User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 889 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    FEZ brings pixels to life. The vivid colors and music that gives every scene its own style and atmosphere makes every discovery and exploration worthwhile. I could not stop smiling at it and at times I would just pause to appreciate the artistry and the environment. It gives a refreshing taste of platformer and puzzle games.
  2. May 1, 2013
    10
    This brought a new 3D world While staying in a 2D world A Very fun puzzle games for a low price and hours of Puzzles. If your looking for some puzzle fun this game is for you the worlds are very nicely designed.
  3. May 1, 2013
    10
    This game is excellent. You've probably read all about it and are here to cry about a comment that he made about your videogames. The creative man behind it can talk a bit more than he should but honestly most of the comments I read on the internet are 1000x more reprehensible than saying Japanese video games suck. I don't understand how someone can make a sidescrolling puzzle masterpiece and be criticized by putting his foot in his mouth. I mean gamers are some of the worst people in the world and they're worried about some guy saying one or two silly things.

    The game is not a typical side scroller. I guess the best way to describe it would be a open world puzzle game. It's amazing how complete it all feels though. I've played it on the Xbox and on Steam with no problems so far (like that save glitch). The world feels so alive and vibrant. Every single component of this game has a purpose or adds to the experience. It has its own language and its own vibe. I'm sure everyone is used to ignoring the user score on Metacritic but here it is especially important. This game is amazing.
    Expand
  4. May 1, 2013
    10
    Phil Fish, this review is a personal congratulation on your masterpiece. I know it is already 2 years since its release but only know I could fully comprehend the best inner part of the game. The system of turning the world from 2D to 3D is outstanding, graphics are brilliant, gameplay is marvelous and with that audio surroundings are perfectly relaxing. For such a price (which I consider nothing to give 2 guys who have been working their ass off to get this tremendous game) it is not only one of the best Indie games, but as well one of the best games created. Puzzles are interesting, storyline is fascinating and dialogues are funny! Hope you will read this and smile! Thank you again for the experience I have lived through because of you! 10/10, no questions Expand
  5. May 1, 2013
    10
    This is an EXCELLENT game. It is intelligent. It has secrets and puzzles that take the game play way beyond the 'retro platformer" that I expected. It plays smooth and rewards exploration. I get the same rewarding enjoyment out of this game as I did when I played Portal, Portal 2 or Antichamber or the old-school Zork games. You feel accomplishment when a puzzle is solved or a secret is found. This is a game that makes you say, "Jeez, that's brilliant." To the people saying that it does not run well on their system, IT IS YOUR SYSTEM, NOT THE GAME. I am playing this on a 3 year old ASUS G74 laptop with a 24 inch external 1980 x 1200 monitor, much more then what the computer is designed for and it runs without any issues what-so-ever.

    It game was $10 very well spent! I do suggest using a game pad when playing it as the game is designed to be played that way.

    If you love ANY of the games I mentioned above, give this awesome game a try.
    Expand
  6. May 2, 2013
    10
    The game is simply amazing. I don't really care what Phil Fish says the thing is he made a masterpiece here. I really don't know how he figured out all the level designs by himself, but it works so well and so cleverly. Anyway, stop whining about his statements, and buy this game. The art design, the puzzles, and oh, the amazing soundtrack all make for one of the best indie games ever made. There are some bugs and crashes, but hey one guy did the art and the puzzles, and the other guy did the programming. I think we can forgive them, especially when this is their first PC project. Expand
  7. May 1, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. PC gamers who love platform games will love this game. When I first started playing I feel in love with the world. It's an amazing puzzle game and it does not cost that much at all. GET IT.
  8. May 3, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best indie released to this date. Don't listen to bad reviews because as you'll see they're only based on judgement about it's genius maker Phil Fish. And like all geniuses, it doesn't fit in a box that stupid people feel confortable with. But the game is un-criticable it's an innovative, beautifully designed and directed exploration game with a unique feel crafted from spot-on soundtrack and charming universe. Fùùù the haters Expand
  9. May 6, 2013
    9
    This is essentially Mario 64 crossed with Myst with a gorgeous audiovisual aesthetic. If you are the kind of person who that appeals to you will love this. For "thinkers and explorers".

    Sprawling, with puzzles ranging from clever yet simple to insanely deep and complex. The king of puzzle platformers. The rotation is used to cleverly and in ways too diverse to be called a "gimmick". Art
    and soundtrack are both stunning. Expand
  10. May 12, 2013
    10
    Firstly let me say that I have never written a metacritic review before, but I love this game so much that it physically hurts, and I just had to let other people know that. I'm an 80s and 90s kid mostly, and this game really took me back to the likes of Super Mario 64, and the Legend of Zelda series in it's ethos and gameplay style.

