Final Fantasy XI PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 170
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Z
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    I don't know about many others, but I have played FFXI since 2004 and I've seen just about everything you can see in the game. The game started out slow, thankfully having friends to play with that I can talk to helps out a lot when you can team up to do partying. The end game starts out very brutal to people new to it. It makes the victory all the better. The game is a very I don't know about many others, but I have played FFXI since 2004 and I've seen just about everything you can see in the game. The game started out slow, thankfully having friends to play with that I can talk to helps out a lot when you can team up to do partying. The end game starts out very brutal to people new to it. It makes the victory all the better. The game is a very rewarding experience if you have the time to play it. Which I know many people could not devote to it due to other responsibilities. I've tried many Mmos since to see if there was anything that could take me away, and WoW had my attention while I was playing final (Yes dual boxed in both games at times) for about 4 months before I got a character up to 77 and then got bored with it. I also have many other 60 + but the game never really grabbed me. Nor did any of the other mmo's I had played. My point is FFXI is a good game to play if you do have someone to play with you or at least get footing in the game with, yes it is a grind but so is any other game to get good at it. The only real complaint I hear even from people that play the game is lack of pvp, and it's understandable seeing what it could possibly turn into with the auto translating problem as well. Otherwise for the game being as old as it is, it's still a well made game that is enjoyable and still very rewarding to newer players. Expand
  2. Mike
    Nov 3, 2003
    8
    Final Fantasy XI looks nice and has some cool features. There are some things that holds it back. The low level hunting areas are always camped, a free for all that would try anyone's patience. The penalty for death is steep, especially losing a level on a death. This is made more glaring by the difficulty running away from a fight, it seems that the creature will follow you for Final Fantasy XI looks nice and has some cool features. There are some things that holds it back. The low level hunting areas are always camped, a free for all that would try anyone's patience. The penalty for death is steep, especially losing a level on a death. This is made more glaring by the difficulty running away from a fight, it seems that the creature will follow you for miles. The interface and keyboard config is very difficult to get used to. It appears that there is no way to reconfig your keyboard to the way you like either, i would LOVE to be corrected on this one. All that aside, FF XI looks and sounds good. The gameworld feels enormous how enormous remains to be seen. Battle is a solid experience minus the inescapability and you feel accomplished when you level as it is not easy or short. The integrated auction feature that allows players to put up items for auction while attending to other things is ingenious. The gameworld never feels empty as there are constantly players around and on the go. While things may seem awefully crowded a lot of the time, a decent computer setup won't even blink at the load even at high resolutions. The wheel was not reinvented with Final Fantasy XI, but it sure provides a smooth and entertaining ride. Expand
  3. JoshuaF
    Nov 15, 2009
    10
    let me just state that i love this game. I have played it on and off since the release date I own it on the PC and Xbox 360 and i love the community. It is not a WoW game You need to form a party to level up once you hit 11-13 or you are in for a long haul. Great game and I wont stop playing it unless FF14 is as great as i think it will be.
  4. BenM
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    Bought it in 2005 and played for 3 years straight, retired a little over a year now
  5. BerticusRex
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    First, the graphics are beautiful, and there are good low performance options if you can't handle all the high performance ones. The economy is innovative with an auction system, always-accesible player bazaars, and lots of balance it seems so far; you don't have an tough time getting gear and spells from the get go like in some other MMOs. As far as the server blunder, I think First, the graphics are beautiful, and there are good low performance options if you can't handle all the high performance ones. The economy is innovative with an auction system, always-accesible player bazaars, and lots of balance it seems so far; you don't have an tough time getting gear and spells from the get go like in some other MMOs. As far as the server blunder, I think Square made a mistake with the World Pass system. I also thought that having nonsegregated servers would be a mistake because level 70 Japanese players would run every server. But that isn't true. They're mostly very nice, and you can occasionally get to group with one who is building up their advanced class. Finally, what I see Square doing is it is combining the most popular elements of each highly successful online RPG to date. From UO there is quasi-housing, or Mog Houses, point based skill advancement that seems to be a combination if EQ/UO with both skill levels and points, and a nice transportation system that seems very very cool - airships, chocobos, awesome! From EQ there is, of course, level based advancement, a very group conducive hunting system, a similar spell system, and hopefully big boss fights. And from DAoC there is RvR competition (not combat at least, yet). As far as Square's own innovations, I think the job system with subclasses, advanced jobs, and support classes is a great original innovation. And I'm sure there is more. Square has, once again, unsurprisingly, delivered. Best series ever + Best genre ever has to lead to something good :) Expand
