User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 428 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 428

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    7
    This sequel is simply ok. It doesn't provide the same intense horror experience that the original F.E.A.R. does. Original F.E.A.R. players will know more or less what to expect next. But other than the lack of innovation, it still is a decent game.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    [Game] FEAR2 Project Origin is a seriously scary FPS. Play as a marine and get sent in to pick up a scientist - you know the kind - a scientist that needs human guinea pigs. Live through nightmarish sequences, have your adrenaline spike, and shut down your computer for a rest. Reboot and Repeat. If you liked the first FEAR game you will love this one. [Overall score 9.5] Played 2012.04.06 on Steam PC - 3 years after release

    [DRM] Steam only

    [Challenges] This game is not too complicated. Pick up gun - go down corridor and shoot. The atmospherics are mind numbingly intense and addictive; adrenaline overdose is inevitable. I really like the way the game flips back and forth between more standard FPS run and gun - and the surreal Alma afflicted battles - the flavour is good - and then better - rinse and repeat. Choose your weapons and carry 4 - standard style armaments and the gameplay is tight Tight TIGHT.

    AI behaviour is good - you will get snipped - and you see the patterns soon enough. I played on normal mode and had a good number of reloads; sometimes you are just outnumbered - so you go back to basics - pull back to choke points - grenades, cover and head shots. This game has that bullet time kind of stuff - I did not use it except in the last battle. Hmmmm maybe I should replay this game on a more difficult mode!

    I enjoyed this game so much I will purchase FEAR3 even though the price is still forty smackers. Sometimes you just want to run and gun.

    [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 Frame rate - smooth as butter. I played this with a Logitech G15 and a Kensington expert mouse - the only way to play! The in-game menu allowed me to remap the keys which then show up in the on-screen instructions and tips.

    [MyFavorites] [Win7x64] FEAR2 Crysis&Warhead JustCause2 Rage [XPx32] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 FEAR Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries Suspended [Born] 1964
    Expand
  3. May 5, 2012
    7
    the overall game is mostly "meh"... but the ending is really interesting :) I don't even bother to mention about consolization cuz it's normal, every game is consolized these days... which is bad btw.
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    8
    A worthy successor. Only minuses being that the game feels much more like a generic console shooter than the original. This is made up however by the grat story which had me completely hooked.
  5. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    A much more modern title (in both graphics and game mechanics) than the original F.E.A.R.

    As a FPS it is a much more varied experience than the first game- the environments and level design are tied to the story and far more interesting than the endless repetitive drab corridors of the original. The combat still centers heavily around the bullet time mechanic and there are several
    levels where you get to don a near-indestructible mech suit.

