Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    89
    The FIFA Manager 13 is more challenging than its predecessors and requires more management by perception and empathy from players despite the possibility of delegate work.
  2. Oct 26, 2012
    70
    FIFA Manager 13 is immensely complete and expansive. Almost all tasks related to a team can be undertaken, but you can also let your assistants do a lot of the work. Sloppy mistakes and somewhat unbelievable moments can drag you out of the experience unfortunately, which sometimes negates the feeling that you're an actual coach.
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    75
    FIFA Manager 13 respects faithfully inherited mechanics from previous versions and includes a limited number of new improvements that could be very interesting. The problem is that they may not be enough compared to last year's version as they would if were part of a broader set of additions. However, it can be thought that the new inclusions are the first step towards a very promising development goals, opening the door to further improvements that should come with the next year's edition. If you are not a fan of the series you are allowed to wait.
  4. 70
    This superior and variegated football manager brings little new since the last installment and remains a few steps under the throne. [Christmas 2012]
  5. 70
    What is interesting in the game already existed in the previous version. This year there are several new features, but they do not bring anything particularly different so to speak, just complete the game, make it more competent as football simulator.
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    77
    All the new ingredients like the team dynamics sound interesting, but are not integrated well, thus interrupting the flow. But take them away and you have hardly anything left but a slightly updated version of last years' iteration, which you can get for less than half price.
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    38
    Comprehensive enough, but the laughable inconsistencies make FIFA Manager 13 impossible to take seriously as a sim. [Christmas 2012, p.102]
  8. Nov 29, 2012
    65
    The first impression is more than decent – the game looks really nice for its genre. Unfortunately due to limitations of the engine your players are not doing what you tell them to and act bizarrely on the pitch. Forget FIFA Manager 13 and buy Football Manager 2013. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.57]
  9. Nov 23, 2012
    62
    FIFA Manager 13 is worth buying only if you suddenly feel the urge to throw away some money. You'll get a slightly retouched FM 12 with one interesting, but non-working idea and Lucien Favre on the box cover.
  10. Oct 25, 2012
    70
    For such a monster of a game, some quibbles and problems are understandable. Still, it's about time EA started taking care of long known problems before integrating new (if really interesting and reasonable) features. If FIFA Manager is going to become a thoroughly recommendable product again, something really needs to happen.
  11. 72
    The addition of Team Dynamics is the face of the new FIFA Manager series. We now have full control of team interactions- we can not only talk to each player, but to interfere as well, either peacefully or aggressively, within the whole hierarchy of the team. [January 2013]
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    8
    I'm a newbie and this is my first game of the series of football-manager.I just feel so cool like some complex simulation games i feel so fun to make some choices,i am curious about almost everything in the game,so i think it's cool,maybe i should have a try on FM2013. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    3
    Football management game market is very small. In fact only two competitors are actually fighting for supremacy, Football Manager (FM) and Fifa Manager (FifaM). The conservatives always choose FM, for it`s well known depth and complexity. The so called casul gamer rather choose FifaM, for it`s easier learning curve, better visuals and huge licensed clubs, players and competitions. I am a long enough player to be called conservative but still I always choose FifaM, for more than 8 years, since every year, FM dissapoints in the only reason I play a football management game: actual match simulation. FM has yet to achieve quality in this regard, while FifaM rely on it`s FIFA engine to simulate in 3D the match..... Now, 3D beeing the strongest point to favor FifaM, hasn`t been substantialy improved since 2008 edition. Actually, since 2008, neither one of the game`s iterations had a playable 3D mode. Stupid AI, lack of strategical CPU actions, no use of the tactical settings by the CPU, shallow default gameplay enerved most of 3D lovers to the point where community made GamePlayPatches (gpp) became the only solution for watchable and even great gameplay in 3D mode..... Last year gameplay was misarable but still many gpp delivered a very good 3D mode. This bringed hope among the veterans that Bright Future developers will take greater effort into 3D mode development and deliver a near to perfection 3D mode just out of the box..... Dreams!!! Bright Future again chose to focus on new features and 3D mode remained very similar to last year`s 3D. Yet, it has to be said, similar but better. 3D mode is not stupid anymore but remained shallow..... This fact and the poor support from Bright Future towards its customers concluded in some sort of reaction from the community. International community is not supported at all, or very slightly, even english site is seldomly updated. International forum hasn`t seen any post from a developer in months. Brigt Future marketed their product mainly for german market and offer support mostly for german customers. Please observe the only acceptable reviews are from german speaking countries..... Many if not most of international veteran fans of the series are boicoting this year`s game by not buying it. My advice goes in the same direction. If anyone wants to play FifaM, choose Fifa Manager 12 and install one of many gpp to be found in the forum, at 3D gameplay patches subforum (look for pinuccio`s gpp Julia). This way, you`ll get a much cheaper game, with better 3D mode and a huge collection of fan made mods..... Fifa Manager 13 doesn`t deserve 50 euros and I wouldn`t recommend it even for a fantastic sale. Maybe a 10 euros price would make me considering it, but probably just considering it, not actually buying it! ..... My rating is 3 / 10 Full Review »
  3. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    This is a good game much better than football manager 13. Has many more features easier layout and not just managing the players and transfers. You can do many more things on this game than Football manager 2013. Full Review »