User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 542 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 542

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 18, 2011
    9
    I grabbed F.E.A.R during the Steam 50% deal (17th June 2011). Having never played any of the FEAR games and not really a FPS fan, I only bought them because they were cheap. This game really surprised me. Graphically it's pretty good and plays at a rock solid 60FPS. The story is interesting and the horror element is well done (lights going out, doors slamming, etc). For me, It's the gun battles and the AI that sell FEAR. Having played many FPS over the years I don't recall any with such clever enemies. If you encounter a group of 4 soldiers and take aim, you fire your weapon they spread out and look for cover. One will fire back while the other 3 will try to outwit you by flanking, throwing a grenade, moving up high, etc. Having never fired a rifle or been in a fire fight, FEAR puts on screen how I would imagine a REAL gun battle would be. You cannot charge in and expect to come out untouched. You have to look for cover and pick each target off one by one while they in turn do the same. The gun sounds are convincing and just about everything you see can be shot at leaving trails of dust, wall tiles, broken boxes and spent extinguishers. FEAR is tons of fun. If you're looking for a great action FPS you can't go wrong with FEAR. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    According to these user reviews FEAR seems to be a love or hate experience. People junk this game for repetitive levels, bad graphics, and lack of enemy diversity. I just don't see any of that except maybe the bad level complaint is valid. Although who cares about how the levels look when the gameplay is so solid. I just played this game again in 2011 and it's still an awesome game. My one complaint with this game is even on the hardest difficulty it is still a bit too easy. The reason people love or hate this game is because its focus is the same gameplay over and over in different variations so if you don't like the shooting mechanic you will pretty much hate the whole game. Monolith has an epic resume of games Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    "F.E.A.R" is a good solid game. But is it a horror shooter? No, it's just a solid FPS shooter with ridiculously smart AI. There are some moments where you go WTF, but that's 'some' moments; it doesn't happen very often. However, what also keeps "F.E.A.R" from becoming a great game is the repetitive monotonous levels that create a dejavu of "I played this kind of map before...". You want some old fashioned fun? Then grab this game. You want some epic **** Get something alse. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    The game is scary.Scary as hell.But not the scary type you will find in doom 3.A much much more scary fear.The japanese kind of fear inducing.The one which really disturbes you.And you will be scared.I felt chills cod as ice on the back when i saw Alma first time.The game is full of tension.The shooting is tactical.The weapons are ok.Even the soldiers scared me sometimes.Good.
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    4
    To be very honest, I was quite disappointed. I was actually really hoping to like this game, and I did enjoy it a lot in the first couple of hours or so. But after that I realised that there was nothing more to this game but mindless repetitive shooting. Let me explain. First the good bits. F.E.A.R. has some distinct strength, no doubt. It has very nice and realistic use of lighting and shadows, and also a very clever enemy AI, so enemies actually use teamwork and take cover instead of just running at you. The ability to go into bullet time (slow motion) is also very nice, but that ability is pretty much the leverage point of the entire game. You aren't encouraged to use it, you are forced to use it. If you don't, you die too easily. This makes every single gunfight a mindlessly slow drudgery. You are also given cool melee attacks, but you can be sure you won't use them past the first level, because you almost never get a chance to get that close to the enemy. Action in general - as I said, it's fun for the first couple of hours, but then you realise that every single gunfight is virtually the same as the hundred you've had before. The same types of enemies, the same types of arenas, the same types of guns. Nothing changes! This is boring! And speaking of boring... the levels. I have played more than half of the game, which is quite a number of hours, and I've only encountered 3 types of areas throughout - sewers, warehouses and offices. That's it. It's the same kind of areas repeating themselves all the time. And there are even several parts of the game where you walk corridor after corridor with nothing happening whatsoever. No enemies and no suspense, just corridors. That heavily detracts from the pace of the game. As for the horror element. Well, it sort of works at first, but after first few levels you realise that none of those "scares" actually have any effect on you. They are just images. In games like Doom 3 for example, things that jump at you out of nowhere are actual monsters that can KILL you. In F.E.A.R. nothing that jumps at you can affect you in any bad way. It's totally harmless, so why get scared about it? By all means, F.E.A.R. is a well-made game, I have not encountered any bugs and such, but it's not entertaining at all. It doesn't have interesting puzzles, no story to encourage you to play on. It's just a repetitive shoot em up. Expand
  6. May 14, 2011
    9
    FEAR is one of my personal favorites because it gets a lot of things right for me. The atmosphere, scares, and intriguing story really sets FEAR out to be a creative title. The variety of weapons are fantastic and fun though the environments may become repetitive. Slowly discovering the truth behind Alma and Fettel's past is extremely interesting and the end will leave you very satisfied. Overall a great shooter that every PC gamer should try out! Expand