    Firstly it is necessary to say that it is quite a
    smart game, and that might scare some people. There is thinking required to even reach the end of the game, let alone to 100% it so in that sense I can understand your average Call of Duty robot being put off by this. However what I will say is that this is hands-down the most faithful representation of those old platforming games you used to love, reproduced in beautiful and often pretty trippy 8-bit graphics. Furthermore, this is a game with depth I was able to re-explore areas I had already 'finished' when I learnt some of the game's later secrets. As a result, you feel like you know the layout of the world very well by the end, which add a really memorable character to the overall experience.

    In short, if you like your games intelligent, thoughtfully designed, and completely absorbing, then you owe it to yourself to play this game. It's not a game which will last you for months and months, but it is an absolutely unforgettable and charming experience. Don't be put off by the people who are angry because they had to use their brain to play the game, or who had unfortunate technical issues and couldn't see past this. Many more people than that have had no issues, and have been impressed with this game as I have. This one really is not to be missed.
    Expand
  11. May 4, 2013
    10
    This is way better than the one on console (I own both), and I really didn't have any complaints at all. I'm not sure why people are even giving this game negative scores, If you actually read their reviews it sounds like they're joking about it.
  12. May 7, 2013
    9
    at first, before they updated this game, it wouldn't run. once this issue was fixed, i found myself drawn into this universe of 2d and 3d. the graphics are beautiful and the environments make this game beautiful. i told myself i would play 20 minutes of it then stop, then 2 hours passed and i realized that i had gotten pulled in. this game is almost perfect. the only thing i would change is the addition of fall damage, which sometimes makes a small fall kill you. Expand
  13. JAP
    May 11, 2013
    10
    Fez is easily one of the best games i have ever played. The game play mechanics, the level design, the artwork, the secrets, new language and even counting system. everything is superbly done, and Polytron, most notably Phil Fish, deserves two thumbs up for creating a game that I found both challenging and entertaining (a rare feat in today's world of games where the majority of the gaming population plays games like COD or WOW.)
    So what are you waiting for? Every second you waste not finding Cubes and AntiCubes is another when the Hexahedron is in pieces, and every second the Hexahedron is in pieces the more the world glitches and falls apart, and the more the world glitches and falls apart the more the world is filled with black holes, and you don't really want to know when the world is full of black holes :P
    Buy it. Play it. I promise you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  14. May 6, 2013
    9
    You can feel the love care and attention lavished on this game through every pixel of its sumptuous levels.
    It is not often that you come across a game that has its own language and number set. The different rooms and levels are littered with symbols and clues that you can either dismiss as decoration or, if you are prepared to put in some time code- cracking ,a rich diverse and rewarding
    universe awaits you.
    Not all of it is perfect by any means. Some of the levels are better than others, and moving from hub to hub and room to room can be frustrating and time consuming.
    Any one who thinks of themselves as a Gamer is duty bound to play this game, regardless of platform, and once I become Ruler of the Universe I shall make it compulsory for everyone
    Expand
  15. May 5, 2013
    9
    I've always had my eye on this game, and my expectations for it were extremely high. It is definitely an extremely fun and solid game. One of the best indie games in the market, and I'm not sure why there are so many players who hate it. The port itself is not horrible. I recommend that this game be played with a gamepad, simple because it was designed to be played with one. The atmosphere of the game is so colorful and vivid that playing it is such a pleasure. There are definitely some flaws, but I would rate this game a 9/10. Collapse
  16. May 14, 2013
    10
    I didn't get sucked in by the hype. This game is great. Music, retro graphics, puzzles... I haven't played anything this fun in ages. I bought the soundtrack and remix soundtracks for it too the music is a cracker.

    If you've got $10, spend it on this and make up your own mind. Some gonna love it, some not; it's maybe not serious enough for the "pro's", but if you want a fun platformer
    with buckets of style, this will make you ooh, aah and giggle in equal measure.

    Oh, and it can be damn frustrating. Just before you solve that next piece of the puzzle...

