Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In FORGE, a malicious being named The Devourer has swallowed the great pantheon of gods. Seeking escape, the trapped gods have deceptively turned great warriors into zealous adherents and placed them on a faceless world called FORGE, where every champion's death feeds the immortals power.In FORGE, a malicious being named The Devourer has swallowed the great pantheon of gods. Seeking escape, the trapped gods have deceptively turned great warriors into zealous adherents and placed them on a faceless world called FORGE, where every champion's death feeds the immortals power. Choosing one of five unique warrior classes, the player must battle head-to-head against others in a bid to free their god from the clutches of The Devourer. Armed with a set of powerful and unique abilities as well as a mystical and deadly ally, each warrior must overcome the varied challenges of FORGE where every victory is a sacrifice and every sacrifice brings them one step closer to freedom. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    80
    What's here is good stuff, though, and even if it never got another piece of content Forge would pull its weight.
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    75
    All in all, Forge's frenetic gameplay, innovative concept, and active community make up for the lackluster feature list-but just barely.
  3. 70
    The genre of MOBA is on the rise and Forge is proof of this – addictive action with great visuals is the right choice for you if you found too many trolls in LoL or DOTA. [Jan 2013]
  4. Dec 18, 2012
    68
    For all of the things that it does well, Forge feels like it needs more time in development and beta to achieve its potential. I really like the game's model of instanced PvP, and enjoy Forge's dynamic third-person combat. The overall features feel unfinished, however, and while it looks like Dark Vale Games is aware of Forge's missing - and necessary - elements and is working to include them, the game in its released state requires a bit of faith in the developers to make it what it should be. The core gameplay experience is fun and frantic, but Forge will need to attend to a more robust feature set to encourage the dedicated community it requires to succeed.
  5. Dec 29, 2012
    65
    While most of the things displayed in Forge look pretty good, one can never take away the sensation that most of its features have been rushed and that we're all beta testing it. It could greatly use a few more weeks of extra work on the coding.
  6. Jan 7, 2013
    60
    When I do play, I enjoy Forge, but I wish that I was playing an MMORPG with the same gameplay setup instead. In the end, unless you're someone heavy into shooters who is looking for something different yet familiar, or are into MMOs for the PvP mainly, then it would be worth waiting for the game that will be "forged" a few months down the road.
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    30
    Forge has some bright ideas, but they're buried under the rushed execution and unimaginative presentation.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 107
  2. Negative: 14 out of 107
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    A diamond in the rough for PvP fans:
    It's the kind of game where you can just log in, jump in a game within seconds and start to PvP!
    They
    A diamond in the rough for PvP fans:
    It's the kind of game where you can just log in, jump in a game within seconds and start to PvP!
    They have a small community so far, but already have a Mumble setup that you can find via the forums where you can chat with gamers, find teammates and even chat with the game devs!
    Once this game becomes more finished, and once more people find this game and the player base expands a bit more I feel it will deserve my 10/10 rating.
    Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    10
    Saw the first gameplay review on youtube and fell in love with it. It looks beautiful and the whole 3rd person pvp style is very unique. ToSaw the first gameplay review on youtube and fell in love with it. It looks beautiful and the whole 3rd person pvp style is very unique. To me, it looks like a mix of GW2 and Gears of War. I cant wait to get my hands ahold of this game and tear up some pvp. The leveling system is very unique and in depth which will keep me playing for a long time. Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Forge is a truly truly great PvP Game you jump in play the Game and just forget the Time that's what a good game should do too you. You justForge is a truly truly great PvP Game you jump in play the Game and just forget the Time that's what a good game should do too you. You just want too play more. Smooth Graphics, Nice Artworks, Interesting Game Mechanics and Devs which actually care about the game :)! Try it out you cant go wrong :)! Get it on Steam Today while its hot =)! Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    This is a very well-executed high-concept project. Its detractors are the voices I have seen in-game--the same ones you get in any game thatThis is a very well-executed high-concept project. Its detractors are the voices I have seen in-game--the same ones you get in any game that does not coddle the player like a newborn babe. This game ain't easy, but despite what some of these tragic user reviewers might try to tell you, it is anything BUT imbalanced and simplistic. It is simply that the depth requires a higher degree of skill to access than your average shooter or MMO.

    The cacophony of "incomplete!" is true, but not a detractor. Only a fool thinks it is, because what we have here instead is a very fine game that is continuing to evolve and improve. The critic reviews are astonishingly shallow and reflect a great deal of what is wrong with the gaming journalism industry.

    The ONLY real complaint I have is that the developers made a decent profit, then lost a lot of their playerbase because of the issues I mentioned above. Despite this, they continue producing essential content at a bit of a crawl, falling back on the "we're indie!" or "you're not a developer, you don't understand!" platform whenever their design decisions are questioned.

    I know the business better than most, and when something crucial needs to happen to a game, I have seen studios just as small and even smaller get it done exponentially quicker. I think making the money up-front may have hurt the longevity of the project in some ways, believe it or not, because with cash already in-hand, the impetus to produce results is not fueled by a promise of reward.
    Expand
  5. May 9, 2014
    8
    A brilliant PvP game, for people who like to battle online. This is a battle between two team where each side gets to select from MOBA typeA brilliant PvP game, for people who like to battle online. This is a battle between two team where each side gets to select from MOBA type heroes. And it is brilliant fun and its FREE TO PLAY! There are many types of characters to choose from, each with his own ability and the battles definitely test your skills. I read reviews speaking about its bugs. Well they are pretty much all gone now. I did not experience any problems while playing. Go for it! Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    Not something for pve fans, but for those who are looking for mmo pvp action, this is the game to nab. It skips the grinding of other mmosNot something for pve fans, but for those who are looking for mmo pvp action, this is the game to nab. It skips the grinding of other mmos and puts you straight into fighting. Looks nice and the combat is pretty fun. The only thing that seems to hold it back is the fact it feels like it is still in beta, but it seems like the developers intend to put the time into it to bring it where a game labeled as launched should be. It's worth picking up as it is currently, and I imagine it is only going to get better. Collapse
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    0
    What a horrible game. Steep learning curve, and if you try to play in one of the servers that actually has players (literally 6 servers withWhat a horrible game. Steep learning curve, and if you try to play in one of the servers that actually has players (literally 6 servers with people playing right now, a grand total of 20 players, lowest latency is 115) you get insta-raped. The reason for this is that the only people who still play this game are people who've been playing since day one, so you stand little to no chance against them.
    So to summarize: almost nobody plays, those who do play rape you, and servers all have lag
    Expand

See all 107 User Reviews

Trailers