Fieldrunners 2 PC

Fieldrunners 2 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Build epic mazes out of powerful weapons to defend the world from the invading fieldrunners!

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    85
    Fieldrunners is a great game that offers more Tower Defense fun, challenges and puzzles. The game looks great and the soundtrack is wonderful. You can drown for hours in this game.
  2. PC Gamer UK
    Mar 30, 2013
    83
    Beguiles with its military polish and visual appeal. [Apr 2013, p.85]
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    81
    Fieldrunners 2 makes no real attempts to redefine the tower defense genre, but it delivers a supremely refined modification of the formula that first made the first game so popular four years ago.
  4. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    Fieldrunners 2 is one of the best tower defense on the market: fun, nice to play and challenging. However, the PC version in no way justifies the price, very high for a product too similar to version for mobile devices.
  5. Feb 1, 2013
    52
    In-game currency is the root of all evil in Fieldrunners 2. Useful bonuses cost a lot of money, and the game is very stingy when it comes to rewarding your victories. Want to triple your payout? Like a map on Facebook. Post about it on Twitter – you’ll get even more cash. And those who dislike this kind of “integration” with social networks will find the game unfairly tough.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Super good game !!!!!!! ))))) i like Tower Defence)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))0no rusSuper good game !!!!!!! ))))) i like Tower Defence)))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))0no rus version (((( Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Amazing Strategy Game! If you like Tower Defense you will like this one a lot! Beautiful graphics and very funny details! This Game can beAmazing Strategy Game! If you like Tower Defense you will like this one a lot! Beautiful graphics and very funny details! This Game can be very, very hard! Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    The first part of the game was great, second is just excelent, everything is done better, more towers more enemies more fun!!. Now there isThe first part of the game was great, second is just excelent, everything is done better, more towers more enemies more fun!!. Now there is nothing to do but wait for the Android version, if you like Tower Defense this is a mandatory purchase for you . Hope you will enjoy it as much as i do !!! Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    Its really nice you can get so many hours entertentment for so little money, if you think you can 3 star everything first time think again :)Its really nice you can get so many hours entertentment for so little money, if you think you can 3 star everything first time think again :) and you keep on playing un till you get 3 stars.. Expand
  5. Jan 20, 2013
    7
    Fieldrunners 2 is a very good tower game, very challenging, fun and beautiful with various "weapon". But you have to unlock some specialFieldrunners 2 is a very good tower game, very challenging, fun and beautiful with various "weapon". But you have to unlock some special towers with coins, some of them cost more than 3 000 coins and you only gain something like 200 coins by map. This is damn too slow. With 30 hour of game i have unlocked only 2 "coins tower"... Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2013
    6
    Pretty good game, but the social media BS punishes players. This is a solid, fun tower defense game. Much like other TD games, it extendsPretty good game, but the social media BS punishes players. This is a solid, fun tower defense game. Much like other TD games, it extends the longevity of the game with hard/expert modes. And that is where this game frustrates miserably. And in the worst scumbag way. In order to unlock the most powerful towers, very much needed to beat the game, you have to "like" or "tweet" the game, or even... give it a metacritic review.

    This represents the worst kind of game distribution. I hate to be melodramatic, but I've rarely stumbled upon a game I PAID FOR that punished me for not using free to play mechanics. It's bad because honestly, had the game not included the three star difficulty I would have not noticed. But the clear attempts to manipulate and nearly extort players have turned me off to subatomic studios going forward.
    Expand
  7. May 1, 2016
    0
    I only paid 2 dollars and 49 cents for this game, yet still I regret that I purchased this complete and utter shash.

    Fieldrunners 2 is
    I only paid 2 dollars and 49 cents for this game, yet still I regret that I purchased this complete and utter shash.

    Fieldrunners 2 is simply a terrible tower defense game in every single respect. Obviously aimed at mobile money markets with microtransactions removed for PC, this is definitely the worst tower defense game I've played in several years. Generic cartoony graphics don't even attempt to hide the lack of originality or character (but still somehow the game has long load times even on 2500k @ 4ghz, GTX 780, 16gb DDR3, and SSD). The levels, characters, and art design are generic flash TD fodder and have not a single iota of verve, originality, or even competence.

    Seriously, I wonder if all the other products that this game rips off even realize it? For example I bet Valve doesn't realize that they stole the TF2 Heavy model and animations almost verbatim (plus the TF2 soldier model and anims, just to name two), and several other models and animations have been copied slavishly from other titles. There are almost no options in the game for anything whatsoever. As far as I can tell there is no hotkey to instantly restart a level, or to bring up the normal ESC menu with the normal options. Apparently you have to click on it, because if you hit ESC it instantly asks you if you want to quit the game. Clueless, greedy, incompetent mobile devs. Yuck.

    Beyond the simplistic mobile approach and total lack of creativity, competency, or imagination, the worst failing of Fieldrunners 2 is that it's built entirely around the worst TD grind mechanics you can imagine, and they're all hidden invisibly underneath a layer of flash/mobile simplicity. The waves are seemingly endless, randomly thrown together without thought, and invisibly leveled in HP while still using the same models and animations, with no indication that the enemies are gaining massive amounts of HP. There is no "next wave" button or indication of what the next wave comprises. One of the earliest levels has 50, yes FIFTY equally boring and generic waves, most of which comprised identical looking enemies whose HP scaled invisibly up to the moon. Who likes that? Maybe someone on mobile who has never seen a tower defense game, but even then only for the first hour or two.

    I get that the game sucks and grinds purely to drive microtransactions, but I rebel against this negative approach to game design. It creates enemies out of your customers and generally makes people hate you. -I- personally hate you, Subatomic Studios, for this game. You created an enemy out of me, and I will make sure to track your company in the future purely to avoid your products and warn people about how much you suck. This game should have never been released on PC, or anywhere. It is trash. Total, complete, and utter trash.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers