Final Fantasy VII PC

Final Fantasy VII Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An evil and powerful corporation is slowly draining life from the planet in an effort to control the universe. However, a small rebellion, known as AVALANCHE, has vowed to put an end to this destructive plan.

    You take on the role of Cloud Strife, an ex-soldier of the evil Shinra
    An evil and powerful corporation is slowly draining life from the planet in an effort to control the universe. However, a small rebellion, known as AVALANCHE, has vowed to put an end to this destructive plan.

    You take on the role of Cloud Strife, an ex-soldier of the evil Shinra corporation, who joins AVALANCHE as a selfish mercenary, but becomes much more involved in this mysterious epic of friendship, love, and the battle between good and evil.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Masterpiece, to me this will always be one of the best RPG of all time. When I saw it back on steam I had to purchase it and I will redo againMasterpiece, to me this will always be one of the best RPG of all time. When I saw it back on steam I had to purchase it and I will redo again for the 10th time this captivating story. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2014
    10
    People complain about the crappy MIDI sound files in this game and, while I do agree that they suck, the music has been fixed on the SteamPeople complain about the crappy MIDI sound files in this game and, while I do agree that they suck, the music has been fixed on the Steam version. So, what can I really say about this game? I admit, it's a bit overrated, but still one of the greatest games of all time. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2014
    10
    Hands down the rpg that defined a generation! Awesomeness in every level. The replay value is also endless, seriously, from story to sideHands down the rpg that defined a generation! Awesomeness in every level. The replay value is also endless, seriously, from story to side quests to battle system. I still cant get enough. Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2015
    9
    People complain about the crappy MIDI sound files in this game and, while I do agree that they suck, the music has been fixed on the SteamPeople complain about the crappy MIDI sound files in this game and, while I do agree that they suck, the music has been fixed on the Steam version. So, what can I really say about this game? I admit, it's a bit overrated, but still one of the greatest games of all time. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    I just recently purchased this for nostalgia purposes and didn't even really think I could get back into the game after all this time. Well, II just recently purchased this for nostalgia purposes and didn't even really think I could get back into the game after all this time. Well, I did. It feels good to be reminded that a great rpg just needs a great story. Its amusing to see how dated the graphics are, yet how intuitive the story telling techniques were. FF7 manages to tell a phenomenal story that is much better than most of the RPG's out nowadays that use the most advanced graphics, motion cap, and facial expressions to help deliver their story.
    The only reason I cannot give this game a 10/10, like I would it's PlayStation predecessor, is because of the smaller MIDI music files. It is rather minor at first, but certain songs from the game, such as Sephiroth's theme, were dramatically altered by the cheap quality and sound nothing like the original, which takes away from the original experience or mood the game had given.
    Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2014
    7
    A good game that is very overrated mainly because it is an early 3D RPG available on consoles. You will notice that PC gamers will generallyA good game that is very overrated mainly because it is an early 3D RPG available on consoles. You will notice that PC gamers will generally review this game lower because they had better games available to them even before this game was released. But console gamers thought this was revolutionary (it wasnt).

    The game itself was slightly above average for its time. The fight system was the same as old turn based RPG's but they included full 3D summons that looked awesome at that time. The materia leveling system allowed for some character customization and beating the weapons was fun albeit required too much memorization rather than strategy.

    The story is silly and I really did not like Cloud (at all) nor Sipheroth. I didnt like or dislike Aerith finding her too cliche. I especially hated the whiny Barret. Ultimately, I didnt form any attachment to the character and so I didnt care for the story either. Then again, FF games are all nonsense by design so this should not be a surprise. I do think this was better than FFIX and certainly miles better than X which irked me to no end (I wanted to kill the characters in that game). I did not like it as much as V, VI and it simply could not compete with RPGs on the PC, specifically, Daggerfall which was in a class of its own despite being 2 years older than FFVII (and was full 3D as well).

    Good game.
    Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2014
    0
    REVIEW OF THE JULY, 2013 STEAM RELEASE

    Broken. An absolute do-not-buy. Updated to require registration with Square Enix. DRM a clear
    REVIEW OF THE JULY, 2013 STEAM RELEASE

    Broken. An absolute do-not-buy. Updated to require registration with Square Enix. DRM a clear priority; actual function not even a consideration. Running in a Microsoft Windows environment, won't recognize Microsoft controllers (e.g., Xbox 360, Xbox One). Some Steam users report problems with buttons not working. Some users report being stuck at the title screen. I can't even reach the title screen; just a table of keyboard commands that doesn't respond to my controller OR keyboard. Not a port, but a dump. This version may run on antique Compaq Presario if you can find one, but then, Steam might not.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?