FlatOut: Ultimate Carnage PC

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. The upgrades to this game aren't enough to make me recommend it if you own FlatOut 2, but, for everyone else, it's a green light.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    87
    Flatout Ultimate Carnage shows how to do the best possible gaming entertainment. PC-version is a straight conversion from Xbox 360, so everything looks the same and feels the same. Although, Bugbear should have made the real PC-like menus and better steering wheel support for PC. Even so, UC is filled with pure gasoline and testosteroine and is absolutely fun to play. You should buy this, if you already haven't. [Sept 2008]
  3. It's quite confusing: Flatout: Ultimate Carnage is the third game of the series, but at the same time it's the PC conversion of the Xbox 360 game, which was a new version of the PC game Flatout 2. Basically Flatout: Ultimate Carnage is a remake with better graphics and more cars. If you already own Flatout 2, there aren't many new things in the game to justify buying Flatout: Ultimate Carnage, but if you don't, go ahead and get it.
  4. Its flaws are largely subjective; there are no open wounds for me to pour salt on, but don’t worry – a race or two would be enough for you to decide whether it’s worth investing time in.
  5. The newest instalment in the series has the same simple goal as its predecessors: Entertain the player. And it totally delivers!
  6. PC Gamer UK
    82
    FlatOut is the kind of game that's fun to win, but the charm quickly peels off when frustration sets in - and it will. [Oct 2008, p.82]
  7. More fun than 50 Formula One races, with or without Nazi-themed S&M. [Sept 2008, p.71]
  8. The single-player Career won't take all that long to complete, but with a hugely entertaining multiplayer mode both on and offline, there's a good chance you'll continue playing for a while after.
  9. Play (Poland)
    80
    More explosions, faster cars, new event types, marginally better handling and... no new tracks. I'd call foul, but this game knows no rules. [Oct 2008]
  10. PC Format
    78
    Not a new game, but certainly looks like one. It's a great ride, but if you've seen it before, you've seen it all before. [Aug 2008, p.104]
  11. 78
    Hybrid racers of this type are pretty rare on the PC in this day and age, and this is by no means a bad game. So if you're looking for a fun and silly racer that may not blow you away, FlatOut: Ultimate Carnage may be the racer for you. So go break a leg, or two.
  12. Flatout: Ultimate Carnage 2 is probably the most entertaining game in the action-racing genre in 2008, which offers hours of excitement, thrill and fun.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. MatthiewMarks
    Aug 27, 2008
    0
    A new version of my favourite LAN game!.....WITHOUT LAN capability. What the!?! Seriously, who's gonna buy this game when all it has overA new version of my favourite LAN game!.....WITHOUT LAN capability. What the!?! Seriously, who's gonna buy this game when all it has over Flatout 2 is new maps and better graphics (and physics?). Flatout 2 has LAN... and is half the price of UC at my local store. What a waste. Full Review »
  2. DavidS
    Sep 13, 2008
    6
    New game-modes and improved visuals for the PC version don't make up for the loss of a LAN-play function. Flatout 2 is a favourite at New game-modes and improved visuals for the PC version don't make up for the loss of a LAN-play function. Flatout 2 is a favourite at out LAN parties, but UC only supports online multiplay via Windows LIVE - making this an inferior product to its predecessor. Full Review »
  3. TonyM.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    FlatOut 2 on the PC is my favorite racing game because it looks hot and is loads of fun. So naturally, Ultimate Carnage looks to be a great FlatOut 2 on the PC is my favorite racing game because it looks hot and is loads of fun. So naturally, Ultimate Carnage looks to be a great extension of 2 (however minor in gameplay, but better in technology). Plus 12 players over 8 should be a welcome addition to the fun. I just hope the price is right. Full Review »