  7. May 1, 2011
    7
    Nicely scary. The intrigue is well exploited and starts with a nice mysterious intro. Although the slowmo ability gives an interesting gameplay as well as some karate moves (which you rarely use), the gameplay itself is flat and very repetitive. Graphics are okay and graphic designs are so-so.
  8. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    Has to be one of the best first person horror shooters ever made. Before F.E.A.R., there was very little to choose from in the action horror genre. Monolith Timegate really did a great job in putting together a quality game that will give you chills. It reminds me of those horror movies like The Ring and The Grudge. It provides the right complement of shooting action combined with well placed cut scenes. Many of the enemies are quite unique and offer some serious challenge on the higher difficulty settings. The slow motion feature does make the game a little easy, but you can deliberately not use it. The ideal way to experience this game is to create a scare factor atmosphere by playing it at night with the lights turned off. Highly recommended if you've never played it. Expand
  9. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    I recently revisited F.E.A.R. for the first time in five years, and to say it's aged well would be a huge understatement. F.E.A.R. is truly creepy - there's very little of the unexpected scares (monsters jumping out at you etc.) that most horror games are filled with, and instead the game relies on the slow buildup of an incredibly tense atmosphere through cutaway flashes and gruesome visuals.
    All the weapons (especially the combat shotgun) feel powerful and really pack a punch. Unlike most FPS games I found myself reguarly switching between different guns, rather than sticking to the same three the whole game. The slomo bullet-time feature, despite being done before, was a great addition and added to the tactical gameplay. Using it to blast off your enemies limbs and heads never got old. The AI is really impressive, with soldiers really working together to outflank you or flush you out of cover with grenades. It's true that the levels are somewhat repetitive, but I like how Monolith have payed homage to classic shooters like DOOM and Half-Life in their semi-linear interior layouts; offering the choice to follow the main hallways and storm through the levels, or take the time to explore and be rewarded with medkits, ammo and intriguing voicemail. F.E.A.R. is a huge achievement for Monolith, and despite the lacklustre sequels it will long be known as one of their greatest triumphs.
    Expand
  10. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Definitely a genuine tried and true FPS, but at the same time, a very emotive one. I really enjoyed playing this... enough to subsequently replay it twice. One aspect that I particularly liked was the labyrinthine level design. The FPS element is also nicely executed. Overall, a very dark and well executed title.
  11. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    Hands down, best horror game ever. And yes, I have played Amnesia. The incredible A.I, buckets full of blood, paranormal events and that creepy feeling you get when you walk around a corner .. hands down best horror game ever and best game in the F.E.A.R. series. But those robots and automatic defense systems are poor and that's why this is not rated a ten. Get this game, now!
  12. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    so realistic game. and the subject is such original. weapons, environments and game play are fantastic. maybe the game would be more long. my point is 11/10.
  13. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    A horror fps, with very clever scare tactics. Not like your run of the mill horror style shooter, the tension really builds up as you go along, and once you find out the true story of the games, leave you even more shocked. A must play for any fans of fps/psychological horror games.
  14. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    This destroyed my trousers when it first came out. The bullet time "superpower" was a great addition and the story is great. Fantastic shooter. Grab it.
  15. Dec 23, 2011
    10
    Must-have for people who like horror kind of stuff because it is the scariest game I ever did play. Very fun indeed and there is only one problem; I'm gonna have nightmares for weeks.
  16. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Never had a chance to play it, but always heard of it. Finally got it on discount and installed right away, and few hours later I was able to play it. The result...well it was a good game but it definitely needed some variety. And I do mean it. F.E.A.R is basically a story driven shooter with some horror elements that actually do work at times and actually scares you enough to keep going and see what's going on. With that said, there's just not enough variety in the action, weapons, levels and also enemies. For starters, the game gives you the possibility to slow time in order to, like the game says, "to pass through challenging parts", which is definitely a great addition, but just overused like crazy because, in short, you'll never, ever, ever, ever engage the enemies without it: the enemies are too strong. I have played at normal but yet the enemies, especially if it's crowded, they can easily eliminate you, also thanks to their amazing AI, which is extremely precise and will help you give a challenge. Just too bad that with the slowmo, the game is a joke and even a player like me who really fails at shooters was able to finish it without dying that much. Also, the weapons in game are too few. You can use only 3 weapons at a time and...this isn't a huge limit because the weapons in game are VERY few, and only 3 types of grenades. On top of that, a lot of weapons don't have ammunition right away so you'll end up either switching for a more common weapon, or just use one for the entire game. The nice thing here however is that you can save your medikits and that really helps a LOT, since you can have