    Well done, Polytron. More please.
    Expand
  17. May 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm used to being long-winded about games, but this one left me speechless. Fez is the result of what felt like an eternity of work (though, admittedly, it was all programmed by one guy, whose story is told in part of the excellent documentary film, Indie Game: The Movie), and man, oh man, was it worth the wait! The audiovisual landscape in Fez is lush and beautiful; no two levels look or sound the same, and the sound and appearance of each world are beguilingly, inextricably linked. Many times, I found myself simply marveling at each new world as it came into focus. Fez is lax on cogent narrative structure, and many people will likely be turned off by the fact that it's essentially one long fetch-quest. Those people should safely be ignored. Fez will challenge your logical mind like no Zelda block-pushing puzzle ever has. It pushes you by presenting seemingly impossible tasks that have incredibly simple solutions. It never relies on your platforming ability alone (which is particularly nice because the controls are a little slippery sometimes), but rather asks you to figure out the simplest way to overcome an obstacle. I was often stuck for a solution to something for hours at a time before I would shift my perspective (quite literally) and finally have something click. Fez has themes akin to (and a denouement seemingly deliberately reminiscent of) 2001: A Space Odyssey and is as absorbing and worthy of a note-taking friend as Myst was all those years ago. Mysticism in games (no pun intended) has not lost its luster. Fez really made me think of self-determinism and internal structure in a whole new light; and yes, it's just as esoteric as it sounds, but it's not without its charm, either. My one and only true caveat for this game is a warning; purists beware, you're going to search online sometimes. I completed this game in its entirety in about fifteen hours, and I'd like to think I did an admirable job at puzzle solving for the most part. If you keep your eyes open and sharp, you'll find hints that will help you greatly. Let me say that again; greatly. All the same, some of these puzzles are so esoteric, you have to be a pretty-near obsessive person to hunt down some solutions. One of my favorites was a puzzle featuring two intermittently flashing lights. One Internet search later, I learned that I had to convert those lights into binary ones and zeros. Then, I had to change those digits to ASCII programming script. Yeesh! Other than that little adventure, the puzzles are head-scratchers without being so overwhelming. I highly recommend this game to anyone who's willing to feel a little stupid and awed at its awesome complexity. Expand
  18. May 7, 2013
    9
    I'm not a big platform gaming fan, and I don't play all that many indie games. But you can tell the guy that made this put a lot of work into it. I saw the documentary on Netflix that featured this game and I cannot say that I was all that interested in it. But I kept reading things about it and it's only $10 on steam so I figured what the hell, why not try it out. I'm glad I did. The game literally put a smile on my face as I realized the developer was intending on marrying old-school graphics with a 3d effect that plays an important role in the game. He pulls it off nicely. You have to change views in order to progress to find the cubes. It's like a 3d puzzle. I played the first level so far and I'm impressed with the attention to detail. From the floating cube helper that tells you everything, to popups that give you hints, to the world map, it's as if the guy thought of everything to make the game more of an enjoyment that a frustration...a casual game is what I wanted and this is what I got. I really like the fact that if I die, I re-spawn right where I last was just before i made the mistake so that I don't find myself repeating things over and over and getting bored. $10 well spent! Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Brilliant, fun and challenging and so very creative with layers of depth if you wish to look below the surface. I would buy this game multiple times if it would help encourage more games with this level of creativity.
  20. May 8, 2013
    9
    Not a single technical problem encountered. Enjoyed the game from start to finish.

    This game reminded me some golden memories from the past and yet brought enough new to me.
    Unique mechanic idea that doesn't get boring as the levels evolve and improve from time to time. Immersive and beautifully crafted world to explore, interesting puzzles and secrets to dis-cover. With enough fun,
    mystery and replayability, the game manages to live up to all the 'noise' around it that we've been hearing for five years.

    Congrats Polytron.
    Expand
  21. May 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. its always see a game with a different idea than just a shooter and it's really a platformer the a concept amazing visuals are breathtaking. I think the game plays really solid and as experience no other game can copy Expand
  22. May 6, 2013
    9
    Fun and pretty, with nice music. Fez ran very stably for me on 3-year-old hardware. I enjoyed going beyond the regular gameplay to figure out the embedded puzzles in NewGame+ mode. Fez gives back what you choose to invest in it, which is very refreshing for a modern game. I give it 9 and not 10 because at its most basic level, before deciphering any of the in-game language, there isn't much driving you forward except the desire to explore new pretty areas. Expand
  23. May 9, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure what experience to expect, but for the little money you pay for it on Steam you are rewarded with a beautifully imagined game world.

    Simple yet taxing on the brain, it really is a work of art. The outstanding soundtrack completes the immersion and you quickly understand why this game is so highly rated.

    The guy who created this and fellow contributors who helped
    complete the magic are genius and we NEED these kind of people to thrive and succeed. The PC version plays in HD and is arguably the best version. So far the game runs stellar and I have had no problems with crashes running on Windows 8 64 bit and a ATI HD 7850 graphics card with 8GB of system memory.

