Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 537 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a spin-off that contains around eight hours of original content and features a single open-world island to explore, with many of Far Cry 3's gameplay systems and mechanics making a return.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 90
    Thanks, Ubisoft Montreal, for getting this right on the first try, because this is undoubtedly the only time it will be fresh and exciting. Still, the degree of creativity and the load of ideas on display really demonstrates which ways you can treat your source material inventively via spin-offs or DLCs. I really could get used to that.
  2. May 9, 2013
    90
    This game is pure irony: story, dialogue, music, graphics... everything recalls the craziest clichés of the 80s.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Like wandering through a theme park dedicated to the excess of 80s blockbuster entertainment, Blood Dragon takes Far Cry’s proven gameplay formula and adds humour, a new coat of paint and a script free from qualms of narrative dissonance.
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    81
    It's Far Cry 3 dressed as trashily as you can imagine; the joke only goes so far, but it's definitely fun to play. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. May 2, 2013
    80
    It´s a poor man's Far Cry 3 without the stunning vistas and cut mechanics, but it´s also a fun homage to the 80s and Action Hero movies, all while delivering a nice and straightforward shooter.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I really thought that Blood Dragon would quickly become too much, but I'm surprised that it was able to make me laugh all the way through this heavily deformed and 80's enriched Far Cry 3. It goes in all directions, and at great length, to charm all over-the top, punchline riddled, references fans. A smart and refreshing stand-alone take.
  7. 50
    Even though Blood Dragon is packed with the relaxed charm of the 80ies, it just doesn't is enough to entertain in the end. It lacks content and variation and it doesn't even look good. This is nowhere near the awesomeness that is Far Cry 3.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 129
  1. May 27, 2013
    10
    Probably my all-time favorite FPS on PC. If you grew up at all in the 80s or just have an appreciation for the action movies from that era, you'll find it extremely entertaining. Silly but clever, and somehow with a ton of nostalgia. Oh, and the gameplay is a blast. Just an incredibly fun experience to play. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    A cheap, incredibly fun game that perfectly captures the machismo of 1980's 1990's action flicks. What this game lacks in length, it makes up for in quality and memorability. The gameplay delivers a level of visceral satisfaction that eludes the blander FPS titles of this generation, and the satirical writing is just utterly fantastic and hilarious. Powerglove's electronic soundtrack will take you back to pleasant memories of Escape from New York and Blade Runner. Stylistically, this game blows the base Far Cry 3 out of the water. It's everything that Duke Nukem Forever strove for and failed to be. If you're at all depressed by the current direction of gaming, and haven't yet picked this gem up and encouraged these talented developers to make a full-retail sequel, consider yourself officially part of the problem. A *damn* good buy. Expand
  3. May 4, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth the money, compared to the highly forgettable realistic-wannabe shooter games out there Blood Dragon stands out as a kind of its own, giving you a break from being "some serious business special force guy" saving the world from nuclear war.

    A game made without push financial constraints and possibly involve someone going on a holiday and getting a bit too high.

    There's a lot of cheesy combat dialog involved, so if you like being a serious tightass, or just don't like having fun, this game is not for you.
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    There is a moment in Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon that is familiar to anyone that ever played Far Cry 3: after sneaking into an enemy base, I stab an enemy through the back, then again with a close friend before I pull out the gun in his pocket and shoot the three guards in front of me dead. A final guard, one that I didn't notice when I was observing this area, makes a break for the alarm, but not before I can kill him with a deadly bow and arrow. So continues the well crafted power fantasy that is the Far Cry series.

    Set in the future, "the year 2007", Blood Dragon is an impressive ode to 80's and early 90's culture. Any gamers that started with the NES with feel a surge of nostalgia with the low-resolution cutscenes while what sounds like music from the movie Drive or the band Daft Punk boils in the background. Meanwhile the graphics impress: it must be difficult to so effectively draw what looks like a high school theater department would do to make a science fiction set. But you knew all this going in. What you want to know is if this is worth it.

    Simply put, if you enjoy well-crafted and creative action games, Blood Dragon cannot be beat. It is certainly the most well-crafted dumb fun imaginable. The Call of Duties and Medal of Honors aren't nearly as good and yet those series have no problem taking themselves so seriously. If you're wondering if Far Cry 3 is worth full price, this 5-6 hour adventure might be the best demo money can buy.

    The problems, however, reflect similar difficulties that greeted the original Far Cry 3 release: the story. As with its predecessor, the story is the biggest problem this game needs to tackle, in regards to two key issues. First, there is no relationship between gameplay and story, which, admittedly, is quite an esoteric complaint. But having grown up on the edge of this high-stakes, point driven style of gaming, I'm disappointed that none of the gameplay changes to reflect the era that it's making homage to. Second, as goofy and fun as the story is, I found myself becoming wearied with our cyber commando's quest for revenge pretty quickly. Yeah, he's not supposed to be our best friend, but by the end I felt that there was nothing at stake.

    However, the fact that this game only possesses the above examples and provoke the kind of conversation it has means to me that it is a can't miss success. I'm appreciative that this game exists and hope that, in the coming years, more of these oddball games, from whatever mad mind they emerge, continue to make their way onto market.
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    Good stuff. i was really pleasantly surprised with blood dragon. I had heard the hype but i was still not completely sold. A homage to a time you wasn't really part of isn't all that exciting. The game do manage to be really exciting though. The cutscenes, dialogue, narration and story just oozes charm and there are some genuine funny stuff in the game.

    The general gameplay hasn't changed all that much from far cry 3 which i don't really have a problem with. The new weapons are pretty nice, the shotgun is particularly fun to use. And the missions in the game are pretty varied and fun to play through. The side quest and camp take overs are a little bit repetitive just as in the original but hey they are optional. And hey you can sprint now without needing to catch your breath every ten meter or so.

    I do enjoy that most animals from the original have made a come back with a cyborg twist. The blood dragons are also a welcome addition. It would be nice if some of the animals had been a little bit dangerous though. I really should feel more threatened by cyber sharks.

    Visually the is the game really nice. The use of neon colors really makes the visuals stand out.

    The game isn't all that long but i had no problems with that considering its cheap price. I actually think that you get a fair amount of content for your money. If you have an interest in first person shooters then i would recommend that you give this game a try.
    Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    8
    It's OK. I loved FC3 and Blood Dragon as a DLC is decent given the low price. Interesting environment and theme is worthwhile. The dialogue is a bit weird, SLOW, and at one point it's like "get on with it already." But I would recommend it. Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2013
    0
    for the love of god do not buy this game on steam, it does not work at all. you can play this game a total of one time after that you will need to renter a CD key that you have already used. save your 15 dollars and buy anything else with it considering this game does not work and you will not be able to play it more then once. look up the issues on steam forums to realize that this game could be good it just does not work on PC. also you need to join uplay which sucks because f@ck ubisoft for bullsh@t like this. Expand

See all 129 User Reviews