Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1069 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Square-Enix did it. YoshiP did it. They turned a failure of a game into an absolute success. This game is absolutely beautiful to hear, seeSquare-Enix did it. YoshiP did it. They turned a failure of a game into an absolute success. This game is absolutely beautiful to hear, see and even feel. With an intriguing story, great MMO mechanics and the Final Fantasy label behind it, A Realm Reborn is truly the surprise of the year. Yes, it had its launch problems (which are most of the negative reviews here) but believe me, they are a thing of the past now.

    If not GOTY, at least it is most definitely the surprise of the year.

    Go try it out right now!
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    This MMO is the best one yet. If you consider trying it, at least invest the proper amount of time. It is a true Final Fantasy game, in art,This MMO is the best one yet. If you consider trying it, at least invest the proper amount of time. It is a true Final Fantasy game, in art, story and style and I love it to bits. :)

    It is a worthy remake and deserves 10 points for everything. Poor launch events do not make this game any less amazing. Thank you, Yoshi-P.
    Collapse
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game andThis game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    People giving this game a zero are simply raging please ignore them. From what I have played (albeit on the Japanese servers) this game looksPeople giving this game a zero are simply raging please ignore them. From what I have played (albeit on the Japanese servers) this game looks and feels incredible. The world design and overall feel of the environment is simply top notch, while looking good it also performs well on my mediocre-high rig.

    In regards to game play, standard tab-targeting MMO basics are here, and not much else. Is this a bad thing To be honest I find the simplistic nature of the combat in the game very nice to play especially with a controller which this game does an almost perfect job at supporting. The launch has been shaky but this is to be expected with a game of this type, these issues are being resolved however, and people saying that the developers are "doing nothing" are simply impatient.

    I have had to come away from the game to write this review, partly because on a Japanese server I am not making any real progress, and partly because it is almost "too beautiful". Final Fantasy fans should play this game, MMO fans should play this game, heck even people that like going for walks in the countryside should play this game. Final Fantasy gives us just that, a fantasy world that is simply incredible, the game play is simplistic but enjoyable and easy to pick up. Wait a while (for the server issues to be resolved) and then play this game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    Very impressive what Yoshi P was able to do with this game...he has restored the faith in final fantasy. I liked the first version evenVery impressive what Yoshi P was able to do with this game...he has restored the faith in final fantasy. I liked the first version even though it was very flawed..this however is proving to be a very solid game. haters will hate just cuz they want it to fail. best rpg I have seen in a long time especially at launch. It's been forever in the making Possibly the greatest fix in video game history lol. Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    5
    Game is fantastic on PS4, but the PC version is not something I can recommend. The controls and UI are really just designed for a powrrfulGame is fantastic on PS4, but the PC version is not something I can recommend. The controls and UI are really just designed for a powrrful console. While leaps and bounds improved since v 1.0, it still is very hard to suggest over games like RIFT, LotRO, SW:ToR, or even WoW. Make sure you meet the recomended specs if you decide to get this on PC, minimum spec has unplayably terrible frame rates. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    The Final Fantasy franchise has come a long way from the Final Fantasy 7-9 and even Final Fantasy XI and while I agree that ARR is a enormousThe Final Fantasy franchise has come a long way from the Final Fantasy 7-9 and even Final Fantasy XI and while I agree that ARR is a enormous improvement over what was first released it still leaves a lot to be desired. The battlecraft system is flat out confusing from Thaumaturge and Archer turning magically into Black Mage to splitting arcanist into two paths it makes no sense. Sure it has customization for characters,personal houses, and soon Free Company Airships (which in it self i a major break from the past FF games).

    I give it 5/10 it's pay to play, overpriced, graphically improved version of various other MMO's and uniting several past FF games completely throwing out the successful parts of FFXI. It's not fun unless you are crafting or chocobo racing and eventually that novelty wears off and you are left with a crappy battle system that is just boring. Don't buy it, don't waste your money - IF you want a good game go for Guild Wars 2
    Expand

See all 422 User Reviews