Far Cry PC

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2004
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 697 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 697
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChristopherS.
    Feb 17, 2007
    5
    Farcry took the game world by storm a few years back and to be honest I never really understood why. The much lauded AI is barely average and consists mainly of eagle eye sharpshooting, kamikaze charges and body armor. Character animation is comically bad and the voice acting is atrocious. Yes the tropical landscapes are beautiful and vast and the water looks wonderful unfortunately a lot Farcry took the game world by storm a few years back and to be honest I never really understood why. The much lauded AI is barely average and consists mainly of eagle eye sharpshooting, kamikaze charges and body armor. Character animation is comically bad and the voice acting is atrocious. Yes the tropical landscapes are beautiful and vast and the water looks wonderful unfortunately a lot of the action takes place indoors where things look decidedly ordinary. As for performance I hope your computer is a scorcher because this game will bring even top quality rigs to their knees. Expand
  2. Al
    Nov 24, 2008
    5
    It came out in 2004 along with HL2 and Doom 3. However just like Doom 3, the graphics is all it really had to offer. Wasn't bad at the beginning with the jungle, however as soon as I saw those ridiculously looking mutant monster things, my god...that's when I couldn't bother anymore and stopped playing. They look really lame. The gameplay like Doom 3 is pretty linear as you It came out in 2004 along with HL2 and Doom 3. However just like Doom 3, the graphics is all it really had to offer. Wasn't bad at the beginning with the jungle, however as soon as I saw those ridiculously looking mutant monster things, my god...that's when I couldn't bother anymore and stopped playing. They look really lame. The gameplay like Doom 3 is pretty linear as you go from one place to the next killing the same idiotic mercenaries (even trying to play stealthily is boring). The voice acting is horrendously exaggerated and annoyingly bad, not to mention the story line which is the kind of material we've all heard before. My initial thoughts of playing the game were positive but they slowly went down as I went from one place to the next and it went way down when I came across those mutants. They tried to create fear but pretty much failed as it was cheesy. Like some Saturday morning cartoon creature mutant. Anyway, for a 2004 game it cannot in anyway be compared to the perfection of HL2 and what it had to offer, from amazing graphics to it's in depth story and convincing voice acting. HL2 is something which still holds up in 2008....Far Cry however I'm afraid does not. Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Far Cry is the classic example of a great idea with poor execution. At first glance and play-through it appears to be a fairly solid FPS with some beautiful locales, but the more you play the more you tarnish the original appearance. The main problem stems from some really bad enemy AI and a really difficult few levels that round off the end of the game. Even on the default difficultyFar Cry is the classic example of a great idea with poor execution. At first glance and play-through it appears to be a fairly solid FPS with some beautiful locales, but the more you play the more you tarnish the original appearance. The main problem stems from some really bad enemy AI and a really difficult few levels that round off the end of the game. Even on the default difficulty setting (there are 5 in total) you can expect to die quite a bit. Your character can only sustain a small barrage of gunfire before buying the farm. This is not helped by the 1 hit kills from sniper rifle and rocket launcher wielding enemies.

    Also some of the final levels in the game are unfairly difficult, to the point of just being frustrating and not fun at all. It's a real shame because when the game falls into place and you're lying in the bushes, picking off a group of thugs with your sniper rifle, you'll no doubt love and enjoy Far Cry. It's just a shame that its shortcomings aren't as few and far between.
    Expand
  4. Riv
    Aug 19, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First a little history, back in 2004 there were three FPS games that hit the scene, Doom 3, Half-Life 2, and Far Cry. Far Cry started as a tech demo for Nvidia and Crytek decided to make it a full game. The games story line is OK. You're Jack Carver, a hired boater/gun-crazed-maniac for a C.I.A. operative named Val who is sent out to investigate a tropical set of islands with a mad scientist who is performing insane genetic experiments and who has a literal personal army of mercenaries complete with under/above-ground concrete bunkers, laboratories and more. There is a lot of equipment on the island including a large-scale satellite dish, military helicopters, and bunkers, etc. Your boat is knocked out by mercenaries and it's your job to find out what the plot is and to protect Val who's missing. (I'm lying I really have no freaking clue what the plot is it's really just a guy on a walky-talky telling you what to do).

    Far Cry does has lovely graphics and the tropical islands are fun to look around in.

