• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Football Manager 2013 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Football Manager 2013 brings 900-plus new and enhanced features to the Football Manager series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    100
    Football Manager 13 is the most in-depth, detailed and complex football management simulator ever made. But I must admit, I've bitten my tongue as I've written about most of these new features. The last thing I personally wanted was a new set of variables to worry about as I play the game, and for even more hours to have to be invested just to get through a season.
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    Football Manager 2013 is the best Football Manager released at this stage in many ways. New modes arrive just in time to renew interest in the game (with the Challenges) and give an easier access to it for the newcomers (with the Classic mode). GUI improved a lot, every information you need is at your disposal. Forget about playing with the 3D engine by the way : it hasn't evolved since last year, unlike training sessions, which are simpler and more logical to organize. FM has never been so deep, so real and each decision you make will have an impact on your manager.
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    90
    Sports Interactive wins again. Football Manager 2013 renew itself with all-new "Classic" mode to satisfy all type of players. Challenge mode are another great addition.
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    Looking critically at the game, its developers probably realized that you can sometimes go too far in your quest for perfection. The result is a mode that brings the franchise back to the essence of a manager game. Football Manager 2013 is all about tweaking your players and humiliating your opponents tactically, and we're loving it.
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    88
    Some subtle tweaks make this the most polished, accessible entry in the Football Manager series in years.
  6. 82
    Developer SI has delivered the best manager in several aspects of gameplay, introducing new elements, while simultaneously reinstating some classic, loved features from the past. [December 2012]
  7. Oct 29, 2012
    60
    Football Manager, enjoyable as it still remains for the most part, is beginning to enter the Heskey years of its existence: it still does its job more effectively than any other striker on the market, but the tired formula is beginning to show.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 47
  2. Negative: 19 out of 47
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    I bought this game wondering how they could improve an already stellar experience, but they managed it. The AI of the players when watchingI bought this game wondering how they could improve an already stellar experience, but they managed it. The AI of the players when watching the 3D match engine for me is the best improvment. It really feels like a proper game of football.
    Adding the FM Classic mode, whilst I prefer the standard game, is a nice addition to the series. Not everyone has the time or patience to play the full game, so a scaled down version will suit a lot of people. I would like to add aswell that the "micro transactions" only apply to this mode. People moaning about this need to realise that the main game is NOT affected by this addition. I personally don't see this an an issue, it's not hard to find a downloadable data editor which many people use anyway so if people want to cheat, then they will. Micro transactions are the future of gaming whether we like them or not, so it doesn't surprise or bother me that they're included. The simple thing to do if you don't like the idea of paying them is...Not to pay them. Simple.
    Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    great upgrades in comparison with FM12 nice gameplay excellent 3D match engine transfers are more realistic .I saw some really infairgreat upgrades in comparison with FM12 nice gameplay excellent 3D match engine transfers are more realistic .I saw some really infair critics that they ruin FM13 metascore.... dont buy it if you dont know how to play people Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    9
    football manager 2013 is awesome the best yet dont now what people are hating on this game for wake up if u dont like dont play it simples itfootball manager 2013 is awesome the best yet dont now what people are hating on this game for wake up if u dont like dont play it simples it piss me of when people slag of a game ill like to see u do better Collapse
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    Well were to start, always been a big fan of FM but this years there are problems.
    Im just not enjoying as much as I thought I would of, I
    Well were to start, always been a big fan of FM but this years there are problems.
    Im just not enjoying as much as I thought I would of, I bought the game for not only single player but to play online with friends, Online mode is really buggy and slow when you play matches but its fine when your host. Now I done research on this and its happening to a lot of people where you play a game online and it takes around 10mins to complete a match and that's on full speed commentary only, So for me that's 1 thing that's messed it up for me because I was really looking forward to starting a league but really impossible due to the length of the games, it needs to be sorted out
    Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    I didn't play the full game, only played the demo and think that was a good decision. I was really anxious to see the improvements SI hadI didn't play the full game, only played the demo and think that was a good decision. I was really anxious to see the improvements SI had promised because FM 2012 needed some.
    When I saw it at Steam with a not so cheap price, still wanted to buy it because it's my favourite game.
    And as a fan, I'm deeply disappointed to see:

    - The match engine became even worse;
    - The "improvements" in the graphics field, only caused some features to disappear and others to be hidden in places you take hours to find;
    - The AI teams continue to be favourites for any transfer, regardless if you play with Barcelona or a Brazilian Fourth Division team. Doesn't matter the salary or budgets paid, in 90% of the transfers the AI challenges you, they'll win.
    - During the matches, the same problems with FM 2012 continue to make us want to give up of the series. Your players almost NEVER get a shoot on target, even with players having full attributes. While the AI teams with players having awful attributes, make one goal with every shoot form distance, regardless who is your keeper.

    Resuming: I won't pay that much to play the same FM 2012 with a new decoration. If you're a fan and still didn't play it, don't buy the game,try the demo and see by yourself if you want to pay to play that thing.
    Sorry for my English, I did my better.
    Expand
  6. May 27, 2013
    2
    It's just not football... and that's the problem really. While there's no doubting the addictive quality of FM does that mean a good game? NotIt's just not football... and that's the problem really. While there's no doubting the addictive quality of FM does that mean a good game? Not really and while the game is packed with content, gameplay wise it's very poor.

    If you're a serious football fan you'll find the tactical system terribly disappointing. You have a very basic tactics board one shape, for attacking and defending and then a bunch of numberless sliders that are supposed to represent tactical instructions, hardly realistic or intuitive. The mentality slider, for example, (easily the most important) governs a players positioning on the pitch, on attack and defense but also affects how he passes the ball. As you might imagine it's almost impossible to recreate realistic tactics and anyone who knows a bit about football and the various systems that influence the game will feel horribly let down.

    The developers have been pushing the same old engine and system each year, adding enough gloss to pass as "user friendly features" so unsurprisingly the gameplay never seems to improve. The game's training system is equally as ludricous, drag yet more sliders up and down to apparently represent a professional club's training regime. The game is a bit of a joke to be honest but it has a rabid and zealous fanbase who put lots of hours into providing free content which is really well made and they're all completely addicted which may explain why the game gets generally favourable reviews from the media but they're not to be trusted. I know football and I've played this game in-depth. Please don't waste your money.

    It's a shame really but unfortunately there just isn't a decent football management sim out there. If there were developers out there ambitious enough to have a go they could easily knock SI games off their perch but they should at the very least study football, see how the tactics and training methods work and then try to recreate that in a simple, fun manner something S.I. games fail miserably at.
    Expand
  7. May 9, 2013
    0
    I don't know how people are giving positive feedbacks for this game. FM2013 is the worst FM series that's been out so far. I have beenI don't know how people are giving positive feedbacks for this game. FM2013 is the worst FM series that's been out so far. I have been playing this game since 2009 and i cant believe they messed up so hard this year. 3D engine looks like players are playing soccer on ice. 2012 was soooooo good and how can you guys ruin like this??? Don't purchase this piece of and stick with your FM2012 or wait for FM2014. Additionaly, FM2012 is the best. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.