  6. RyanS.
    Nov 14, 2009
    9
    No MMO can surpass the beauty, depth, and addictiveness of FFXI. The game is over 8 years old, is is still going strong. In fact, there's more people playing now then there ever have been. The graphics are showing age, but you simply cannot find another MMO with characters and environments as beautiful and well-designed as those in FFXI. The combat isn't your average MMO combat, No MMO can surpass the beauty, depth, and addictiveness of FFXI. The game is over 8 years old, is is still going strong. In fact, there's more people playing now then there ever have been. The graphics are showing age, but you simply cannot find another MMO with characters and environments as beautiful and well-designed as those in FFXI. The combat isn't your average MMO combat, but more of a real-time system made to seem turn-based. It takes some getting use to, but it allows for more strategy than faster-paced combat. The sound is this game is jaw-dropping. The sound effects are well-done, but the music is just gorgeous. There are hardly any games(not just MMOs) that can match the quality of music in this game, except some very high-budget games, and the other Final Fantasy games. The story is of the same quality Final Fantasy fans have come to love, and surpasses some other Final Fantasy games, despite being a MMO. As of right now, you can buy the game for $20, which includes every single expansion pack(they're not making any more expansions), and all three mini-expansions. Paying $20 for the game with 1 month free, and then $12 per month after that, you will be hard-pressed to find any form of entertainment of this quality, for such a low price. Worth every penny. Expand
  7. Lightshade
    Dec 9, 2003
    10
    The user-interface takes some getting used to, but the game itself is polished, bug-free, lag-free, and because it's been out for a year in Japan, it's fleshed out with content. The one aspect that sets FFXI above other MMORPGs is the skillchain system that can be used at higher levels.
  8. SpenserDavis
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    the gameplay is great, with a good system the graphics are beautiful, and the only issue there seems to be is everyones "cookie cutter" ideas of "the best" leveling spots, for any given level range there is prolly 4-8 areas to level... just because someone tells you you have to go doesnt mean you do.... anyways.. great game and good if you have friends and find good parties =D playingthe gameplay is great, with a good system the graphics are beautiful, and the only issue there seems to be is everyones "cookie cutter" ideas of "the best" leveling spots, for any given level range there is prolly 4-8 areas to level... just because someone tells you you have to go doesnt mean you do.... anyways.. great game and good if you have friends and find good parties =D playing over a year and a half now , tried VG tried EQ2 and WoW came back to this everytime.... hehe =) Expand
  9. TroyR
    Nov 12, 2009
    8
    I started playing this game around the time the Xbox360 version came out. It is a lot of fun. You will have to do a lot of grinding. It will take you a lot longer to get to lv75 then it does it WoW for example. If you get find a group of people that play around the same time as you and can communicate well with since the amount of people playing has gone down. Use level sync and the I started playing this game around the time the Xbox360 version came out. It is a lot of fun. You will have to do a lot of grinding. It will take you a lot longer to get to lv75 then it does it WoW for example. If you get find a group of people that play around the same time as you and can communicate well with since the amount of people playing has gone down. Use level sync and the fields of valor and the other new things they have added and you can still get to 75. Don't take the easy way out and get into a SMN burn and get to 75 and have no idea how to play your job correctly. Expand
  10. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    With the advent of Abyssea, as well as experience being roughly doubled in non-Abyssean areas, experience points flow like spice and it no longer takes months to get a job to the level cap, it could be done in mere weeks. A lot of the past complaints seen in people's reviews have been fixed. Monsters do not immediately attack after spawning, instead having several seconds of "summoningWith the advent of Abyssea, as well as experience being roughly doubled in non-Abyssean areas, experience points flow like spice and it no longer takes months to get a job to the level cap, it could be done in mere weeks. A lot of the past complaints seen in people's reviews have been fixed. Monsters do not immediately attack after spawning, instead having several seconds of "summoning sickness" where they will not attack, giving you time to get away. No, the graphics are not as shiny as other MMOs. Yes, there is a sharp learning curve when it comes to the game. It doesn't matter, because FFXI is for a breed of relentless gamer that will pursue everything they can.