    As a survival horror title is has all of the same flaws of its predecessor- the horror is mostly QuickTime events and simply isn't in any way frightening. (Especially if you've had your fill of
    Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    This is one addicting fun game, but its too short, I will let you take a guess how long it is? 6 Hours. It took me less than a day to complete it. What a disappointment. But the game itself is still good, the graphics are nice but the key bindings are weird so you might want to re-bind shift to run instead of alt. It isn't as scary. One part made me jump but the rest was just special effects. Entertaining game, only a few servers up left, around 5. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    Awesome game!! It is very intense and totally worth the buy. It scared me almost the whole time of playing and gave me chills up my spine. I loved how the story line was in depth if you follow along with everything that is going on. It is not always dark all the time like other people are saying. The graphics are awesome, and the developers really put thought into the levels and gameplay. If you like to look at things in game while running around this is a good game to do it. The online portion of the game is alot of fun and can get addicting. It follows the F.e.a.r line of freaking you out! Love it!! Expand
  8. Sep 30, 2010
    5
    I find that f.e.a.r. one and 2 should be stricken from the records of gaming in general. Both times I've played them I felt cheated for spending my time playing them. The reason for this was a lack of planning on the developers side. I liked the game play, the graphics, the atmosphere; but in both games I got to one point of the game where I ran out of ammo and could not progress nor could I go back to find ammo that had been dropped (This happened on normal). I spent hours trying to inch-forward only to be destroyed by any grunt who had a drop on me. It's hard for me to give any good credit when a core aspect of a game such as having bullets in which to shoot enemies some how falls by the way side. Plus the fact that I felt the multi-player to be bland and out dated for its time, and obvious add on. But seriously most games I play I try my hardest to beat, and to challenge myself with hard difficulty levels. So getting to a point where I was out of ammo made me feel out of options. I could not sneak around enemies nor find other option in which to subdue them. So fear goes back on the self with all the other games I've rented Expand
  9. May 13, 2011
    6
    What I loved about the original FEAR was the atmosphere, scares, and elusive story. Much of that returns in FEAR 2, but not quite as well as you would like it to. While the graphics and gameplay are superb, the enemies are annoying and the story is very disappointing compared to the original. If you liked the first game though you'll definitely want to play this is for the scares alone, as they are definitely just as frightening as ever, if not more so. Expand
  10. Jan 9, 2011
    7
    I play titles like this for the single player experience, multiplayer modes in shooters like F.E.A.R. 2 are just an extra for me. I've got multiplayer shooters like the Battlefield series for that pleasure. That said i won't be giving lower points to the online multiplayer part if it's not that great 'cause i simply don't expect it to be.
    Having played the first game i can say F.E.A.R. 2
    continues the series with good effort, although it's not as good on all points. To start off with the good i will say that the story and the given setting is the best part of the game, even though the plot can be a little difficult to follow sometimes the story and places your visit will keep you interested and make you want to finish the game to see what happens, which won't take you very long, 9 to 10 hours of normal play. But it's long enough in my opinion. If a game is too long a game like this can eventually lose your interest in which case you'll most likely never finish it at all. Just Cause 2 being a fine example of this.
    Gameplay wise not a lot has changed since the original, only improvements on some of the core gameplay mechanics and a few new gameplay elements like iron sighting and the ability to operate a mech suite. In the end nothing shocking really, which can also be said for the gameplay itself, but it's satisfying enough.
    The graphics never really stand out above other titles in this genre but it's more than adequit to satisfy the ones who love graphics. Design and environments play a mayor part too in this and deserve an extra notice. The levels are well detailed, dynamic, destructable and have a good layout and some nicely placed scripted events too. Most noticable level to back this up would without a doubt be the Elementary School.
    So what's bad about the game than? Well, it isn't as scary as it used to be for one. Let me put it this way, if F.E.A.R. would be the Japanese horror movie Ringu (which was probably a big inspiration) than F.E.A.R. 2 would be an episode of Ghost hunters. Maybe that's a little exaggerated but you get the point, it's not as scary as you would like and expect it to be in a way the first one was. Next to that the i found the overall sound a bit lacking. In most part this was fine like the music which created some nice tension but i'm talking about the sound effects with the gun sounds in particular. It all sounded a little weak for my taste, especially the shotgun. But these are just small things. In the end there isn't really anything wrong with F.E.A.R. 2 , the problem lies more in what's good. It's just that, good, nothing more. F.E.A.R. 2 never really pops out in any way. So eventually you could say that F.E.A.R. 2 is an above average shooter. Nothing really special, just good.
    My advise would be that if you liked the original F.E.A.R and it's installments and you digged the story as much as i did or if you're just looking for a good shooter to pass the weekend i'm positive you'll enjoy F.E.A.R. 2. But for those of you who are looking for something new and groundbraking or want a good scare i would recommend to pass on this one, it's not that special.
    Expand
  11. Mar 25, 2011
    9
    Gameplay - 8.5 , Graphics - 8.0 , Story - 8.5 , Playing time - 20+hours (MP include). A pretty average shooter. The first play though is fun, and the multiplayer is OK. Don't feel like playing it anymore after 25 hours.
  12. May 27, 2011
    4
    I loved the first game and its expansion, but Project Origin left me very disappointed. Uninspiring story, no real horror moments, repetitive gameplay, mediocre graphics, feels like a console port, etc. Really expected so much more from this game.
  13. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    After playing the first chapter (and its 2 expansions), I went onward on the next installment, and in the end I found it actually a good sequel, although not perfect, but at least it fixed what the first lacked in the first place: variety. Also, somethings changed and got both an upgrade and a dowgrade. For example, 3 medkits limit, but a stronger body armor; 4 slots in weapons, but some weapons are much weaker than usual (the shotgun is almost useless, since your rifles can kill with 3 shots to the head). We get more weapon variety at least, although few got removed (like the plasma rifle and the possibility of dual wield handguns). We don't need to upgrade our health anymore, but still can upgrade our reflexes, killing a bit of exploration from the first game. On the other hand, we aren't totally bind to use the focus and it is possible to kill also without it (but focus is still the best way). The levels now are much more interesting and a lot varied, moving from (well lighted!) skyscraper, to an abandoned city. We also get to use a mech in some parts of the game, and there's also a bit more of interaction with the levels (even if useless, the possibility to get cover by turning furniture is rather nice). If I have to mention some flaws, one of them is probably the longevity: the game is a lot shorter than the previous game (finished in about 8 hours or less; the first game is almost 10 hours and more). The "scares" in this game, even if well thought, some are just too weak and I hardly got impressed, but on the other hand the scenery is much more cured and, again, varied, even if the game is still pretty linear. And also, the story isn't totally linked to the first one: the main character is different, and initially it doesn't really connect, and even if it becomes better later on, it doesn't feel totally rewarding. All in all, I have no complains on this game: it's definitely a good upgrade, although it loses some of the scare factor, and the small flaws usually don't really ruin this game. Still not great game, but a good game and a very good sequel. Worth a try if you loved the first one. Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2011
