3, it is still a great game that is worth playing.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Story: 9/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  34. Aug 31, 2014
    8
    Blood Dragon is one of the better pieces of downloadable content on the marketplace. It does not require Far Cry 3 to play, its fun on its own merit, and its an all around good buy. However its not perfect. The story while fun and giving the bombastic energy of cyborgs ripping out artificial hearts out of other cyborgs (literally this happens in the game and its awesome) and the thrillsBlood Dragon is one of the better pieces of downloadable content on the marketplace. It does not require Far Cry 3 to play, its fun on its own merit, and its an all around good buy. However its not perfect. The story while fun and giving the bombastic energy of cyborgs ripping out artificial hearts out of other cyborgs (literally this happens in the game and its awesome) and the thrills that have only been seen in the classic 80's action movies that its mimicking but it is also a copy of those same cliches that we've seen in those movies time and time again. Thankfully the story isn't very long and like Far Cry 3 you are free to roam the map after the campaign is complete to do the side missions and take over enemy outposts. But it also has the same problems that Far Cry 3 had like incomplete multiplayer and a few lags and freezes every now and then. It's worth the ten or fifteen bucks for the purchase. Expand
  35. Oct 1, 2014
    8
    Play as Rex Power Colt: Half Man, Half Cyborg, All Badass. Blood Dragon is a solid shooter that holds its own against the overhyped triple-A releases of the last 2 years. Ironically, I had more fun playing BD—a mere quasi DLC—than I did Far Cry 3. This is because BD trims off the fat and focuses on Far Cry’s core elements: Open world campaign and smooth combat.

    BD spoofs how 1980’s
    Play as Rex Power Colt: Half Man, Half Cyborg, All Badass. Blood Dragon is a solid shooter that holds its own against the overhyped triple-A releases of the last 2 years. Ironically, I had more fun playing BD—a mere quasi DLC—than I did Far Cry 3. This is because BD trims off the fat and focuses on Far Cry’s core elements: Open world campaign and smooth combat.

    BD spoofs how 1980’s Hollywood portrayed the future. The game’s 2007 setting is the past for us, but in 1984 that was “the future”. Some of us are still waiting on self-lacing shoes …. After reading reviews, I can tell a lot gamers missed this entire premise. How sad for them.

    Spoofing one of the finest forms of flattery, and underneath its humor, BD pays homage to the 80’s action/sci-fi movie genres. Numerous iconic movies came out during the 80’s which set the gold standards for those genres. Despite their groundbreaking successes, many movies employed overflowing machoism, paper thin stories and characters, gratuitous violence, explosions, and babes. Blood Dragon evokes much appreciated nostalgia by shamelessly poking fun at all those aspects while making tongue in cheek jabs at current issues. The humor is a tad forced at times, but overall the game feels like an 80’s B-movie laced with GIJoe cartoons.

    Like FC3, the campaign consists of a main story and side missions. Players can easily log 10+ hours. The first hour is linear and scripted, but after that, the world opens up. There are noticeable differences between BD and FC3. The island playground is smaller and there is less wildlife. Foraging is gone, so no infinite syringes. There are fewer weapons, but upgrade options are way better.

    Garrisons are fun to wreck. They are large, multilevel bases. Their design accommodates every style of play. Jumping off catwalks to knife a cyborg on the way down and then decapitating its ally with a throwing star is badass—and easily done. Stealth in FC3 is less exciting, except to players who enjoy creeping with a bow. And being a cyborg, Rex’s movement is greatly enhanced, so motion is quick and smooth.
    The game weighs in at a lite 3Gb. Hurray!! This is impressive since shooters have become hefty at 15Gb+. Yet, no serious compromises were made. BD doesn’t pack in a gazillion textures like FC3, but it’s still visually stunning. The game takes place at night, and the missing day/night cycle irks hardcore FC fans. But this absence is necessary to highlight the retro effects—or should I say pyrotechnic light show. Laser beams and glowing enemies light up the dark landscape. Beside, who plays laser tag in broad daylight? The game is fairly demanding, but that is par for the course with Ubisoft titles these days. Players need a beefy graphics card and plenty of memory. Players have complained about poor gamma and floating horizontal bars on their displays. That effect is an artifact of VHS tapes. It isn’t a glitch, just a piece of the 80’s some of us had to endure. Annoying ain’t it?

    The voice acting and music really shine. The cheesy one-liners and over-the-top character voices are so fitting, and Michael Biehn’s role is a definitely a treat for older gamers. The soundtrack is awesome. The most notable songs reference Terminator, Predator, and Above the Law. It’s definitely one of the best video game soundtracks of the last decade. It’s up there with Mass Effect.

    So what’s the bad? Nothing really, but I do have a few complaints. Foremost, the story is short. Without mixing in side missions, expect 4 hours of play. Next, the mission zones have invisible barriers. So once a garrison or objective marker is activated, players cannot leave the area. More annoyingly, they can be activated from far away. And going just a few steps outside the invisible barrier causes death. This breaks the immersion and works against the open world concept.

    Rex feels powerful, but not cyborg powerful. Overall, his abilities are underwhelming. And character progression could’ve been more interesting. Abilities automatically unlock as Rex levels up. This didn’t bother me too much. It’s a shooter, I ain’t got time to allocate skill points. A more valid complaint regards weapon unlocks. Players can’t purchase items until they complete side quests and collect dozens of collectibles. Each unlock is tied to a specific mission or collectible. So unlocking everything requires grinding.