    Based on my experience, I would urge you to buy a copy immediately without hesitation.
    Expand
  24. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    I was waiting for this one for about 2 years since it has ralsed on XBOX. This game has awesome art, soundtrack and story. I don't really think that there's any bad aspect. And yes, it uses a lot of memory and CPU but it's not that bad at all.
  25. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    Fez is the only game that has actually made me fill up several notebook pages with notes about its puzzles. The core mechanic is mind-blowing and very versatile, and the puzzles are very hard but VERY rewarding to solve.

    This is not to mention that Fez is a masterpiece both visually and audibly. The visuals and music combine to make a world that is incredibly absorbing and pleasant to play in.
  26. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    Fez is an amazing story. The game mechanics are very fun and intuitive, the art is eye meltingly beautiful, and when is comes to a soundtrack, this is one of the best I have ever heard. This game is a Solid 10/10
  27. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    I have to give this game credit for it's super unique design and unique story. Also, the gameplay is fun and there are some clever puzzles. There's a lot to be discovered in Fez and for the price it's well worth a purchase.
  28. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Perfect inexpressible atmosphere, cool puzzles and well conceived in detail it's all about FEZ. Everything in this game (except clock puzzle) is perfect. I've completed the game immediately after the release on the PC on my linux laptop through Wine and I have not met a single bug (crashes, broken saves, CPU overload, etc).

    There are some people, who hates Phil Fish (general creator of
    FEZ) because Phil was shown as disgusting man (often just pulling words out of context). So, don't believe negative reviews: most likely they are not objective. Expand
  29. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Its a very good game.It has a cool ending. And gameplay is good but it is prety bland and not revoliutionery but good the game fun to play and is very interesting and even creative at some times. final verdickt is good job if you can do any better youl get tens all around.
  30. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Fez is a love letter to classic gaming. Every bit of this game is detailed down to the last pixel. Fez is full of secrets and puzzles that make you think. Yes the game has a few minor glitches but when is any game perfect. It is amazing to see that Phil Fish was able to release this game to pc where it belongs and Microsoft for wanting $10,000 just to patch it. Designing games is not easy and for this to be Phil's first project shows that FEZ 2 will be even better. Expand
  31. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    The negative reviews are far from right. This game was great on Xbox, and it is better to see an indie game like this come to its true home: PC. The graphics are cute and the retro setting fits accordingly. The actual game mechanics are simplistic and it's fun to see what puzzles you can accomplish using them. The music is calming and beautiful. I am able to run this game with no lag or bugs, so I can say for sure that it runs PRETTY well. There is a lot of indie games out there, and few can accomplish gaining the beauty games like Fez have. Expand
  32. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is really cool especial the game play really fluid actually a awesome history graphic for a indi game actually awesome but the change of view principle was really estrange after you manners it Expand
  33. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Really fun and interesting platformer. It does what it sets out to do very well. It reminds me of the kind of fun I had while playing Mario Galaxy on the Wii. There are nice little touches that really make me experience the game instead of just watch it.

    Did have some first launch issues (Microsoft .net related) but after a windows update and restart the game worked fine.
  34. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    Amazing synthesis of platformer and puzzle game. Fun, challenging, beautiful. It was a long time since game forced me to write down encrypted messages to decode them. And I liked it!
  35. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    This is probably the most aesthetically pleasing platformer of all time. The pixel art paired with the awesome soundtrack create a great gaming experience. This game was well worth the wait.
  36. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Beautiful game, the people giving negative scores really just don't like the developer. It's a very beautiful puzzle-platformer both aesthetically and in terms of gameplay.
  37. Aug 13, 2013
    9
    I can't do this game quite the justice it deserves. It is crescent fresh, absolutely gorgeous and charming! I won't spoil the mechanics but they will twist your mind in unheard-of ways. The story and world interaction made me all fuzzy inside. The sound deserves a great system cranked way way up. I wish all games sounded this good. Not only the sound effects but the music, so odd and otherworldly, just divine. Oh and talk about tough puzzles. There are plenty.

    The only disappointment was after about 70% the way through it just got repetitive. I never actually finished it but it's one of those games where when you come back after a hiatus, there's a metric ton of enjoyment awaiting you.

    One hint. Don't jump ahead, play it through in its proper sequence. (which is tough to figure out at first) It's much much more satisfying.

