Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1058 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    Leaving this review because this game is just way way better than the 7.3 average score it has from the community. If you spend a little whileLeaving this review because this game is just way way better than the 7.3 average score it has from the community. If you spend a little while reading the reviews here, pay attention to the date! You will find that there are a bunch of 8's 9's 10's from current reviews and then a bunch of 1's and 0's that are almost all back from August when it launched and impatient nerds freaked that there were game server issues....for an mmo launch.... Since then they have added a bunch of servers, brought huge patches and generally explained that there was just way more initial demand for the game than they had ever expected. Well, I can undertstand the whiner reviews (sort of) but the end result is a metacritic number that is (even objectively speaking).. not an indication of the game's quality, but an average of the differences of opinion from those who came here to complain at the initial launch, to those who waited a bit to actually play/review.

    All of that aside, this game is absolutely wonderful. It's got that delightful FF universe, Square polish, the benefit of the advancements in the genre by games that came before it, and some incredibly smart design decisions. I have a hard time describing that part but there are just little details that you will see constantly as a reminder that this is a very new high quality MMO, it's learned from its predecessors and has thought of smarter ways to do the little things throughout the entire game. I have played WoW since vanilla, Rift, SW:Tor, Anarchy Online, DCUO, Guild Wars 2, Neverwinter, others i'm forgetting etc. and this is a very, VERY worthy modern day release of the MMO. They didn't reinvent much, but they did a lot of things smarter/better and the game world is absolutely gorgeous and the soundtrack is absolutely top notch. I enjoy the cross classing and freedom the game gives you. I have a blast with the gameplay as there are so many attempts to unlimit your freedom, change back and forth between classes without logging, do all your crafting on one char, have a backpack for every single gear slot that simply pops up when you click the gear slot you are looking for so as not to clutter the UI or your main bags. Crafting is actually somewhat fun because they built a minigame with leveling and abilities around it. Teleport to the town you want to go to instantly and from anywhere with no cooldown (but a gil cost), and use waypoints within the towns for free. Never need to mail yourself an item for your alt again.....(i'll let that one sit a minute)...because YOU are the alt, just equip a new gear set and your hotbars change along with it, and your level changes to whatever you've leveled that class to. Great for helping friends, although you can always sync your level down to that of your friends so you can always play a main with a friend and not ruin their exp or difficulty level.

    Lastly, it's subscription....and I am so thankful for that. I was getting so incredibly sick of all the F2P crapola that would try and squeeze as much real life money out of you as possible and at every other turn. I am more than happy to pay for quality and be free from the annoyances of getting nickle and dimed and bombarded with reasons to want to fill up the mmo cash tank. This game is saving me more per month by saving me from blowing through other games than I'm spending on it. Just take my money and deliver thanks, this game does.

    TL;DR I'm a hardcore MMO vet and have enjoyed FF since the first one; I am in love with this game right now as are some of my other WoW buddies and similar longtime MMO players. Well worth your gaming dollar.
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    FFXIV:ARR is a brand new MMO action title, brought up from the ashes of it's former self, from the major flop that FFXIV 1.0 was.

    This
    FFXIV:ARR is a brand new MMO action title, brought up from the ashes of it's former self, from the major flop that FFXIV 1.0 was.

    This new FFXIV 2.0 is almost exactly how the title states, A Realm Reborn" this game has been redesigned from the ground up, and overall the only real thing to describe it is.. Beautiful.

    I played 1.0 back in the day, and it was terrible! There was no real direction, no real quest system, no real class system, it was a game based around the name Final Fantasy.

    This new Final Fantasy 14, has made it a true MMO, New Characters, new environments, new ways to play, and PS3 access that can let you play on both PC and PS3 together.

    This game is beautiful and fans of any Final Fantasy game will love it.

    Now sure there have been some errors here and there, but what game hasn't had errors at launch?

    The makers of FFXIV weren't anticipating this many people actually wanting to come and play it, Even the Producer/Developer of the game started Tearing up at how we exceeded the expectations for this game.

