• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Football Manager 2013 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Football Manager 2013 brings 900-plus new and enhanced features to the Football Manager series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    100
    Football Manager 13 is the most in-depth, detailed and complex football management simulator ever made. But I must admit, I've bitten my tongue as I've written about most of these new features. The last thing I personally wanted was a new set of variables to worry about as I play the game, and for even more hours to have to be invested just to get through a season.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    Football Manager 2013 is the best Football Manager released at this stage in many ways. New modes arrive just in time to renew interest in the game (with the Challenges) and give an easier access to it for the newcomers (with the Classic mode). GUI improved a lot, every information you need is at your disposal. Forget about playing with the 3D engine by the way : it hasn't evolved since last year, unlike training sessions, which are simpler and more logical to organize. FM has never been so deep, so real and each decision you make will have an impact on your manager.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    Sports Interactive wins again. Football Manager 2013 renew itself with all-new "Classic" mode to satisfy all type of players. Challenge mode are another great addition.
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    Looking critically at the game, its developers probably realized that you can sometimes go too far in your quest for perfection. The result is a mode that brings the franchise back to the essence of a manager game. Football Manager 2013 is all about tweaking your players and humiliating your opponents tactically, and we're loving it.
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    88
    Some subtle tweaks make this the most polished, accessible entry in the Football Manager series in years.
  6. 82
    Developer SI has delivered the best manager in several aspects of gameplay, introducing new elements, while simultaneously reinstating some classic, loved features from the past. [December 2012]
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    60
    Football Manager, enjoyable as it still remains for the most part, is beginning to enter the Heskey years of its existence: it still does its job more effectively than any other striker on the market, but the tired formula is beginning to show.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 47
  2. Negative: 18 out of 47
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    I bought this game wondering how they could improve an already stellar experience, but they managed it. The AI of the players when watching the 3D match engine for me is the best improvment. It really feels like a proper game of football.
    Adding the FM Classic mode, whilst I prefer the standard game, is a nice addition to the series. Not everyone has the time or patience to play the full game, so a scaled down version will suit a lot of people. I would like to add aswell that the "micro transactions" only apply to this mode. People moaning about this need to realise that the main game is NOT affected by this addition. I personally don't see this an an issue, it's not hard to find a downloadable data editor which many people use anyway so if people want to cheat, then they will. Micro transactions are the future of gaming whether we like them or not, so it doesn't surprise or bother me that they're included. The simple thing to do if you don't like the idea of paying them is...Not to pay them. Simple.
    Collapse
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    great upgrades in comparison with FM12 nice gameplay excellent 3D match engine transfers are more realistic .I saw some really infair critics that they ruin FM13 metascore.... dont buy it if you dont know how to play people Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    9
    football manager 2013 is awesome the best yet dont now what people are hating on this game for wake up if u dont like dont play it simples it piss me of when people slag of a game ill like to see u do better Expand
  4. Apr 10, 2013
    6
    La última entrega de la saga desarrollada por Sports Interctive llega al mercado verde y muy lejos de las expectativas de sus numeroso fans

    La última entrega de FOOTBALL MANAGER ha llegado al mercado cargada de promesas. “Más grande, mejor y más realista”, según Sports Interactive, que para esta edición ha añadido dos nuevos modos de juego: Clásico y Desafío.

    También el motor de partidos 3D se ha mejorado para añadir realismo al juego, han aparecido nuevas funciones para gestionar el personal de los clubes, se ha mejorado la interacción con los medios de comunicación, el juego en red o las clasificaciones mundiales.

    http://www.elgamer.es/football-manager-2013-analisis/
    Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2013
    5
    I am so disappointed with this last version. Classic mode?!? Yes I was looking for it. I am playing this game and the predecessors at least since 2001 now I think, and clearly I have no more time to spend sleepless nights on it. So I bought it just to try the classic mode and see if I still can have fun with this game spending considerably less time on it. As I tried the FMH 2012 and it was a positive try, I was really motivated with this one, but here the classic mode in FM 2013 sucks... Simply cannot go anywhere and cannot do or achieve anything, and if you want to do so, you have to pay for some cheats. What the... FM is becoming a World of FM... I think this was my last FM. Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    2
    Just a terrible training mode ruining the possibility of developing your players in a away you want to do it. Match in 3D view looks only a bit better than in FM 2012 but...poor match engine is the second and probably the biggest weakness of this edition, even if they will fix it completely in 999 patch i still won't play it because of messed up training. I bought few weeks ago and i've already sold it for 70% of it price, still a very good deal for anyone who paid SI full price for FM2013 :] Expand
  7. Apr 14, 2013
    0
    Rubbish game don't really get to do much on it except manage what players and subs and transfers and that is about it. There is not really any other features and the layout is not very good. I would reccomend fifa manager 13 Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.