Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 977 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Fez, you play as Gomez, a 2D creature living in what he believes is a 2D world. Until a strange and powerful artifact reveals to him the existence of a mysterious third dimension!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece by any measure. [July 2013, p.89]
  2. Apr 30, 2013
    100
    It’s a charming, charismatic adventure that will leave you with a smile across your face for the duration of your play.
  3. May 10, 2013
    95
    There’s a touch of brilliance to this game. You feel the incentive to play on, because solving a puzzle unlocks a new door and you enter into another uncharted and mysterious world. We love the music and the retro-style, pixelized art. Fez harks back to 2D classics, so if you’re anything like me, nostalgia should kick in almost instantly.
  4. May 27, 2013
    90
    Fez is a marvel of a game. Rotating its 2D world on the third axis transforms what would otherwise be a forgettable platformer into an instant classic. Paired with smart and satisfying puzzles, Fez provides hours of entertainment at a budget price. It is disappointing that PC controls and additional content come up short but the quality is unquestionable. Fez is a must buy.
  5. May 9, 2013
    88
    FEZ is one of the most accessible and best experiences you can find in the indie game scene.
  6. 85
    The variation of the broken-down elements of the game is such that, if you miss two or three of the dozens of screens of the game, you will have missed on something special and unique. [June 2013]
  7. May 3, 2013
    80
    Fez may not be as polished as its pairs, the Limbos and the Braids, but it's the indie gem we were expecting it to be. It's an ode to 8bit clichés for sure, but also a puzzler that will appeal to all the thinkers and explorers alike, filled with cuteness, an awesome soundtrack and atmosphere, and quite a load of secrets to uncover.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 172
  1. May 8, 2015
    10
    I would like to first say that any review of this game that is below a 7, is nothing more than people being mad at the developers, not theI would like to first say that any review of this game that is below a 7, is nothing more than people being mad at the developers, not the game, every one that is between 7 and 9 dislikes one aspect or another of the puzzles and every 10 comes from a player who was, like myself completely enthralled by this masterpiece.

    This is likely the pinnacle of indie games. Everything about FEZ is amazing. My only complaint is that you can't go anywhere from here, this is perfection.

    The presentation is stunning. The style of the game must have come from the devs really pouring their heart and soul into this. Everything looks incredibly crisp, all the sprites fit into their levels, displaying a wide range of motifs. The lighting was the thing that proves this game is eyecandy at its finest. There is a night/day system that paints every open area of the game in a myriad of pallets, each prettier than the last.

    The puzzles are great, both the ones that are based on simple platforming and levers; and the harder ones where you have to read fezian or take a minute to wrap your mind around what is happening.

    The game runs very smoothly with: 2, I counted, 2 types of graphical glitches i have encountered in my 100% all achievements play-through; and very fluent animations on everything.

    The best part MUST be the amazingly crafted levels. About half of the game is full of unique rooms with very distinct styles and challenges to overcome. These feel incredibly fun coupled with the amazing sound design, fitting visuals and satisfaction that comes after beating them.

    The core mechanic is simple enough that a toddler could grasp it, but is used to its full potential and feels incredibly satisfying, especially when abused to make 360 shots of your character landing a long jump.

    Regardless of system of choice, this game is a must have, and a must complete. You can run through it pretty easily, but to get the full experience I recommend consulting a guide for the puzzles you don't understand, you'll feel a lot better after you see where they're coming from.

    When considering this purchase don't think of the developer, it doesn't matter what kind of person he is, as far as games are concerned he should be to you not human, but a simple object: a craftsman. And he is an amazing one, just look at his work. More like "they are", but you get my point. I want as many people as possible to share this experience and it pains me every time someone turns away from it because of the criticisms that one of the developers is covered in.

    Do yourself a favor and get this, at least when it's on a sale.
    Expand
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game is a masterpiece, im not usually into these kinda 8 bit looking games but this one made me feel like a kid again was some trippyThis game is a masterpiece, im not usually into these kinda 8 bit looking games but this one made me feel like a kid again was some trippy effects almost old school Atari like, really enjoyed this game. Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    10
    FEZ brings pixels to life. The vivid colors and music that gives every scene its own style and atmosphere makes every discovery andFEZ brings pixels to life. The vivid colors and music that gives every scene its own style and atmosphere makes every discovery and exploration worthwhile. I could not stop smiling at it and at times I would just pause to appreciate the artistry and the environment. It gives a refreshing taste of platformer and puzzle games. Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Taking a new spin on 2D platforming, indie game developer Phil Fish has woven a world that is so stunningly simple yet sublime to explore. TheTaking a new spin on 2D platforming, indie game developer Phil Fish has woven a world that is so stunningly simple yet sublime to explore. The 3D rotation mechanic, the core feature of the game, seems straightforward at first but continues to dazzle and amaze at the bizarre affects it can achieve on a fundamentally 2D landscape. Unfortunately, with no other major game mechanics this can get a little old a little quickly, but is largely salvaged by the game's quirky zone-to-zone designs accompanied by a phenomenal chiptune reminiscent soundtrack by Disasterpeace.

    The only real complain I can register towards the game is how the platforming and puzzles seem to clash. Much of the early game consists of traveling through the overworld. Once one had that complete, they would eventually need to decode hieroglyphics in order to solve a jumble of sometimes maddeningly obtuse puzzles (one optional puzzle in the game has yet to be fully solved by anybody in the entire world). Because of this many platformers might be stymied by a sudden onslaught of puzzles in late game, where puzzle seekers may be exhausted by the continual platforming to get places.

    Nevertheless, this unusual combination of gameplay along with the novel mechanic of a 2D world manipulated by a third dimension can leave for a very unique experience. A definite triumph in the indie industry, Fez shows us how simple yet enjoyable game mechanics can be enough to craft a memorable gaming experience.
    Expand
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    This is an EXCELLENT game. I loved while playing this game. This has brought a new 3d worlds playing in 2d world. It's an amazing puzzle gameThis is an EXCELLENT game. I loved while playing this game. This has brought a new 3d worlds playing in 2d world. It's an amazing puzzle game and it does not cost that much at all. GET IT. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    5
    Honestly, 90? this game is to oatmeal for me bland and average, mix in some better visuals and easier to understand controls with co-op thisHonestly, 90? this game is to oatmeal for me bland and average, mix in some better visuals and easier to understand controls with co-op this could be better! Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    Very bad performance issues, bland gameplay and overly repetitive. Developer is one of the biggest cry babies to ever set foot in the gamingVery bad performance issues, bland gameplay and overly repetitive. Developer is one of the biggest cry babies to ever set foot in the gaming industry. Keep your Fez 2, nobody wants it. Expand

See all 172 User Reviews