• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2013
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    SI Games confirms and enhances the extraordinary work done last year, making Football Manager 2014 the almost-perfect game for all the Ferguson wannabes out there. And if they keep making this game so good, in a couple of years we will have to raise our top review score to 11.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    93
    If you like what lies beyond every match, Football Manager 2014 is the only option you should consider.
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    90
    Whether you are looking for a coaching career or a simply deep experience as a manager with no frills, the latest incarnation of the series created by Sports Interactive will meet once again to your need.
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    Sports Interactive made the hardest job in football better than ever. [Issue#142, p.120]
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    Football Manager 2014 finds improvements in its details. That makes it the best, most expansive and mostly most accessible football management simulation ever, without sacrificing its depth.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    90
    Sports Interactive continues to push the boundaries. On the surface this is just a collection of visually enhanced excel sheets, but under the numbers and tables you find a lot of personality. This is a gem from soccer crazies for soccer crazies.
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    90
    With every new addition to the franchise Sports Interactive achieves new heights of realism and addiction. This is the definitive Football Manager.
  8. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    That FM continues to build an enormous, cogent world out of a crazy, crazy sport continues to be a marvel. The romanticism of being able to mould a club to your own desires is the fuel of its appeal. And now, with its focus on the people that fill these clubs, this year it is its heart that impresses most.
  9. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    Football Manager 2014 might not seem to do anything new at a glance, but nothing could be farther from the truth. It has many big and small improvements, that make the manager-experience better and more interesting than in previous installments. This will keep you busy for tens of hours, guaranteed.
  10. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    The new Football Manager 2014 has been renewed, thanks to a more immediate design, the inclusion of new options, management tactics and game dynamics. The significantly improved graphics engine completes this year's package.
  11. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    Football Manager 2014 comes with hundreds of new features, related to all the aspects of a game that each year makes its players feel more and more like a Special One.
  12. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    I am immensely happy that I can take everything I have learnt and plug it into a simulator over the summer whilst I’m travelling around Brazil watching the World Cup. It’s simple and strips out a lot of what I’ve done and utilised this year but the raw challenge is there - to win something and develop the team.
  13. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    A top game and the best of its kind. It suits all comers, and is the most complete management sim yet.
  14. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    The full game is for those with actual dreams (faded or otherwise) of being a football manager, while Classic mode is aimed at those with a more active social life and a desire for instant gratification. Whereas last year's game was the beginning of this dual-focus outlook, this season it feels fully realised thanks to the further depth and complexity added to the core experience.
  15. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    FM 2014 allows you to do more in less time, but it doesn't mean you won't spend as many hours as you do every year playing the game. Whether you're desperately trying to avoid relegation or win that all-important cup final, this year's entry will once again keep you invested for a long time.
  16. Oct 27, 2013
    90
    Football Manager is growing every year, and this edition won't be an exception. The game focuses on finding an interaction increasingly realistic and it extends that to our dealings with the club Directive... although the match engine is still not at the level of the rest of the game and interaction with the players on the field is very far from the interaction outside it. A game mandatory for all football lovers who really want to test their knowledge of the sport. Seems very simple when discussing at the pub.
  17. Dec 25, 2013
    88
    It's a deep game focused on keeping kickball obsessives happy - and succeeds at doing just that. [Jan 2014, p.82]
  18. Nov 19, 2013
    87
    Deep, exciting and, for the first time, as human as real football, Football Manager 2014 has hit the back of the net.
  19. Dec 13, 2013
    85
    FM 2014 unnecessarily tries to be two games in one. Instead of investing in the intentionally limited Classic mode, the developer should work on increasing the role of the assistants in the primary mode. Changes in the tactics system are sensible, but would be more valuable if the game did a better job at explaining what all the options mean and what the consequences of using them are. [13/2013, p.50]
  20. Nov 4, 2013
    85
    An excellent management simulator - and not much else.
  21. Nov 4, 2013
    85
    Football Manager 2014 says goodbye to the slide bars and toggles for the tactics, and says hello to a more streamlined experience. Is it worse? It depends on the player.
  22. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Football Manager 2014 - for fans of the series and lovers of a more strategic version of football - is a truly great and unparalleled game. Attention to detail, representation of various mechanics and a very high satisfaction rate deserve the highest praise. On the other hand, this year's edition brings surprisingly little novelties and innovations. Still - FM enthusiasts will definitely love this game.
