• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 1, 2012
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 208 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 208

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2014
    2
    This game is bad!!!Ive played the series since FM08, so i know how this game SHOULD work!Ive played FM2012 for years now and bought FM2013 and 2014 when they come out.FM2013 was so bad back than, i didnt played enough back than to review this **** .No FM2012 got some bugs cause it runs since it came out.Ive fought i give DM2013 a retry with the newest patch and 2014 isnt an option cause it suckz completely.FM 2012 was the best football related manager ever created in my opinion.The matchengine was a bit flawed here and there but all in all you could play with your own strategy and only the players you got are the limiting factor.In FM2013 the matchengine or the AI are the limiting factor.The players are unable to pass the ball around properly.Even the best players on this planet will screw up constantly.There are some improvements to 2012, true.The player can shield and stop the ball properly.In 2012 many ball where just cleared with a longshot to the center or your defenders produced throw-ins for you opponent.This is mostly gone.Instead SI screwed up EVERYTHING else.The passing is bad as i stated earlier.The crosses are soooo bad, the fly mostly out of the arena.And too much in the match is just random.There is no steady stream of passing, nearly no great plays.It boils down to overpowered winger and strangely goalkeepers.Sometimes a no-name GK will save EVERYTHING, even the hardest and best placed shots.But suddenly, he screws up when one of the bad crosses hits its target.Or your defenders are too passive when they play against a dribbler.Dribbler, they were too strong in 2014, now i see where this comes from.Ive played a halfe season in england and most of my goals where scorred by my wingers with dribbling.And most goals were not earned.I lost my best games 4:0 and won my worst games with 3 goals.This is random, sorry.Like i said, im not new to the series, im no noob.Ive won countless titles in every FM since FM08.But here?It never feels right.You win undeserved, this suckz.You lose undeserved, that suckz.This is part of real football, no question, but not like this and not constantly.Dont buy this game.Dont buy FM2014, its even worse.And pls, dont preorder FM2015.SI says **** you" to the consume since 2 years.Bad company. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Brilliant simply Brilliant... This game may have been the single reason that i failed my GCSE Business studies. I took me a good 8 months to get bored with this game. this game had me fall inlove with the franchise and i look back at it as the most addictive game i have ever played.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    By far the worst game by the FM series. don't recommend anyone to buy this. Horrible match engine! The training is also completely garbage in the same level of AI. Hope they realize this, I really don't understand a lot of the reviews of people talking good about this game. Not even deserve one star.
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    Having the previous Football Manager I find that it's really unnecessary to buy newer version since the changes are so minor and unnoticeable. However I still think that it's a great game, and if you lack a FM game then it's a good bet to buy it because of it's unbelievable complexity and strategy.
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    The best manager I've ever played a game. I can only write about good things that are good for innovation. Classes can bind to the machine off. I look forward to the next part.
  6. Aug 22, 2013
    7
    This has to be the game with the longest and steepest learning curve I have ever played.
    Even now halfway through the Dutch competition season I am searching online every day to fix problems with my team and my own performance as a manager. Whenever I think I have all the problems solved, another crisis appears on the horizon for which I need to find an answer to.
    But despite of making
    managing a daunting job, I find myself addicted to running game after game, increasing the capabilities of my team and getting results. Expand
  7. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    great upgrades in comparison with FM12 nice gameplay excellent 3D match engine transfers are more realistic .I saw some really infair critics that they ruin FM13 metascore.... dont buy it if you dont know how to play people
  8. Aug 10, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. worst football manager ever! bugs everywhere, you cant play multiplayer and when you are making meeting with your team they dosnt get bether moral even if they agree with you. and player 2 cant see the players 2. position. i bought many bad games but this is the worst because it has so many bugs that it destroys the game totaly!!!! i liked 2012 but this was a mistake from them and they dont fix anything! Expand
  9. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    I usually buy the newest Football Manager every year. This year it as always is better than the previous one AI is much better. Good 3D match. Really better than 2012.
  10. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    This is not as easy as previous parts,here we've got huge problems with the tactics.
    Even playing RM or PSG,MC it will be difficult to achieve your goals without primary tactic
    I used to play for Fiorentina,every single season I had to add something new in formation or i change the tactic at all.
    And FINANCE. Is that corruption in that game?money always waste from my budget(no debts,no
    transfer points). And it wasn't only Fiorentina's career
    But still it is a good game,I am a fan of it from FM 08, each year it gets more and more difficult.
    Expand
  11. Jul 13, 2013
    2
    Haven't played football manager games since 2000 and before that it was all those fun DOS based FM games... After a long break, I decided to get this. And I was disappointed. I could write a long list of what sucks and what feels out of place and so on.. but to save time (yours and mine) I'll just summarize this in one phrase: "It's
  12. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Football Manager 2011+12 was really easy.. 2013 is more challenging, and really improved, 10/10,
    My most played game on steam.