    8/10 but gave it a 9 for bravery, charm and sheer imagination.
    Expand
  38. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I don't see what all the bad press is for Fez is easily one of my favourite platformers. The rotation concept works well, and the retro graphics complement it beautifully. Puzzles are well designed and challenging. I do agree that there could have been a little bit more of a tutorial, but I managed to pick everything up pretty easily. All in all, very good.
  39. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, im not usually into these kinda 8 bit looking games but this one made me feel like a kid again was some trippy effects almost old school Atari like, really enjoyed this game.
  40. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I believe this game is by far the greatest indie platform title ive ever played.it brings back arcade style games and stunned me in detailed maps and warp gates.if you ever want to play an indie game then this is it.
  41. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Just signed up here to write this review and doubt I will give any other game a 10 for a very long time. In almost 30 years of gaming (I'm 33) this has to rate as one of the best experiences I've had. As you make your way to 209.4% you will laugh, catch your breath, shiver and have spontaneous outbursts as you slowly work things out (mostly) by yourself, moving deeper into the story and levels of Fez and past just being a game, through classic, and ending at masterpiece.
    Thanks so much Polytron.
    Expand
  42. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This is an art game, a complete zen experience. You need sometime to understand all moviments anda concepts. Soundtrack is really amazing. I`m sure that the autor took so long time to deliver this game because tried to do the best of him
  43. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Sometimes it's very hard, yes... but the atmosphere and the 8-bit graphics are fantastic! il liked it very much! i know that this review is useless but i'm useless too so i wrote it. daah! just kidding! i'm a spaceship!
  44. May 19, 2014
    10
    Excellent, clever game, that gets more poor user reviews than it deserves because people are butthurt and extraordinarily whiny over comments the developer made.

    In the end, the developer is a jackass, and a loudmouth idiot. But he's a dedicated loudmouth idiot, who put together a really profoundly clever and inventive platformer, that is a game you should play. If you can't separate
    the two issues, you're going to miss out on something great.

    Here's hoping the cretinous moron goes on to make many more really clever games.
    Expand
  45. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece of indie development. Breathtaking locations, challenging puzzles, and head-scratching secrets make this game one of a kind. FEZ manages to be tough and challenging without every becoming frustrating. Anyone who gave this a bad rating because it crashed on their computer really have no respect for indies or indie developers.
  46. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Why does this masterpiece get so much hate? The game has a simple concept, surrounding many secrets. If all you haters would leave the creator alone, we would see a sequel. The language gives you a challenge, and the puzzles are well thought out. If you really played the game, you would understand why it's not what these users are saying.
  47. Mar 17, 2014
    10
    An artistic masterpiece a must for any player who likes exploration made out of pixels with vivid colors and has an amazing sound track played by Disasterpeace make this game an incredible package to buy for only 9.99$.
  48. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Отличный атмосферный инди-платформер, в замечательном выдержанном визуальном и музыкальном стиле. Саму игру еще не прошел, но от ее прохождения получаю массу эстетического удовольствия. Кто гонится за графоном и экшОном, просьба пройти мимо и не загаживать такую шедевральную в своем роде игру.
    P.S. После просмотра документального фильма "Indie game: the movie" еще больше полюбил Fez. И
    как дань уважения к разработчику этой игры (Phil Fish), ставлю твердую 10! Expand
  49. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    [FEZ / Steam PC / Score 9.5 ]
    This was truly worth the wait for a PC port.... A platformer game in a 3D world that can be viewed from 4 sides and played as a flat 2D world - if two things touch then they are connected! I played this with a keyboard and mouse and had a blast. This game is hard.... PC hard.... At least 25% of puzzles cannot be solved the first time you encounter them....
    And so I would keep playing other parts of the game and then come back - and BINGO I could figure out how to solve them. Too much fun for nine bucks and ninety nine cents! [/Pirate accent] Do Not Worry aboot finishin’ ‘e game....yule find hints and walkthrus all over ‘e ‘net....[/] This game is Fun.... PC Fun.... and if you don’t know what that means then go get a PC.... {I own a ColecoVision so why bother with a iPhone or an iPad - don’t be an rtard and go get yourself the ultimate gaming machine}. Treat yourself to true blue Indie Goodness. This game let’s you finish before all the problems are solved - and then [/spoiler] you get upgraded when you restart the [new game+] and just enjoy what happens.... These guys at Polytron are great.... This is the ultimate first game release that all game developers wish for.... and the ultimate indie game for you gaming nerds [buy this game] Released on PC 2013.05 and played by me [Random General thoughts]

    - - - - build your own PC - sign up for Steam and blow your mind.

    Yeah - PC gaming is where it…. is…. at.... ha ha ha hahaaaaaa haha aaahahaa ahahahah.