    The basic game mechanics of the game is this; you have four weapons in your inventory to choose from; the mercanaries have very keen hearing and ok eye-sight (sometimes), you must shoot them in the head and make your way through the islands by killing thousands of mercanaries, engineers, scientists, to find Val and stop the mad doctor and help your friend on the microphone. You can crouch in bushes and grass, and snipe from long distances and do whatever it takes to get by, you can mark targets with a magical pair of binoculars which lets you hear across miles. Enemies can spot you by hearing you shoot/move or if you peep out of bushes too close or sometimes they just know where you are and are coming to get ya!

    The mechanics are fun in a way. But they can also be frustrating, oftentimes it makes sense but later on it can get silly. The game is long and challenging. There is no button to quick-save your game, and the check-points aren't well thought-out and I had to replay long portions of the game over and over in order to progress.

    Graphically the game was a hall-mark when it first came out. It still looks pretty good today; but the game is a lonely game. Everything is out to kill you and you go through the game you will go through alone without meeting your first ally until ten-hours or so into the game.

    You go from point A to B, to do objective A so you can go to point C to to objective B, etc... then the game ends.

    The premise of the game is a 8/10. OK story-line, OK location, interesting design. The rest of the game is a 4/10. Unrefined AI, repetition due to poorly though-out check-points and lack of changing gameplay, the grenades are pieces of poop you sling at enemies. The difficulty is just too high on normal difficulty and anything lower than that just defeats the purpose of the game. Thanks for reading.
    Expand
  5. BobD.
    Apr 12, 2004
    6
    Could have been a great game with one simple addition: quick-save/load. As is, it's a frustrating exercise in tedium as you play the same areas over and over and over and over and over and.... At this point (after one play-through), I've got the entire game memorized. It's unlikely I'll ever play it again. Game developers: read my virtual lips: GIVE US QUICK SAVE & Could have been a great game with one simple addition: quick-save/load. As is, it's a frustrating exercise in tedium as you play the same areas over and over and over and over and over and.... At this point (after one play-through), I've got the entire game memorized. It's unlikely I'll ever play it again. Game developers: read my virtual lips: GIVE US QUICK SAVE & QUICK LOAD for single-player FPS games! The game's also a serious resource hog. I frequently needed to drop my (very high-end) system down to a resolution of 1024x768 to get a decent frame rate. In summary, it's almost as disappointing as XIII (but not quite). Looks nice, though. Expand
  6. Philuhhuh
    Sep 11, 2006
    6
    Simply an average shooter: average guns, average story, average vehicles, average AI. The only "novelty", if you can call it that, are the (formerly) great graphics, which do not look as good as as the Doom 3 engine and do not scale near as well as the Source engine.
    The story is tired and predictable (come on, monsters? Originality please...) and for some unholy reason there is no
    Simply an average shooter: average guns, average story, average vehicles, average AI. The only "novelty", if you can call it that, are the (formerly) great graphics, which do not look as good as as the Doom 3 engine and do not scale near as well as the Source engine.
    The story is tired and predictable (come on, monsters? Originality please...) and for some unholy reason there is no quicksave. I know this makes it "easier" to mak a half-dozen console ports which result in increased revenue, but think of the gamer, please.
    Expand
  7. Groundfisher
    Jul 13, 2004
    6
    Just an average fps with beautiful graphics and no save game feature. Unfortunately, your computer is unlikely to be powerful enough to play the game at max settings. After all the hype, very disappointing.
  8. DerekG.
    May 30, 2006
    5
    Possibly the most disappointing game in history. How could anyone, especially a journalist with any integrity, call this game perfect? The AI is as dumb as any others, the graphics constantly glitch out on my high-end system, even on the lowest possible settings..the story is really truly dull and cliche, and the graphics pale in comparison to the likes of Doom 3, Half-Life 2, and even Possibly the most disappointing game in history. How could anyone, especially a journalist with any integrity, call this game perfect? The AI is as dumb as any others, the graphics constantly glitch out on my high-end system, even on the lowest possible settings..the story is really truly dull and cliche, and the graphics pale in comparison to the likes of Doom 3, Half-Life 2, and even Call of Duty 2. Expand