    ... and just because the level cap is higher and more people get there faster doesn't mean the game is easier. Level 90 people STILL fail at Dynamis, die at the hands of certain Notorious Monsters, or just plain get whomped on for overestimating themselves.

    It's taken some time, but all those changes we wanted? We're getting - and it took long enough.
    Expand
  11. Justin
    Dec 1, 2003
    8
    FFXI is a solid, beautiful MMORPG set in an FF setting. My only real gripes with the game are that it lacks any sort of PVP element and some battle areas have a disjoint mix of very hard and very weak enemies (and there's not enough slots to sell stuff at the Auction House). Note: it is possible to change your keyboard settings - it's in Settings ingame.
  12. AngeredPlayer
    Nov 29, 2003
    5
    Haven't played a final fantasy game that was worst than this since Mystic Quest. The battle system needs work, if this game wasn't called final fantasy most people would recognize the many errors that are encountered. The battle system is the most irritating part of this game, don't bother running away, monsters will hit you no matter how far you run; I know this fromHaven't played a final fantasy game that was worst than this since Mystic Quest. The battle system needs work, if this game wasn't called final fantasy most people would recognize the many errors that are encountered. The battle system is the most irritating part of this game, don't bother running away, monsters will hit you no matter how far you run; I know this from experience as i see players wiped out from monsters that appear right next to them from out of nowhere. Annoying instances you will also encounter are monsters that will appear from nowhere as you are resting, some will even appear during a current battle, usually resulting in a death if you are too weakened to fight. I agree that this game is beautifully created, but what's more important, a good solid bug free gameplay or pretty graphics with battle glitches that you pay for every month? Expand
  13. AndrewB.
    Nov 5, 2003
    9
    * Smooth launch. * High quality. * Standard (tried and true) game mechanics. Probably one of the best put-together MMPs out there.
  14. Aug 7, 2011
    9
    One of the best mmorpg i played (and i played a lot of them).
    The graphics are old now (a game launched in 2001)... and a game that not everyone will like...
    But the variety of gameplays are one of the most wide there was in a mmorpg (fishing, gardening, craft, fights, chocobo races,...ect....ect...). Many gameplay ideas was very creative/original when it was launched... and some are still
    One of the best mmorpg i played (and i played a lot of them).
    The graphics are old now (a game launched in 2001)... and a game that not everyone will like...
    But the variety of gameplays are one of the most wide there was in a mmorpg (fishing, gardening, craft, fights, chocobo races,...ect....ect...). Many gameplay ideas was very creative/original when it was launched... and some are still today.

    I see 2 major points that could be very negative for some players : - It's a strongly team oriented mmorpg. At some level it become nearly impossible to play solo.
    - you can't move freely in the world. Some areas are composed in majority of corridors (external areas i mean)... you can't fall from a hill or a bridge...ect...ect...

    There will be plenty more things to say on this game... but to conclude and resume, i'll say :
    FFXI is a definitly not Mainstream mmorpg.
    It seem logic to me that most players will love it... or hate it
    Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Best MMO RPG in existence to date. unfortunately the population has become low due to how old the game is i believe it should become FTP.

    It far exceeds ffxiv in every single aspect accept for Graphics.