    [MyPC 2011] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8G RAM / Radeon 6870 / W7 PRO SP1 / Samsung 275T @1920x1200 / Logitech G15 / Kensington ExpertMouse

    [MyFavorites] [Win7] Stacking Metro2033 Rochard TheDreamMachine Crysis&Warhead&2 JustCause2 Rage [XP] DeuxExHR&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands1&2 BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] FullThrottle DeusExMachina ONI ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964
    Expand
  50. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    First of all I need to specify I had this game on a Humble Bundle deal, and by this time the bugs and glitches some have mentioned were obviously fixed as I didn't encounter any of them. The graphics are pixelated yes, but they are rich, colorful and there are plenty of little details in the fauna that makes things alive compared to most games that feel so sterile and boring after a few minutes. This is not the case with FEZ; it's a game that was made with passion as a huge amount of details as been put in the game, which makes me wonder the agenda of those that gave the game a score below 6. I play this game on a PS2 gamepad using an adapter (not the most conventional way to play a pc game), nevertheless, I'd never had so much ease to input the controls and to make everything work so nicely on the first try; it's intuitive and enjoyable to rotate the map using the L1-L2 buttons although most people using a keyboard might have a harder time adjusting the controls to their taste. The game being pretty and having nice controls is sure nice but it wouldn't go anywhere near stardom classic without a master soundtrack, which happen to be the case here. The music is not the most melodic you'll ever hear; but it fits the game perfectly which make the whole package feels like symbiosis. I've seen a crapload of 2d games in the past few years that all look the same, FEZ is different; it feels unique, looks unique and is a memorable experience and for that it deserves to be reckon. Most of the reason you'll see bashing around this gem seem to be about the main developer being rude, whose seem to put too much love into his game and not enough for his community which make some people go mad about him and his creation. We seem to forget that the only thing we should expect from a developer is the game, nothing else. FEZ stands to me as one of the best 2d platformer on the pc, alongside Cave Story. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Expand
  51. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    People just don't get this game. Its all about getting immersed in its amazing world. Its surely casual, and its the best of the best in being casual.
  52. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    2 minutes in game and you understand that game starts ideally. You can't believe in it and... make first steps, listen first music. After you understand that is why games often have name Art. All game emotional kick. And this kick like knockout. Fast and accurate.
    It's a story and emotions, very private and very personally. I always feel myself like a thief who sneaking in another life
    and watching by her from shelter. Surprised by her. Believes in her and is jealous of her. Incredible world. Incredible music. And incredible game. Expand
  53. Aug 3, 2013
    10
    Very well made and interesting game, i would recommend it to ALL gamers. Not just indie/platformer enthusiasts. The gameplay is not hard, considering you can never die. Though i seem to be stuck at places that requires me to wrinkle my brain to progress. 10+!
  54. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Taking a new spin on 2D platforming, indie game developer Phil Fish has woven a world that is so stunningly simple yet sublime to explore. The 3D rotation mechanic, the core feature of the game, seems straightforward at first but continues to dazzle and amaze at the bizarre affects it can achieve on a fundamentally 2D landscape. Unfortunately, with no other major game mechanics this can get a little old a little quickly, but is largely salvaged by the game's quirky zone-to-zone designs accompanied by a phenomenal chiptune reminiscent soundtrack by Disasterpeace.

    The only real complain I can register towards the game is how the platforming and puzzles seem to clash. Much of the early game consists of traveling through the overworld. Once one had that complete, they would eventually need to decode hieroglyphics in order to solve a jumble of sometimes maddeningly obtuse puzzles (one optional puzzle in the game has yet to be fully solved by anybody in the entire world). Because of this many platformers might be stymied by a sudden onslaught of puzzles in late game, where puzzle seekers may be exhausted by the continual platforming to get places.

    Nevertheless, this unusual combination of gameplay along with the novel mechanic of a 2D world manipulated by a third dimension can leave for a very unique experience. A definite triumph in the indie industry, Fez shows us how simple yet enjoyable game mechanics can be enough to craft a memorable gaming experience.
    Expand
  55. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    This is one of those game that are not made anymore. Even if its a very recent game, it has the feel of those old games I was playing when I was a kid.I got it in the Humble Bundle, and gave everything to the developer, Phil Fish. Even though people don't like him, Im one of the rare person that really likes him.

    This is probably one of the best game Ive ever played. The level designs
    are awesome and the story is really awesome. You still know that it is a video game, you don't get in your character too much, but you really want to find those cube fragments, not because you just want to finish the game, but because you want to know what is going to happen.

    The animations are great and very fluid. We can really see the attention to details in this game. Every move have their own animation and every combinations are planned.

    The only downside of this game is that, even after some updates, there is still bugs. But they don't change your gameplay experience at all, something may seem funny, but it wont stop you from playing the game. And after all, its a bit in the spirit of the game to have bugs ;)

    I still give it 10/10, because I really love Phil Fish and his game. I don't know if I will see more from him, but I really hope so.