    8
    Well, F.E.A.R 2 isn't so impressive as the first one, but still it's decent, solid shooter with nice music and good storyline. Game is short, fear factor is small, however meets present standards.
  15. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    After trying every aspect of this game, I want to try to give a fair review. Story: If you liked the first game because of the story, you probably will enjoy this one too. As far as I'm concerned, everything related to the story was quite interesting, and kept me basically glued to the game until the end. The ending made me a bit disappointed but, that's just me, I don't care much for cliffhanger endings, though I should have expected as much considering the ending to the first. Basically, the story is solid, the scares and atmosphere in this one are improved, partially due to graphics. Graphics: This game has exceptional graphics, I knew I was in for something impressive when the download size of this game from steam (including the DLC) was nearly 15 gigabytes, a definite improvement over the original. This is one of those linear shooters where it does well to hide the linear aspect due to graphics. F.E.A.R. 1 did this fairly well with level designs, but it was still limited due to the technological capabilities of the time. F.E.A.R. 2 is just solid bad-assery in the graphics department. If you're computer can handle it on higher graphics settings, you will love it, even for a game released a few years ago, the graphics are top notch in my opinion. Another thing to note is the world detail, all the little things around the world that make it feel real, this game is so real it's almost disturbing, the interactions of the characters, the lighting, the props, it's all great. Gameplay: Well, you can't lean anymore, and I don't mind that it's gone, leaning was just another finger on my keyboard that I couldn't use, does it feel like a console port because they made the interface a little bit simpler? Not at all, the game is a solid PC pickup. It walks a fine line between dumbed down console port and decent PC shooter, the best of both worlds, simple, but not in any way boring. The AI is not worse than in the first, it's basically about the same difficulty, I assume I'm playing on Hard difficulty post-patch, cause everyone is complaining about the difficulty being too easy, yet I had a rough time on a lot of the levels. Sometimes you really gotta keep your eyes moving, and on hard, you really need to abuse the slow-mo to make it out clean (or at all, I doubt I could have beaten it without it). Multiplayer: The multiplayer component is well done it seems, I find the use of gamespy annoying, but that's just me, the maps are cool, I really like the pinball machine map, and the customizable loadouts are a nice touch to keep things fairly fresh and balanced. In fact, the only thing that hinders the multiplayer experience for the PC is the lack of players, from what I saw in my short time after buying this game there were less than 5 player hosted (no dedicated servers it appears) games going on, and the first one I joined happened to be in Russia, I'm in Canada, so my ping was awful, but I ended up joining a game where I had decent ping with the host, and it was fun! If there were more than 3 people in that match, it would have been even MORE fun. But I took what I could get, and had a great time, it almost reminded me of the good ol' AVP2 days. Technical aspects: The technical parts of the game are ok, gamespy run ranked matches I don't care for, but nobody plays ranked from what I saw, the game feels reliable, though some of my tool tips telling me what keys do what in the menus appeared to turn into french? I'm not sure, but "escape" key sure didn't say escape in the tool tip. Other than that, the only technical options this game could use is the option to quick-save (though I understand why you can't), and dedicated servers. But here's the summary, this game is enjoyable; solid graphics (often breathtaking), addictive multiplayer (but a lack of players), fantastic story, very well done, the whole direction of the game is great. The AI is challenging on hard, but certainly beatable. I got this for 10 bucks on steam, USD, and keep in mind the Canadian dollar is higher right now, and I gotta say, it's a better steal than the F.E.A.R. ultimate shooter edition for 10 bucks (FEAR plus the 2 expansions), because those didn't come with multiplayer, but THIS did. 10 or 20$ to romp around in a mech that can shred foot soldiers to pools of blood in seconds is beyond worth it alone, everything else aside. It's not perfect, but it is in no way mediocre. Expand
  16. May 24, 2013
    6
    No longer be able to lean left or right. Sprint fast while no longer need to holster your weapons first. Infact no longer be able to hoster weapons. Still no prone. Be able to crouch, jump and stand. Melee attack (gun butt), able to jump-forward kick or slide-ski-kick across the floor, I think the player only able to do that after he has that critical operation? Press the X key to switch grenade types, but sometimes you need to press the X again to be able to throw out a grenade, though there is only 1 type of grenade to choose from by then (bugs?). New feature to the grenade’s explode time, now you can hold onto a grenade in hand, it’ll kill you if you don’t throw it out in time before it goes out with a BANG. There is a “seconds” meter in your crosshair when you’re holding onto a grenade. Slowmo, when ever you use the slowmo, there is a “slowmo” meter in your crosshair when it’s resource drains, it auto recharges the slowmo when it was all used up. Now the player has a new trick as to move chairs and tables (or other obstructibles) so as to use them as a shield (hiding behind them). The tricks on the chairs and tables are: Slide Cover, Flip Cover, Topple Cover, etc Has those shotgun and other gun models copy-styled from other games such as Sin and Crysis, Quake Wars, etc Has changed the gameplay to more the like to other games like GoldenEye: Rogue Agent, Half-Life 2 and SiN Episodes: Emergence. It’s turning to more console-favoured game. This is a very good hybrid game, but all hybrids has a limited score Expand
  17. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    First of all compliments to the great game engine. Its shooting physics and gun play are very well done. The campaign plays just like Half-Life 2, with the story being told in the same way. Only difference is that there's random hallucinations mixed in at appropriate times. These are very well-done and although not scary, they create a great, mysterious atmosphere. The biggest disappointment is that there are no ranked multiplayer matches (2011), with only 1 or 2 unranked servers online at any given time. It's a shame since the multiplayer has potential to be fun and perhaps more polished than F.E.A.R. Combat's. The story is short with a lack of varied environments and gameplay. However, what you do get is of fairly decent quality and there's nothing like it out there. I played the demo on Xbox 360 and on PC before purchasing and it's quite clear that this game was made for the PC judging by the wealth of buttons in this game. Overall it's a decent game but not good value for money. Expand
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    i just finished it and i think its a good game. the sounds are nice, it has some creepy moments and also some funny easter eggs, the level design is nice. well the graphics are okay. the animations look realistic, exept the animation of shot enemys, they sometimes just dissapear or beam to the ground after bullet impact.

