Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Farming Simulator 2013 keeps all the ingredients that make the staple of virtual farming, while incorporating many new machines, vehicles, crops, animals, and environments. Farming Simulator 2013 features equipment from the top 20 vehicle manufacturers. Dozens of new machines have found their way into the game, such as the notable brand Case IH, as well as some gigantic farming machines, soon to be unveiled at Gamescom Cologne. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    86
    With their constant improvements the franchise has blossomed to the king of simulators. The many innovations are great, now you don't have just the cows, you also have to take care for your sheep and chickens, the free placeable objects and buildings are also a good idea and the sound and look of the licensed vehicles are just amazing.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    75
    The market for simulation games is bigger than one might expect. Farming Simulator 2013 built an active and respectable fan base in mere weeks. The game is guided by how you want to play it. It goes from peaceful to stressful, from attaining goals to being open ended, but Farming Simulator 2013 mostly offers a lot of fun and appreciation.
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    75
    Farming Simulator 2013 is the 4th edition of the famous series by Giants Software, a perfect agrarian management videogame, strong from funny and deep gameplay: a good example for the German videogame industry.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    68
    The new farming-simulator-game is overall more of the same. You'll expand your farm, buy new vehicles and go for random missions like lawn mowing at the golf-court. Unfortunately the time-limit in those missions is horrible. The farming-gameplay is easy to learn and there are more than 100 vehicles to buy, modeled with rich detail. The game could be much better, if the developer would have focused on a smooth interface and more realistic physics.
  5. 60
    You can find a lot of educational value in this simulation, but as entertainment, it just doesn’t work – it's more edutainment than a game. [Jan 2013]
  6. Jan 6, 2013
    60
    This is not a product for a typical gamer and has plenty of shortcomings but it does fit lazy afternoons pretty well. But on the other hand so does blowing into ocarina… [1/2013, p.74]
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    50
    This gets three bonus points for being less snooty than Agricultural Simulator 2012 which clearly has some kind of underdog issue. [Dec 2012, p.84]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    This is the best farming sim yet. Harvest moon and farmville are very clearly 2nd tier games at the advent of Farming sim 2013. It has up to 10 player multiplayer so you and all of your friends and simulate the exciting work of the agriculture industry. With the addition of sugar beets and potatoes the possibilities are endless. This may just be GOTY 2012. Farming Simulator 2013 is a must buy for any fans of the hardcore farming simulator genre. 10 out of 10. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Awesome simulator. Its nothing like the euro truck simulator where you mainly drive loads everywhere. In this simulator you work your way up so you can own more land and do twice as much more harvesting as you did from the beginning. there are animals in the game and greenhouses and electric producers and much more to help you gain a big amount of money. There's over atleast 20 different brand names you can buy from and all that do different things to get the job done.

    I have so far put in 150 hours into this game and i thought it would be tough but it turns out i was wrong. It's incredibly time consuming and when you go to purchase items that can be placed on the map, it can only be placed one direction. Greenhouses need supplied water AND manure instead of manure alone.

    When i first started getting cow and and a bunch of animals, i thought i was biting off more than i can chew but its becoming even more fun and now i can see almost the whole games features and what its got to offer. I really enjoy this simulator. Best simulator yet! 10/10
    Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    This is surprisingly good for something that doesn't even try to hide the fact it's a farming simulator. That said, of course it still *is* a farming simulator, so you *will* be doing some things that are a little more tedious than you'd expect from a typical game. For example, there's no denying that a large part of farm work is driving up and down a field at slow speed, so you will be doing some of that. At the same time you don't have most of the sources of excitement that other open world games have, you're doing honest work (except if you're stealing golf carts, which is possible and apparently nobody cares) so you're not going to be in any police chases or shootouts. The game does a very good job at simulating a farm. You start out with some money, machinery, a loan, and a field (depending on difficulty) and manage the operation from there on. You tend your fields, buy machines, buy more fields, perhaps some animals, and so on, and the level of detail is mostly pretty good. All this takes place in a completely open world, and while you can't buy any cars unless you install mods, there's a very large selection of tractors and other equipment that you can drive around. The nice thing is that equipment generally works like you'd expect it to work: Trailers can be attached to tractors, or in some cases to other trailers, making trains; then you drive them over a grate and press a key to unload your grains, which will happen in a way specific to the type of trailer you're using. Front loaders can pick up things and carry them around, sowers sow, sprayers spray, additional tanks attached to the front of your tractor provide more fertilizer for the sprayer attached to its rear, balers pick up straw and make bales, which you can then pick up with a front loader or another machine that stacks them. Cows produce manure, which you can use to fertilize your fields if you choose to do so, and so forth.

