• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 20, 2011
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 163

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2012
    2
    I've logged 200 hours playing this game and I can now say that I believe it to be an elaborate practical joke designed to waste peoples time while frustrating them as much as possible. The game seems to be based simply on luck. Tactical changes seem to be ineffectual, tell your team to play to feet and you will observe them lumping it long. Player morale declines and stays that way.I've logged 200 hours playing this game and I can now say that I believe it to be an elaborate practical joke designed to waste peoples time while frustrating them as much as possible. The game seems to be based simply on luck. Tactical changes seem to be ineffectual, tell your team to play to feet and you will observe them lumping it long. Player morale declines and stays that way. Sometimes my team goes on a winning run, then an inevitable decline. The difference between the two states: nothing as far as I can tell. Also, be warned this game uses the dreadful steam game system. Which means no access to the net then no play. Ok, it says start in offline mode if you have no net access but that seems to only work sporadically before locking you out all the time. I have no problem with steam saying I can only play the game on one pc at a time, but the problem is steam goes further than that, you can only play one of all your games at a time, for example we have two machines and I have football manager and skyrim on steam. If one family member wants to play skyrim and another football manager YOU CANNOT DO THAT. This is a giant rip off. I will never buy another game that uses steam again. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    Paid £29.99 for a game I am locked out of and cannot play. Do not buy if you have previously purchased football manager games as you can easily get locked out. I have brought every installment of Championship manager then Football manager since its first edition. The problem is with the 2012 version is that is only playable through steam. On the previous edition you couldPaid £29.99 for a game I am locked out of and cannot play. Do not buy if you have previously purchased football manager games as you can easily get locked out. I have brought every installment of Championship manager then Football manager since its first edition. The problem is with the 2012 version is that is only playable through steam. On the previous edition you could either chose to use steam or not. If you used steam to initially play on the 2011 version then changed to non steam you have activated a steam account. When you go to load the new game it finds this old account but you cannot get into this account unless you can remeber 3 separte pieces of information you would have entered a year ago in trying to load football manager 2011. So basically the new 2012 football manager has been loaded to this old account I cannot get into and so cannot verify to a new account and so am locked out and unable to play. Really a frustrating erxperience from something whixh is surposed to be relaxing down time.. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    repetitive.boring. football manager 2011 all over again with a red theme. this is what i feel of fm 2012 till now. i had a lot of expectations with fm 12 after playing fm 11 for almost a year, but was hugely disappointed with the minimal changes they made with this new edition. If you are a die hard fan of football manager games and have played fm 2011 extensively, then i say stick with itrepetitive.boring. football manager 2011 all over again with a red theme. this is what i feel of fm 2012 till now. i had a lot of expectations with fm 12 after playing fm 11 for almost a year, but was hugely disappointed with the minimal changes they made with this new edition. If you are a die hard fan of football manager games and have played fm 2011 extensively, then i say stick with it as you won't find anything substantially good in this new edition. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2012
    2
    The humanity! I tried to get into this game, and have some fun with it, but I just couldn't. As a management simulation, this game just didn't work for me. From the menus, to the player skill sets, to the actual game simulations....nothing here was really fun or appealing to me at all. I should mention that I love the Baseball Mogul series, so it's not like I have a general dislike forThe humanity! I tried to get into this game, and have some fun with it, but I just couldn't. As a management simulation, this game just didn't work for me. From the menus, to the player skill sets, to the actual game simulations....nothing here was really fun or appealing to me at all. I should mention that I love the Baseball Mogul series, so it's not like I have a general dislike for sports manager games. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Jan 10, 2012
    81
    The season upgrade has a lot of minor tweaks but lacks important major changes. For example near post corner goal trick is still there and press meetings are still as boring as in real life. I would rather buy a DLC than a new game every year. [Jan 2012]
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    91
    A great 2011 edition needed only small improvements to become the best football manager game in 2012. A combination of great emotion and an incredible in depth management experience makes the Football Manager 2012 a must have for all soccer fans.
  3. Dec 9, 2011
    80
    Continuing improvements to the 3D match engine also help drag it kicking and screaming into the present, although it's still a long way short of FIFA Manager in that regard. But, frankly, sod that. The dogged purist in me prefers to see the match unfold via elaborate text commentary, rather than see the painful truth of my tactical inadequacies laid bare.