    the main game is a bit too easy in my opinion - you can just be
    rushing without dying a single time, on hard difficulty. the reborn dlc has a few more enemys and is a bit more of a challenge.
    all together its about 7,5 hours of fun and shouldnt be missing in your games collection.
    Expand
  19. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    A very solid game.A little different from the first but after a while it becomes an game of its own.graphics are great, Al is great and the horror is turned up a level leaving you on the edge of your seat walking down dark areas.overall I loved the game play and highly recommend.
  20. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    GREAT game i played but finished in less than a day and a half kinda short but LOVE the game-play made me jump i like it recommend it to anyone suggest you buy it and one of my favorite first person shooters
  21. Jul 31, 2012
    6
    F.E.A.R 2: Project Origin takes all that was good about the previous game and dumps it in the bin. It then takes the bad bits and makes them either better or worse depending on how you feel about things. F.E.A.R 2 is not how you make a shooter. However the game has a stronger story focus and looks a lot better than number 1 which is always nice.
  22. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Richtig Hamma Spiel ich hab so angst es weiter zu zocken xDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
  23. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    This game continues the first in a great direction. Instead of the more psycological horror from the first game the scares here are more in your face which isn't a bad thing. The interspersed action sequences are very well done as things crumble and fall around you. Then you get to fight through a destroyed city. You don't play as Point Man this time around but the character you do play as has an important role to the story. The story again is pretty well done, topped off with a messed up (in a good way) ending. Expand
  24. Nov 13, 2012
    3
    Fear 2 still has many of the weaknesses of Fear 1, having improved only slightly in certain areas. The storyline is still explained in a confusing way, and it is completely irrational and inexplicable. There are still limited options in weapons, the slow-time function is still a crutch. I played through on Hard my first time through because Normal was far too easy when you can slow down time. The mech sections are fun, but they serve no real purpose. Essentially, this game should go back to the drawing board. Expand
  25. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    Meant to be F.E.A.R., but Call of Duty. It is pretty good shooter full of fun, but never scared me at all. The arid and mysterious atmosphere of the original disappeared with greasy and distracting environment and effects.
  26. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    much better gameplay than the first but also less scary moments in the game and more action. the game is a bit short even with the expansions. the story gets a lot more personal and graphics have nicer animations and overall detail. doesn't support a 360 controller so its basic mouse and keyboard. but its made for that type of setup so i guess its smoother. overall a great improvement over the 1st game but losing its horror label and more of an action shooter to me. Expand
  27. sft
    May 22, 2013
    7
    Battle of the Boing