up to 10 medikits, although they are rather common. Also you will be able to upgrade your health and focus using some enhancers, which they are scattered all over the level, in which gives you a decent reason to explore properly. Speaking of levels, the game is...very limited as well. Even though the game is very linear, the problem is that you will hardly interact with the enviroment: you cannot move crates, you cannot move anything, you can't even jump over some windows if the game doesn't plan to, but this isn't a very old game and for that reason I'd expect a little more interaction (and variety). Ah, the flashlight is very weak: should light a lot more, and shouldn't have a charge, since that 90% of the game is set in the dark. And for last, but not the least (since you literally get it at the start), the enemies....There is literally one enemy in the entire game (the so called "Replica Soldiers"), and sometimes the enemy will throw to you other variation of those, and sometimes you get "normal" policemen. There is also another type of soldier, a super fast one, the heavy armor ones, mecha-drivers, and another type at the end of the game...and that's it. I probably didn't forget others, but even if I did the enemies are just too few! They are great in actions, but In the end I get too tired of fighting the same soldier cloned to death. On the other hand...I liked the story. It pratically disappears during the middle act, but the start and the end, especially the end, it's great and makes the effort all worth it. There aren't alot of twists and such in the end, but those few twists are very good, but doesn't really make the game worth alone. But it's still a good game to boot though: the setting is rather tense and the game does scare you at times with some well thought scares; the fightings, even if not varied, is fun and gives a good challenge, especially since everyone enjoys to be a super soldier once in a while. I guess the main flaw here is the lack of variety, but if you can pass it, you'll get a good shooter in your hands. Not great, just good. Expand
  17. Jan 3, 2013
    9
    This is how scary and high octane action game should look like. And for those saying the story is non-existent or too linear, I guess you weren't paying much of an attention to all those phone messages and research from laptops. 9/10
  18. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    In 2005 when this came out, it blew away every game in terms of graphics realism, oustanding enemy ai, and solid care gameplay action. It was sometimes repetitive in it's corridor shooter focus, but its strong points made up for it for the most part.
  19. Nov 23, 2011
    9
    This game is more like a John Woo film with the Grudge thrown in. It is without a doubt one of the funnest fps games I have ever played, probably because the enemy AI is the best I have ever played against, even 6 years later. The story is also interesting, and there are a few great scares, but it DOES get repetitive around the middle levels.
  20. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I played all F.E.A.R. games and it really scary even now. I remember that i first played it when i was in middle school, and it was sooooooo horrific and scary!! The atmosphere in this game is awesome, which created a very scary environment. Some people might complain about the graphic but this game is actually a 2005 game, so what kind of graphic are you expecting? Compare to some other game that came out in the same year, F.E.A.R. is actually not bad!! But one thing sad is the multiplayer no longer available... Expand
  21. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    Fear is a great one time play-through game. The suspense during missions is very high and the sounds and animations keep the player on the edge of their seat. The weapons are all very different and useful, The AI enemy is about the most enjoyable to play against, as in they were difficult enough in which any one guy could take you out if you were not paying attention. The layout of the maps are perfect for this type of game, old hotels, factories, etc. The game overall is a rush, however, by the last couple of missions, I was honestly burnt out; I couldn't wait to finish. Overall, great FPS shooter, and great one-time play. Oh and the plot is well done also. Expand
  22. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    A great game for its time. The visuals are excellent as is the sound design, just going into slow-mo and seeing bullets whiz by is fantastic. The story isn't anything outstanding, but it's solid and it works. Gunplay is fairly conventional, but enhanced with the addition of slow-mo. One thing that really stands out in this game though is the AI. It is simply excellent, no other shooter I've played has surpassed it, even shooters released years after it's release. It means enemies feel like more than just cardboard characters that just hide behind cover and shoot every now and then. Expect to be flushed out, ambushed and flanked if you don't pay attention. Perhaps the game is a bit repetitive in its gameplay and level design, though it does try to spruce it up a bit with new weapons and new enemies. Scares could've been better as well. Sometimes it feels as if jumpscares are just shoved down your throat, and I would've appreciated some buildup of tension in some levels before the actual scare, it would've created a more intimidating atmosphere. Fighting assassins was truly intense though. Overall, a game definitely worth consideration for FPS and horror fans. Expand
  23. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A slow, morbid and clever storyline, tense and nervous firefights, a very good balance among weapons, amazing music and sounds, the smartest AI you can find in a FPS. The action part is perfect, the horror part is perfect and the balance between both is perfect. A masterpiece.
  24. Jun 12, 2012
    10
    GREATEST. GAME. EVER. Nothing more to say. Friggin scary, epic graphics at that time, and awesome dialogue. Too bad Fear2 didn't even reached F.E.A.R to the socks

    GG
  25. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    A classic video game that succeeds at giving you a dead, tense feeling inside. The game delivers exactly what it's supposed to, giving a repetitive, tedious gameplay experience that dives deep into your mind, invading all of your senses while making you drown in the dread of the story. Each skirmish is brought out in a fearful manor, making you watch out intensely each time you go into a door.......... This game knows how to control you......... Buy this game today. Expand
  26. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic now, even ,more so for it's time back in the day. If you havent played it yet, it cant hurt to give it a whirl! The graphics are tolerable and the ambient noises and sound effects in general, plus very solid gunplay and smart AI (their tactics surprised me) are fantastic. Don't regret a thing, in 2012.
  27. Dec 25, 2012
    10
    This game is the Half-Life of the Horror shooters genre. Who says that the story is bad clearly hasn't understood it, because it's a deep, mature, disturbing and dramatic story, talking of experiments on human beings which return to avenge their past. Also, this is one of the few games that made jump more than one time. You will feel scared a lot of times. Also, the enemies are strong and with a great AI... the won't go down easyly. The arsenal is not very large, but is various, starting with normal guns and finishing with sci-fi guns like plasma cannons. All guns are funny to use. This game features also a bullet-time mode ("Slow-Mo") that you can active to make the firefights easier... you'll really need it. This is ine of the best first person shooter that I ever played... at least one of the scarier and with the best story. Recommended. Highly recommended. Expand
  28. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    F.E.A.R. still holds pretty well even today. For a seven-year old game that isn't a small achievement. The core of the game-the gunfights, are great thanks to well-paced slow-mo, excellent animations and furthermore enemies, who actually provide some real challenge as they are actually fighting to WIN the battle and not to reduce your health bar. All because of probably the best combat AI seen in FPS. Unfortunately, the level design is too ascetic, too bland and that's probably the biggest problem the game has along with being somewhat repetitive. I closed my eyes to all of these, but I can understand those, who can't. Actually, It's not hard to guess why developers deliberately went with that kind of level design . Cinematic gunfights are far better suited to offices, labs, warehouses, other closed urban environments and not large open areas, like per say, fields as the game would have lost it's cinematic flare it's famous for. As for other aspects, graphics were cutting edge for their time, while today they aren't particularly impressive, except for model animations and effects. There is satisfying level of detail, but the color palette is too poor, too grey. The story starts well, but becomes predictable in the end, tries to be Japanese-scare-you-with-a little-girl-horror type(which doesn't really work), while it could have been much more thanks detailed backstory. The game didn't scare me as much as it aroused interest to explore the game's universe. It so sad, that such promising series degenerated into another modern Call of Duty like shooter with the release of mediocre sequel and terrible third game. I really hope, Monolith (or any talented studio for that matter) will revive the series. It deserves better than this. Expand
  29. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    I can't actually think of any flaws for this game, besides the graphics and boring environments, but this is 2013. I don't expect an 8-year-old game to retroactively gain amazing graphics. It's definitely scary sometimes, and the level design is AMAZING. The gameplay is great and has the best AI I've ever seen in a shooter. The environments are extremely samey, as well. Overall, a great game, one of the best FPSs of all time. Expand
  30. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    This is one of the few games that really scared the pants off of me the 1st time through. Really does keep your blood pressure high (figure of speech). The game mechanics feel too basic compared to other games and feels like not much work has been put into it.
  31. Mar 15, 2014
    7
    A great action game with lackluster horror themes. IF you're looking for a good horror game, don't bother with FEAR. FEAR gives you a decently long and solid shooter experience. Unfortunately it's hampered by repetitive levels and enemies, but that doesn't create too much of a problem. The game itself is still well worth checking out for shooter fans.
  32. Nov 28, 2011
    2
    I picked up F.E.A.R cheap on Steam, as you do, expecting an engaging and enjoyable horror shooter. What I got was something different entirely. After the second level it becomes a drag of just more of the same. Bland, grey rooms, leading into bland, grey rooms. Hey, if you were lucky you might get one with a blood splatter in it, but that was the extent of it. The graphics were nothing special, even running on the highest setting and the gameplay just awful. It eventually became and endless cycle of 'slow-mo on - shoot the crap out of everything - slow-mo off.' Rinse and repeat. A horror experience absent of horror or atmosphere, and this is coming from someone who can barely sit through a horror flick. A thoughtless ending was the climax of a story desperately crying out for some more detail and attention. Save your money, seriously. Expand
  33. Dec 1, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. F.E.A.R. (besides it's obnoxious title) isn't bad. In fact I'd say it's quite good. But I'm only saying that because I paid $5 for it, which is what I feel is all it's worth. It's not a very long game, and, due to the extremely muddled and stock story, not a very memorable one either.

