FlatOut 2 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring an enhanced version of the original's physics engine with even faster driving track designs, FlatOut 2 also boasts numerous improvements, enhancements and additions to make the title the definitive FlatOut experience. Twice as many vehicles, a more sophisticated career mode, additional race environments, double the number of tracks, twice as many mini-games along with brand new and much requested online multiplayer modes are just some of the exhaustive features that are included in FlatOut 2. With more than 5,000 fully destructible objects on every track as well as 40 deformable parts on each vehicle, physical interaction in a racing game is taken to unprecedented heights. With a greater emphasis placed on causing destruction on the track by offering greater rewards, game play will be even more frantic than ever. Drivers will need to tear into competitors' cars, trash the local scenery, litter the track with obstacles, while at the same time trying to concentrate on their own race in a bid to cross the line first. The ever-popular Ragdoll mini-games from the original FlatOut game make a welcome return and are better than ever with 12 Ragdoll events, a Ragdoll Championship and full online support. New Ragdoll events include basketball, baseball and royal flush cards. [Empire Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Good choice of rock music in the playlist.
  2. 83
    FlatOut 2 is one hell of a fun racing game. Sure, many of its elements feel a tad generic, like the track and character design, but what it really comes down to is the racing itself and Bugbear has done a great job at drawing a line between control and complete chaos.
  3. 81
    If FlatOut 2 proves anything it's that there's room for more than one type of racer that strongly encourages wreckage at every twist and turn, and it's refreshing to see that despite EA's undeniable might smaller developers are willing to have a go at competing, often showing them a thing or two about game design in the process.
  4. There’s no getting away from the fact that FlatOut 2 is damned good fun, and will bring you back to the days of Destruction Derby and its ilk. However, as much as we appreciate the tweaks – and that’s really all they are – to the first game, there are still a few too many fundamental flaws which bring out a wail of frustration or a tut as you consider how easily certain annoyances could have been avoided.
  5. The larger number of tracks, cars and mini-games feel like only relatively minor improvements over the original and the whole thing ends up feeling like more of an expansion than the next evolution. [Sept 2006, p.62]
  6. An invigorating shot of speed and carnage that tops that of the original, even if it does fall short of the mighty "Burnout." [Aug 2006, p.121]
  7. You'll instinctively reach for the seatbelt in this aggressive display of reckless racing.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 3 out of 41
  1. Jul 21, 2014
    10
    I love the graphics and I just can't get enough of the gameplay and soundtrack. In my opinion It's the best car racing game if you want have some fun.
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Это одни и самых замечательных аркадных гонок, когда-либо виденных мною. Игра очень динамичная, весёлая, в меру сложная. За 6 лет не надоела до сих пор. Можно так же отметить приятную детализированную графику, без излишеств, красочно и нетребовательно. В любом случае советую. Конечно, понравится не каждому, но пропускать не стоит. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Great soundtrack Great cars Great fun.Thx to my friend Remus for the ideea.One of the few racing games to must play.
  4. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Flatout 2 inovatted the racing games. After play Flatout 2 and Ultimate Carnage, you probably will not play Need For Speed again. The soundtrack is very good and ideal for this game. This is the best racing game franchise in my opinion. Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2014
    9
    OVERALL: A racing game with excellent object physics. The sequel "The Next Car Game" game, piqued my interest (Bugbear Entertainment lost the "FlatOut" license and FlatOut 3 was--from what I've read--a dissapointing entry created by "Team 6").

    STORY: Nonexistent.