  9. DickT
    Jun 2, 2009
    6
    This game is more a lesson in how much frustration you can take than how a good the game is. Playing this game on "medium" is = to playing most other games on the hardest levels. And there's 3 other higher difficulty levels! The human enemies aren't that tough, they just have ridiculous accuracy. The mutants can kill you with one swipe and can jump around 50 ft. The rocket armed This game is more a lesson in how much frustration you can take than how a good the game is. Playing this game on "medium" is = to playing most other games on the hardest levels. And there's 3 other higher difficulty levels! The human enemies aren't that tough, they just have ridiculous accuracy. The mutants can kill you with one swipe and can jump around 50 ft. The rocket armed super mutant is tough as nails. It seems that the makers just wanted to see how hard and frustrating they could make a game. The auto save is crap - you'll find yourself replaying scenes 10+ times because of it. The right click zoom is buggy, and the rocket launcher has to be SUPER accurate to hit anything. Lastly, the "run meter" lasts 11 SECONDS. It's RIDICULOUS! Oh, and driving the vehicles is darn near impossible. So there you go. If you're a masochist...enjoy. Expand
  10. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Nice graphics, multiple solutions to most problems, and challenging as hell, but awful controls, sub-par voice acting, and a paper-thin story make Far Cry another mostly boring and ultimately forgettable shooter.
  11. dsn
    May 17, 2012
    5
    i am new into games..so perhaps my review doesnt count that much...but i felt this game does not deserve a very high scores. Reasons: - the story is unattractive. - save points are decided by game.- the armor and heath shatters very quickly...i chose the easy level to start with ,,,and gave up after perhaps reaching somewhere to 70-80% of the game...i died so many times. the monsters killi am new into games..so perhaps my review doesnt count that much...but i felt this game does not deserve a very high scores. Reasons: - the story is unattractive. - save points are decided by game.- the armor and heath shatters very quickly...i chose the easy level to start with ,,,and gave up after perhaps reaching somewhere to 70-80% of the game...i died so many times. the monsters kill you in one blow!..and there are just too many enimies...i was tired of killing and dying. the good points are mentioed by many other reviewers. Collapse
  12. NikB.
    Oct 21, 2007
    7
    The tropical landscapes are not only beautiful but make for an excellent tactical sneaking game. However not all of the game takes place outdoors. Indoors leaves the player without stealth and completely strips the player of any tactical advantage making it feel like a rather generic shooter at times. The human AI and base set up is also a large part of what makes the game fun an The tropical landscapes are not only beautiful but make for an excellent tactical sneaking game. However not all of the game takes place outdoors. Indoors leaves the player without stealth and completely strips the player of any tactical advantage making it feel like a rather generic shooter at times. The human AI and base set up is also a large part of what makes the game fun an interesting, but you eventually have to fight a whole lot of mutants with simple "charge at the player" AI. The story is also One of the most shallow stories I have experienced in a long time. Despite it's many shortcomings I gave it a 7 because of the refreshing jungle combat. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2012
    7
    This game was pretty good, and the graphics are impressive for such an old game. however, the game get's boring after a while. its a little bit all the way the same thing: Shooting, driving, shooting, driving and shooting... Still its a great game and its cheap.
  14. Rebmes
    Apr 3, 2008
    6