    They are adding a larger server capacity next week so even more people can play, without the issues of the errors we're getting now.

    So sit tight, enjoy the ride!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game andThis game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Like many others, I came to FFXIV 1.0 after enjoying the old-school FFXI game that preceded it. I wasn't expecting it to be as "hard-core",Like many others, I came to FFXIV 1.0 after enjoying the old-school FFXI game that preceded it. I wasn't expecting it to be as "hard-core", since the trend has been making games more solo-friendly and "easy", but I *was* expecting something along the same lines.

    What we got in 1.0 was something between an alpha and beta test of a new combat system, a different class/job system, and a graphics engine that felt both too advanced and too limited, at the same time. I can only assume the previous development team was working on both the PC and PS3 versions at the same time, and failures on one held up the other, in both directions.

    After Yoshi took over, he made a concentrated effort to fix and salvage what was good from the PC version of the game, and shifted focus to developing a brand new engine from scratch, which would eventually become A Realm Reborn. It was the best decision he could have made.

    The re-launch of FFXIV is a success, and the first time in history an MMO has ever found success with a second chance. The game is just fun to play, and amazing to look at. On top of that, it's very smooth and responsive, even on middle-of-the-road hardware.

    The only issues have been the crazy popularity that was MUCH higher than they expected, causing a lot of server issues on the North American cluster during launch week, and some minor irritations with the UI that almost every game has until they have time to refine things a bit more.

    Unlike some other MMO's (which I won't name), FFXIV feels like the devs really love the product, and the franchise in general. There are all kinds of little polish details you don't really expect from an MMO, and especially one still in launch phase. There are lots of them, but the most recent one I noticed was that when riding a mount, you get unique background music that fits the mount you've chosen to ride... and that the volume of the music ramps up while you're racing along, and falls back into the background as you stop. Wonderful immersion detail that is purely there for flavor.

    I totally recommend it to my friends. And if you got burned on 1.0, you now own the new version, and have a few days to check it out without paying... now that most of the launch issues are either fixed or have a fix in sight, it might be worth the time to download it and see.
    Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    I'm not a FF fan in general so I'm not inclined to give this game any bonus points for being one. That having been said. I like it! It hasI'm not a FF fan in general so I'm not inclined to give this game any bonus points for being one. That having been said. I like it! It has that old school mmo feel. The combat is tab, not twitch. The combat is on the slow side. So if you like TERA, GW2, and NW combat, this is not for you. The graphics are great, second only to TERA in my book. I LOVE that one character can be every class/job including crafting/gathering.`
    It's standard mmo fare, but done pretty well. AND the log in issues have been fixed, as far as I can tell.
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    5
    **This is a long review, but I am just trying to help out my fellow hardcore MMO players out there. Even though I am a huge World of Warcraft**This is a long review, but I am just trying to help out my fellow hardcore MMO players out there. Even though I am a huge World of Warcraft fan and have played the game (WoW) for many years, I am not comparing FF14 to WoW. I am just trying to save you disappointment if you are trying to fill that WoW void with another MMO.**

    **Short list of Pros and Cons at the top, while details will be below that**

    Pros:
    + You can level all the classes and professions on one toon.
    + Plenty to do and experience leveling your first class.
    + Good graphics with a decent story.
    + Pretty easy to get geared and get right into the endgame action (This can be viewed as a con as well)
    + Challenging bosses for the parts of the game that haven't been nerfed yet.

    Cons:
    - Game world/community just feels empty and dull while questing.
    - NO world PvP. The game does have arena-like PvP, but it is the most boring thing ever.
    - There is no stand-out gear that separates the casuals from the best players. You can pretty much get the same ilvl gear without completing the hardest content in the game.
    - Professions are useless for improving your endgame, so there is no point in leveling them.
    - 30 minute to 1 hour dungeon queues for DPS classes using the duty-finder.
    - Too easy for bad players to get gear!!!

    FF14 Review:

    I have played this game for 40 days now while putting at least 5 hours a day into the game, so I feel I can give an honest review of the game. Like most MMOs, the gameplay grabbed my attention right away, but fell short for endgame material in my opinion.