    The game does try to alleviate some of the tedium by letting you hire help for some of the repetitive driving tasks. For example, plowing, cultivating, sowing, fertilizing, spraying, and harvesting can all be done by a computer controlled clone of you. This is implemented very nicely, you just drive the machine to the starting point and press H and it'll start doing what you'd expect it to do. For example, a combine harvester will start slowly harvesting your field, driving up and down, and eventually stop when it's full. Then you can pull up next to it with a trailer and the computer help will extend the combine's pipe and unload the harvest into your trailer and continue. Similarly if you drive next to it while it's harvesting, it'll transfer the harvest to your trailer as you go. This makes it very easy to do some of the typical farming tasks that normally require more than one person. It also adds an aspect of time management to the game when you have multiple computer controlled helpers working your fields and need to jump around between them to support them.

    You also don't have to wait for your plants to grow. There are three settings to control how fast plants grow, and separately you can also speed up time by 120x. Machines only work at one fixed pace, though.

    The farming aspect of this game includes various types of grains, potatoes, beets, as well as cattle (for dairy), sheep (for wool), and chicken (for eggs). Additionally, you can buy green houses that you can freely place on the map to grow things such as herbs or tomatoes, and you can buy bee houses that'll produce honey.

    In addition to typical farming tasks, there also are some half arsed missions (basically two types: one requires you to pick up something with a front loader, another requires you to mow strangely rectangular areas where grass suddenly appeared on the golf course). You can also buy solar panels and wind energy converters, which will provide a nice consistent stream of extra income (they're a little too good).

    I'm rating this game a 9 out of 10 because it's a good farming simulator with a very nice open world and very detailed equipment. But as I stated above, it's still a farming simulator, and not an action game, and I would not necessarily expect it to appeal to the same audience as other open world games.
    Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    I love the agriculture and FS2013 provides me the opporunity of (finally) running my farm!
    Simple controls, well recreated environments, many
    situations to be kept under control. Well done.
    However I would strongly recommend an extended tutorial and better interface.
    Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    5
    Overall, I like it a bit better than FS 2011. While delivering goods is tedius, I play with a gamepad, and xinput compatibility has been fixed since 2011. If you were frustrated trying to map LT and RT to drive forward and reverse in 2011, note that the default controls in 2013 include proportional drive, provided your controller is X-Input compatible. Playing Vanilla, some worthwhile machines have been added (e.g. weideman loader), but this is more of a fix than an improvement, as playing multiplayer with mods is still a giant hasstle. My biggest gripe is physics, where acceleration is too slow and speeds are to high. Tractors don't tip over, and connecting tools is not as realistic as it could be. While I like the game overall, Giants didn't sell so many coppies becasue they made a good game, they sold so many copies because they put a case quadtrack on the cover of their box. Overall, the game isn't bad, I just wish there had been more effort put into improving the vehicles. Also Picking up palets is terribly unrealistic, and friction doesn't scale as you add weight (Driving off of a trailer will propel the trailer backward). The world is a maze as well. On the good side, Controls are fixed, the menu music is less bad (though still intrusive if you enjoy in-game sounds) and it's all in all a more complete than 2011. Mirrors are grey, and pedestrians do not collide with tractors. There is much to be desired from this game, but it is surprisingly complex. Most of my enjoyment of this game is thanks to a dedicated modding community. Most of the games value comes through mods, and unlike 2011, the game is complete without buying additional dlc. Expand
  6. Apr 15, 2013
    4
    This is the first farming simulator that I have played and I can say, I was quite disappointed. After moving away from the country, my parents decided to give me this game in hopes I could get over the fact that I was living in a large city. I would prefer if they didn't.

    Negatives

    1. I want to point out is that they do not give you a tutorial. I had absolutely no idea how to play it.
    2. Lack of physics. Somehow my tractor got stuck in a fence...
    3. Music was horrible.
    4. Graphics are not the best.

    Positives

    1. Huge selection of vehicles.
    2. You get a sense of what farmers go through. Note the world "sense".

    I honestly would not recommend this game as a 2012/2013 PC game. If this was released in 2009 or around then, I would maybe recommend it. Not a good game. I do not recommend it.
    Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    1
    Why developers have released something so hopeless as Farming Simulator 2013? Tragic graphics, terrible sound, a lot of bugs, miserable driving physics and If I had not replaced it would have met in these five thousand characters proposed by Metacritic. Plus we can recognize that it is cheap (compared to other games because compared to the quality is very expensive) Expand

See all 25 User Reviews