F.E.A.R. 3 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 428 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, aAlma returns in F.E.A.R. 3 but this time her sons Point Man and Paxton Fettel introduce divergent co-op, giving players distinctly different abilities affecting their own play as well as the experience of their co-op partner. Gamers participate in single player or co-op modes as Point Man, a genetically enhanced super soldier originally introduced in F.E.A.R., or they can play cooperatively as his conniving brother Paxton Fettel, whose incredible telekinetic power has given him life beyond the grave. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    85
    In the end, F.E.A.R. 3 is a great game.
  2. Jun 21, 2011
    80
    Whether you're looking for a new, solid shooter to play or something set in a unique, horror-filled atmosphere, F.E.A.R. 3 has something for you. You won't find the be-all, end-all shooter experience with F.E.A.R. 3, but you're still bound to have a lot of fun.
  3. PC Games (Russia)
    Jul 21, 2011
    80
    F.E.A.R. 3 will hardly scare you. But despite some flawed graphics and weak storyline, it's a surprisingly solid and satisfying shooter, which only gets better if played in co-op. [August 2011, p.97]
  4. Jul 1, 2011
    75
    FEAR 3 would just be considered an okay shooter with a terrible story and poor attempts at horror, if it wasn't for the wealth of unique side-options it brings to the FPS table.
  5. Aug 17, 2011
    72
    So nobody on Fear 3 has reinvented the wheel, but they've sure gussied it up.
  6. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    The game makes no major missteps, but neither does it surprise, innovate or evolve the genre in any significant way.
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    50
    This game would have been a lot more exciting if it either way genuinely scary or embraces its action parts a lot more. Instead it's stuck in purgatory, as a generic shooter with superficial horror elements.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 113
  2. Negative: 39 out of 113
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    I have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique andI have played FEAR 3 on the PC and Xbox and this game is the best game so far this summer!... Co-op Campaign, Playing as Fettel is unique and pretty sweet (you can possess enemies!), one of the best FPS cover systems period, extremely cool scoring system, and some really unique & fun Co-op Multiplayer Modes... AND because of the Scoring System and Co-op/Multiplayer the replay-ability of FEAR 3 is through the roof!!!... NOTE:This is NOT Call Of Duty nor is it trying to be COD (which I think is refreshing)... Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    This game isn't perfect but it isn't bad either and I don't regret buying and playing through it. The graphics aren't as great as F.E.A.R. 2This game isn't perfect but it isn't bad either and I don't regret buying and playing through it. The graphics aren't as great as F.E.A.R. 2 but it was a bit more challenging if only because you ran out of ammo faster than in previous games causing you to do more risky maneuvers to get more/survive. Where I thought F.E.A.R. was more action/psycologoically scaryand F.E.A.R. 2 was more in your face scary/action , F.E.A.R. 3 is more action than scary but the scary parts are pretty well done and interesting. I would recommend playing it just to see how the story ends. As that's one part of the game they did a great job on. Expand
  3. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    I remember when I first played the original FEAR on the PC and how much it scared the crap out of me. That was in 2004 and FEAR offered aI remember when I first played the original FEAR on the PC and how much it scared the crap out of me. That was in 2004 and FEAR offered a really unique experience for its time. Then FEAR 2 came out 5 years later and had pretty much the same mechanics, but it was just...not nearly as scary and had a bland plot. Don't get me wrong, I loved FEAR 2. It was full of awesome action and I never get tired of wiping out an entire room of cloned super-soldiers in slow motion. Oh, and don't forget the awesome melee combat. I was afraid they removed it in FEAR 3 until I leveled up for the first time and unlocked the slide kick. It felt good to know that Monolith hadn't abandoned one of the best things about the series.

    Anyway, FEAR 3 is like FEAR 2, except it's...even less scary and the story is even less interesting. However, I didn't buy the game expecting it to scare me whilst keeping me enthralled in its story, but I certainly hoped it would. FEAR 3's multiplayer features are definitely the highlight of the game. The contraction scenario is definitely my favorite.

    In shot, if you buy this game expecting it to match the charm of the first game in every way, you will definitely be disappointed. But if you're in to cooperative and other awesome multiplayer game modes, topped with the core features that make every FEAR game unique from other shooters, then you will like this game.


    Some other tidbits I should mention are performance. The game runs great on my PC with max settings, but I have anti-aliasing off, otherwise it's a slide show. My specs are as follows:

    Nvidia GTS 250 512mb

    Intel Core2Duo E6400 2.13 ghz CPU

    3GB RAM

    Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit


    If you can run FEAR 2, then you can run this game just as easily, if not better.
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2015
    6
    What happened to this franchise?! It's an absolute mess. Mouse controls are messed up on PC, the story has degenerated into a confusing andWhat happened to this franchise?! It's an absolute mess. Mouse controls are messed up on PC, the story has degenerated into a confusing and nonsensical mess, and the scares are practically non-existent. What's left is a shallow first person shooter that doesn't do anything original or groundbreaking to separate itself from its predecessor. Truly a disappointing game. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Neither a bad nor great game, just middle of the road. Not scary, so the horror element is wasted - in fact, it gets in the way most of theNeither a bad nor great game, just middle of the road. Not scary, so the horror element is wasted - in fact, it gets in the way most of the time when you want to shoot something. Graphics range from the good (enemies, soldiers, mechs) to the awful (low res environmentals). Cover system, regenerating health, yawn. Unimaginative, poor story, worse horror, and COD-borrowed combat mechanics. Enemy AI is so-so. Skip it or buy it when it's cheap. Expand
  6. Jul 7, 2011
    4
    El juego es monótono hasta decir basta, la historia incoherente, los niveles son una linea recta, no da absolutamente nada deEl juego es monótono hasta decir basta, la historia incoherente, los niveles son una linea recta, no da absolutamente nada de miedo ni susto. Y el hermano con superpoderes se supone que solo lo ves tu, entonces ¿cómo le disparan los marines contra los que juegas si solo le ves tú? Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2016
    0
    I became so frustrated playing the game, that i decided to review it so that I can save the data and time of others. Please please please dontI became so frustrated playing the game, that i decided to review it so that I can save the data and time of others. Please please please dont ever play this game, if the developer was in front of me I would have killed him, but not in one go.
    1. There is no fear, no sound, no graphics, no thrill, so why the series expanded. They only degraded the game.
    2. The only thing left in game is killing the soldiers, so I got it, it is a shooter game. Ohh no no no no, there is no save option, so you will have to survive any stupid battle till save comes, else you are useless. All the time you use slow-time and fast-time. Guns, very poor. The graphics are so uneasy, u cant judge its a bush or a soldier, all the time you try to figure out this only.
    3. You dont know where to go, you search the whole place 1000 times, the suddenly a door gets opened, soldiers come and u die. So it was for next time, now you keep in mind they will come and u have to survive coz, there is no save option.
    4. There is no information about any weapon, no zoom quality, what i am supposed to do with which one.
    Fear 2 was lot more then this one
    Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Trailers