Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    86
    With their constant improvements the franchise has blossomed to the king of simulators. The many innovations are great, now you don't have just the cows, you also have to take care for your sheep and chickens, the free placeable objects and buildings are also a good idea and the sound and look of the licensed vehicles are just amazing.
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    75
    Farming Simulator 2013 is the 4th edition of the famous series by Giants Software, a perfect agrarian management videogame, strong from funny and deep gameplay: a good example for the German videogame industry.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    75
    The market for simulation games is bigger than one might expect. Farming Simulator 2013 built an active and respectable fan base in mere weeks. The game is guided by how you want to play it. It goes from peaceful to stressful, from attaining goals to being open ended, but Farming Simulator 2013 mostly offers a lot of fun and appreciation.
  4. Nov 8, 2012
    71
    The combination of the excellent community, unwavering focus on running the business, and the simplicity of the controls and your responsibilities creates a unique business simulation that rewards you proportionally to the amount of work you put into it.
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    70
    Farming Simulator 2013 follows last year's version with a wide assortment of new content from hundreds of licensed vehicles and equipment to a massive map with support for raising animals. Players other than farming or simulation enthusiasts will be frustrated by the lack of in-game guidance beyond a few brief tutorials that ultimately results in a game that can only be recommended to series fans.
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    70
    Farming Simulator 2013 is the ideal game for whom love the agriculture and the agricultural machinery.
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    68
    The new farming-simulator-game is overall more of the same. You'll expand your farm, buy new vehicles and go for random missions like lawn mowing at the golf-court. Unfortunately the time-limit in those missions is horrible. The farming-gameplay is easy to learn and there are more than 100 vehicles to buy, modeled with rich detail. The game could be much better, if the developer would have focused on a smooth interface and more realistic physics.
  8. 60
    You can find a lot of educational value in this simulation, but as entertainment, it just doesn’t work – it's more edutainment than a game. [Jan 2013]
  9. Jan 6, 2013
    60
    This is not a product for a typical gamer and has plenty of shortcomings but it does fit lazy afternoons pretty well. But on the other hand so does blowing into ocarina… [1/2013, p.74]
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    60
    What sounds as a simple idea, ends up being a complex game that simulates agricultural life from many perspectives and in the best way possible. Just do not look for perfection nor a revolution in it.
  11. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    It seems that the Giant Software team has prepared the field to be cultivated but forgot to plant some seeds. A handful of new things and a new batch of machines and tools isn't enough to cover up lots of bugs in the mechanics and physics engine. Of course - Farming Simulator 2013 is being patched up, but is has too few interesting changes and too many old problems. Fans will play this game, but I believe everyone expected something more.
  12. Dec 2, 2012
    50
    This gets three bonus points for being less snooty than Agricultural Simulator 2012 which clearly has some kind of underdog issue. [Dec 2012, p.84]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 8 out of 26
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best farming sim yet. Harvest moon and farmville are very clearly 2nd tier games at the advent of Farming sim 2013. It has up to 10 player multiplayer so you and all of your friends and simulate the exciting work of the agriculture industry. With the addition of sugar beets and potatoes the possibilities are endless. This may just be GOTY 2012. Farming Simulator 2013 is a must buy for any fans of the hardcore farming simulator genre. 10 out of 10. Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    3
    This is my first farming simulator. As with other Giant Software games their game engine is outdated. The graphics are outdated. For example, in first person view the mirrors don't work, not at all, it's just grey. How can I take simulation game serious when the mirrors don't work I can't see the plow lines unless I see an external view but how is that a sim? This is more an arcade. Seriously? The game menus are all stretched at 5760 x 1080 (Eyefinity). I only played through the tutorials and stopped. Unless this game is patched with an updated graphics engine I'll remove from hard drive and not buy another Giants Software game. I was looking forward to buying five copies so my family could play co-op play. Minecraft looks better than this game so we'll stick to playing that. I guess if you want a Farming Arcade game this would be okay. A simulation? No, the sounds, the views, the attention to detail are all missing. This is a what I would expect in a 2008 arcade style game, not a 2012/2013 game for a PC. Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2012
    1
    This is my third farming simulator I play and I must say - I am disappointed. How is this possible that they sold so many copies of FS 2011 and didn't invest a dime in FS 2013? The bads: 1. Graphic engine (doens't need a comment, it is outdated as my grandpa) 2. Lack of phsyics (absolutely none, zero, null)
    3. Lack of a good manual explaining how to use different buildings (I played other farming games so I know, but new player is completely lost)
    4. Emptiness of surroundings. 5. Did I mention terribely ugly graphics and lack of physics? 6. No economy system (You just sell and buy sell and buy - but hey ,where is the competition? Targets You need to meet? nope.) 7. Sound... well, no wonder why every Youtube FS 2013 gameplay has music instead of game sound. The goods:
    1. Machines diversity
    2. And that's all I think.
    3. Mods. But 90% of them is ugly or doesn't work, so actually I should move it to cons. I will recommend it to... noone I think. Just wait for Agrar Simulator 2013 and 7 patches and You will get something similar to real farming. Stay far, far away from THIS. 1/10 for some nice tractors models.
    Full Review »