  23. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Really, it's amazing again. Football Manager 2013 was already nearly perfect, but this one seems to be perfect and more realistic. Although there's the fear of getting too realistic; making the game less fun. That's a warming for next year, because this year it's luckily still alright.
  24. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    Sports Interactive has taken a long look at their primary tactical setup and made changes to make it more relatable to their audience and also more analogous to the influence that real-life managers are able to exert. As long as they keep pulling tricks like this, Football Manager is a series that will remain evergreen.
  25. May 11, 2014
    84
    Football Manager 2014 feels more like a lifestyle than a game. I just doubt thee need of yearly iterations in the era of DLCs. [Feb 2014]
  26. Nov 27, 2013
    80
    FM2014 is a refined, tactically-rich game which gives you countless tools to play with in an infinite sporting sandbox.
  27. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    Very little of what Football Manager 2014 adds to the series is radically new. Aside from the simplified tactics system, most changes are small, refining the user experience rather than dramatically changing the way you play. That said, these minor changes are impressively numerous and universally welcome, and they come together to make this the best, most addictive (only) management simulation available.
  28. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    What Football Manager needs to do as a franchise is make it much more approachable to new players.
  29. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    Overall, then, FM2014 is a quality product; an enjoyable entry point into the series for new players and customisable enough for series veterans to add or remove the features they want to make the best experience for them.
  30. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    The franchise continues with its yearly release and though the innovations are few and far between Football Manager 2014 is still as enjoyable as it has ever been. The undisputed king of manager games sits comfortably on its throne.
  31. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    On face value there are fewer drastic improvements, but many gentle refinements to the UI and subtle additions to its newer formulas mean that Football Manager 2014 improves solidly where it counts.
  32. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    The changes to the tactics system are likely to prove controversial but this is undeniably the most accessible and realistic Football Manager ever made.
  33. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    Another year's volume, another Football Manager, another hundreds of hours of the virtual football game throughout the mouse-clicking. There are no strong novelties this year. It's more about cosmetic changes and debugging the two main game modes. For fans of the series this is a traditional must. For the others this is a chance to hop into the long-established series of intoxicating football madness with improved Classic mode.
  34. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    Football Manager 2014 will not bring any great addition as was the mode Classics last year, but a refining to the way we interact with various elements of the game, with special emphasis on tactics and interface. It continues as the deepest, more complex and detailed football coach simulator around, and a “guaranteed addiction” for the entire year.
  35. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    As usual with the Football Manager series, we know where we put our money in. Partly to reward the tremendous work of a team that knows and loves football, who seek the opinions of experts to recreate the best of everything that makes the salt of football/soccer.
  36. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Sports Interactive tried to change the philosophy beneath Football Manager, but it doesn't work as we expected. The new tactics editor simplifies the game in many ways, and we are not sure it is the feature hardcore gamers were waiting for, considering that Classic Mode already exists.
  37. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    A fun and life-absorbing game, yes, but a fickle one. In so many ways, it's like the real thing.
  38. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Football Manager 2014 is as much about removing the restrictions of past installments as it is about introducing new content.
  39. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    While FM14 feels in many ways like a standard release, the subtle changes to philosophy beneath the hood feel like a corner being turned - an acceptance, perhaps, that sometimes for a complex simulation to remain captivating, parts of it must be made simpler.
  40. Oct 28, 2013
    77
    Much like inspecting the evolution of Rooney’s fascinating mop, you’ll need a magnifying glass to identify the follicles of change that make a real difference to the Football Manager experience.
  41. Nov 6, 2013
    60
    The Football Manager formula is as complex and addictive as ever, but a compulsion to keep playing shouldn’t be mistaken for revelatory advances. 2014 is a marginal improvement for the series, but retains several of its shortcomings.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 86
  2. Negative: 58 out of 86
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    3
    Ive changed my mind once again, this game, despite the latest patch is an absolute trainwreck. FM13 is more polished than this. The mostIve changed my mind once again, this game, despite the latest patch is an absolute trainwreck. FM13 is more polished than this. The most stupidest occurs. Right now I cant give my players new contracts cause my board thinks we have spent enough, not realizing that this is not a new signing but 20 existing players which contracts ending in 3 months.... Our economy is fine and the salary cap has not been reached. f***ing horror.