    The new training system is great and easy to work with.
    The gameplay is wonderful.
    The sound.. meh, they could make the fans more realistic (example: Lords of Football) but it's okay..
    The graphics are really improved from FM12.

    Fantastic game, 10 out of 10.
    Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2013
    0
    Save your money. The match engine is bogus and its like playing a random number generator. Anything you do really doesn't seem to make a difference. Wait for 1-2 years until they fix the match engine.
  14. Jun 20, 2013
    0
    Terrible Match Engine. Prone of Mistakes is Unforgiven, Horrible.
    FM12 is Better than this.
    Where's the detailed of training schedule?
    Where's the Match Engine in FM12?
  15. May 27, 2013
    2
    It's just not football... and that's the problem really. While there's no doubting the addictive quality of FM does that mean a good game? Not really and while the game is packed with content, gameplay wise it's very poor.

    If you're a serious football fan you'll find the tactical system terribly disappointing. You have a very basic tactics board one shape, for attacking and defending
    and then a bunch of numberless sliders that are supposed to represent tactical instructions, hardly realistic or intuitive. The mentality slider, for example, (easily the most important) governs a players positioning on the pitch, on attack and defense but also affects how he passes the ball. As you might imagine it's almost impossible to recreate realistic tactics and anyone who knows a bit about football and the various systems that influence the game will feel horribly let down.

    The developers have been pushing the same old engine and system each year, adding enough gloss to pass as "user friendly features" so unsurprisingly the gameplay never seems to improve. The game's training system is equally as ludricous, drag yet more sliders up and down to apparently represent a professional club's training regime. The game is a bit of a joke to be honest but it has a rabid and zealous fanbase who put lots of hours into providing free content which is really well made and they're all completely addicted which may explain why the game gets generally favourable reviews from the media but they're not to be trusted. I know football and I've played this game in-depth. Please don't waste your money.