    You are Some Guy on an elite task force sent in to go investigate Some Thing. But then things go wrong for some reason and you have to kill That Other Guy. I literally had no idea what was going on from moment to moment in the game. "Go kill him", "go find that"...nothing seemed to matter. There's no way to fail unless you get killed against the intelligent, yet still pretty stupid AI. The story is built around a mysterious corporation and their relation to a "Project Origin" (I only remember the name because it's in the title of the sequel), which (SPOILER...sort of) at you'll guess early on is some kind of super-soldier program gone wrong. Sound familiar? It should if you've watched television, seen an action film, or played a video game since the 90s. It's a very common plot, and it gets used in a lot of refreshing, original ways. F.E.A.R. is not one of those ways. The big twist is (ANOTHER SPOILER...sort of) that you were part of the program, and the game reveals that its failure to provide any background or third dimension to your character was completely intentional! Except that playing as a stock Spec. Ops. soldier is about as exciting as killing hordes of them for hours. And if that does sound exciting to you, well, then you'll probably actually enjoy F.E.A.R.

    The game has somethings going for it. The slow-mo feature, though a bit overused in shooters at this point, makes for some creative and eye-pleasing battle situations, especially with some unique weapons you pick up later in the game. There were points in the game where I generally was scared due to the great lighting and sound design. And above all, for all its simplicity, F.E.A.R. is pretty damn fun...for the first few hours. The game's biggest fault is the repetitive, uninspired level designs, missions, and enemies. With such little variety in gameplay, things get very boring after the first act.

    On top of all this is a bigger matter that bugged me throughout the game. Everything F.E.A.R. does right, Half-Life did better. In 1998. Simplified guns with satisfying shooting mechanics? Half-Life did it. A mysterious antagonist that taunts you, but you can never quite reach? Half-Life did it. Camouflaged cyber-ninjas? Half-Life did it. In fact about the only thing F.E.A.R. has over Half-Life is slow motion and better graphics. The game frequently reminds you that there are "multiple solutions" to situations on each level, but they're aren't. The barely-there stealth elements of F.E.A.R. (Christ that's annoying to type) never quite come through, forcing you to go in guns-a-blazing to every room full of nonchalant baddies you come across. And that's a shame because a gameplay mechanic like that would have really set F.E.A.R. apart from other shooters. Instead it's just another one on top of the pile.

    PROS: Cool weapons, slow motion, near invincibility.

    CONS: Muddled story. You've played this game before. Repetitive gameplay.

