Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Don't believe any reviews that complain about server or log on issues. By and large they have been taken care of. I have not had any troubleDon't believe any reviews that complain about server or log on issues. By and large they have been taken care of. I have not had any trouble logging in since they implemented the fixes and expanded the worlds. One of the great things about this game is to see hundreds of people milling around cities and that is what is so much fun about a MMO, meeting and playing with other people. And boy has that been made easy. All you have to do is sign up with the Duty Finder and within minutes, sometimes even seconds, you are dropped in a party ready to battle. There is so much new and exciting content that I have no hope of experiencing all, since I got a day job. The graphics are fluent, battles are fun, music is out of this world, customization of play and controls is near limitless. Not only is it a fantastic game at launch, I am really looking forward to all the upcoming additions (patches) that will bring new content and even higher graphics (PS4 DirectX 11).

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Probably the best MMO of all time, and I have played a lot! Graphics best in any game currently out,and adapted for ps3 version, also comingProbably the best MMO of all time, and I have played a lot! Graphics best in any game currently out,and adapted for ps3 version, also coming up on ps4 as well. Those who are comparing it to only ps3 version graphics are sadly mistaken. PC's make this game so beautiful. Gameplay, most people complaing about the game clearly haven't even made it to end game. People complaining about grind, lets be realistic, this is a game of earning things, and not given to you with little effort. With that said, we are only 2 weeks into the game, and I work 50+ hours a week, and have already completed a class to 50, main storyline finished, and a gathering class to 50. If people think that's a grind, then they know nothing about the world of MMO's lol.

    Endgame: So much here to do, with content being flushed out every 3 months. Hard mode fights, Dungeon's, relic quest, Epic fates, Crafting, Gathering luminary weapons, Primal fights, 24 man instances, PvP, etc....

    Don't be confused with the negativity of a new start, the reason everyone is congesting the servers, is because tons of people are loving to play the game, that should give you indication of how good this game is. My advice, stick through the early levels, and congestion problems, you will be glad you did!! I guarantee you that!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game andThis game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    I wasn't really looking forward to this game that much, it was more so my friends. I was... skeptical, with good reason of course. Yet I wasI wasn't really looking forward to this game that much, it was more so my friends. I was... skeptical, with good reason of course. Yet I was assured by Square Enix, that they had fixed their previous mistakes. Well my friends, they most assuredly have. Many people are giving negative reviews simply on the basis that they couldn't or can't make characters on servers of their friends, or the server problems in general in the first week. They have fixed those issues, and you must remember that no mmo has ever had a smooth release (Rift being a 'too close to call' for this statement, but that is one mmo in countless). There are still many problems with this game, but with the crazy amount of end game at release, and the fact that they have promised major updates every 3 months, and we know that they are listening to our pleas of things wrong in this game (for example the repair bill costs being too high and they are addressing this in a patch today), and many other examples, this game is just too good to pass up. Once I started playing, I simply could not stop.

    Something to note, do not give up at lower levels... the system is a bit strange for the lower levels, since there is no 'fun' rotation system, it is most of the time for some classes hit one or two buttons. Later on, you have so many abilities, it is needed to have 30-40 keybinds, and you will use all of them, and your rotations become such a fun aspect of boss fights in order to maximize your dps. It is kind of annoying this doesn't happen till much later (I am talking around level 40 when your rotations become VERY fun), but still, the rest of the game is just great.
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    FFXIV:ARR reminds me a lot of what initially brought me to WoW. The world is new and there is plenty to do. You can quest, grind, doFFXIV:ARR reminds me a lot of what initially brought me to WoW. The world is new and there is plenty to do. You can quest, grind, do guildhests (small challenge maps), leves ("dailies" that open up early in the game), FATEs (open world events, bosses) and instances (replete with group finder). It keeps the FF feel, while handling like a contemporary MMO. You also get mounts that are also fighting companions.

    It does not have the tactical depth that FFXI had, but neither is it so crushingly difficult and unforgiving (FFXI had very few quest instructions, xp on death, quest to break level caps, Maat fights). I am happy to say that on the way to end-game, there is more to do in FFXIV than any other MMO I've played.

    You can use your one character to level every class-job in the game and change class-jobs instantly by saving your gear sets (up to 12 or so) and storing them in your armory (a separate inventory for each equipment slot). As you use up quests, xp is scale for FATEs based on your highest level so that the xp grind becomes less pronounced.

    Instances and FATEs are also level synced. This means that when you arrive, you are capped at a certain level. However, you will still gain xp, etc. This allows you to play with lower level friends, etc. if they need assistance or you want to rerun an old instance.

    Now, glowing positives aside, lets be realistic. FFXIV:ARR borrows A LOT from other MMO's. You can see WoW in it (interface, character handling), Rift (open world events) and SWTOR (how it handles quests). If you are burned out on traditional MMO's, then you may feel the same here.

    The game is also facing some overpopulation issues and is suffering from that. Despite what you read here, Square has announced that there will a server hardware expansion but it won't be ready until the beginning of next week (around September 2nd). There is a queue system, but that too is overloaded (most people never see it). The problem is compounded by a lack of afk kick system, so those that get in will park their characters if they leave for awhile so they don't have to sit at the login screen. Can't blame them... but it prevents people from actually playing during that time.

    In the end, this game will live or die based on its end-game content and how fast Square corrects the server population issues. Some end-game is lacking but they have already previewed the first end-game raid (24 or 25 man, I'm a little off on the exact figure) so it is on the way. Anyone who has played WoW however knows that people will only stay if that content keeps coming.

