Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Forced is a 1-4-player co-op arcade action RPG with puzzle and tactical elements. You are cast as slaves in the toughest fantasy gladiator school of them all, condemned to fight as a gladiator and eventually win your freedom.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    86
    This game pleasantly surprised me: simple in concept, but with an incredible amount of depth to it.
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    I can’t stress enough how much fun Forced is when you’ve got even just one other player. It’s a smartly designed cooperative action game with lots of depth, great variety in its challenges, and a great combat system that encourages teamwork over all else. It’s a shame then that online play, at least at the time of this review, is too laggy for me to recommend, and playing solo is oftentimes more frustrating than fun.
  3. Nov 27, 2013
    80
    Forced is absolutely brutal, requiring constant team communication, clever problem solving and the mastery of combat skills. It can be an incredible amount of fun and is highly recommended for any group of gamer friends (casual gamers may get their asses kicked).
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    74
    It has some faults, but for the most part you’ll have a good time fighting and thinking your way through this game’s many levels.
  5. Dec 5, 2013
    70
    It's a one-trick pony, but it's a good trick indeed.
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    “FORCED” feels like a game made for a very specific niche of players who really enjoy co-op games with a bit of a brain and have a thing for leaderboards.
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    The game is meant to be played cooperatively, but while connection issues remain, you're likely to muddle through on your own. It's difficult to recommend any game that you endure rather than enjoy, even one this unique.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    FORCED is a gem in the CO-OP realm, and it's highly competetive, i've found myself sitting days and nights with my friends playing the CO-OP and trying to master the spirit mentor Balfus. I don't play FORCED singleplayer that often since i think Balfus is too hard to control alone, but in company with a friend i can't wish for a better CO-OP game. Of all the CO-OP games i have played, i've seen an element like Balfus and the idea of reverse football, it must have been a great risk i it has certainly payed off, and it forces you (hehe see what i did there?) to talk with the other team players in order to get a good time in a trial. So, is it worth the money? yes indeed and if it was a $30 i would still have bought it. I'm already recommending FORCED to all my friends. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    I love this game. It combines strategy with action and actually does require a bit of intelligence.
    The characters are kept more like the
    contestants of Smash TV, vague, such that the connection is more to the weapon of choice than a silly face. It perfectly melds action, and puzzles. Forcing you to use your brain, and not just go in swinging your weapon. A good portion of the challenges make you think, "No, that's impossible." And maybe it is, until you get a lot better. The skill gained during this game is really thinking and decision making skill. Only a couple of the endgame skills actually make your character a good deal stronger, and still situationally you may choose a few of the earlier skills anyways.

    The game looks great and runs great. The music sets the mood quite well.

    The multiplayer suffers from the connection quality of the host. If they have an open router and a good connection then it's a good experience for all. I don't see how it could be any other way.

    There are a few glitches, which forced me to reset the game a couple times, however due to the nature of the quick levels, I never lost anything of merit, and it never interrupted any of my multiplayer games.
    Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    This game is a gem of an ARPG, it perfectly melds action, and puzzles. Forcing you to use your brain, and not just go in swinging your weapon.
    The game looks good, using a beautiful graphical style, and using API's that allow for multi-platform and cross-platform gaming.
    It's difficult though, and that's a good thing, after several tries you might finally have something click, and you'll realise just how easy that Trial actually is. Which again emphasises that you have to think on your feet, while trying to fight off a myriad of different enemies. You're forced to rely on your teammates, and the game is nothing short of a brilliant team emotional roller-coaster at times.

    I would highly recommend this game for anyone interested in a great team-based puzzle action rpg.
    Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    9
    Every once in a while a game will come out and focuses on its Co-Op elements. Most of the time co-op is just another additional mode, other times co-op is the core and best of the games experience. Forced is one of those games and finally Forced makes co-op meaningful!

    Forced makes you play as a slave soon turned into a gladiator to fight for you own freedom. This means that you will have to make your way through these trials that are full of challenge with a spirit mentor that both guides you but also acts as one of the core gameplay elements. Whilst the story does not feel like the story will win any awards it at least does what any game should, that is to give a context for the gameplay.

    Forced is defined as Tactical Arena Co-Op and whilst it provides a singleplayer to a four player co-op, Forced is indeed one of the best Co-Op experiences you can have. The game has trials that you can decide to take on, increasing in complexity and gameplay elements as you complete one after another. Once you start as the slave you can decide which of the classes you want to use and that also work differently from each other with their own specific active and passive skills that you can decide upon before each trial. Each trial also is what gains you crystals. Crystals stand as a way to level your character up in Forced by giving you three Crystals on each trials that you need to earn by completing three objectives. The objectives to be met and therefore gain crystals include just simply surviving and completing the trial, complete a specific challenge that is different for each trial and finally complete the trial under a set time. The reason this actually mean something is the fact that those who will take their time gaining more crystals on each trial they can get stronger classes quicker and therefore opening up more options.

    Specifically on the co-op side of things, choosing classes and trying to combine strengths is one of the most fun aspects and certain combinations can make certain trials both easier or harder. From personal experience, playing with a friend and communicating your wt through these trials is where the game shines because teamwork is important and it tests both the players ability and ability to function as a team. For an example you can decide on having The Spirit Blades class that does a lot of quick hits to increase ‘marks’ that eventually make the enemies much easier to finish off whilst your friend can use the Volcanic Hammer class. The Spirit Mentor is another huge chunk of what takes the game to another level and that is because controlling this spirit is what actually used to get through trials. Each player can control this spirit how they will and the spirit will follow at the point the player hits the button, a simple idea that gets complex by introducing shrines that require the spirit to activate healing powers or destroying spawn points of enemies. Timing and good communication is not optional especially if frustration is wanted to be avoided.

    Visually Forced has nothing to fault it on because whilst there are no graphical achievement the game gets its look from the design of both its environments and characters. The same could be said about the sound design but overall this is a pretty game that fits the game and genre.

    Forced is that co-op game that gamers who enjoy a bit of challenge and are willing to put some time with friends can find a lot of enjoyment and satisfaction. It offers replay value and enough options to justify the game price through local and online co-op with still the option to take on this game on your own. The game is simply fun, with no particular issues that bring down the game instead it is a proof that co-op games have not yet given their best but that games like Forced are pushing this element as much as they can and with very successful results.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2013
    8
    I've seen a lot of people who disliked this game because of the lack of RPG elements, The game plays like Trine or Magicka than it does Torchlight. Its still an amazing game all in its own, The game is ok singleplayer but can be a bit monotonous alone, which is why I highly recommend 2 4 player co-op. The puzzles are decent and there are a good amount of levels and combat. The game can be VERY challenging at times which in my book is a positive. The only bugs i've encountered are a few connection errors and the fact that if you set the multiplayer game to "drop in" it restarts the server when someone joins. 8/10 Expand
  6. May 12, 2014
    8
    Pretty fun puzzle game with RPG elements. It's easy to learn - you apply marks to enemies and one of your team can use special abilities to trigger a special effect by consuming marks. The gameplay seems to be focused around controlling a floating ball and killing enemies.

    The only downside I see is lackluster singleplayer - it's obvious that the game is designed for coop play.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    4
    The reason why I gave this game a 4 is purely technical.

    The game itself is pretty good, I think it deserves 7-8.
    It's got fun mechanics,
    it's quite challenging - very hard at times! - which is quite refreshing considering the current overabundance of easy games.

    The heart of the game is clearly COOP - even in the menu this option appears before single player.

    The fun in this game grows exponentially when playing with other folks, since this game is mostly about controlling an entity (an orb called Balfus, IIRC) which can be challenging when it's done by multiple players.

    This is all good.... EXCEPT it doesn't want to work!
    Single player works fine, but COOP is horribly bugged.

    Playing a COOP game has been almost impossible to me and my friends.
    We bought the game a few weeks ago as it was on sale, and we were able to play only twice so far.

    Each time we'd spend 20-30 minutes trying to start the game without success.
    We'd get:

    1) Black screen as the game started
    2) Unsuccessfull connections to a lobby due to timeout
    3) When the game started, some people couldn't move their characters... or they'd be able to move their and SOMEONE ELSE's character too!
    4) Very noticeable lag ingame, assuming all the previous problems didn't happen
    5) Some challenges would not complete... even if we met all the objectives....

    Also, weird things can happen if someone (the host?) has a sub-60 framerate...
    We all have good rigs, so I can't confirm it, it's what I've read online.

    Checking the Steam Forums, I notice how many other people were complaining about the
    very same issues, it's a shame I didn't check it earlier.

    The developers have rolled out a pair of patches but they haven't solved anything so far.
    Also, for some reason, all these patches were named "1.1", so you couldn't even tell which patch you were effectively playing....

    Of course we've tried a lot of solutions posted on the forums, including port forwarding, using the beta branch, and we tried to let each of us host the game without success.

    All this would have been acceptable IF IT WAS A BETA, instead this game has been released in OCTOBER 2013... more than 5 months ago. IT IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.

    I want to play this game, but I can't.
    We'll wait 1 more week before asking a refund through Steam.

    Do NOT buy it UNLESS you want to play Single Player ONLY.
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers