Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 22
  2. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Aug 12, 2014
    65
    Firefall has potential to be a great videogame, but not in this moment.
  2. Oct 24, 2014
    65
    The story of Firefall’s development (9 years!) is much more interesting than the game itself. [Nov 2014, p.54]
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    50
    In the end, the experience Firefall offers is one that’s almost there. It’s almost a fully engaging, entertaining shooter. It almost tells a fairly good story. Its systems almost feel worth the time, or money, you would put into seeing them through to their end. It’s almost there, but in the end, Firefall falls short.
  4. Aug 18, 2014
    66
    Firefall has potential, but it’s not quite there just yet. A little bit more restructuring and beefing up in some areas will help Firefall evolve, if Red 5 Studios can give more time and money to the project. Hopefully it keeps developing the title, as it does have potential.
  5. Aug 11, 2014
    60
    It's a game I found myself enjoying in ever shorter bursts as the prospect of farming more XP and Crystite from yet another nest of alien bugs, or finding another lost family member for a crudely modelled NPC, became less and less enticing.
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    77
    At last Firefall came out from its everlasting beta period, as a solid MMO/TPS meant to be played with a small group of friend. It's not a revolution, but has its interesting peculiarities.
  7. Aug 30, 2014
    60
    Firefall is middling. If you have free time to spare, the fact that it won’t cost you anything to try is a huge win. If it manages to sink its teeth into you over the first few hours, you might just be hooked. Personally, I’ll pass.
  8. Sep 19, 2014
    48
    The potential is there in the gunplay, but it's covered with shonky visuals and lifeless, grinding action. [Nov 2014, p.73]
  9. Aug 21, 2014
    40
    Firefall quickly wears out its welcome; beaten to the punch by games like Tribes Ascend and the aforementioned Planetside 2. There’s still space for a PvE focused take on open world combat, and in time, this could well fill it. For now though, it’s a few well engineered systems in search of a game that fully deserves them.
  10. Aug 26, 2014
    50
    It's hard to invest in lore that's so inextricably tied to the grind of missions or side-quests, hard to suspend your awareness of that grind when you're awash in constant pitches for boosters and special unlocks.
  11. Aug 11, 2014
    64
    In Firefall the clear line is missing. The game was changed so frequently during its long development time, and re-designed, that it's just mixed way up from many individual ideas in the end, but not really in harmony as a complete work.
  12. Sep 3, 2014
    49
    Firefall showed some real promise as I started on my epic journey. The shooting was fine, and the missions were fun at first, but then after doing almost the same thing over and over again, I just couldn't find any reason to continue. Like I said, I am willing to go back and see if the game improves in the future but I wont be returning to Firefall anytime soon.
  13. Sep 10, 2014
    55
    Firefall is a massively-mixed bag.
  14. Sep 14, 2014
    70
    Firefall is a very well-constructed MMO framework that lacks a heart, soul or reason to return. [Issue#253, p.76]
  15. Aug 12, 2014
    57
    It's not a world that I want to stick around to save.
  16. Aug 8, 2014
    70
    Firefall has a couple of good ideas. It’s a good FPS with fun moments, but the missions are repetitive and boring, the PVP isn’t very good, and the game lacks content.
  17. Aug 14, 2013
    77
    Red 5 are gamers who were sick with the same ol’ shooter and the same ol’ MMO. So they went out and started making a game they’d want to play. Somewhere along the way, they got a little lost, but they’re back on track and with a thriving but small community they’re onto something very special. It’s a little rough around the edges right now, but I’d heartily recommend Firefall to anyone who’s sick of the same old MMO fodder. Just be prepared to roll with the work-in-progress nature of the game, and you might be pleasantly surprised at the fun on offer.
  18. Aug 6, 2014
    47
    Makes you work a lot for very little. The repetitive churn of missions and activities further spoil an only occasionally entertaining shooter.
  19. Aug 27, 2014
    70
    Fun, but grindy and lacking reasons to return. [Sept 2014, p.50]
  20. Aug 7, 2014
    40
    All Firefall’s opening does is shove your face right up against grubby textures, shoddy animations, and invisible walls. Your first two hours with it will see you retreading ground completing repetitive fetch quests for characterless NPCs in a world that does nothing to excite the eye...You have to wade through that swill of a beginning to understand Firefall’s potential.
  21. Jan 5, 2015
    70
    Firefall probably is the most innovative MMO of the last period, whose indisputable merits are, however, counterbalanced by significant technical gaps as well as a general flatness of end-game contents. Worth much, but it could've been even better.
  22. Aug 14, 2014
    70
    Firefall has its problems. There’s no denying that, but after spending a little time with it, I found myself having a pretty decent time. Sure, it does feel wonky at times, but I couldn’t help but keep playing.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 114
  2. Negative: 21 out of 114
  1. Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Firefall's finally launched, and it was worth the wait. Red 5 studios has completely remade the game that was known for it's 'eternal' beta,Firefall's finally launched, and it was worth the wait. Red 5 studios has completely remade the game that was known for it's 'eternal' beta, and now has a real gem: It has the progression and content flow of an MMO, but the fun moment-to-moment gameplay of a shooter. I'm having a blast. Only question on my mind is: which battleframe (character class) to level up next? Full Review »
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    4
    Their leveling system sucks for a shooter. The PvP is terrible. The quests are boring and repetitive fetch, kill, and escort. The high levelTheir leveling system sucks for a shooter. The PvP is terrible. The quests are boring and repetitive fetch, kill, and escort. The high level crafting takes AGES to unlock, and forever to gather the materials to make high quality high level gear. The graphics are pretty amazing. Travel (once you pay for it) is pretty cool; you get gliders and motorcycles to ride around the open zones with.

