Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 693 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a spin-off that contains around eight hours of original content and features a single open-world island to explore, with many of Far Cry 3's gameplay systems and mechanics making a return.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 90
    Thanks, Ubisoft Montreal, for getting this right on the first try, because this is undoubtedly the only time it will be fresh and exciting. Still, the degree of creativity and the load of ideas on display really demonstrates which ways you can treat your source material inventively via spin-offs or DLCs. I really could get used to that.
  2. May 9, 2013
    90
    This game is pure irony: story, dialogue, music, graphics... everything recalls the craziest clichés of the 80s.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Like wandering through a theme park dedicated to the excess of 80s blockbuster entertainment, Blood Dragon takes Far Cry’s proven gameplay formula and adds humour, a new coat of paint and a script free from qualms of narrative dissonance.
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    81
    It's Far Cry 3 dressed as trashily as you can imagine; the joke only goes so far, but it's definitely fun to play. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. May 2, 2013
    80
    It´s a poor man's Far Cry 3 without the stunning vistas and cut mechanics, but it´s also a fun homage to the 80s and Action Hero movies, all while delivering a nice and straightforward shooter.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I really thought that Blood Dragon would quickly become too much, but I'm surprised that it was able to make me laugh all the way through this heavily deformed and 80's enriched Far Cry 3. It goes in all directions, and at great length, to charm all over-the top, punchline riddled, references fans. A smart and refreshing stand-alone take.
  7. 50
    Even though Blood Dragon is packed with the relaxed charm of the 80ies, it just doesn't is enough to entertain in the end. It lacks content and variation and it doesn't even look good. This is nowhere near the awesomeness that is Far Cry 3.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 152
  1. May 5, 2013
    10
    Blood Dragon is a chilling tale based in the aftermath of Canada's demise in Cold War 2. The year is 2007 and you play a hero out to secureBlood Dragon is a chilling tale based in the aftermath of Canada's demise in Cold War 2. The year is 2007 and you play a hero out to secure freedom for the world using futuristic weaponry and one man's unwavering determination.

    Other games should just postpone launch until 2014, this is the GOTY.
    Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth the money, compared to the highly forgettable realistic-wannabe shooter games out there Blood Dragon stands out as a kind ofDefinitely worth the money, compared to the highly forgettable realistic-wannabe shooter games out there Blood Dragon stands out as a kind of its own, giving you a break from being "some serious business special force guy" saving the world from nuclear war.

    A game made without push financial constraints and possibly involve someone going on a holiday and getting a bit too high.

    There's a lot of cheesy combat dialog involved, so if you like being a serious tightass, or just don't like having fun, this game is not for you.
    Collapse
  3. May 23, 2013
    9
    I have spent so much time on this game, it looks like a 1980's Sci-fi low-budget movie and it's really funny. I have gotten a lot of laughsI have spent so much time on this game, it looks like a 1980's Sci-fi low-budget movie and it's really funny. I have gotten a lot of laughs from it, but if you didn't like Far Cry 3, you should not buy this either. It's basically Far Cry 3, but reskinned with a new story. Expand
  4. May 2, 2013
    9
    Excellent game play, I love these kind of games but unfortunately they only come along once in a while. This is your chance to play a funny 80Excellent game play, I love these kind of games but unfortunately they only come along once in a while. This is your chance to play a funny 80 's style game and its very cliche storyline. That only adds more fun to the game play and the overall progress. Expand
  5. May 12, 2013
    8
    What is essentially a different paint job for Farcry 3 is surprisingly better than the much larger and more hyped title of the same name.What is essentially a different paint job for Farcry 3 is surprisingly better than the much larger and more hyped title of the same name. Sure it's short but its also a third the price as FC3.

    The good:

    BD actually takes out the annoying quirks of FC3 that made the game insanely annoying. As a cyborg you can jump higher, sprint forever and faster, and you can fall any distance as well as stay underwater as long as you like. This makes the game so much more fun to play and adds to the ridiculousness of the story. FC3 annoyed the pants off me how you could take bullet after bullet with little damage but jump off a 6 foot rock and lose half your health.

    The story. The story is absurd and thats the point. Its hysterically bad.

    The graphics. Love the Tron infused style.

    The music. Absolutely stellar music. Well done.

    Level ups that actually matter. After a short while in FC3 you stopped caring about leveling up because the skills just didn't matter. Here, levels up actually matter more. They aren't vital but you will use the powers.

    Michael Biehn. Nuff said.

    The bad:

    Sadly it doesn't eliminate enough of the bad that was FC3. Collectibles are still in the game but in far fewer numbers. Worse, the game even mocks the practice of collectible items in games yet still has you doing them. I have tired of collectibles in games because it's a cheap tool to add filler to a game and make it appear longer. At least the map is smaller in BD and therefore less time wandering around looking for the things if you want them. FC3 was far worse with close to 200 of the things and no reasonable rewards for finding them.

    Same game, same mechanics. To me I found some of the actions in FC3 to be quite clunky. Healing, looting, reloading, etc. Those actions were very clunky and its the same here. Healing yourself is a long animation that can be disrupted easily. Getting into and out of vehicles is painfully long. Looting animals or bodies is just longer than it needs to be especially for a game trying to be an arcade game. This is just due to the game really being a mod of FC3 so it was expected. I just didn't like the chunkiness of the game and the unresponsive controls of either game.

    Same aim as well. Your aim in FC3 was awful with completely unpredictable accuracy. BD is the same again. The biggest oddity is that enemies are significantly harder to drop in this game so it can be a chore at times. Can take as many as a dozen hits to down a standard enemy if you miss the head.

    All in all I found Blood Dragon to be a more enjoyable game than Farcry 3. Sure, Farcry 3 was bigger but bigger isn't always better. Much of Farcry 3 was a jumbled mess of bad story, unpolished gameplay, and a load of filler collection and side quests that mattered nothing other than to prolong the game.

    For a third the price it's a no brainer and if you liked Farcry it will be right there for ya. Some won't get the humor but its a fun mess of nostalgia.
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2015
    8
    For me, Blood Dragon seemed to be better than FC3, because of the cool storyline and neon colour everywhere! The soundtrack is amazing, andFor me, Blood Dragon seemed to be better than FC3, because of the cool storyline and neon colour everywhere! The soundtrack is amazing, and the architecture is great.
    The fictional weapons are fun to use, but the game is three hours long. I demand a sequel of Blood Dragon!
    Expand
  7. May 19, 2015
    0
    Worst beginning of any game I have ever played. They seem to think the tutorial is funny but all it does is frustrate players, way to start aWorst beginning of any game I have ever played. They seem to think the tutorial is funny but all it does is frustrate players, way to start a game. Unfortunately that's all this game does, is frustrate. not any fun, boooo booooo. Expand

See all 152 User Reviews