    Phil, if you ever read this, and I know that there are almost no chances that you read this but I don't care: If you meet enemies and people that hates you, its just like in video games, you are going the right way. Don't stop to share your opinions as openly as you do. Someone that have everyone loving him has achieved nothing.
    Expand
  56. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game is more "art" than "game". Not too much story but that is ok for a jump and run. This game is for everyone who love to play retro-style jump and runs with a nice story and without bad guys.
  57. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Excellent blend of art, atmosphere and retro puzzle platformer. The 2D/3D transitions work really well, the soundtrack is incredible, the puzzles are hard, and the fez is red. Subtle references to the past make for a surprisingly deep and interesting storyline that keeps you thinking.

    Also one of the best games I've played on Steam's Big Picture mode. Excellent TV and controller
    support.

    Edit: Just reading some people's complaints of a crash after Gomez is fezzed. All I have to say is, holy crap you are stupid.
    Expand
  58. Oct 20, 2013
    9
    I really like the concept of the 2d 3d mix and Fez pulls this off very well. The art and music is fantastic, very peaceful. My only problem with Fez is the plot and the length of the game. Within an hour I got bored of the game with no real end in sight. Having some kind of progress bar to show how long left till the end would help relieve boredom with the occasional "Wow, I'm getting really far into the game now!" Expand
  59. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    A nostalgic re-imagining of what 8bit gaming felt like modernized for the Internet age. The hey day of 8bit gaming was decorated with Nintendo titles that hinted at vast expansive worlds realized through simplistic subtle details. Prior to universal access to information school yards collective minds elaborated these subtle details into pervasive and rich worlds filled with rumour and myths. Fez re-imagines a universe knowingly inside a Computer where the characters are hapless victims shackled to their limited perspective.

    Reality is constantly exposed as a layered onion with the protagonist Gomez bridging the gaps to not only additional dimensions but genuinely new perspectives as the rich world is genuinely realized and delivers in a way the classic 8bit universes never did. The puzzles in the game are deliberately challenging, including entire encoded languages, fourth dimensional treasure maps and secrets in the soundtrack wave forms. Only the collective effort of the Internet could the deceptively rich world of Fez be unraveled.

    Many games have resurrected the game play of the 8bit era, but this is perhaps the first to invoke the same school yard myth making of the 8bit era. The Internet is rife with speculation of meaning found in its subtle clues. The most challenging of optional puzzles cannot be solved without years of collective effort.

    One of a kind.
    Expand
  60. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    I would first like to say that this is a review of the game, not the developer.

    In a nutshell, FEZ is an interesting puzzle/platformer with a twist, but there's more to it than that. FEZ paints a pixelated picture of an innocent gaming land, a place where no harm can come. The only threat is that of falling; there are no aliens to shoot, bad guys to kill, no enemies of any kind.

    The
    art in this game definitely gets a 10/10 from me, as well as the soundtrack. The only reason I don't give this game a perfect score is because of the slightly boring gameplay. Yes I said it. As I described above, it's beautiful. Amazing. With so many secrets, easter-eggs, and places to go this game should offer many hours of exploring. I guess I just haven't found the interest in doing so. Expand
  61. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    Brilliant game that introduces a new and interesting gameplay mechanic where the player can rotate a 2 dimensional world.

    The goal is to roam around in an open world and solve puzzles. When that is done you are awarded with cubes or "bits" which make up a cube when you have 8 of them. These elements mark your progress throughout the game.

    You make progress partly by getting through
    platforming segments and then furter on deciphering codes or finding different patterns in the world which lead you to a solution. The latter is something I personally look positively on because for once the player is actually required to think a bit more to make any progress.

    The game presents itself in a very calm fashion with (GREAT) 8-bit ambient music and cute art style.

    There are a lot of (REAAAALLYY) well hidden secrets in this game so be prepared to challenge yourself if you want to experience the most interesting parts.

    Overall I think the game was definitely worth the money and I would say that any player out there who is eager to try something new and original should absolutely try FEZ.

    My score is:
    10/10

    + (Great) Original idea
    + Awesome sountrack
    + Calm and appealing atmosphere

    - The hub based world traveling could have been better
    - Some elements (black holes) where distracting at certain parts of the game
    Expand
  62. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    The Best Indie Puzzle Platform Videogame of last years. The soundtrack, the gameplay, the story, the pixel graphic, the landscapes are ULTRA BEAUTIFUL For the first minute i don't enjoy very much with this game but after playing some hours this game become your best choice for having some fun and sincerely i don't like very much this indie puzzle platform videogames (like Mark of the Ninja) but this is very beautiful, it's like Super Mario for gameboy but the 10.0 upgrade version for the amount of innovations. Expand
  63. Nov 30, 2013
    9
    I am in utter shock as too why players don't like this game. "It's great!!"

