Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Awaiting 3 more reviews What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    54
    By packaging the original Flashback: The Quest for Identity, the developers made a huge mistake – because it makes the remake look even worse than it is.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    I don't get what the issue is with some of the reviewers, whether they're hipsters or racists. This is developed by the original FlashbackI don't get what the issue is with some of the reviewers, whether they're hipsters or racists. This is developed by the original Flashback development team, and they did a really good job of modernising it. It's meant to be the kind of game you can sit a kid down with, who's used to contemporary game mechanics, and show them why you liked this game as much as you did.

    The story, the setting, and everything important is still the same. I can't understand why people would hate the graphics unless, again, they're being racist about how admittedly French Conrad looks and sounds, but this was a game developed in France, so big surprise there. The graphics serve their purpose they're colourful, vibrant, and the enemies stand out.

    Maybe people were expecting the original Flashback in its exact form but with higher resolutions and anti-aliasing? Sort of like Another World's (Out of this World's) Anniversary Edition? Personally, I prefer the updated look of Flashback because, once again, it's a great way to introduce a younger generation to a great game, a game which feels every bit as rotoscoped and well animated as it ever did, as fun as it ever did.

    Maybe it's because they have memories of Flashback being hardcore or whatever? Well, I recently played the original Flashback and I can tell you that it's as easy as I remember it being, I guess I'm just not terrible at games. This Flashback and the old Flashback have a very similar difficulty curve, and there are difficulty settings you can choose from. I'm baffled by people who believe that Flashback was a hard game you can even pick to play the original game from the title menu. It really wasn't a hard game.

    I am inclined to call both hipster and racist though on the people who hated this. Take a look at the negative review by Weilard and tell me you don't see it.

    It's upsetting that racism and hipster angst will actually see this game hurting when it comes to reviews, and I'm not sure whether the critics themselves are immune to this, either. Yes, it's a French game with a French hero. So? It's not elite and hardcore. So? Neither was the original Flashback! Rose-tinted glasses much?

    So yeah. Please don't take the negative reviews at face value.
    Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2013
    10
    Was mesmerized and amazed by the original on Nintendo. This one hits the spot! Really great revamp! Worth the $4.99! Great job! It looks likeWas mesmerized and amazed by the original on Nintendo. This one hits the spot! Really great revamp! Worth the $4.99! Great job! It looks like it did in my imagination when I was younger Expand
  3. Oct 1, 2013
    9
    As good as i expected. Critics have a lot of respect for Flashback and demand more. This game is good and you will enjoy it. But the criticsAs good as i expected. Critics have a lot of respect for Flashback and demand more. This game is good and you will enjoy it. But the critics wanted a swan song for the current generation.

    A polished and enjoyable title.
    Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    I love just about everything about this remake. It runs smooth, has the same enemies, and the story stays intact with some filling in between.I love just about everything about this remake. It runs smooth, has the same enemies, and the story stays intact with some filling in between. However, I am a little bit disappointed in the voice acting and the music change.

    The music change isn't all that bad but I really liked the bass lines in the original and how mysterious it felt entering a new area. It was such a wondrous feeling. The voice acting.... if you remember, it was all text in the first one and you basically decide on how the character sounds with your own imagination. When it comes to Conrad... they made him sound like a kid who doesn't take anything seriously and brags too much. I mean... he's supposed to be a hardcore special agent!

    Anyway, the basic mechanics of the game are still intact and I just can't get over how much more beautiful the game looks and feels.
    Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2014
    6
    If you don't mind setting up a UPlay account and playing through two levels of DRM, Flashback is not a bad platformer. The game has goodIf you don't mind setting up a UPlay account and playing through two levels of DRM, Flashback is not a bad platformer. The game has good graphics and some entertaining segments but a meaningless plot, hammy voice acting and an unlikeable protagonist. To me, this means it'll never be anything more than an "okay" game. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    5
    Game started ok and it looked interesting enough but after a while it just got boring and repetitive. The graphics is great but the story isGame started ok and it looked interesting enough but after a while it just got boring and repetitive. The graphics is great but the story is kinda lame and the enemies too annoying. I haven't played the original game so I have no idea whether this is better or worse but this is just an average platformer with some rpg elements (you get xp and collect upgrades). Expand
  7. Dec 8, 2014
    1
    This game is a big disappointment. I had a bad feeling about the game when I watched the videos of the Alpha version. Stupid A.I. Cover-logicThis game is a big disappointment. I had a bad feeling about the game when I watched the videos of the Alpha version. Stupid A.I. Cover-logic haven't even been implemented. Environment is cramped. You can't interact with most part of the world. ETC..
    Just gave up playing it. Not even close to JA2.
    This game is literal #%@$!!!
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Trailers