    VERDICT: For $5, it's worth picking up. Whether it's worth your time to play through another FPS you'll hardly remember afterwards is up to you.
    Expand
  34. Jul 31, 2012
    8
    F.E.A.R is one of the best FPS's in years. The gunplay is what sells the game plus its generous length. The graphics and story are not though. Its scares fall flat on its face all the time, however the enemy AI are stupidly smart which give the game a great challenge. A great FPS that all shooter fans should play.
  35. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    Really scared the crap out of me I got totally immersed in this game it was so surreal. Not for the faint of heart or the weak of bowel and bladder. Plus the FPS gunplay and A.I. combat is rather intense and challenging if you avoid using the slow mo feature.
  36. May 15, 2013
    5
    Fear Is so bland,boring and not vary scary. 90% of the scares are just cheap and lazy jump scares and the gameplay is bland and boring. i think the slow motion thing was supposed to be the thing that separates itself from the fps pack but it gets old quickly and dosent improve the overall quality of the gameplay. overall its a vary mediocre fps with a decent story and atmosphere
  37. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Great psychological horror mixed in with exciting action sequences. The story is pretty compelling too. Although I can't give it a 10 because while the graphics/design are nice, it does seem like you're playing one level for most of the game.
  38. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    In 05 graphics and Ai where at top,also slow motion is a good feature. However, Alma with the progress inspires less and less fear,always using the classic "jump scene".
  39. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    F.E.A.R as a FPS was solid but somewhat dated. The AI was quite good (I played on hard) with enemies that would routinely flank you. The level design was somewhat drab and repetitive and the weaponry was fairly cliched FPS fare. The combat centers heavily on the use of bullet time- which was innovative back in
  40. Nov 13, 2012
    4
    The story line nearly doesn't exist- it isn't told in any kind of logical fashion, and it makes no sense. The graphics are great, and the ability to slow time is useful at first, but eventually you develop a dependence upon it that becomes a crutch. Enemies do so much damage that you can't risk going into battle without it, but then it makes the game too easy. The weapons are very limited- you either have a machine gun, a rifle, or dual pistols. There are no other legitimate options. The game is scary at first, but after about the third level, the whole shock factor is depleted. I would not recommend this game to anyone- even if you can buy it cheap, you're better off re-playing any of the other FPS's you have in your library. Play ANY one of them. Expand
  41. Jan 3, 2013
    7
    A fantastic twist on the horror genre with amazing (for their time) graphics, enemy AI that work together in groups against you, a story that you feel compelled to piece together through exploration, and explosive combat with amazing sound design and environmental decay. Starts off great, lulls in the middle for a while going through the normal FPS motions and then pulls out all the stops for the last few levels with a finale to remember. Highly recommended for FPS and horror fans alike; just don't go into this expecting a first person Resident Evil because it's no "survival horror." Expand
  42. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    F.E.A.R is a pretty fun game but it has not aged well at all in my opinion, don't get me wrong the graphics are fine but the levels are too repetitive and so are the enemies that you see. I actually found it hard to sit down for a long period of time to play it, I was never really interested, the lack of story does not help. That being said the last hour of the game actually freaked me out and made me want to check the second one out to see what it's all about. If you want to get involved in the series to try the new games go ahead and play this, if not it really is not worth your time. Expand
  43. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    The problem with this game in general is that the combat is in such close proximity to the horror elements without ever blurring the lines. It keeps them separate, so when the horror stuff starts you never feel in danger (because theres no combat), and when theres combat you never feel scared (because theres no girl with psychic powers after you).
    It's somewhat jarring to go from combat
    to scary, especially with the lack of tension build up... when you encounter the horror aspects while still in a combat mindset, it underwhelms the experience tenfold.

    Horror: 6/10

    Story: while it tells the story well through the use of laptops and radio communication, in the end it feels like you haven't learned anything truly interesting. And it leaves quite a few questions unanswered. I felt like there could have been more to it all.

    Story: 5/10
    Characters: 3/10

    But now the good stuff:

    AI- the most intelligent AI I've ever encountered, enemies will fire by peeking around corners, circling around to get you, cover fire at you while the other guy moves in closer... throw grenades to flush you out and at the same time never ceasing to give up. They chat to each other like real soldiers would.

    Combat- it's dam fun to see sparks fly off bullet holes, and pieces of walls crumble, and dust clouds to build up after enough gun fire.
    You take on many squads and even some heavy armor guys with better weaponry. You fire with dual pistols & a spikegun. It makes it easy to switch between which grenade you want and throw it without having to equip it. However there are no real "bosses" which means the combat never truly challenges what you've learned.

    Level Design- There are some really nice areas like the water purification plant, warehouse areas and then offices, and one sewer part. But then things stay pretty much the same in terms of variety going through samey areas till the end where we get some labs. More outdoors!

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 10/10
    Audio: 8/10
    Atmosphere: 7/10
    Expand
  44. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    the story involves you, a recent recruit in a military crew. you at first investigate strange things happening to your crew members. the story then gets more in depth later on. the gameplay controls are great for 1st person shooters. its a horror game and a shooter and it did an outstanding job. the way they use sound was great, and the visual effects with the dark shadows and shading made it a fun experience. one of the better horror first person shooters to be released in some time. i believe the second one is really better in terms of gameplay. but this one had lots more scary moments. Expand
  45. May 6, 2014
    8
    IMO F.E.A.R. is a very good game, with a great climate and the varied pace of the action. Particularly noteworthy AI opponents and interesting storyline. The downside of the game is to monotony of some levels.
  46. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    F.E.A.R. definitely takes it place up there with all the other shooter classics (Half-Life 2, Bioshock, System Shock 2, etc.). The action is smooth and fun, and the story is phenomenal. It's not too scary, but I don't think it was meant to be that scary. In conclusion F.E.A.R. is hands down one of the best FPS experiences you can get on PC.
  47. Aug 31, 2013
    7
    Cool game from the heyday of slo-mo and "HDR lighting". Gameplay is a tad boring at times, since there's only like less then 5 types of enemies. Story is a bit crude and cruel, but then it's a horror game. Good graphics and fun enemy AI probably the best use of slo-mo to day (and for a long time to come with the fad falling out of favor with the devs and users alike years ago).
  48. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Mračna igra fenomenalne grafike i efekata, velika trajnost............................................................................................
  49. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    A legend in FPS genre. A pure clasic. In my personal top list of best FPS games is on the same stage with Half-life 2 and Far Cry 1. Pros: +solid gameplay. Bullets feel like they do actual damage. Weapons have recoill. Vary good implementation of slow motion. +legendary A.I +awesome graphics. Looks good even by today standards +sound. Sound of weapons and most important, the soundtrack is EPIC !
    +Storyline. EPIC ending !