    Here comes my earlier (second) review.
    "Despite my earlier review, I have played FM14 for a number of hours now. I've decided to raise my score to a 5, but unfortunately, I don't think FM14 will reach any higher. Its not because its a bad game by any means, its because its the same game as 2013. Some things are better, like match engine (offensive) and the loading speeds but others are actually worse, like simple language translations, defending, removal of sliders and fancy animations that doesn't make any sense. Sadly, most things behind the scenes remain unchanged. No money for assistants, reputation doesn't scale properly with team success and of course the graphics and sounds (worse) that stays relatively unchanged year after year.

    Is it a good game? I guess it is. Is it worth the price tag? definitely not. This looks and feels more like a $15 DLC package than a full priced game. Can you imagine a team spent a whole year on this?! I cant, all I see is a handful of people pressing a few buttons every year and then laugh all the way to the bank. Its gone 2 weeks and they haven't even released an update fixing some of the obvious bugs that people are having (they are to busy sipping tequilas I guess). Don't buy this game, teach sigames a lesson. If you want updated player transfers, go to sortitoutsi and get it for FM13 instead."
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    Im still trying to understand all this people and magazines with a good review about this fm 2014. They clearly didnt see the beta version ofIm still trying to understand all this people and magazines with a good review about this fm 2014. They clearly didnt see the beta version of this year or played fm 2013. Was the huggest c**p I ever see of the series, the match eng is even worse(I dont know how they did this), is unbeliveble. Congrats SI Games for another bad year, need to be blind or complete stupid to give a good review about this game Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    4
    To begin, I have been playing this series since the Championship manager days back in the 90’s, and have to admit, won’t be playing them forTo begin, I have been playing this series since the Championship manager days back in the 90’s, and have to admit, won’t be playing them for much longer, and have even uninstalled this one.
    The game is sleek and polished, with greater match day graphics, but unfortunately it ends there.
    Firstly, I am sick and tired of watching another game end up with me having far more shots on goal than the opposition, just to see another drawn/lost game result.
    Granted, this happens from time to time in reality, but here, the regularity of its occurrence is plain ridiculous. I clocked it happening in over 100 hours of play occurring over 40% of the time, even with the new patch installed too.
    Especially when I know that my players have greater finishing/composure than the opposition, it leaves you feeling like why bother trying to get that striker with 17 finishing and 15 composure, when the opposition player with finishing of 11 and composure of 10 scores more throughout a season anyway?

    And this leads me on to my biggest gripe with the series, and that is the unlinked stats. What I mean by that is this; Doncaster in the Championship had a player (Salvatore Foti, aged 27) valued at £275,000 at the beginning of the season, with finished rating of 10, composure of 11 (Who needs Suarez?). At the end of the season, he had scored 32 goals, with an average of 7.34. By and large then he was a roaring success, but how much did his value increase? And how many teams were queuing up to buy him? Well, his value increased to a whopping £425,000, with NO-ONE interested. Not a single club. Also, his finishing/composure rating hadn’t moved either.
    This happens time and time and time again in the FM world too. I noted another player who I had been eyeing up finish the season with a dribbles per game score of 8.48, yet his value barely moved at all, and his dribbling stat didn’t increase either. Again, no other manager thought it prudent to take a look at him either.
    This just makes the game feel devoid of any true realism.
    Added to this lack of realism is the appalling transfer system, which lets the game down terribly. There is just no sense of holding onto your best player in the face of prolonged scouting, snooping and/or newspaper speculation, neither do you feel like you have just pinched a certain player from under the noses of one of your bidding rivals either.
    The free transfer list is comical too, with yourself the one who buys up these players. Imagine you are the aforementioned Doncaster (again!), and are bottom of the championship, with a tight wage budget, and a team that cannot create chances. You find a certain 33 year old David Dunn on the free transfer list, with a creativity rating of 18, and passing of 15. Granted he’s old with poor stamina, but would you not take a gamble, and risk him on a short term contract?
    I was able to get the former Ballon d’or winner Kaka, aged 32, at Wolves in the championship on £17,500 a week for Pete’s sake, with not a single team interested. Why not, especially on that wage?
    There is just no feel of competing for players at all, players you know would have at least half a dozen teams clamouring for their signature, if not more.
    And the free list is chock a block with players like this, whether it be an aging but solid defender, a midfielder with teamwork and work rate stats above 18, or a nippy winger with impressive speed stats.

    And talking of stats, why has ‘experience’ never been included? It would make buying those aging stars more appropriate, especially if you managed to get someone who had over 10 years of champion’s league experience for instance, at your lowly Championship club.

    And I have never, in all the years of playing this game, EVER come across a transfer that made me think WOW!! And this game continues that trend.
    You know the type, Man City attempting to buy Messi or Ronaldo for £90+ million, Man U trying to bring Bale back home, or Chelsea attempting to buy Rooney. Here, in this world, this just does not happen. And in all of the years playing it, it never has.
    As I mentioned, it leaves the whole transfer system feeling sterile and cold, with no realism whatsoever attached to it.
    And to finish, the match engine is plain pathetic.
    I have lost count of the amount of times I have asked my defenders to close/man mark the opposition, only to see another lofted cross end up in the net from a striker who had been left alone in the box, with my defenders not even challenging. Or midfielders who I have asked to harry and close down the opposition, yet allow a player to waft past them like they were swans on a lake, unopposed.

    This game may be great for newbs, who will love becoming lost in the world of stats, but if you have played it for more than a few years, then the glaring inadequacies will surface very quickly here.

    Poor effort, yet maximum frustration
    Full Review »