Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1268 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    i played xi for 6 years then i took a break tried out few MMOs, then started 1.0 3 months before it was taken down and i was disappointed buti played xi for 6 years then i took a break tried out few MMOs, then started 1.0 3 months before it was taken down and i was disappointed but i kept believing they must change it to something better.

    tried beta phase 4 and i was honestly shocked with the improvements, the game felt new compared to 1.0. it is amazing now, everyone i know is so addicted. when players got angry because of capacity and log in issues it was because the game was so good everyone wanted to play.

    the game feels like a FF game, it has that feeling that you can't find in other games. I even started reading all the dialogues (i never done that in any game before).

    I can see myself playing this one for years!
    Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Server and login issues seem to have been fixed and I can now say this game is a solid 10. I love the gameplay. Leveling up is a lot of funServer and login issues seem to have been fixed and I can now say this game is a solid 10. I love the gameplay. Leveling up is a lot of fun compared to WoW. Grouping is quite painless compared to most MMO's I have played. Beautiful game overall. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game andThis game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Collapse
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Fantastic graphics set in a Beautiful world. Very story driven. The Longer than usual GCD leads to a more tactical playstyle rather thanFantastic graphics set in a Beautiful world. Very story driven. The Longer than usual GCD leads to a more tactical playstyle rather than button smashing, but even this can be reduced with in game stats and becomes less noticeable as you level higher. One of the most Impressive MMO's to come out in a very long time. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    Don't let all the negative scores fool you, this game has come a long way, but it has a long way to go. Even the giant, World of Warcraft, wasDon't let all the negative scores fool you, this game has come a long way, but it has a long way to go. Even the giant, World of Warcraft, was not made overnight.

    Square Enix listens to its fans and delivers in time.

    People complain of grinding, but I don't know of any MMORPG that doesn't have some aspect of grinding. People complain that some things are generic. FFXIV isn't looking to change the game, it's just looking to make its mark on the genre.

    Calling this game a WoW clone is like calling Halo a CoD clone. Just because Halo is a first person shooter doesn't make it a clone of Call of Duty, which is also a first person shooter. FFXIV has, arguably, the same layout as WoW, but that is because it is what we have come to expect in the MMORPG game.

    To completely recreate the wheel is a task that isn't worth undertaking. Instead, do what you can to make it better.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    Game is fantastic on PS4, but the PC version is not something I can recommend. The controls and UI are really just designed for a powrrfulGame is fantastic on PS4, but the PC version is not something I can recommend. The controls and UI are really just designed for a powrrful console. While leaps and bounds improved since v 1.0, it still is very hard to suggest over games like RIFT, LotRO, SW:ToR, or even WoW. Make sure you meet the recomended specs if you decide to get this on PC, minimum spec has unplayably terrible frame rates. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2016
    0
    Huge fan of Final Fantasy. I own nearly every game that was released prior to X-2. In fact, I own versions on multiple systems (PC and PS1Huge fan of Final Fantasy. I own nearly every game that was released prior to X-2. In fact, I own versions on multiple systems (PC and PS1 versions of VII and VIII for example).
    Nevertheless, Final Fantasy hasn't seemed appealing to me in a long time. Then, I was told that this was the best release yet, and has the best story out of all of them. So, I gave it a shot ...
    In the end, I'm not sure how this received such amazing reviews. RPGs on the Super Nintendo had more depth when it comes to combat -- and in some cases, story as well.
    People have told me that, "you just have to reach level 30 before the story really takes off."
    Really? ... If it takes that long for a game to become interesting and engaging, then you've failed as a developer.
    Expand

See all 444 User Reviews