    Cons:
    -some say the levels are repetitive. Personal I never felt like this. There are many levels out of bussines building.
    -maybe not so horror. A good thing for me doh' :)

    10/10. A must play !
    Expand
  50. Jul 27, 2013
    8
    F.E.A.R. Is an all around good game, with an intriguing plot full of twists turns that wind your mind up and leave you wondering, almost even disturbed.

    The game does not abuse "Jump Scare tactics" as many other games of the genre do, and instead uses it when it can truly leave an impact on you.

    F.E.A.R. has some unique game play, which is pretty good for the time of the games
    release, featuring a "Slow-mo system" but overall feels very under-polished, enemies are able to dominate you with ease at times only because you are not given a form of true cover, it can leave you hanging at times, as sometimes the flee or fight thing can be very one sided (You are pushed into the danger head on) Expand
  51. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    If you need some action, just play F.E.A.R. Game is fantastic. Atmosphere, good AI, soundtrack, graphic and many more. That's why you should play this game. It's in my TOP 5 shooter games and I don't see any new game which can beat F.E.A.R. and Alma Wade
  52. Feb 20, 2014
    9
    Amazing game that holds up great over time. The graphics show their age a bit but the overall feel of the game remains. The dark environments, glimpses into the underlying plot and overall suspense keeps you on edge and eager for more. The levels get a bit repetitive but the variety of weapons and challenges helps keep the pace flowing. The horror/suspense bits are well thought out and although they dont often scare, they constantly surprise. They slowdown power is always fun to use and produces some very entertaining results (game physics get a little weird in slow-mo). Overall great experience that I would recommend to almost anybody. Expand
  53. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    Playing it, playing it again. and again. and again.... Everything fits perfectly into a cake of delightful gunplay awesome graphics (still!)! breathtaking slowmo-effects! an enemy ai that is still unchallenged up to date! these damn delicoius particle-effects! the room for movement! Every fight can differ! Ah yeah. And there are the "scary" parts. In my honest opinion they arent really that scary, cheap jumpcsares aren't shoved permanently in your face and... in my opinion the gunfights are STILL the major pulsside that keep this game still on top of my list. Even this day and age!

    Unmatched!
    Forget the casualized "Fear2" and the even worse cash-in and dumbed down "F3AR"!
    Play this and feel with your sweaty hands why this game is unmatched in its gunplay and slow-mo-feeling!
    Expand
  54. Oct 22, 2013
    8
    Have the retail version since 2005. It is a very good shooter. With some of the best A.I and gameplay. Engine feels very solid. Visuals were also breathtaking, It literally felt like firing from an actual gun, when sparks and dust came out. I know it is supposed to be an corridor shooter and close combat action game but the environments lacked of variation. 8.5/10
  55. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    Single Player/Multi Player (1/2) (If the single player is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no multplayer) (If the multiplayer is better than the multiplayer, review this section as if it had no single player) Gameplay (2/2) Visuals/Story (1/2) (If the visuals are better than the story, review this section as if it had no story) (If the story is better than the visuals, review this section as if the visuals didn’t matter)

    Accessibility/Longevity (1/2)

    (Review this section only on Accessibility if the game has no longevity) (Review this section only on longevity if the game isn’t accessible)

    Pricing (1/2)

    Wildcard (0)

    This is a guideline for how to properly review games. Many reviewers like to get a “feel” for a game, and arbitrarily give a game a score that they believe it deserves. This results in wildly different scores between different reviewers, and vastly different scores between similar games. This guideline addresses these problems and scores games fairly and consistently. This guideline also gives scores that are usually similar to the metacritic score.

    The review score is based out of 10 points. There are no “half” or 0.5 increments. It is impossible to have a score above 10 or below 0. The review score will change as the game gets new dlc, drops in price, or if more secrets are found through the game increasing its appeal.

    The scoring is split into 6 sections. The first five sections can add a possible 2 points to the final score. The first 5 sections are Single Player/Multi Player, Gameplay, Visuals/Story, Accessibility/Longevity, and Pricing.