    Visually F.E.A.R 2 is impressive. It features some terrific maps (although it’s still a bit too much of a corridor shooter), cut-scenes, and in-game animations, the character modelling is good and it has a host of nice atmospheric touches. It also introduces some imaginative new enemies not seen in the original, including the reanimators, who bring dead grunts back
    to life as flailing, gun-toting zombies, and pesky, shrivelled guys in shorts, who scurry about like Gollum on speed. F.E.A.R 2 is also pretty creepy at times it actually made me jump once or twice. It’s a shame, however, that these jolts are isolated to brief sections of the game with long gaps between. The story’s okay though unremarkable. The combat ranges from quite easy to pretty tough (on the normal setting). The tasks are typical: finding keycards and whatnot nothing particularly inspiring. So far so whatever it’s a good game but not a great one. On to my main criticisms. The PC controls are a bit twitchy, but more of a problem is the way your character moves. The amount of head-bob is insane. I mean truly bonkers. Beckett bounces along as though on a pogo stick. It irritated the hell out of me and significantly reduced my enjoyment of the game. Then there’s the lack of humour. Aside from a few quips within the intel reports there is none. Overall this is a visually and technically striking game that’s well worth playing but won’t linger fondly in the memory or have much replay appeal. Expand
  28. Jul 3, 2013
    7
    I was just about to write a 10/10 review for this game, because it's solid and extremely good looking. I was about ten hours in and loving it lots. I thought I'll play on a little further before reviewing, then one hour later it ended.

    Recap then, it is excellent FEAR content, if you like the first trilogy as I did. It looks fab, gets livelier sooner, and plays like a dream. Only it's
    just too short.

    My real overall rating is probably 7.5/10, but 8/10 is too much given its length. I'd estimate its probably slightly more than half length of any of the first three games.

    I was lucky and bought it for £2.50 Steam sale, so I have no complaint, but think before you pay full price. (I imagine it has good replayabilty, as I imagine I most certainly will replay.)

    The expansion F.E.A.R.2 Reborn isn't so hot either, and it's extremely short. You play as a replica soldier, so it's an aside to the game, and not part of it. It's OK and fun to play at, as all the weapons and slo-mo are there. It is a strange and interesting little side story, but it's just way too short. Don't pay top price for it
    Expand
  29. Aug 4, 2013
    7
    Igra fine grafike sa solidnom horor pričom, ali previše mračna za moj ukus............................................................................
  30. Nov 30, 2013
    7
    Project Origin is a direct follow up to the original game released in 2005. It took Monolith 4 years to cook up a sequel and they decided not to change much on the formula that has worked once. But 4 years is a long time and sometimes innovation is better than playing it safe. That's exactly why Project Origin falls short of its predecessor. The formula remained the same, but the audience has changed.

    The game picks up right the time when the first games is about to end. To be precise, it starts a couple of minutes before the end of F.E.A.R. You are a part of Delta Squad and you're sent to place the head of Armacham Technology Corporation into protective custody. It's when sh*t starts to get serious and a nuclear blast bakes most of the city as a result of the original F.E.A.R. team's endgame. In the rest of the game you move in and out of underground facilities trying to achieve your ultimate goal. Even though the campaign lasts only around 7 hours the story is detailed and interesting. On the other side, you have to pay attention to every detail that happens around you or told to you on the comm because if not you'll find yourself lost in the web organisations and projects thrown at you in every couple of hours. At least if you do get lost eventually right before the end of the game everything will be cleared up in 5 short minutes.

    The gameplay is very similar to the first game. Little has changed; slow-mo shooting is still great but the novelty has faded in the past four years. You will meet various enemies during your gameplay starting from soldiers, genetically modified monsters, mechs to ghosts even. The game will always try to throw something new at you which is nice, but eventually you'll immediately recognize the spacey room where a firefight is going to take place in 3...2...1.

    AI was a strong part of the first game and it returns in the second one too. However, it doesn't always work like it meant to be. Sometimes the enemies will be clever enough to kick over tables and take covers, but in other cases they will try to rush you through the same door where you'll stand and shoot them one by one. The Delta Squad, your mates aren't the most brightest either. Most of the times you'll see them splitting up and getting killed (because of the story) and the writers could've written better lines for the voice actors too. Being a psychological game you'll never feel surprised of your team members being killed off. What is worse you'll never feel pity for them because they're unlikable, two-dimensional dolls.

    Visually F.E.A.R. 2 is a real mystery. On one hand it presents a great world with some stunning lighting effects and great destructibility, on the other hand it's ugly. Everything looks sharp when you move, but stop for a moment a take closer look at minor objects, like consoles or books on desks. They look downresd, blurry and pixelated. The devil is in the details as they say. In the year when hardware pushing games like Modern Warfare 2, Resident Evil 5 or Killzone 2 were put on the shelves of retailers this kind of laziness is disappointing. One can look aside when it comes to these problems, but then there is the audio. The sounds of guns are just atrocious; every one of them sounds like they were taken out from an 80s Atari 7800 game. Every shot you have to take with the shotgun or machine gun irritates your ears. It's like firing with toy guns from the crappiest Chinese manufacturer.

