F.E.A.R. Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 832 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: F.E.A.R. (First Encounter Assault and Recon), is an intense first person close-quarters combat experience with rich atmosphere and an engaging storyline. The story begins as an unidentified paramilitary force infiltrates a multi-billion dollar aerospace compound. The government responds byF.E.A.R. (First Encounter Assault and Recon), is an intense first person close-quarters combat experience with rich atmosphere and an engaging storyline. The story begins as an unidentified paramilitary force infiltrates a multi-billion dollar aerospace compound. The government responds by sending in Special Forces, but loses contact as an eerie signal interrupts radio communications. When the interference subsides moments later, the team has been literally torn apart. As part of a classified strike team created to deal with threats no one else can handle, your mission is simple: Eliminate the intruders at any cost. Determine the origin of the signal. And contain this crisis before it spirals out of control. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. 100
    F.E.A.R. is just polished, period. If you have the system to handle the game, it is a must have for all gamers.
  2. But the fantastic graphics, sound, and firefights all blend to make F.E.A.R. an excellent game, though in order to enjoy the graphics and the game to its fullest, you must have a high-end computer system. In closing, F.E.A.R. is definitely one of this year’s best games.
  3. Fantastic horror game with great action and everything else that that might imply, you can use your flashlight AND your gun, and the game will STILL scare you! Hallelujah!
  4. While some of the horror elements to the storyline may seem a tad cliché, the game's almost perfect fundamentals and solid extra's makes it an instant nominee for 2005 PC Game of the Year.
  5. The story is mysterious enough to demand further investigation, but after a while you start wishing they would hurry things up and get to the good stuff. It’s only later when you’ll stumble onto the Catch-22 that the only truly "good stuff" in the game is that you can blow up a lot of the boring stuff.
  6. 85
    Arguably the strongest single-player FPS this year. It is the total package – great graphics, great sound, great multiplayer and captivating single player.
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    70
    There's the requisite little Goth girl with long black hair to 'creep you out.' Thanks to its overuse, it's become the lens flare of horror. [Jan 2006, p.48]

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 221
  1. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    According to these user reviews FEAR seems to be a love or hate experience. People junk this game for repetitive levels, bad graphics, andAccording to these user reviews FEAR seems to be a love or hate experience. People junk this game for repetitive levels, bad graphics, and lack of enemy diversity. I just don't see any of that except maybe the bad level complaint is valid. Although who cares about how the levels look when the gameplay is so solid. I just played this game again in 2011 and it's still an awesome game. My one complaint with this game is even on the hardest difficulty it is still a bit too easy. The reason people love or hate this game is because its focus is the same gameplay over and over in different variations so if you don't like the shooting mechanic you will pretty much hate the whole game. Monolith has an epic resume of games Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    F.E.A.R. definitely takes it place up there with all the other shooter classics (Half-Life 2, Bioshock, System Shock 2, etc.). The action isF.E.A.R. definitely takes it place up there with all the other shooter classics (Half-Life 2, Bioshock, System Shock 2, etc.). The action is smooth and fun, and the story is phenomenal. It's not too scary, but I don't think it was meant to be that scary. In conclusion F.E.A.R. is hands down one of the best FPS experiences you can get on PC. Expand
  3. Mykal
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    I finally picked this baby up over the holidays. All I can say is this: If you've got even the slightest interest in FPS games, you owe I finally picked this baby up over the holidays. All I can say is this: If you've got even the slightest interest in FPS games, you owe it to yourself to play this gem! Expand
  4. HrushiK.
    Dec 23, 2005
    8
    Great action, incredibly satisfying combat game, with an atmospheric horror adventure game attached. The two aspects of this game seem Great action, incredibly satisfying combat game, with an atmospheric horror adventure game attached. The two aspects of this game seem completely separate to me. On the one hand we have a very polished FPS, one that hits the mark on what makes shooters fun. On the other we have an admittedly derivative, but ultimately appreciable, horror narrative. The two have been mixed together into a disjointed and confused product - one that is most appropriately called a thriller. The game will give you thrills, just not in a coherent manner. It will have you wondering why you should be scared of a few ghouls when you just killed a room full of commandos, or desperately trying to change gear from a creeped out hypnosis to deal with the giant robot that just appeared. In the absence of many other games which try to put more than a few ideas into practice, I am willing to cut this game some slack. More big ideas are better than less. But hopefully in future, either these ideas will be dealt with separately, with more focus, or better fused together. Oh, and I agree with all of Firingsquad's comments (although it is scarier than they give it credit for, I believe a game can be more engrossing than a movie, and therefore more disturbing). Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    8
    A great game for its time. The visuals are excellent as is the sound design, just going into slow-mo and seeing bullets whiz by is fantastic.A great game for its time. The visuals are excellent as is the sound design, just going into slow-mo and seeing bullets whiz by is fantastic. The story isn't anything outstanding, but it's solid and it works. Gunplay is fairly conventional, but enhanced with the addition of slow-mo. One thing that really stands out in this game though is the AI. It is simply excellent, no other shooter I've played has surpassed it, even shooters released years after it's release. It means enemies feel like more than just cardboard characters that just hide behind cover and shoot every now and then. Expect to be flushed out, ambushed and flanked if you don't pay attention. Perhaps the game is a bit repetitive in its gameplay and level design, though it does try to spruce it up a bit with new weapons and new enemies. Scares could've been better as well. Sometimes it feels as if jumpscares are just shoved down your throat, and I would've appreciated some buildup of tension in some levels before the actual scare, it would've created a more intimidating atmosphere. Fighting assassins was truly intense though. Overall, a game definitely worth consideration for FPS and horror fans. Expand
  6. GregM.
    Oct 23, 2005
    7
    Utterly, horribly average. The first 3 hours are awesome- tense, really scary, and the firefights are awesome! After that it becomes a boring Utterly, horribly average. The first 3 hours are awesome- tense, really scary, and the firefights are awesome! After that it becomes a boring hallway crawl. The enemies are somewhat challenging on the harder difficulty levels, but the main reason for it is that most of the level design is very linear, so the enemies strength is derived from their (almost) always defensive position. There is too much ammo and health lying around and they really don't let you have fun with the weapons too much. The pistol is a very cool weapon, but after a little while there isn't enough ammo + dual wielding is really retarded. Come on now, it's 2005, can we still watch someone run around onscreen with two arms outstretched and not feel our OWN arms getting tired?? It's much much cooler to be holding a pistol with both hands, walking slowly around and waiting for some enemy to pop out and then squeeze a few rounds off into his cranium. Shotgun is great, but the enemies aren't close enough often to use it, so I end up with 150+ runs extra. All the other weapons are ok, the scoped weapons are great, but you don't use them as much as I'd like given the level design. I'm sorry, but Monolith: You should be ashamed! I has so much hope for you. I though I could buy a game from you based on your cred alone. sigh. Expand
  7. Jun
    Oct 2, 2005
    0
    The game loses your interest before the third level and becomes just another boring "Doom" clone. It had a lot of promise, then it was as if The game loses your interest before the third level and becomes just another boring "Doom" clone. It had a lot of promise, then it was as if the programmers gave up and had a meltdown. Sad. Expand

See all 221 User Reviews