    Notice that 3 of these sections have two parts. These particular sections will be scored based on the stronger part of the game of the two. For example, if a game has a lousy single player campaign, but an excellent multiplayer component, that section will be based solely on the multiplayer as if the single player did not exist. This allows games to be based on their own merits, as many unnecessary features are shoehorned into video games by publishers to reach a “feature quota”. Games that excel in both areas of a section don’t receive should be noted in the written review, but cannot increase the score past 2 in that section. However, it can be taken into account in the final section

    The final section can add 1, add 0, or subtract 1 to the final score. This final section is the “wildcard” section. This section is for how the reviewer “feels” about the game, but limits this only to this section, rather than the entire 10 point review. This section can include any positive or negative point that was not covered in the previous 5 sections.
    Expand
  56. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    It's got insanely good gunplay and particle effects, but also very repetitive, square level design, and pacing that only really works for short bursts, otherwise it becomes rather tedious. The AI is nothing special, but I've mostly played Halo and Half life games in FPS terms, so maybe I'm just used to smarter foes. The plot is also pretty sh*t but who really cares. It's a 7.5 for me but Metacritic only allows 1 to 10 ranking so I just flipped a coin and gave it a 7. Expand
  57. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    F.E.A.R. it's a beautiful horror games, and for me one of the best of the history, i love FPS and horror, F.E.A.R. is a mixture perfectly made, with a story and a background story more than interesting, if you have never play it, PLAY IT it's a must play
  58. QOO
    Nov 16, 2013
    10
    If Max Payne and Doom had a baby, this would be the game. This game has excellent gunplay, and some of the best A.I I've ever seen. F.E.A.R is excellent all the way through, and is injected with some bullet time to help you keep going. Horror-wise, it isn't that scary. It's basically jumpscare after jumpscare, and it can sometimes be effective, but it usually isn't. Buy it for the shooting. If I could give this game more than 10, I would. Expand
  59. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I think the game is awesome, I had it when it first came out and just repurchased it. It still has great graphics and a good storyline. And it will make you jump a few times too.
  60. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    One of the best games out there in the FPS genre. It's a fast-action game that will make you look at every corner, waiting to be ambushed by enemies. The story is fantastic, the first game of this epic trilogy that is F.E.A.R.
  61. Dec 22, 2013
    8
    F.E.A.R. is a blast to play. Unlike many first-person shooters, your bullets feel like they do actual damage and you can feel the shredding of your enemies before you. Your quick reflex (slow-mo) ability and varying melee attacks add a hint of John Woo flavoring to the mix. Also, being a game that uses the word "fear" as an acronym(First Espionage Assault Recon), it has a bit of horror in it and acts as an accessible game for people looking to dip their toes in the horror genre of gaming but don't feel they're quite ready for the more hardcore panic attack-inducing games out there. The only big issue I had with F.E.A.R. was how disappointingly short it is. I was expecting at least ten hours of great gameplay, but instead, I burned through the game in six or seven hours. While the game itself is great, the length keeps it from scoring higher in my book. All in all, F.E.A.R. is a great game even if it is a little short. Expand
  62. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    One of the few shooter games that has the cool slow motion. Good story. They really did a good job when they put this game together. It is like one of those old movies that you just wont to keep coming back too & watch over & over.
  63. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    Great atmosphere consist of crisp yet gloomy image haunting audio and devoted level design.

    I like the semi-realistic weapon design, its intuitive control and the intense firefight scenes with some sharp difficulty curves but also very rewarding.

    Most interesting story compared to other FPS, make me actually feel care for the characters.
  64. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    It's 60% action and 40% terror: a classic! F.E.A.R 2 it's 60% terror and 40% action, a classic too! F.E.A.R 3 it's 100% action and 100% disapointment, but it's worth playing...
  65. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Pese a ser un correcalles y muy lineal, es uno de los videojuegos que mejor usan las estructuras sonoras para generar tensión, además de varios sustos muy en la línea del cine de terror japonés. Tal vez no es buena compra pero sí vale la pena echarle un vistazo si lo tiene un amig@.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. F.E.A.R.'s troopers try so hard, you almost hate not fighting fair. [Jan 2005, p.96]
  2. Is it the next "Half-Life"? It may very well be since anticipation for a sequel is rising every day as more and more play F.E.A.R. for the first time.
  3. But the fantastic graphics, sound, and firefights all blend to make F.E.A.R. an excellent game, though in order to enjoy the graphics and the game to its fullest, you must have a high-end computer system. In closing, F.E.A.R. is definitely one of this year’s best games.