    It's a shame really but unfortunately there just isn't a decent football management sim out there. If there were developers out there ambitious enough to have a go they could easily knock SI games off their perch but they should at the very least study football, see how the tactics and training methods work and then try to recreate that in a simple, fun manner something S.I. games fail miserably at.
    Expand
  16. May 21, 2013
    10
    Who ever reads this you have to understand two things about me. 1: I have spent, many many many meticulous hours on this game and all of the other football managers. In fact clocking up 1000's of hours on each FM series. 2: I am a qualified football coach, with a FA coaching level 2. From what experience I have managing football, I have to say that this game is the closest thing you'll get to managing a team. Yes, there are a few things that need slightly improving but I believe that this game is the closest footballing experience you can ever possibly have without doing the real thing. The game is absolutely endless, the vastness and depth that they add to every year is beyond anything I've ever seen in gaming or indeed simulation. The game wont win awards for graphics or sound or game play, but it will win awards for being an absolutely incredible experience. Play this game, no matter who you are your interest and knowledge of football will increase because of it and you'll see football in general in a different light. You just know that this series will keep getting better and better. 10/10 from me. Expand
  17. May 20, 2013
    9
    football manager 2013 is awesome the best yet dont now what people are hating on this game for wake up if u dont like dont play it simples it piss me of when people slag of a game ill like to see u do better
  18. May 9, 2013
    0
    I don't know how people are giving positive feedbacks for this game. FM2013 is the worst FM series that's been out so far. I have been playing this game since 2009 and i cant believe they messed up so hard this year. 3D engine looks like players are playing soccer on ice. 2012 was soooooo good and how can you guys ruin like this??? Don't purchase this piece of and stick with your FM2012 or wait for FM2014. Additionaly, FM2012 is the best. Expand
  19. Apr 22, 2013
    3
    prefer Fm 2012 fm 2013 * LOw Quality of game(during the game the player working like in NCL very POOr! * irreal velocity * good for training * booring for the irreal price the conclusion is if that fm 2012 is a game of 5 stars fm 2013 is a game of 2 is not good for the price of this year please working hard for the next! veramente una delusione .....vedere pattinare sul ghiaccio i giocatori e' irritante...come tutta la grafica. Expand
  20. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    Rubbish game don't really get to do much on it except manage what players and subs and transfers and that is about it. There is not really any other features and the layout is not very good. I would reccomend fifa manager 13
  21. Apr 7, 2013
    5
    Senza dubbio il più dettagliato ed approfondito simulatore di calcio, e può vantare uno straordinario database in termini di dimensioni e dati disponibili. Preferirei che il prodotto fosse proposto per quello che realmente rappresenta, e cioè un aggiornamento dell'edizione precedente con conseguente adeguamento del prezzo.
  22. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    Been playing FM-series for many years now, but this is just horrible. I'm paying players millions a year, but they're making mistakes I can see junior players never make. The mistakes made by the players are so horrible that I've been pulling out half of my hair, and I'm only halfway through my second season! The game just seem broken and half done. Refund please.
  23. Mar 30, 2013
    2
    This game has been a disappointing mess from day one. From it's initial release as a beta masquerading as finished product to the recent update which just broke more things. One shouldn't have to buy unfinished products, and be forced to wait to have it patched into playability, only to have the broken parts of the code shifted to a new place with every patch. THIS GAME IS BROKEN. DO NOT BUY IT.
  24. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    Very complex, yet very addictive single player. You can manage in almost every league on the world, from Premiership to Sudan Premier League. Find best youngsters and develop them to make them successors of current generation. Prepare to be mad a lot when your top striker will get injured on training, or you'll lose a goal in 94th minute of playoff game, but be overjoyed when it'll be your team scoring winner in stoppage time, or when you'll be drawn to weakest group in Champions League. Multiplayer adds way more emotions when human players play against each other. Expand
  25. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    This game humbled me. The sheer depth to this game is truly remarkable. From managing a league down to choosing which foot a player should use or not use. Seriously. The devs managed to capture every single aspect to managing a football team. Yet, the actual matches are fast and fun and aren't burdened by all the management details. Just an all-around fun game. If you have any interest in football or want to learn plus have fun, this is your game. Expand
  26. Mar 6, 2013
    1
    Graphics a little juvenile but seems ok. I didn't like that you can buy cheats. This cheapened the game. It also bothered me with the level the game developer goes to "get in" to my computer to display stats of the battery and processor usage and posts it on the game display. I thought this was unnecessary and redundant, since my PC already provides this information. I think its arrogant and I prefer you STAY OUT OF MY COMPUTER!! Getting started just to "look under the hood" requires an hour of game setup and way too tedious. Not the best "Soccer" version. Expand
  27. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Really better than 2012, The gameplay is way more modern and it fills the gap that led the predecessors to unconsistency. I really liked all the new features of the game, that to me give a really better managing experience.
  28. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    I blew 232 hours on this bad boy after about a month and a half. If I can spend that much time absorbed in a game, it has to be top quality, it is. One thing, you need to go to various fan sites to download decent skins, logos, faces, and various misc stuff to make it look good. Out of the box, it's not ready.
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    0
    Wow, the match engine feels terrible, really really bad. I'm pretty sure the last game wasn't like this. The matches now just doesn't feel real anymore, the AI seems to have taken a turn for the dumb. No more marking (or 5 players all running towards the ball, leaving everyone else open), if someone over runs a ball they don't seem to tackle, everyone shooting from miles away, crazy!
  30. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    I am so disappointed with this last version. Classic mode?!? Yes I was looking for it. I am playing this game and the predecessors at least since 2001 now I think, and clearly I have no more time to spend sleepless nights on it. So I bought it just to try the classic mode and see if I still can have fun with this game spending considerably less time on it. As I tried the FMH 2012 and it was a positive try, I was really motivated with this one, but here the classic mode in FM 2013 sucks... Simply cannot go anywhere and cannot do or achieve anything, and if you want to do so, you have to pay for some cheats. What the... FM is becoming a World of FM... I think this was my last FM. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 82
    Developer SI has delivered the best manager in several aspects of gameplay, introducing new elements, while simultaneously reinstating some classic, loved features from the past. [December 2012]
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    80
    The depth and scope of Football Manager 2013 are impressive. I only wish that the developers hadn't taken the 2-in-1 approach where they bundled a traditional version that is in need of polish, with a simplified Football Manager Classic aimed solely at new players. Pleasing old fans while bringing in fresh blood is a very risky balancing act. Sports Interactive should think about where to focus their efforts.
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    When you strip away the fluff of the career mode it's one of the deepest, most addictive games around. [Feb 2013, p.67]