    GRAPHICS: (9/10): It looks great if you bump up the resolution, runs great, and has aged well. The big hook is the many physics-enabled side barriers and other objects to crash through. Many are large enough to slow you down, but most just help you by providing visual indicators of how you're moving. Crash hard enough and occasionally the driver will have its ragdoll thrown out of the window. Each of the cars also deforms realistically.
    (From what I've seen of demo videos, "The Next Car Game" is set to have way more physics-enabled objects its cars are much more deformable (to the extent of being crushed in half, to where that alters the angle of the tires and thereby the driving mechanics). And since FlatOut 2 already does both pretty well, I'm excited to see that ramped up in the sequel.)
    The only visual disappointment is the lack of "real" licensed cars; they're all generic. I would prefer it if the cars were real and handled like their counterparts, because then I might feel like I was "learning" about cars.
    Additionally, FlatOut 2 is the best use of 3D screens I have seen so far. I have an Nvidia 3D vision screen, but most videogames handle 3D poorly, with shadows misaligned over character outlines; even slight misalignments become headache-inducingly intolerable in any twitch-action game. But the alignment of FlatOut 2's 3D is PERFECT! It's bizarre, since I can't imagine enough people in 2004 had 3D tvs to make it worthwhile for them to invest time in the feature, but here it is. And for 3D to really matter, to really "pop" at the viewer, you have to have objects coming at you at all times or you forget it's there; FlatOut 2 has solved this problem because the ground (racing surface) is always rushing towards you, so you never forget about it, and then the opponents' cars and other background objects move between the foreground and background in a way where the 3D actually helps you play better. And the showers of sparks from each partial-crash being thrown at you is just an amazing effect.

    AUDIO: (5/10) - Sound effects are fine. The music track selection is poor and I turned the music off.

    CONTROL: (9/10) - The car driving mechanics are great. I still think that the PS2-era GTA games (GTA 3, Vice City, San Andreas) and by extension Rockstar's PS2 racing game "Midnight Club 3" had the most perfect vehicular controls, and FlatOut 2's aren't QUITE as good. Also, you don't have "lean" options like in Midnight Club 3 or the crazy jump-jets of "Nitronic Rush", just basic driving and a bit of refilling nitrous turbo-speed.
    But the controls are still pretty great (better than most racing games), the various racing surfaces feel good, and the inter-car physics is probably the best in the business. I tried the "PIT maneuver" from the GTA San Andreas driver's school, and it works if you can then avoid crashing into the car you just spun around. Gorgeous crashes occur organically, making those in Burnout 3 seem stiff and manufactured, precisely because FlatOut 2 has the best physics of any racing game (at least until Next Car Game comes out).

    DESIGN: (7/10) -
    From what I've heard, "Flatout: Ultimate Carnage", a partial remake with insignificant improvements, has the major downside that (unlike FlatOut 2) you can't reassign joystick buttons, and "accelerate" is mapped to the trigger, which would have gotten tiring on my stiff Logitech controller. So FlatOut 2 is a better choice based on this quibble alone.
    The AI is superb, probably the best in any racing game I've ever played. Your 8 opponents per stage are difficult and aggressive and knock you around, jockey for position the whole race, split up among the different shortcuts, and don't rubber-band (you do need to restart if you crash badly enough). But they also make "human" crashing mistakes and you can knock them into the environment if you play well. The constant challenge--and the fact that I never felt alone during a race--kept me invested.
    For gameplay types, there's a) racing (sequences of 3-5 stages) b) demolition derby and c) "skill games" like jumping. The racing is by far the best mode. Demoltion derby is fun at first, but it's a little too hard: to stay alive you need to avoid crashing more than the once-per-45-seconds to avoid disqualification but to win you have to cause more damage than the opponents.
    The biggest downside is the upgrade system, because I never knew if I needed to grind more cash to buy a new car or just play better. Not every game needs an upgrade system, people!
    Alas, there's no splitscreen multiplayer (boo! Hiss! WHY?!?). But it is nice that all stages are unlocked from the start for LAN/online.
    Strongly recommend for any racing fan.
    Expand
  6. Dec 25, 2011
    9
    I just picked this game up a couple weeks ago and it's all I really play now. Me and my brother (who are both in their late 20's) love quick and fun multiplayer action games. Multiplayer is where it's at. I think game play in all modes (race, stunt, derby) is a blast. Physics are awesome, controls are simple (I use mouse/keyboard), and there is a pretty good variety of cars (which I think can be increased via downloads on the web).

    I don't play single player, so no comment on that.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    1
    Looks like it could be a good game, but absolutely unplayable on the keyboard. Tapping a direction will make you do a 360 degree spin. I've had no problems with Wipeout or GTA and was hoping for a similar arcade experience but it looks like it's meant for a controller or steering wheel. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews