Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 319 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, a genetically enhanced super soldier originally introduced in F.E.A.R., or they can play cooperatively as his conniving brother Paxton Fettel, whose incredible telekinetic power has given him life beyond the grave. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    85
    In the end, F.E.A.R. 3 is a great game.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Whether you're looking for a new, solid shooter to play or something set in a unique, horror-filled atmosphere, F.E.A.R. 3 has something for you. You won't find the be-all, end-all shooter experience with F.E.A.R. 3, but you're still bound to have a lot of fun.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    80
    F.E.A.R. 3 will hardly scare you. But despite some flawed graphics and weak storyline, it's a surprisingly solid and satisfying shooter, which only gets better if played in co-op. [August 2011, p.97]
  4. 75
    FEAR 3 would just be considered an okay shooter with a terrible story and poor attempts at horror, if it wasn't for the wealth of unique side-options it brings to the FPS table.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    72
    So nobody on Fear 3 has reinvented the wheel, but they've sure gussied it up.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    The game makes no major missteps, but neither does it surprise, innovate or evolve the genre in any significant way.
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    50
    This game would have been a lot more exciting if it either way genuinely scary or embraces its action parts a lot more. Instead it's stuck in purgatory, as a generic shooter with superficial horror elements.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 103
  2. Negative: 38 out of 103
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    I have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE:This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Expand
  2. Jun 22, 2011
    8
    FEAR 3 is a solid 8.5, though half-numbers cannot be chosen on the slider, so I chose "8" as the game's score. With the exception of the FOV (which needs to be better for the PC version) and some low res textures, FEAR 3 still looks great maxed-out, and even more impressively, is a seriously fun game. It's a mix between the best of the FEAR series (though a little lower on the visuals scale), and though not quite as "dark" and horrifying in atmosphere as the first in the series, it's definitely atmospheric. FEAR 3 brings together action with atmosphere, incredible lighting (and I don't just mean effects, I mean coloration and mood), an excellent (and extremely fun and intuitive) movement and cover system, excellent sound and ambient effects, excellent gun play in both feel and sound, and astounding A.I. that really plays extremely smart. They'll take cover in a very natural manner, while moving around the environment, flanking in various ways from various positions, call out to one another as to exactly where you are, and use their weapons efficiently. FEAR 3 is not just "run and gun", in the sense that, you will need everything at your disposal in order to survive. You're not loaded with tons of ammo and will run out at times, needing to take cover, use melee and grab a fallen enemy's weapon to resupply. The pacing is great, though there are no quick saves, which isn't a huge deal, as while the game offers a challenge, it's reasonable if you're smart and quick. I was so engrossed in the game, I played it straight through to the end in one sitting, at if you don't rush (in most parts you cant anyway) it's just over five hours, maybe close to six. Though a little short, the option to play through again as Fettle is brilliant, and even more fun than going through as the main protagonist. There is something incredibly addictive about using Fettle's powers, and it's an absolute blast, offering a lot more variety to the gameplay due to his powers. I thoroughly enjoyed the first playthrough a lot, but only thirty minutes in while playing as Fettle, and I'm having twice the fun already. While A.I. modeling could be a bit better, it's not bad, and there's still dismemberment depending on where the enemy takes damage, to which they react (grabbing their should at a blown-off arm, limping with a blasted leg) and the gore is prominent in the game. While it might not have quite the visuals of the rest of the series, it's thoroughly enjoyable and, with Fettle's powers and the co-op/multiplayer (which I haven't even gotten to yet), is far more creative and a blast to play. I only wish is were a bit longer and the FOV was adjustable, but maxed-out at 1920x1200 it runs beautifully and looks far better than the console footage and screenshots would have you believe. If you're looking for a truly fun shooter with fun mechanics, I'd definitely recommend grabbing FEAR 3. The only technical issues I've had were one random lock-up/crash, and twice, the game windowed itself and it was a little annoying trying to get it un-windowed, but that's it for technical issues. Recommended! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2011
    7
    I remember how i was scared in original FEAR, i barely even finished that game. In second FEAR it wasn't scary that much, but still, i could say that im playing FEAR. Now, its not FEAR anymore, yeah i had great time with my friend playing co-op, but its not scary at all. (7.0) Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    Have played every game in the series and by far this is the only disappointing experience. I'm not sure if it's even worth finishing the story.
    Like everyone has said before, this game is very different than what has been the standard for quite some time. Not sure why the developers derived so far from the horror genre. Felt very uninspired with boring settings and awful enemies.
    Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2012
    5
    I got this game with a buddy in July 2012 when it was on Steam's Summer Sale for 5 bucks. We played through the co-op storyline, on normal, which took roughly 7 hours. The game wasn't too bad, we didn't play the first two, and I think that contributed to enjoying the third more. The graphics were ok, there were some low res parts that made us laugh, like when we were inside one of the houses and looked out a window, there was a very low res sky box that reminded us of DOOM. There was also the helicopter drops, every time (spoiler!) Alma would have a contraction a copter would drop out of the sky. Wish I kept count, it happened a lot. All around I give the game a 5, because it is average. It had a lot of good "scary" parts, and the environment really helped, but when you got into the combat arenas, and there were a lot, you could tell it's a shooter, and not so much survivor horror. Also, Point Man never said any words, ever. Maybe it was his character, due to his memories being wiped? I dunno, but the cut scenes left something to be wanted when every conversation between the brothers was one way. So, you got a buddy and wanna spend an evening shooting monsters? Get the game for 5 bucks, but don't pay anymore then that. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    4
    Not as good as F.E.A.R. 2, nowhere near as good as the original F.E.A.R. The game gets points for outstanding enemy A.I. and some originality in the co-op department. I also like the reduced ammo capacity, which forces you to be a little more careful where you shoot, but why only two guns? What was wrong with three?

    The graphics are not as good as F.E.A.R. 2. There's absolutely no excuse for that, even for it being a console port, but Day 1 could redeem themselves somewhat if they follow Crytek's lead and release a DX11 texture pack in the near future.

    The keyboard controls are unnatural and the mouse control is unresponsive. The cover system is an unnecessary addition. There was nothing wrong with how it worked in F.E.A.R. 2.

    What happened to the story?! What happened to exploring every room to find snippets of lore and backstory hidden in files or voice mails?

    Most importantly, what happened to the scare? The game will make you jump at times because oh no a light bulb burst, etc. But it won't frighten you like the first two games did. This is the biggest disappointment. Day 1 simply can't bring the scare the way Monolith did.

    Right now it's 4/10. If Day 1 gives us some patches to smooth out the mouse controls, and if they release a DX11 texture pack, I'll bump it up to 7.
    Expand
  7. Feb 11, 2014
    0
    Everything that made the FEAR-Series great (namely the FIRST FEAR!), was removed to create this dumbed down piece of random generic "Shooter" for drooling controller-babies.

    - Worse looking Slowmo-Effects than in Fear 2? Check! (even FEAR 2 had bad SlowMo-Effects! Glowing Enemies! WTF?!)
    - Bad, really bad Level-design! The enemy-ai has no room to manouver and flank you or use more cover then one piece of cover
    - Regenerating health. Need I say more?
    - annoying Jump"scares" that aren't scary at all
    - a laughable attempt to tell a "story" and interrupt the poor gameplay with boring cutscenes
    - maybe the worst dialogues I've heard in a videogame so far! Extreme embarrassing (Alma is pregnant... so.... whut?!")
    - a shoved in cover-system
    - dumbed down to the core. Combat is no challenge at all!

    If you are a fan of the FEAR-Series, don't waste your money on this piece of casual-crap!
    Expand

See all 103 User Reviews