Flashback PC

Flashback Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 20 years after the original games launch, Conrad is enlisted back to active service for the triumphant return of one of the most acclaimed franchises in gaming history. It is Flashback re-imagined. The original Core-Team revamped their own creation, leveraging the best of todays technology20 years after the original games launch, Conrad is enlisted back to active service for the triumphant return of one of the most acclaimed franchises in gaming history. It is Flashback re-imagined. The original Core-Team revamped their own creation, leveraging the best of todays technology while remaining true to the classic side-scroller that set the standards of the genre in the 90s

    - Gorgeous graphics, amazing animations. Its the Flashback youve always dreamed of. True to the original spirit but made a million times better by using modern engines such as Unreal and Havok. The makeover is completely stunning.

    - Modernized gameplay mechanics make the game more reactive bring a balance between rolling and shooting, exploration.

    - The story was revamped to speak to 21st century gamers. Most of the cast of the original game is still here Conrad, the Morphs but you can expect new characters and a few twists youre definitely not going to forget.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    54
    By packaging the original Flashback: The Quest for Identity, the developers made a huge mistake – because it makes the remake look even worse than it is.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 4 out of 15
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I don't get what the issue is with some of the reviewers, whether they're hipsters or racists. This is developed by the original FlashbackI don't get what the issue is with some of the reviewers, whether they're hipsters or racists. This is developed by the original Flashback development team, and they did a really good job of modernising it. It's meant to be the kind of game you can sit a kid down with, who's used to contemporary game mechanics, and show them why you liked this game as much as you did.

    The story, the setting, and everything important is still the same. I can't understand why people would hate the graphics unless, again, they're being racist about how admittedly French Conrad looks and sounds, but this was a game developed in France, so big surprise there. The graphics serve their purpose they're colourful, vibrant, and the enemies stand out.

    Maybe people were expecting the original Flashback in its exact form but with higher resolutions and anti-aliasing? Sort of like Another World's (Out of this World's) Anniversary Edition? Personally, I prefer the updated look of Flashback because, once again, it's a great way to introduce a younger generation to a great game, a game which feels every bit as rotoscoped and well animated as it ever did, as fun as it ever did.

    Maybe it's because they have memories of Flashback being hardcore or whatever? Well, I recently played the original Flashback and I can tell you that it's as easy as I remember it being, I guess I'm just not terrible at games. This Flashback and the old Flashback have a very similar difficulty curve, and there are difficulty settings you can choose from. I'm baffled by people who believe that Flashback was a hard game you can even pick to play the original game from the title menu. It really wasn't a hard game.

    I am inclined to call both hipster and racist though on the people who hated this. Take a look at the negative review by Weilard and tell me you don't see it.

    It's upsetting that racism and hipster angst will actually see this game hurting when it comes to reviews, and I'm not sure whether the critics themselves are immune to this, either. Yes, it's a French game with a French hero. So? It's not elite and hardcore. So? Neither was the original Flashback! Rose-tinted glasses much?

    So yeah. Please don't take the negative reviews at face value.
    Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Was mesmerized and amazed by the original on Nintendo. This one hits the spot! Really great revamp! Worth the $4.99! Great job! It looks likeWas mesmerized and amazed by the original on Nintendo. This one hits the spot! Really great revamp! Worth the $4.99! Great job! It looks like it did in my imagination when I was younger Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    As good as i expected. Critics have a lot of respect for Flashback and demand more. This game is good and you will enjoy it. But the criticsAs good as i expected. Critics have a lot of respect for Flashback and demand more. This game is good and you will enjoy it. But the critics wanted a swan song for the current generation.

    A polished and enjoyable title.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    To start with, there are control issues (even with the latest update) aiming with the right thumbstick is inaccurate, for example (in oneTo start with, there are control issues (even with the latest update) aiming with the right thumbstick is inaccurate, for example (in one place I had to use the mouse instead), and Conrad has a penchant to go into crouch mode for no reason.

    It should be noted that I have played many incarnations of the original version Amiga, Archimedes and if I remember correctly, a PC version too. The story-line and general layout of the original is kept (especially for the first level), but of course other areas have been improved The graphics are very nice with a 2D parallax scrolling display.

    Whilst there is some music like the original, it doesn't sound as good unfortunately rather a muted affair in that regard.

    Puzzles consist mainly of working out how to open doors, and usually involved trying to through a grenade through a small hole.

    Later levels do get a bit tricky the aliens take a lot of hits to kill, and unfortunately, like the original, spend far too much time in their slime state, so you can spend a fair while rolling around waiting for one to take a humanoid shape.

    Another problem is that the alien world's platforms aren't always easy make out whilst you can have an indicator of where it is, you need to know that approximately where it is. The thumbstick inaccuracy really showed itself here, when you have to try and throw your teleporter through a small hole, which the stick's movement step wasn't small enough to find.

    There is a chance to upgrade Conrad's skils, although, with the exception of the health level, doesn't really affect anything.

    There are also some mini-games, which are exceedingly difficult (and could well be bordering on the impossible).

    Lastly a port (or rather an emulation possibly the SNES version) of the original is included (once you have enough points to earn it). Unfortunately, the emulation is very poor you view it through a flickering arcade machine (and not full screen), nor do you have any music, which makes it a rather disappointing experience.

    Overall, it is worth getting in addition, it is very, very cheap!
    Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2014
    6
    If you don't mind setting up a UPlay account and playing through two levels of DRM, Flashback is not a bad platformer. The game has goodIf you don't mind setting up a UPlay account and playing through two levels of DRM, Flashback is not a bad platformer. The game has good graphics and some entertaining segments but a meaningless plot, hammy voice acting and an unlikeable protagonist. To me, this means it'll never be anything more than an "okay" game. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    Game started ok and it looked interesting enough but after a while it just got boring and repetitive. The graphics is great but the story isGame started ok and it looked interesting enough but after a while it just got boring and repetitive. The graphics is great but the story is kinda lame and the enemies too annoying. I haven't played the original game so I have no idea whether this is better or worse but this is just an average platformer with some rpg elements (you get xp and collect upgrades). Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    1
    This game is a big disappointment. I had a bad feeling about the game when I watched the videos of the Alpha version. Stupid A.I. Cover-logicThis game is a big disappointment. I had a bad feeling about the game when I watched the videos of the Alpha version. Stupid A.I. Cover-logic haven't even been implemented. Environment is cramped. You can't interact with most part of the world. ETC..
    Just gave up playing it. Not even close to JA2.
    This game is literal #%@$!!!
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Trailers