    Even in 2008, the graphics and setting are beautiful, compared to all the other games where everything happens in corridors and narrow streets and industrial areas. Unique combat styles where the AI has various strategies to try to take you down; have you ever fought in a jungle before on a 3d FPS?? Not like this. However, like some have said before me, this gets repetitive very quickly, Even in 2008, the graphics and setting are beautiful, compared to all the other games where everything happens in corridors and narrow streets and industrial areas. Unique combat styles where the AI has various strategies to try to take you down; have you ever fought in a jungle before on a 3d FPS?? Not like this. However, like some have said before me, this gets repetitive very quickly, and as soon as you enter the good old corridors and hangars, the game gets boring as hell. Find key, use key, find escape, find bomb, use bomb, find escape. Extremely boring storyline and plot delivery. Also, the whole combat system gets repetitive quickly, out in the jungle. Often times there are so many enemies; as soon as you shoot one they all shoot you, so you memorize and use the same strategy to kill them every time, or you die. Great game if you like simple shooters where all you do is kill die kill die kill die, horrible game if you like to get involved with a storyline or varied/original gameplay. Expand
  15. NotResponsible
    Jul 3, 2007
    5
    All it is is a rip off of the source engine and Half-Life 2 as a jungle.
  16. Hamid
    Jul 20, 2009
    7
    Far cry is an okay game that gets boring after a while. Along the way you'll meet more enemies which include mutated humans turned into hideous monsters, big giant monsters with rocket launchers that fire at you, and most of all, humans. The graphics are not better than Crysis's even if it has been made by the same studio. The game is not better than the orange box or Crysis and Far cry is an okay game that gets boring after a while. Along the way you'll meet more enemies which include mutated humans turned into hideous monsters, big giant monsters with rocket launchers that fire at you, and most of all, humans. The graphics are not better than Crysis's even if it has been made by the same studio. The game is not better than the orange box or Crysis and for some players who have played the game complained about the game when it starts and howb the ground is all blue. Expand
  17. BerlusconiisaThief!!
    May 7, 2004
    7
    A little bit boring.
  18. WuGladdy
    Jul 8, 2004
    7
    Hmmmm Far Cry- The Cry part is what I experienced for the first week trying to set up the game. First of all I started the installation which on the second cd, it corrupted, sending my dvd drive spastic, so I returned the game to get the DVD version. So I installed it, WOW, I got into the game to find all the graphics going weird, A little angry I then looked on the net to find the Hmmmm Far Cry- The Cry part is what I experienced for the first week trying to set up the game. First of all I started the installation which on the second cd, it corrupted, sending my dvd drive spastic, so I returned the game to get the DVD version. So I installed it, WOW, I got into the game to find all the graphics going weird, A little angry I then looked on the net to find the solution, I needed to update my ATI radeon 9200 drivers. So I installed it and got back in ready to get trigger happy. After the first few min I wasn't happy, no Anti-Alasing, hello were going back to the old days of the PS1. I tryed to turned it on but it crashed my computer. My little athlon 64 wasn't enough, it needed a $1000 graphics card to look fantastic. Bumper. So I played and with a little luck I completed it in less that three days. Boring, its mean't to be non linear!, it seemed pretty straight forward to me. So I decided to compare how far we have come in the last six years to halflife1 & MOH. Ok, maybe a little old but they have two strong components to a FPS. One puzzles and interaction with the environment. On numerous occasions I see opposing characters looking blankly out to sea, it doesn't happen in real life, there is all was one who does something random like having a smoke or adjusting his crutch etc. Look at MOH's first level, everyones havin a smoke playing cards, chuck a granade everyone starts flying. Things like this make games special. Also if this AI is really good why is it possible to get every opponent in section to come over and get mowed down leaving turrets empty which would have mowed me down! its a little stupid. Going back hl1, there was always something blowing up in your face, in farcry nothing, I never got crushed by anything during the game or get swept off my feet except for the boat sinking!. Its got some good features like a small but neat physics engine but the overall the game won't compare to half life 2. Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2011
    7
    A stealth game with broken stealth.

