• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jan 23, 2009
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. FML however is a game that will reward you for every minute you spend on it and in the end is a fantastically well done game.
  2. According to my manager stats, I've spent approximately 35 per cent of my life (since my team was created) logged into FM Live. Either I've got nothing better in my life to be getting on with or FM Live is the greatest football management game ever created.
  3. Football Manager Live is a wonderful and addictive game and a must have for any armchair manager. The depth of the gameplay is still unrivaled and any little niggles and annoyances the game contains are small fry compared to the successes the game has achieved.
  4. Games Master UK
    90
    A brilliant revolutionary football management game. [Mar 2009, p.69]
  5. Football Manager Live is the perfect evolution of Sports Interactive's most popular brand. As with any other title playable online it requires time to have interesting results but what it gives back is the perfect multiplayer experience if you want to manage your own football team.
  6. It has taken a while to arrive, but Football Manager Live has delivered not only an excellent online management experience, but an excellent online FOOTBALL MANAGER experience, remaining loyal to previous games while catering for the massively multiplayer market, which as anyone who has ever lost a job/wife/life to them will agree with, is a very, very good thing indeed.
  7. AceGamez
    90
    I can see what SI Games and SEGA have set out to achieve with Football Manager Live and while it doesn't quite line up with the idealistic images that I had in my head when dreaming of a football management sim that could be played online, it has come up with a really impressive massive multiplayer debut.
  8. Whether there's enough here to maintain longevity is yet to be seen, but for the time being we finally have a Football Manager-game that can be enjoyed against other people and in short bursts, a game that's subtly addictive but never life sapping.
  9. PC Zone UK
    85
    Vast database. [Apr 2009, p.62]
  10. 82
    Whether there’s enough here to maintain longevity is yet to be seen, but for the time being we finally have a Football Manager game that can be enjoyed against other people and in short bursts, a game that’s subtly addictive but never life sapping.
  11. The brand Football Manager takes a step forward in the MMOG Era. Compelling gameplay mechanics will keep soccer fans glued to their PCs. The interface and the 2D graphics might be a drawback for FIFA and PES fans, but if you like the managerial aspect of soccer, this is your game.
  12. 82
    A couple of managers I competed against admitted they were addicted, yet none had a problem with this particular addiction. As for me, I think one of the most interesting things about FML is the thought of where Sports Interactive will take the concept next.
  13. Sports Interactive has massive experience in creating single-player management games, but this is the developer's first stab at an MMO - and for the most part, it's a genuine success. While it never quite scales the heady heights of the single-player games, it's still an experience that every Football Manager fan should try, while budding managers intimidated by the demands of Football Manager 2009 are likely to find this a much more enjoyable and accessible entry point to the world of management.
  14. Accessible and addictive mass management entertainment, if a little ugly and ungainly.
  15. Ultimately this is a very different game to the offline versions but on its own terms almost as entertaining.
  16. After years of solitude, the world's most addictive management game goes multiplayer with great results.
  17. Football Manager Live is a curious, audacious shot of adrenaline into a series that was bordering on stagnation.
  18. Football Manager Live is the Valhalla for every football manager. And after all those years it's finally possible to let your customized team compete against human players. Without ever ruining the gameplay they made the series famous. However, the fun comes with a price. Literally. But even with a high price tag the game remains the best in its genre.
  19. PC Format
    79
    A fantastic concept struggling against the weight of realism, and a community that can be frustratingly silent. [Mar 2009, p.99]
  20. PC Gamer UK
    79
    There's nothing else like it out there - only the original "Football Manager" series gets close. [Apr 2009, p.65]
  21. It looks like a chartered accountant but it's a real revolutionary, because it starts the online age for manager games. You're not managing an existing club, but one you create from scratch. Then you choose an association that fits your style of play, e.g. the Casual Weekend Association. The games are shown on 2D maps, so all you see is few circles running after the ball. Despite the meager presentation FM Live manages to be an entertaining game, even if you only play a few minutes a day.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 45
  2. Negative: 31 out of 45
  1. RussellW.
    Sep 28, 2009
    8
    Immersing, frustrating, addictive did I mention frustrating but still the best football management game out there. The game is continually Immersing, frustrating, addictive did I mention frustrating but still the best football management game out there. The game is continually being improved so it can only get better. Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2017
    8
    This was actually quite a good game. I wish they would bring it back again. Spent countless hours glued to this game and would happily spendThis was actually quite a good game. I wish they would bring it back again. Spent countless hours glued to this game and would happily spend countless more if they brought it back. Full Review »
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    Football Manager Live is a concept so different and re-imagined from the standard offline equivalent that many users probably won't be able toFootball Manager Live is a concept so different and re-imagined from the standard offline equivalent that many users probably won't be able to enjoy it in the same way. What this means though is that there is an entirely new game to love and you can quite easily lose hours, days, weeks and months of your life striving to bring through the youth that will turn your local pub team into one of the best in the gameworld. You play in parrallel with users from around the world, having real life time frames in which to complete a game although you can play them in any order as long as the user is online. You can set your club up in so many different combinations that there is always something new to try, whether you put all your eggs in one basket and build a solid team with one superstar or whether you decide to hedge your bets and take on a team of seasoned pro's with good starting ability in order to build your reputation steadily. There have been a great number of changes since I started playing in February 2009, but whether good or bad all have contributed to the dynamic online experience that has proved equally as addictive as its offline counterpart. Full Review »