    F.E.A.R. is a sharp shooter with its flaws and assets. The formula that made the first game great has aged greatly and the horror factor is M.I.A. in most of the game. Great number of "tricks" has already been used up in the previous title or other games. When the horror is present the game feels like a real successor of the prequel, but those moments sadly end quickly. It definitely has its moments when it comes to shooting (the mech scenes are great), but drawbacks won't allow to have an experience like with the original F.E.A.R. game.

    Rating: 68/100; Replay Value: 2/5; To Beat: 7 hours; Played on: normal.
    Expand
  31. Dec 5, 2013
    5
    I am not usually in the "PC Master Race" wagon, screaming that a game is a game console port if it has been released also on other platforms at the same time. But F.E.A.R. 2 is the very definition of that and an epitome failure to make a decent sequel to good if not great Windows-PC game. Everything has been made more linear, less faster, more "larger", less controllable. There's NO ABILITY TO SAVE THE GAME AS YOU WISH, no quick saves, no manual saves, ONLY AUTOSAVES AT PREDETERMINED PLACES!!! If you die, you'll lose 5-15 minutes of play time and you need to replay certain spots. F.E.A.R. 2 has terrible FOV, mouse acceleration, you can't bind all mouse buttons to a functions, plain ugly HDR, and oh god the motion blur is so bad. Everything uses very large font and everything has been adjusted TV in mind. There's also ALMOST TOTAL LACK OF COOL PARTICLE EFFECTS, and worse map design, bad jumpscares that aren't even effective, it's really short game, maybe 6-7 hours long, and worst of it all, it looks, feels, sounds, and acts like it's a Playstation 2 title. AI has been dumbed down by a large factor... And allow me to highlight how dumb the map design is by noting that the game has SEVERAL DIFFERENT "SECRET" UNDREGROUND FACILITIES with ALL THE POSSIBLE VIDEO GAME CLICHÉS IMAGINABLE. Maps are also more linear pipes than they were in first F.E.A.R. game. I didn't even sink into everything what's wrong with this title. Just stay away from it. It's one of the worst FPS games ever made. F.E.A.R. 2 lacks self-image and instead is more like bad imitation of Halo 3 from every aspect. F.E.A.R. 2 has no taste at all, and people who call this a good game have no taste at all either. Or are too inexperienced FPS gamers to understand what's wrong with this title. Expand
  32. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    Excellent game, but could have been a bit more. F.E.A.R. 2 is one of those games where it drops a few good things from the prequel that probably should have stayed, yet at the same time, has many new things that make up for that. Mostly. The combat is great, and the slow-mo feature adds immensely to that. The graphics are absolutely amazing. The animations and scripted events are excellent. The characters, for the most part, are pretty well rounded and solid. The game can get very repetitive, but I think the variety of weapons combined with the slow-mo balance that out. The scary atmospheres are brilliant, and keep the game interesting. Is F.E.A.R. 2 one of the most original and groundbreaking games? I don't think so, but it's still very good nonetheless. It's not really one of those overwhelmingly good games that make history such as Half-Life or Mass Effect, but still a damn good work of art that deserves to be played. In fact, I think it deserves a bit of a higher score than 79. Expand
  33. Dec 8, 2013
    4
    I liked the first f.e.a.r. game, I played it through to the end twice. This one I couldn't finish. I'm entirely sure why. I was not a big fan of the controls (the mouse was way too sensitive even at the lowest setting and when I turned down my mouse sensitivity outside of the game, plus you can't bind mouse 4 and 5). The firefights felt generic and unrealistic. You can just run around head-shotting everyone in slow-mo without ever really needing cover. This could be excused if the story was interesting. Maybe it gets better the further you go, but I'll never know because it was putting me to sleep after a few hours. Expand
  34. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    Fear 2 has shed even more of it's horror skin. It's more of a shooter than ever before and also seems to be a bit more cartoon-ish. The graphics don't exactly look real, they look for like a cartoon, which is strange. They also added hit markers that appear on screen whenever you successfully land a shot on an enemy which only helps in taking away from the lackluster immersion. The combat overall though is more enjoyable and the story really hasn't taken a dip, but it hasn't gotten any better either. Overall, if you liked the original, you'll probably like this. But, if you're looking for a true horror experience, then you'll be sorely disappointed. Expand
  35. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    I dunno why this game has only 8/10. This horror FPS production is straight from top shelf. Very scary, intense, violent, perfect experience for horror fans. You will not find scarier FPS yet, with awesome environment and interesting story. Alma's presence can be felt almost everywhere, which adds tension through entire adventure. Game is quite long and very disappointing when it ends cause believe me, you will ask for more.