    WOOHOO! Being spotted 6 miles away by an enemy with no eyes!
    I don't see the appeal in a 'Crappy' Stealth game, stealth is all about sneaking past the enemy, not taking out a molotov and letting go.
  20. Aug 24, 2011
    5
    pretty mediocre game, somewhat enjoyable, gets really repetitive, i dont see what all the fuss is about this game. not only that, but the AI is ridiculous, and i think theres actually a term "Far Cry vision" for how they are. apparently, they all have x-ray-teloscopic-homing vision and have aimbot on, so even when you have a bunch of bushes and the like in the way, and you cant see thepretty mediocre game, somewhat enjoyable, gets really repetitive, i dont see what all the fuss is about this game. not only that, but the AI is ridiculous, and i think theres actually a term "Far Cry vision" for how they are. apparently, they all have x-ray-teloscopic-homing vision and have aimbot on, so even when you have a bunch of bushes and the like in the way, and you cant see the enemy, they can somehow see you and blast you to death from a mile away... Expand
  21. Sep 1, 2012
    7
    Great game for the time it was released. Awesome story and setting, gunplay is equally satisfying. It's also quite challenging at certain parts. The level design can get a bit confusing at times and mission objectives are sometimes a bit unclear. But overall it is a well done experience.
  22. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Technically stunning for its time. Gunplay works fine and enemy AI is good, perhaps a little too good to be realistic. Multiplayer is great but the singleplayer is just decent.
  23. Feb 18, 2013
    5
    Far Cry has excellent gameplay mechanics, looks wonderful even eight years after its release, and...well, I can't say what else, because I can't get past the training level. Yes, it's that freaking hard. Even on the easiest difficulty setting, I can't move one inch (literally, no exaggeration) within earshot of an enemy without being swarmed and shot to pieces within seconds. I'll giveFar Cry has excellent gameplay mechanics, looks wonderful even eight years after its release, and...well, I can't say what else, because I can't get past the training level. Yes, it's that freaking hard. Even on the easiest difficulty setting, I can't move one inch (literally, no exaggeration) within earshot of an enemy without being swarmed and shot to pieces within seconds. I'll give the game developers this much: This is the most realistic shooter I've ever played. This is really what would happen if I tried to infiltrate a mercenary camp or steal their truck or rob their tents. But I want to PLAY, and to this casual fan of shooters and action RPGs, this game is not play. It's work. Punishing, unrelenting, unrewarding work. In the game world, I've died roughly 200 times (literally again) and progressed roughly 500 feet. I give this game a 5, which is the average of 10 (because it's probably an incredibly fantastic game to the kind of hardcore gamer that I'm not) and zero (because that's what this game has been worth to me personally). I want to like it, but it's just so damned hard that it's not fun. Expand
  24. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    This game is a mix of very good and very bad elements, and while it ends up being a good overall package, it could have been much better. The graphics were gorgeous for its day (especially the environment) and many of the levels are very large and open, with plenty of options for approaching problems. However, as you progress through the game you spend more and more time in linear bunkersThis game is a mix of very good and very bad elements, and while it ends up being a good overall package, it could have been much better. The graphics were gorgeous for its day (especially the environment) and many of the levels are very large and open, with plenty of options for approaching problems. However, as you progress through the game you spend more and more time in linear bunkers and facilities and less time in open environments. In addition, the enemies you face eventually become very tough and thus severely limit your tactical options (e.g. soldiers that can survive a sniper shot to the face or mutants that take 5 rocket hits to kill). The characters are entirely forgettable, the voice acting sucks, and the story is cliche and boring. The vehicles are very difficult to control and often just make you a bullet magnet. The weapon selection is moderately good, with an array of choices for both subtlety and fireworks. Far Cry is a game well worth playing, but one which failed to live up to its stellar potential. Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2012
    5
    Nostalgia may be clouding this review- I remember playing this when it originally came out and being simply amazed with the graphics engine
  26. Jun 21, 2013
    5
    Good game.