    Level system sucks: It's hard to play with your friends (especially if you're the lower leveled one) because they're off grinding away at higher level content that your just unable to participate in, and even if you did you don't get rewarded for it because it's too high level. Typical MMO "grind to max level so you can start playing the game" crap; typical Free 2 Play "We're going to make this take way longer than it should and prevent you from using your actual shooter skill to skip content so we can sell you xp boosters."

    The PvP is TERRIBLE! I went in as a level 30 to the PvP zone and met up with another player (lvl 40) that was on my "team". There weren't very many people in the PvP zone and we wanted to see how much damage the "bike with guns" would do to him, so we dueled. The game kicked me off the bike and wouldn't let me back on... fine no bikes in duels. The other player wanted to know how much damage I could do to him so he stood still while I shot him in the head. Nothing but straight headshots and he could out regenerate all my damage. Level and gear completely outweigh skill; which is horrible for a shooter. Your skill will only come into play if you are the same level and close to the same gear rating.

    The crafting is designed to sell you resource boosters and you can pay to skip the long wait time (days in some cases) between clicking craft and getting your item.

    The player to player economy is doomed for failure as there are infinite resources, your gear never needs to be replaced, and there is a finite player base. It doesn't take an economical genius to figure out that the market will be saturated in short order.

    The graphics are great! After you pay to get an LGV (motorcycle thingy) and a glider pad, traveling around the zones is some of the most fun I've had getting from boring kill quest to boring fetch quest in a video game. The storyline instances are pretty fun, but they're gated by forcing you to hit certain levels to play them.

    Overall, the game is too much of a grind fest, the quests are too repetitive, and FPS skill means very little. It doesn't feel rewarding, it just feels tedious.

    I'm giving it 2 for the world travel and graphics and 2 for the storyline instances.
    Full Review »
  3. EMG
    Jul 29, 2014
    10
    Very fun and fast paced FPS MMO. It had a rocky development but as it stands now, it is worth the time. Being a F2P you should at least giveVery fun and fast paced FPS MMO. It had a rocky development but as it stands now, it is worth the time. Being a F2P you should at least give it a try. Beautiful map, fluid gun play and an interesting story. The ability to use boosters and gliders appeal to tribes fans while the shooting is similar to Borderlands. Overall a fun experience. Full Review »