Farming Simulator 2011 Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Farm Simulator 2011 players take on the role of a young farmer faced with the test of building a successful business. Beginning with just a thousand acres of beautiful rolling countryside and a small collection of vehicles, they progress through the game by completing a range of farmingIn Farm Simulator 2011 players take on the role of a young farmer faced with the test of building a successful business. Beginning with just a thousand acres of beautiful rolling countryside and a small collection of vehicles, they progress through the game by completing a range of farming tasks over 18 hour days, like breeding and feeding cows, spreading manure, milking, plowing, seeding and baling, eventually building up wealth to invest in newer and better equipment and machinery. With licenses from leading manufacturers such as DEUTZ-FAHR, KRONE, HORSCH, PÖTTINGER and VOGEL & NOOT, Farming Simulator 2011 features a variety of sophisticated and authentically replicated equipment for players to choose from, including tractors, combine harvesters, plows, seeders and balers.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    80
    Anyway, when it comes to the bottom line, Farming Simulator 2011 is really not bad at all.
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Feb 24, 2011
    20
    Also, I'm pretty sure my farm is under surveillance by Interpol, because identical gunmetal grey FWDs keep spooling past on the highway just near my barn. [Mar 2011, p.73]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers. One of the best simulators agriculture "of" history. Innovative, brought lovers of agricultural machinery and equipment and real faithful. An open world where you are free to do whatever you want. Play with your friends, manage a farm, obtain income through the cycle of planting and harvesting of cereals, dairy farming, generate clean energy and renewable at the biogas plant; plant vegetables, herbs, create bees.
    Besides all this, we have a strong community for baixarmos many mods.
    The best simulator is agicultura Farming Simulator 2011.
    Collapse
  2. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    It really baffles me how such a great game as farming simulator 2011 could be so overlooked by the mainstream media, but it just goes to showIt really baffles me how such a great game as farming simulator 2011 could be so overlooked by the mainstream media, but it just goes to show the rotten state of vidya gaem journalism in recent time. At first look FS11 looks like just another simulator but when you get deeper into it you will find that this might as well be the best game ever made. If you haven't played this masterpiece you have no right to call yourself a vidya gamer Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    Very very good German game about what it takes to run a farm. This game is for farmer people, while others can play for example emergency 2012Very very good German game about what it takes to run a farm. This game is for farmer people, while others can play for example emergency 2012 or cities XL 2011 :) Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    Well poshed. May not be for everyone. Slow to start and medium learning curve, but once you upgrade from the shoddy starting tools andWell poshed. May not be for everyone. Slow to start and medium learning curve, but once you upgrade from the shoddy starting tools and vehicles, everything gets faster and better. Very active modding community. Multiplayer is fun with a few people, and single player has "workers" that are basically low-payed autopilots that do the majority of the mundane work for you. Once again, may not be for everyone. If your into resource management and collection, it's worth a shot. Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2012
    2
    I like agricultural games, but this doesnt seems to me some great one. Honesty I think that Old Village Simulator 1962 and Farm MachinesI like agricultural games, but this doesnt seems to me some great one. Honesty I think that Old Village Simulator 1962 and Farm Machines Championships 2013 are much better in this category. Expand
  6. Jul 24, 2012
    1
    You should get paid to have to play this game. Literally. If doing nothing but sitting on a tractor or combine and driving around thrills you,You should get paid to have to play this game. Literally. If doing nothing but sitting on a tractor or combine and driving around thrills you, then this game is for you. However as far as actually 'simulating' a farm, this game is terrible. Cons: Horrible Horrible HORRIBLE AI. You can 'hire' employee's which amounts to simply automating a few of the tasks such as cultivating or harvesting a field. However, whatever means the game uses to automate these tasks is simply terrible. For example, put a plow on automatic and you'll come back to find that even though the field is perfectly rectangular, your 'employee' decided to plow at a random angle, leaving vast triangles of unplowed, or unharvested field. Less often, but even more annoying, they will just randomly decide that turning around in the middle of the field is a good option and will stop when they get to the end. Another AI problem is the "dynamic world" which amounts to spawned vehicles which amount to creating an obstacle course. If one of them CAN pull out in front of you... they will. Other problems include tasks that are totally meaningless. Such as cultivating and plowing. There is no need to plow at all. The yield of a field will not change at all if you cultivate and plow before drilling. Though I have not had a chance to test it, I suspect other features, such as spraying, slurry, and all the other fertilizing processes will have limited if any impact on the crop yield. Another problem is that there is no way to evaluate a crop or field, and there is no interface that lets you evaluate the world. You have no idea how a field is doing until you harvest it, and yield is determined by how many trailers you pull off of it. I am guessing the reason for this is that nothing you do ever affects yield anyway. You put the seeds in the ground and harvest them when they're ready. Not much "simulating" going on.

    The world pretends to be dynamic by adding people, AI cars, and weather. But none of these have an apparent impact on the game. You can not interact with any of them, other than rain/hail will stop your harvesters, and cars make good objects to run into. The mock-dynamic market prices are really just randomly raised/lowered prices that in no way reflect how much you are selling or who you are selling to. Want to take a shortcut through that field that is ready to harvest? No problem. The yield will be the same. No trampling. Pros: It is visually appealing. Most player controlled equipment is very realistic... that's about it. If playing a game where doing nothing but driving tractors around, with little to no impact on how things turn out, this is your game.
    Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2011
    1
    I don't see how this is a 'game for farmer people'. Even normal, real, everyday farming would be more interesting than this terrible game. ItI don't see how this is a 'game for farmer people'. Even normal, real, everyday farming would be more interesting than this terrible game. It is the most meaningless and dull game I have ever come across in my life.
    Not to mention buggy. It only takes a tiny tree stump to completely derail your massive (and slow) combine harvester.
    The map is massive and the vehicles are slow, meaning it can take almost 10 minutes to get to the other fields. Fields take 5-10 minutes for each stage of the process: Plowing, sowing, spraying, harvesting, threshing. That's almost an hour of directing your buggy and slow vehicle up and down a field.

    I played this game for about 3 hours (I don't know why) and didn't even get up to the stage of selling anything, so I can't tell you about that part. It may be where the action is (but I doubt it).

    I honestly don't understand how this has received so many positive scores.
    Expand