Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    78
    Fortune Summoners: Secret of the Elemental Stone is hard as hell. For beat it you have to make practice with the slow control system, but in the end is a good indie JRPG.
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    75
    Don't let its charming aspect fool you. Fortune Summoners is a game that can challenge the most experienced and skillfull players thanks to its hard but fair combat system, which requires the player to be mindful of how and when strike for maximum effect. It has some technical shortcomings, and can be really frustrating, but overall it's another small jewel brought to west flawlessly by Carpe Fulgur.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    A frustrating, obtuse, weirdly satisfying experience, covered in yayness and cute. [Apr 2012, p.56]
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    58
    Held back by a difficulty that isn't satisfying to overcome, but annoying for its fiddly controls and cheating AI. [May 2012, p.77]
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    50
    This is a disturbingly conservative action RPG that functions as a museum of bad game design.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    30
    After wasting thirty hours of my time, this is one game that has no right to pass kindergarten.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    At first glance, one could very easily fool ones self into believing this is an offline Maple Story. They would be VERY mistaken. The combat system the developers have chosen to implement was extraordinarily complex and rewarding, plus the amount of content crammed into this game was pretty insane as well. It is a 2D platformer / RPG with cheesy anime dialogue, and pretty 1 Dimensional characters, but it does its job.... it kept me entertained for a substantial period of time. A+ in my book, and I was glad that I bought it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    The gameplay is fun and the combat system is far better than expected, it is both fun while there is plenty of moves you can do. Only thing could be that the companion AI is a bit too good, especially if you let it play as the main character and see her wreck up some combos while dodging pretty much everything.
    The story in the game isn't exactly a masterpiece, but it isn't exactly bad either. Graphically it isn't really anything to brag about, the animations are pretty good and so on, sadly the game does not support higher resolutions(Though what to expect) There is plenty of hours to put in the game, and it is cheap too.
    If you are interested in the game but aren't certain about buying it then I recommend getting it on a Steam sale.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    A little gem, that will go unnoticed by most people. But I have to say that this 2d game was so much better and so much more entertaining than 99% of the games that we get these days. It took me 40 in-game hours to complete it and it was worth it. I had a feeling that I just finished reading an amazing book. If you are into jrpgs, warm and colorful stories, give this gem a try and I bet you won't regret it. Full Review »