    Plot 4.75
    Technique 6.25
    -Graphics 6.25
    -Performance 6
    GP 6
    Sound 4.25
    Longevity 5 ½

    Avg. 5.35

    This game features good graphics and peformances; its plot is ok and the gameplay is very nice.
  27. Feb 20, 2013
    7
    The overall game is pretty good, its a single player fps that takes place on an island jungle environment. pretty good graphics and sound for its release date, and the gameplay controls are standard with other first person shooters. and it uses crysisengine which eventually got developed into the crysis game. only real problem is the enemy ai in the game, its just crazy hard to play. evenThe overall game is pretty good, its a single player fps that takes place on an island jungle environment. pretty good graphics and sound for its release date, and the gameplay controls are standard with other first person shooters. and it uses crysisengine which eventually got developed into the crysis game. only real problem is the enemy ai in the game, its just crazy hard to play. even on the lowest difficulty level, you will get killed by 2 or 3 bullets coming from seemingly nowhere. even with body armor and everything, still you will get frustrated. it only becomes more frustrating when the enemy gets stronger later, with advanced tech and all. they seem to know where you are, even without seeing. overall, a solid shooter but i do think a bit overrated. Expand
  28. GJboom
    May 1, 2009
    7
    The game is decent. It features a lot of cool moments and technically it all works. It could well be a 9 if only it saved it self from two dick moves: Mutants and lame weapons. Also the end is a no brainer because it's based around the Arena principle instead of open fighting to wich you will be used by then. O, stay far away from the movie, it's horrible.
  29. HarmL.
    Apr 21, 2004
    5
    I hate the multi player part. Got shot by some 'very good invisible' soldiers and then thrown out of multyplayer because I should have been cheeting (says punkbuster). This is not only frustrating, I am total;y pist off. I shall not buy again a game of this stupid firm and shall not trust punkbuster ever again!.
  30. MS
    Nov 23, 2005
    7
    This was a shock to me..I thought that this was going to be a trip of a life time....well so much for expectations. It left me with the same sort of disappointment that I had in my brain after Halo 2, though not as extreme. Far Cry is honestly a game that I wish I could love..but I could not find any sort of motivation to keep me moving..just endless streams of fighting and killing. It This was a shock to me..I thought that this was going to be a trip of a life time....well so much for expectations. It left me with the same sort of disappointment that I had in my brain after Halo 2, though not as extreme. Far Cry is honestly a game that I wish I could love..but I could not find any sort of motivation to keep me moving..just endless streams of fighting and killing. It was like a very non-thrilling The Suffering, just endless waves of violence and no plot what so ever. There was nothing to make me want to move through the beautifully crafted levels and there was nothing that motivated me to even try to shoot anb antagonist's head off...many would say that this is what made Doom III a good game...Doom three had complexity in its style though..it kept you moving because of how unexpected you were..and of course you wanted to kill that King of Hell...In Half-Life 2 there is a dense story and intruiging characters that keep you wanting to fight to the end and save all that you've seen...Even in games as shallow as Halo (The first) there was a thrill to be held. But this game was just way too predictable and for all of its technical beauty it was just too dull to keep moving. After beating this game even though I found it pleasingly challeneging...I felt terribly empty inside. Expand
  31. May 31, 2015
    6
    The graphics are outstanding, even for 2015, absolutely beautiful. The story is interesting. After that things go downhill for me. The script is awful. The voice acting is lame. The absolutely worst thing for me is the combat. The AI are ridiculously accurate with their guns at loooong distances. I can't even see where they are half the time. Low crawling in the bush to avoidThe graphics are outstanding, even for 2015, absolutely beautiful. The story is interesting. After that things go downhill for me. The script is awful. The voice acting is lame. The absolutely worst thing for me is the combat. The AI are ridiculously accurate with their guns at loooong distances. I can't even see where they are half the time. Low crawling in the bush to avoid detection is a joke.The binocs help, a little, but not much. The game difficulty settings are stupid. "Easy"? You got to be frigging kidding me. Thank God I have a trainer to make the game a little more enjoyable. Otherwise I'd have to s*** can this game out of pure frustration. I've been playing shooters for 30 years and I know the difference between easy and hard. The game developer evidently doesn't. Expand
  32. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    This game can die in a fire. For 2004 the graphics would have been incredible, but there are major issues with playability. The final 1.4.0 patch broke lots of the physics so enemies will see you and kill you from miles away and through tents. You will randomly get completely stuck on stairs or even the smallest jut in the terrain. You will get stuck on some sections for hours, replayingThis game can die in a fire. For 2004 the graphics would have been incredible, but there are major issues with playability. The final 1.4.0 patch broke lots of the physics so enemies will see you and kill you from miles away and through tents. You will randomly get completely stuck on stairs or even the smallest jut in the terrain. You will get stuck on some sections for hours, replaying dozens of times because of the bulls*#$. The vehicle physics SUCK. The only reason I finished this game was to finish the "story", but I wanted to put a bullet in my head quite a few times while trying to figure out a way around some of the malarkey. No way this is an 89/100. Expand
  33. Jan 23, 2016
    5
    Far Cry is one of the most overrated games in 2004. Some people say that this game is the best FPS game after legendary Half Life from 1998. I disagree. Far Cry is just an average FPS game with boring story, stereotypical characters and annoying game play.

    Now, the game really looks fantastic. Most of the game takes place on tropical islands in South Pacific and the islands are just
    Far Cry is one of the most overrated games in 2004. Some people say that this game is the best FPS game after legendary Half Life from 1998. I disagree. Far Cry is just an average FPS game with boring story, stereotypical characters and annoying game play.

    Now, the game really looks fantastic. Most of the game takes place on tropical islands in South Pacific and the islands are just beautiful to watch, the sea, waterfalls and jungles look really good and breathtaking, but good graphics doesn't bring good game.

    The story is boring and typical even for the worst FPS games: we have one guy with a lot of guns against the army of bad guys and (of course) genetic mutants. Most of the time you are just walking from one island to another, shooting and killing everyone you meet without having a clue what's going on. The enemies are ten times stronger than you, they can see you from a mile away, hear one little sound and they put the entire place on full alert, knowing exactly where you are, I even heard that they can see you threw the walls and rocks which is really stupid and unrealistic. There is no strategy while approaching to the enemy, all the time you are just shooting at them. And sometimes you'll have to shoot at them in different directions, because they can attack you from the air, water and jungle at the same time. The game become very boring after a few hours, because it's all the same; you come to the island, start shooting at the enemy, enter a base or laboratory, shoot new bunch of enemies, push the button or something like that and in the end shoot some more enemies. Maybe it's fun and challenging game for young players, but for me (I like the games with story and challenge, not "shoot to kill" games) it was just a waste of time. There are some cool things in the game, you can switch walking on foot and driving with jeeps, boats,... but that's not enough for a good game.