    And like FC3, there isn’t much enemy variety (animals aside). However, the baddies in Blood Dragon are more interesting. Laser shooting dinosaurs!! I miss the 80’s….

    At $15, Blood Dragon delivers huge bang for the buck. It’s a shining example of quality over quantity. There are no tacked on elements to drag this game down. The complaints above are minor considering the over-the-top fun factor. Level design is solid. Gunplay is smooth. Visuals are slick. FC3 is fun, but offering gamers a similar experience in a different neon packaged spinoff is better than milking it to death with DLC.
    Expand
  36. Oct 4, 2014
    0
    Requires Uplay. No more need be said, but:

    I cannot access the game because I do not maintain a Uplay account. I do not maintain a Uplay account because I don't want to go down the rabbit hole of bloating my hard drive with a new DRM/rootkit/spyware application for every developer and publisher attached to every game I own -- nor do I want to burn my resources opening a game inside of a
    Requires Uplay. No more need be said, but:

    I cannot access the game because I do not maintain a Uplay account. I do not maintain a Uplay account because I don't want to go down the rabbit hole of bloating my hard drive with a new DRM/rootkit/spyware application for every developer and publisher attached to every game I own -- nor do I want to burn my resources opening a game inside of a DRM environment inside of a DRM environment inside of...

    I maintain a Steam account. Steam verified my purchase. Ubisoft has my money; I have no game. Because I refuse to pay for the "privilege" of helping Ubisoft to use Steam as a platform to bolster their direct competition with Steam.
    Expand
  37. Nov 11, 2014
    5
    A nice 80s sci-fi parody with lots of adolescent humour and old-school gunplay, a bit like duke nukem or serious sam.
    One of the main problems I had with Far Cry 3 was that it took itself seriously, while being arcade and unrealistic. Blood Dragon is better, because the same arcade mechanics fit much better with the sci-fi setting that deliberatly does not take itself seriously. In Far
    A nice 80s sci-fi parody with lots of adolescent humour and old-school gunplay, a bit like duke nukem or serious sam.
    One of the main problems I had with Far Cry 3 was that it took itself seriously, while being arcade and unrealistic. Blood Dragon is better, because the same arcade mechanics fit much better with the sci-fi setting that deliberatly does not take itself seriously. In Far Cry 3, some things like sidequests were simply bad, but here they are deliberately so bad, they're good. This does feel like a far cry 3 mod though, with a lot of recycled content, and the story is very short, but if you felt mixed about Far Cry 3, you will probably enjoy this more, as long as you don't take it seriously.
    My score of 5/10 is low compared to other reviews because I am very critical with all games, I don't do score inflation.
    Expand
  38. Nov 15, 2014
    9
    this DLC is fantastic , you should get it if you enjoyed FC3
    the gamplay is amazing , better and faster than FC3
    it's like the 80's movies and games but in new fps game
    really well done game , i love it .
  39. Dec 1, 2014
    7
    I really like Far Cry 3 (not Blood Dragon) and would score this 8/10. But Blood dragon I would score 7/10. The reasons are: first Blood Dragon seems to force you through mission by mission.

    I prefer the open nature of Far Cry 3. BUT THE WORST THING A GAME CAN DO IS NOT AUTOMATICALLY SAVE YOUR PROGRESS - so I close the game after 30 mins of play and I find I am returned to an earlier
    I really like Far Cry 3 (not Blood Dragon) and would score this 8/10. But Blood dragon I would score 7/10. The reasons are: first Blood Dragon seems to force you through mission by mission.

    I prefer the open nature of Far Cry 3. BUT THE WORST THING A GAME CAN DO IS NOT AUTOMATICALLY SAVE YOUR PROGRESS - so I close the game after 30 mins of play and I find I am returned to an earlier part that took me ages to get through. This is a complete no-no. I dont want to keep replaying something I completed. It should check point better than this.. also it is not possible to save "because you are in a mission" so nightmare!

    I dont like the green alien nature of this game. However, there is something about ii that makes some aspects better than plain Far Cry. Perhaps it is the AI - seems a little more intelligent. But I hate the dragons. And the aggressive animals are not enjoyable at least in Far Cry you felt like you were hunting them for fun. In this game they just make a difficult situation irritating.

    I am about to put this game away because I dont want to repeat same levels again - there is no doubt this is the worst feature of this game, I hope this and the lack of openness are dealt with in future releases then I will become a fan!

    As far as funny - I think I have a better soh!!
    Expand
  40. Dec 10, 2014
    8
    To keep it short: an add-on that's worth much, much more than full games. Unfortunately, it is also too short. But it's a blast from start to finish. Eggscellent!
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Although it wasn't meant to be taken seriously, Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a surprisingly good game.
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    81
    It's Far Cry 3 dressed as trashily as you can imagine; the joke only goes so far, but it's definitely fun to play. [July 2013, p.90]
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Like wandering through a theme park dedicated to the excess of 80s blockbuster entertainment, Blood Dragon takes Far Cry’s proven gameplay formula and adds humour, a new coat of paint and a script free from qualms of narrative dissonance.