  16. DanD
    Dec 16, 2009
    6
    This game is recommended for gamers who have no life. The gameplay and the interface is great and so is the community; but the amount of time that you'll have to devote to this game just isn't worth it. I will say this though: FFXI is alot more fun and in-depth than anything that I can compare it to. I just don't like how it consumes years of your life to get anywhere in the story.
  17. TimH.
    Apr 23, 2007
    10
    Not only a fantastic endeavor of gorgeously detailed graphics and strategic gameplay, but a true success in terms of multiplayer comradely. Time consuming as it is, you won't feel like a seconds been wasted after playing it. If you want a tactical, fun, and vastly open-ended game, look no further. FFXI allows the complete game experience to any one character!
  18. AndreyS.
    Dec 5, 2009
    5
    I have played FFXI for about 2 years. The Game does not run above 30FPS no matter how good your PC is. The game is very time consuming and requires 2-3 people to accomplish anything minor and 6-8 for anything more serious. There is a lot of cultural diversity on the servers with Japanese, French, German, British, South and North American players. Japanese players usually want nothing to I have played FFXI for about 2 years. The Game does not run above 30FPS no matter how good your PC is. The game is very time consuming and requires 2-3 people to accomplish anything minor and 6-8 for anything more serious. There is a lot of cultural diversity on the servers with Japanese, French, German, British, South and North American players. Japanese players usually want nothing to do with English speakers so forget asking for help from them. Square Enix is working on FF XIV online which will basically be the same game except more WoW-like. In 2 years I was able to level 3 Jobs to LvL75 as well as about 6-8 subjobs to 37. Completed Chains Of Promathia, almost completed Rise Of Zilart and Completed Aht Urgan Missions as well as nation missions. All with a LOT of help. If you plan making any progress in this game, you HAVE to make A LOT of friends. Good Luck. Expand
  19. BarisA.
    Nov 18, 2003
    10
    It is the best game I ever played!!!!
  20. MeMoi
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Greatest game ever made!!!!!
  21. JoshM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Simply the best MMO out there. A lot of people played it when it was new and were turned away by it's lack of content, but it has had seven years to grow and expand, and continues to get better over time.
  22. EeachL.
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Jack Attack must be confused. Besieged, Campaign, Level Sync, & Fields of Valor are all new systems added since 2003 that fix a lot of the complaints people had about the game. IMO if FFXi were released as a new game today, it would be the WoW killer. Trouble is, it is a 7 year old game; people like Jack Attack that played it in 2003 aren't willing to give it a 2nd chance and new Jack Attack must be confused. Besieged, Campaign, Level Sync, & Fields of Valor are all new systems added since 2003 that fix a lot of the complaints people had about the game. IMO if FFXi were released as a new game today, it would be the WoW killer. Trouble is, it is a 7 year old game; people like Jack Attack that played it in 2003 aren't willing to give it a 2nd chance and new players aren't willing to try an older game. Expand
  23. ZachD.
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best game i have ever played its most addicting, nice graphics, good storylines, and awsome chars and spells and specialskills too.everyone should play......NOW!
  24. Oct 2, 2010
    8
    This game was my introduction to MMOs and as many I came to it simply because I was a fan of the series. I have to say I do not regret getting it and playing it for nearly 4 years. I made many friends and had so many great nights and moments. This game is a "hardcore" MMO done right.