    Everything about this games save for some aspects of the graphics is absolutely perfect. The controls the audio, the gameplay is all top notch and the devs put a lot of effort into what I thought might be an okay game, but boy was I surprised at the wonderment that this game yields to players. This is better
    than Mario or most other platy's hands down....due in no small part to the depth of the dimensions and what they add. The characters are charming and the concept is brilliant.

    Kudos to the devs and hats off to you for this lil gem...hope we see more of these type of games in the future.
    Expand
  64. Jul 20, 2014
    9
    Really innovative platformer. With nice music and colorful graphics. I think it is not as hard as it looks like at the beginning but you must use your brain.
  65. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    A game for all ages, truly. Such a joy to see a 16 bit revival going on. Brilliant mechanics, soothing ambient soundtrack. I really am enjoying this game! It's also a relief to play a game devoid of obscene language, unnecessary gore, and suggestive content that is so fun to play. Good clean fun for everyone
  66. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    This game is so creative, a masterpiece, isn't intended to have beautiful graphics, but it's the mostly pure art.

    These Fez puzzles are absolutely great and fun to solve, so many hidden places, hidden stuff, one of the best games that I played in 2013/14.
  67. Jan 5, 2014
    10
    FEZ is one of the best indie games of all times, from the graphics to the mechanics, characters, script and specially the music (which is now a part of my daily commute routine)... each one of its details has been carefully developed, creating a fun and absolutely enjoyable game that will give you hours of entertainment.

    Most of the game mechanics are very intuitive, and the 2D/3D logic
    it's absolutely beautiful and nostalgic. The only downside is that it could be pretty hard to decipher some puzzles: not so easy to understand the meaning of the glyphs, but that's just a part of the game and you can even play it all without solving those puzzles (of course, you can easily find some cheat sheets to help a little bit).

    I'd love to play a FEZ 2
    Expand
  68. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This negative response, by an army of internet **** to this game just because the maker of the game cracked under the pressure of an army of internet **** is... sad, to say the least. This game is a stroke of genius, and while it certainly has its flaws ( a lot of the puzzles just appear recycled in the later stages) these are few and VERY far between. Lets start with the gameplay; i have heard a lot of people on the steam reviews criticise this game for being overly simply... then you look at their playtime; 20 minutes sometimes... wow. This game, while it looks it at first, is not a game to be taken lightly. what appears to be a small, relatively linear cube filled world turns into a sprawling universe, complete with intricate level design, sound design and a seemingly endless list of puzzles... for Christs sake, this guy made a entire language, code and timeline simply for one game. The non-existence of a death penalty perfectly suits the pace of the game, as does the lack of any enemies. This game is one to be played in many many short sessions.
    Moving on, graphics and aesthetic;...SPOT ON, PHIL! from the unique design of every block to a quick brown fox jumping over the lazy dog, and then to the character Gomez (the fez bearer) everything is fantastic just to stare at, to say nothing of interacting with it.
    all in all, this game has an overwhelming amount of content that is well worth the five year wait.
    If i was allowed, i would give this an 11
    Expand
  69. May 17, 2014
    9
    Who can say that FEZ is a bad game? Honestly, this game is a great platform game! The music is beautiful, the scenery as well, and on top of that the gameplay is enhanced by the fact that it is necessary to turn the screen to advance in the game I think it adds a real difficultée gaming platform, and this is a very good idea that developers found there!
  70. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. A magic world, an amazing and original gameplay, great puzzles and hard enigmas, definitely one of my favourite games. Buy it, you won't be disappointed, trust me.
  71. Jun 14, 2014
    9
    Fez is a great game, it has an innovative gameplay, colorful graphics and a nice storyline, the gameplay is a little confusing at first thought, but when you get used to it is very nice, i really liked it and i think is nice and innovative.
  72. Jul 26, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is one of the best games I've ever seen. The game isn't meant to be difficult, it is about letting your curiosity and sense of wonder move you through the world of FEZ.
  73. May 5, 2013
    0
    I've always had my eye on this game, and my expectations for it were extremely high. It is definitely an extremely fun and solid game. One of the best indie games in the market, and I'm not sure why there are so many players who hate it. The port itself is not horrible. I recommend that this game be played with a gamepad, simple because it was designed to be played with one. The atmosphere of the game is so colorful and vivid that playing it is such a pleasure. There are definitely some flaws, but I would rate this game a 9/10. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece by any measure. [July 2013, p.89]
  2. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    A gorgeous puzzle-platformer that's both a treat for the eyes and a thorough workout for the mind. [July 2013, p.82]
  3. 85
    The variation of the broken-down elements of the game is such that, if you miss two or three of the dozens of screens of the game, you will have missed on something special and unique. [June 2013]