    Far Cry is overall an average FPS game with bad story and terrible voice acting, annoying game play and after a few hours it become boring and predictable. Trouble in paradise for teenagers.
    Expand
  34. Dec 31, 2014
    5
    Far Cry is a game I was unimpressed with back in 2003, yet it seems worse every time I replay it.

    Never have I played a game so rife with random, arbitrary caprice. You will die frequently, often by an enemy you never saw. Many enemies, especially later on, are bullet sponges while you go down in a few hits. That sort of balance can work in a game where damage is readily avoidable- here
    Far Cry is a game I was unimpressed with back in 2003, yet it seems worse every time I replay it.

    Never have I played a game so rife with random, arbitrary caprice. You will die frequently, often by an enemy you never saw. Many enemies, especially later on, are bullet sponges while you go down in a few hits. That sort of balance can work in a game where damage is readily avoidable- here it is not. Even in perfectly normal combat, no matter what you do with mobility or cover, you sort of sweat out health, assuming you don't get king hit and die instantly.

    That could've been ameliorated by a decent save system, but here you're left with sporadic checkpoints, which barely make sense in the context of a freeform shooter. You want experimentation? Too bad; too risky. Always living from checkpoint to checkpoint, crying "my kingdom for a checkpoint!". At times it would make sense to take it slow, except A) gunplay is much more fun than stealth here and B) spending lots of time getting it done risks that time, because of the save system.

    Factor in constant annoyances like a dismal movement speed (barely a brisk walk), a large but pointlessly slow-to-recharge stamina bar that serves no real purpose, ditto for a thermal vision recharge (even when some enemies are invisible!), enemies' ridiculous melee range, bogus ammo capacities, abysmal draw distance of enemies... everything in the game stands somewhere between off-kilter and utterly broken. Not so much a laundry list of minor annoyances, as here annoyance competes for time with decent gameplay.

    Level design ranges from mediocre to terrible, with extended boring indoor levels where even the pretense of freedom is dropped.

    Visually the game still holds up well today. Or, it would, were it not for a LOD bias that doesn't adjust for modern resolutions. Glaring billboards everywhere and some strange interpolation between LODs that can be mistaken for enemy combatants (if it moves, kill it). Those niggles aside, the quality gap between graphics & gameplay shows that Far Cry should have remained a tech demo.
    Expand
  35. Oct 3, 2015
    7
    Far Cry is not revolutionary. At least not in gameplay, voice-acting, or story. The only mind-blowing thing in this game is its graphics. Others? Not so much.
  36. Jul 1, 2015
    7
    - Good: Gameplay, Graphic
    - Mixed: Story
    - Bad: Pacing, Second half of the game

    The first half of the game is very good and enjoyable but after some time i get bored.
  37. dsn
    May 17, 2012
    0
    i am new into games..so perhaps my review doesnt count that much...but i felt this game does not deserve a very high scores. Reasons: - the story is unattractive. - save points are decided by game.- the armor and heath shatters very quickly...i chose the easy level to start with ,,,and gave up after perhaps reaching somewhere to 70-80% of the game...i died so many times. the monsters killi am new into games..so perhaps my review doesnt count that much...but i felt this game does not deserve a very high scores. Reasons: - the story is unattractive. - save points are decided by game.- the armor and heath shatters very quickly...i chose the easy level to start with ,,,and gave up after perhaps reaching somewhere to 70-80% of the game...i died so many times. the monsters kill you in one blow!..and there are just too many enimies...i was tired of killing and dying. the good points are mentioed by many other reviewers. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Cheat Code Central
    90
    The game has plenty going for it. Most notably the AI which rivals just about any human that I've played against. What is most interesting is that the AI plays fair. It doesn't have ESP.
  2. It's like being stranded right smack in the middle of an action-packed B grade movie, and while I'd probably fall asleep half way through the flick, I stayed wide awake and my adrenaline was pumping as mad while playing Far Cry.
  3. 92
    Far Cry is the total package; outstanding gameplay, completely groundbreaking graphics, and a storyline and plot filled with surprises and heart pounding excitement.