    I implore those that read this to try to form their own opinions of the game. There are plenty of videos on Youtube, etc. where you can see gameplay in advance. Make your own determination. There can be a strong bias in these reviews either by fanboys or those loyal to another MMO.

    Only time will tell how successful FFXIV:ARR will be.
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2014
    5
    **This is a long review, but I am just trying to help out my fellow hardcore MMO players out there. Even though I am a huge World of Warcraft**This is a long review, but I am just trying to help out my fellow hardcore MMO players out there. Even though I am a huge World of Warcraft fan and have played the game (WoW) for many years, I am not comparing FF14 to WoW. I am just trying to save you disappointment if you are trying to fill that WoW void with another MMO.**

    **Short list of Pros and Cons at the top, while details will be below that**

    Pros:
    + You can level all the classes and professions on one toon.
    + Plenty to do and experience leveling your first class.
    + Good graphics with a decent story.
    + Pretty easy to get geared and get right into the endgame action (This can be viewed as a con as well)
    + Challenging bosses for the parts of the game that haven't been nerfed yet.

    Cons:
    - Game world/community just feels empty and dull while questing.
    - NO world PvP. The game does have arena-like PvP, but it is the most boring thing ever.
    - There is no stand-out gear that separates the casuals from the best players. You can pretty much get the same ilvl gear without completing the hardest content in the game.
    - Professions are useless for improving your endgame, so there is no point in leveling them.
    - 30 minute to 1 hour dungeon queues for DPS classes using the duty-finder.
    - Too easy for bad players to get gear!!!

    FF14 Review:

    I have played this game for 40 days now while putting at least 5 hours a day into the game, so I feel I can give an honest review of the game. Like most MMOs, the gameplay grabbed my attention right away, but fell short for endgame material in my opinion.

    I am basing my review on Character Leveling, Endgame, Professions/Crafting, and just the overall server community (this will vary depending on which server you play on).

    Character Leveling: 7 out of 10
    What I like about this, is that you can basically level every class to 50 on one toon, which prevents the game from getting too boring right away, because you can mix-and-match different abilities. If you get bored of leveling a healer, just switch to a DPS class or tank.

    You can level by questing, queuing for dungeons (which start at lvl 15), doing Fates (random events that pop up around the world, which involve killing things), queuing for Guildhests (mini-dungeon). Basically, the game offers a variety of ways to level.

    The thing that sucks about using the same character to get your first few classes to 50, is that you will eventually run out of quests to do, because the quests don't reappear when you level a new class. As a result, you will be forced to grind fates over and over and over.

    Endgame: 5 out of 10
    (Before you FF14 fanboys bash me, I've completed Titan Ex and made it to T9 as a WHM. Basically, I feel I'm qualified to comment on endgame.)

    Dungeons consist of 4-man groups; Raids are usually 8-man groups, aside from Labyrinth which is 24.

    *Endgame provides a decent amount of dungeons for new players, such as Labyrinth of the Ancients, Primal HMs and Exs, and Bahamut Coil 1-9. My complaint with endgame isn't that the content is easy, but rather that you can grind the easier dungeons over and over and pretty much end up with the same gear as those who take pride in being a skilled player and spend hours wiping on near-impossible bosses.

    I feel the endgame is what killed this game for me. It basically becomes a grind-fest for Tomestones (these are used to get ilvl 90 raid gear). You don't even need to be good at the game and get equivalent gear to the best hardcore players. At lvl 50, most people are walking around with the same blues and looking the same. Due to this, you will get grouped with a lot of terrible players that were most likely carried by others.

    On a side note, it is really easy to gear up your other classes on the same toon. Just from healing raids over and over, I was pretty much able to get a full bard set and tank set.

    Professions/Crafting: 3 out of 10
    This game isn't any different from most other MMOs. It is a time-killer and doesn't give you any better gear that you can't easily farm for yourself. Most people do it just to sell stuff on the auction house (BTW... Money is pretty much pointless in this game. The only time you will spend it is on stuff for your guild house), or just to get achievement points. Basically... There is no benefit to leveling any profession to lvl 50.

    Server/Community: 4 out of 10
    Even though this is a MMO, most of the time you feel like you're playing the game by yourself. Once in a while you will group with people for dungeons/raids, but outside of that, the game just feels lonely. This is coming from someone that is on a popular server too. You will have the gold farmers spamming non-stop; the occasional troll yelling out random things; and the people in party finder needing people for extreme primals or fate grinding to upgrade their relic weapon. The world just feels empty to me. Maybe because their is no world PvP? I still can't put my finger on it.
    Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    The Final Fantasy franchise has come a long way from the Final Fantasy 7-9 and even Final Fantasy XI and while I agree that ARR is a enormousThe Final Fantasy franchise has come a long way from the Final Fantasy 7-9 and even Final Fantasy XI and while I agree that ARR is a enormous improvement over what was first released it still leaves a lot to be desired. The battlecraft system is flat out confusing from Thaumaturge and Archer turning magically into Black Mage to splitting arcanist into two paths it makes no sense. Sure it has customization for characters,personal houses, and soon Free Company Airships (which in it self i a major break from the past FF games).

    I give it 5/10 it's pay to play, overpriced, graphically improved version of various other MMO's and uniting several past FF games completely throwing out the successful parts of FFXI. It's not fun unless you are crafting or chocobo racing and eventually that novelty wears off and you are left with a crappy battle system that is just boring. Don't buy it, don't waste your money - IF you want a good game go for Guild Wars 2
    Expand

See all 430 User Reviews