    Masterpiece, 10 out of 10 why?
    Play and find out
    Expand
  36. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    Finally an old game revisited that still holds it own today against other titles. While still a very gorey experience and the violence and destruction is on a grander scale, the horror is less palpable. Overall a solid FPS and a great survival action experience.
  37. May 12, 2014
    6
    Three hour of gameplay and didn't see any scary moment, mission are same of the first chapter , go from point A to point B. The graphic compartment take an huge step forward.
  38. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    A highly entertaining shooter with horror elements. The game moves at a solid pace and continues to entertain throughout. The horror elements are a bit cliche at times but do well to give the game a tense atmosphere. Gun variety is decent but the most entertaining aspect of combat is usage of the slow down power. Game difficulty is on the easy side and I was able to beat it in 7 hours of game time, which is about par for most modern shooters. Expand
  39. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    O... holy... what the flying sickweasel. I am asking myself if the positive-reviewers even played the first one! "FEAR"2 is a misleading piece cash-in that takes a delightful dump on everything that made the first FEAR so great! And I am not even talking about the cheap jumpscares, because we all know, that FEAR wasn't even that scary at all. All that mattered was the gunplay and the awesome slowmo-effects.

    FEAR2 manages to dumb the whole concept down and create a casual-shooter for drooling call-of-duty-kiddies.
    Enemies that GLOW (!) when you activate the slowmo!!! WHat the...?!
    Enemies have much less room to navigate and are poorly animated (especially when you compare the first one to this stupid dumbster!).

    Oh, and regenerating health! Don't forget this "feature" to appeal to all these "gamers" that are too stupid to play actually that good, that they don't die every second. Pleas! No challenges! " - -

    (of course this "new" and "flexible" design-choice of "REGENERATING HEALTH" doesn't add any suspence whatever. All it does is giving lazy developers an excuse, to **** up good level-design!).

    And just a Side-Note: The Slowmo-graphics - especially the particle-effects look so extreme bad and unspectacular, that you'll keep looking for all the particles and destruction you know from the first one. But nothing to see here. HOW THE F*CK DID THEY MANAGED THIS?!
    (oh well, after playing the even worse "Fear"3, I know they can step even more steps towards an ugly mess!)

    Don't buy this! Seriously!
    I'll dig up the first FEAR again and will play the Sh*t out of it! again. and again. Yeah. It's that good!
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. What it adds - the more capacious level design, the daylight, the mech bits, the cover system - doesn't amount to much more than a garnish of new ideas on an old chicken salad of a game. But as I said, the magic of F.E.A.R. is certainly in position. That basic pleasure of time slowing, of watching a death ballet unfold as glass shatters, masonry crumbles and bodies cartwheel with morbid elegance - it's all intact, and it's as incredible to behold as ever. [Mar 2009, p.56]
  2. 80
    Now, the spine tingling sequel, Project Origin is here to continue the story of the psychic and psychotic Alma with damn good results. [Mar 2009, p.78]
  3. After the embarrassment of The Perseus Mandate, F.E.A.R. 2 should be in consideration for comeback player of the year. While the multiplayer is weak and the mood won’t make people forget Dead Space any time soon, the solid action core makes it worth a play.