Final Fantasy XIV Online: A Realm Reborn Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    SquareEnix has really redeemed themselves with Reborn. A fantastic breathtaking adventure from start to finish which of course is pretty muchSquareEnix has really redeemed themselves with Reborn. A fantastic breathtaking adventure from start to finish which of course is pretty much endless. From the great in depth create a character system to the job systems to the music graphics and virtually endless amounts and types of quests you will never have something not to keep you busy. Nothing really groundbreaking but then again if it ain't broke don't fix it applies here in regards to a great MMO experience. Good old fashioned addictive fun. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This MMO is one of the most enjoyable I have played in years. It has its launch issues with too many players not enough servers, but they areThis MMO is one of the most enjoyable I have played in years. It has its launch issues with too many players not enough servers, but they are being fixed. So I am being patiently cause the game itself is BRILLIANT ^^ Well worth the wait Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game andThis game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    FFXIV:ARR is a really great game. The world is very fleshed out and and the attention to detail in the landscape is pretty good. The mainFFXIV:ARR is a really great game. The world is very fleshed out and and the attention to detail in the landscape is pretty good. The main storyline at first seems a little on the dull side, but picks up mid game and is really quite interesting. The class/job system is really fun and rewards you for maxing out a class by giving a bonus to leveling other classes. When you get to the "endgame" I wouldn't say there is a lot to do, but there is enough for now until content updates come out. The endgame dungeons/trials are fun and challenging.

    A few issues I noticed was that making money endgame is pretty limited, due to the fight against RMT. This is slightly offset by being able to craft and repair your own gear but once more of the population starts getting to level cap, the lack of gil entering the economy may become an issue. Other minor issues are some class/job balancing and some quality of play issues regarding the GCD and pet control for classes that access to pets.

    Overall this game is definitely worth checking out and Square-Enix did quite a good job with the game with exception to launch issues that many MMO's are plagued by.
    Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    FFXIV: ARR is currently the best MMO on the market today. It is an MMO however, so it will have time-sinks and a certain amount of grind. TheFFXIV: ARR is currently the best MMO on the market today. It is an MMO however, so it will have time-sinks and a certain amount of grind. The classes are great fun, the performance is great, animations are smooth and the gameplay can be really challenging. The writing for questlines and npc interaction is superb - without a doubt the best in any MMO I've played. If you like the genre, give it a go - I'd recommend it. Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    Game is fantastic on PS4, but the PC version is not something I can recommend. The controls and UI are really just designed for a powrrfulGame is fantastic on PS4, but the PC version is not something I can recommend. The controls and UI are really just designed for a powrrful console. While leaps and bounds improved since v 1.0, it still is very hard to suggest over games like RIFT, LotRO, SW:ToR, or even WoW. Make sure you meet the recomended specs if you decide to get this on PC, minimum spec has unplayably terrible frame rates. Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Combat is slow and dull and only gets mildly better as you level up. Story is bland and unremarkable in any way as the time in between any parts that are ok is broken up by tons of typical bland fetch/ups quests. Quests often have you go from point A to point B back to point A then on to point C etc etc... The FATE events almost all fall into one of two categories, either kill a small zerg of normal mobs or kill one mini boss type monster. This is mostly the same as other games that feature this style of event, how ever it feels worse here.

    Endgame fights rely mostly on extreme gimmick mechanics combined with the long global cool down to force difficulty into the fights. In most cases just reacting to a fight mechanic will not be enough you have to memorize the pattern of the boss so that you can move pre emptively, part of this is due to the horrid net coding used and the awful latency/updating the server does. Itemization on gear is horrible. Secondary stats provide so little benefit that they shouldn't even be on gear, spell/skill speed being the biggest culprit. It provides so little benefit so as not to break the long GCD system they designed that it should have never been created.

    This comes from a pre 2.2 player that cleared turn 4 and just stopped caring about the game due to all the above issues.

    P.S. Crystal tower loot system is the worst thing ever.
    Expand

See all 441 User Reviews