  25. TurffieL
    Dec 21, 2009
    4
    Masochistic. Honestly it is just that; the game was heavily created around community when it first released. Don't get me wrong MMOs are suppose to be about people helping one another; but when you start forcing people to do just about everything together plus throw in grinding and deleveling, those are ingredients for disaster. From levels 1-12 that took around 8 hours to gain. Masochistic. Honestly it is just that; the game was heavily created around community when it first released. Don't get me wrong MMOs are suppose to be about people helping one another; but when you start forcing people to do just about everything together plus throw in grinding and deleveling, those are ingredients for disaster. From levels 1-12 that took around 8 hours to gain. After that you are off to the dunes (that is if you could safely make it there. No you can not ride a Chocobo there; because the license to ride one is level 20). Once there, depending on server you might have a long wait for a party. Back then if you happened to be half way to the next level while other party members were only at 10,100 or even 300 into a level you would not be considered into a party. Why? Because after you have leveled your newly gained leveled just half others exp while you wanted to gain an exp buffer. If the people allowed you to stay and dwarf their exp you would be considered lucky. It would be rather hard to find another party with in your level and exp range. Thus started the waiting game. To which people decided to quit, tried to solo on their own or simply play Beastmaster. Adding insult to injury Chains of Promathia also frustrated people. It was hard to find people; let alone wanting to be picky about what kind of people you wanted helping you do missions for that expansion pack. People weren't willing to help out with missions if you weren't popular in one level another. During my 1 year and 11 months absents the game introduced Fields of Valor which introduced training Regime. Which is very nice when one can not find a party or they do not have time to stand around to wait for an invite. With players running around occupying areas leveling their adventuring fellow and low spawn rates it makes it rather hard to enjoy using the field manual pages to gain exp better. Can't really complain, but better spawn rate could fix that issue. If field manual isn't one's cup of tea then level sync can help with find a party; without worry about dwarfing the rest of the party's exp. Looking at these things and noticing how nice they are and a welcome to the game, it makes a person wonder; why wasn't this here before? Had it been there before WoW wouldn't exactly be tooting their own horn about the massive amount of players. Expand
  26. ChrisH.
    Oct 30, 2003
    10
    Awesome, thats it just plain Awsome...
  27. JustinB.
    Mar 13, 2010
    0
    I bought this game with all expansions for only $7 and I feel totally ripped off. The PlayOnline system you have to use is clunky and annoying, and takes far too long to get setup, and has annoying music that can't be stopped. The Game itself has horrendous graphics, bad controls, and virtually no configurable options. This is the worst game I have ever played in my life, and I feel I bought this game with all expansions for only $7 and I feel totally ripped off. The PlayOnline system you have to use is clunky and annoying, and takes far too long to get setup, and has annoying music that can't be stopped. The Game itself has horrendous graphics, bad controls, and virtually no configurable options. This is the worst game I have ever played in my life, and I feel totally ripped off. Expand
  28. AlanL.
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    This is the best MMORPG around, and its soooo under rated.
  29. KillaK.
    Jan 29, 2007
    10
    Best game ever made IMHO. Still keeps me entertained after 3 years.
  30. ShawnBurkevich
    Jan 7, 2005
    2
    I have always been a fan of the Final Fantasy franchise, and curious of the MMORPG subculture, where even the most normal and very intelligent lose touch with the world outside their 17" LCD monitors. Sooo, Final Fantasy XI was my highly anticipated opportunity to regress into my own computer screen. Initially it was fun (<30 hrs gameplay), but it became tiresome and routine soonI have always been a fan of the Final Fantasy franchise, and curious of the MMORPG subculture, where even the most normal and very intelligent lose touch with the world outside their 17" LCD monitors. Sooo, Final Fantasy XI was my highly anticipated opportunity to regress into my own computer screen. Initially it was fun (<30 hrs gameplay), but it became tiresome and routine soon thereafter. It takes an incredible amount of time to level, missions are extensive but rewards are lacking, and monsters are mockingly repetitive. MMORPGs have incredible potential, but they do not cater to the occasional gamer, they are stricly for the hardcore (>28 hrs gameplay/week), all the best to you if you wish to devote yourself to hardcore gaming endeavors, but don't waste your life on FFXI. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It has more good points than bad though, at the least it will tide you over until the next generation of MMORPGs hits the streets and at best you will have fun for months, even years to come.
  2. 80
    Things are only going to get better as they add new content, so you can expect to see this game living a long and healthy life.
  3. 83
    The most beautiful MMORPG currently available. Its environments are second to none, and the character models are elegant and, frankly, a pleasure to behold. The world also feels more alive than any other.