    I am basing my review on Character Leveling, Endgame, Professions/Crafting, and just the overall server community (this will vary depending on which server you play on).

    Character Leveling: 7 out of 10
    What I like about this, is that you can basically level every class to 50 on one toon, which prevents the game from getting too boring right away, because you can mix-and-match different abilities. If you get bored of leveling a healer, just switch to a DPS class or tank.

    You can level by questing, queuing for dungeons (which start at lvl 15), doing Fates (random events that pop up around the world, which involve killing things), queuing for Guildhests (mini-dungeon). Basically, the game offers a variety of ways to level.

    The thing that sucks about using the same character to get your first few classes to 50, is that you will eventually run out of quests to do, because the quests don't reappear when you level a new class. As a result, you will be forced to grind fates over and over and over.

    Endgame: 5 out of 10
    (Before you FF14 fanboys bash me, I've completed Titan Ex and made it to T9 as a WHM. Basically, I feel I'm qualified to comment on endgame.)

    Dungeons consist of 4-man groups; Raids are usually 8-man groups, aside from Labyrinth which is 24.

    *Endgame provides a decent amount of dungeons for new players, such as Labyrinth of the Ancients, Primal HMs and Exs, and Bahamut Coil 1-9. My complaint with endgame isn't that the content is easy, but rather that you can grind the easier dungeons over and over and pretty much end up with the same gear as those who take pride in being a skilled player and spend hours wiping on near-impossible bosses.

    I feel the endgame is what killed this game for me. It basically becomes a grind-fest for Tomestones (these are used to get ilvl 90 raid gear). You don't even need to be good at the game and get equivalent gear to the best hardcore players. At lvl 50, most people are walking around with the same blues and looking the same. Due to this, you will get grouped with a lot of terrible players that were most likely carried by others.

    On a side note, it is really easy to gear up your other classes on the same toon. Just from healing raids over and over, I was pretty much able to get a full bard set and tank set.

    Professions/Crafting: 3 out of 10
    This game isn't any different from most other MMOs. It is a time-killer and doesn't give you any better gear that you can't easily farm for yourself. Most people do it just to sell stuff on the auction house (BTW... Money is pretty much pointless in this game. The only time you will spend it is on stuff for your guild house), or just to get achievement points. Basically... There is no benefit to leveling any profession to lvl 50.

    Server/Community: 4 out of 10
    Even though this is a MMO, most of the time you feel like you're playing the game by yourself. Once in a while you will group with people for dungeons/raids, but outside of that, the game just feels lonely. This is coming from someone that is on a popular server too. You will have the gold farmers spamming non-stop; the occasional troll yelling out random things; and the people in party finder needing people for extreme primals or fate grinding to upgrade their relic weapon. The world just feels empty to me. Maybe because their is no world PvP? I still can't put my finger on it.
    Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Combat is slow and dull and only gets mildly better as you level up. Story is bland and unremarkable in any way as the time in between any parts that are ok is broken up by tons of typical bland fetch/ups quests. Quests often have you go from point A to point B back to point A then on to point C etc etc... The FATE events almost all fall into one of two categories, either kill a small zerg of normal mobs or kill one mini boss type monster. This is mostly the same as other games that feature this style of event, how ever it feels worse here.

    Endgame fights rely mostly on extreme gimmick mechanics combined with the long global cool down to force difficulty into the fights. In most cases just reacting to a fight mechanic will not be enough you have to memorize the pattern of the boss so that you can move pre emptively, part of this is due to the horrid net coding used and the awful latency/updating the server does. Itemization on gear is horrible. Secondary stats provide so little benefit that they shouldn't even be on gear, spell/skill speed being the biggest culprit. It provides so little benefit so as not to break the long GCD system they designed that it should have never been created.

    This comes from a pre 2.2 player that cleared turn 4 and just stopped caring about the game due to all the above issues.

    P.S. Crystal tower loot system is the worst thing ever.
    Expand

See all 418 User Reviews