Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 969 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Fun, addicting with an Epic story line. Ps3 play, other than targeting (which can sometimes be difficult) works really well. Not sure otherwise how this game could be any better, a true 180 from its former FFXIV 1.0! Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    It's really a funny mmorpg. Much better than version 1.0. The history is good, the gameplay is great and challenges offer fun to the players.

    It's really funny to play the dungeons and trials of this game with your friends and free companies.

    It's a good option to players who are looking for non free-to-play mmo's.
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    The game is very fun but the joy is destroyed by inexcusable server issues. Servers will get better no doubt but for a company who had a botched launch before and then turn around and do it again, it appears a little embarrassing. Fortunately enough they have a great game but it's plagued by horrible servers and hopefully they fix it before their consumers are fed up. Expand
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    8
    While I'd love to give this game a 10, I can't. The server login issues alone warrant a reduction in rating. Most of those are being resolved and the game is actually quite good. Graphics are good for a PS3 open world game. The plot lines seem good so far. I would encourage people to spend some time with the game before making a judgement on their own. The now free upgrade to the PS4 version next year is just another plus. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    5
    When I first got to play the game, I absolutely loved it. Everything looks pretty and it's crowded so it never feels like you're the only person walking around in the world, the job system seems cool, the opportunity to use just 1 character for all the classes... I took a few crafting classes, some gathering ones, and stuck with conjurer arcanist for mains cuz I wanted to be a white mage.
    All was fun for the first few days but it didn't take me too long to notice some rather annoying things, like how the only way to get money (or decent exp) is by questing, occassionally a monster will drop 1 gil but that's it and exp is really low from normal mobs so the only way to lvl is questing (or fates). A lot of quests are one time only, so when you've lvled your first class to 30, and needing to lvl the 2nd one to 15, it gets boring very fast having to slowpoke farm your exp. Gathering works ok for the first 15 lvls but it gets gradually more bothersome and at around lvl 25-30 it's just so boring it really isn't worth it. Trying to enter instances (needed to progress main story) as a DPS is just impossible most of the time, and when you do get in there's a good chance on dying cuz a lot of ppl never bothered to learn their class. And the world is pretty small, you could probably see everything within just a few hours.

    Anyway, I've played this game for 2 weeks after which I was so bored with it I quit. It's just too repetitive a game to enjoy for very long.
    Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    0
    Uninspired, lacking, repetitive, costly, automated, broken... All these words describe Realm Reborn pretty well but at the end of the day, this failed attempt of trying to repair a previously very broken MMO is not worth my time, nor should It be worth yours. Expand

See all 393 User Reviews