Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    90
    With its great sense of humor, exciting narrative, cool art style and fun stage play antics, you would think that Foul Play would be at the top of everybody's must-buy list.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    81
    Backing up that gleeful imagination with a mechanic that encourages good rather than simply energetic play makes for a rare treat that both novice and veteran brawlers can enjoy while it lasts.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    75
    Diversity is Foul Play’s huge advantage – each of 22 levels offers a completely different setting, increasingly unconventional monsters and plenty of bosses. Still the game gets tedious if you play it too long. [12/2013, p.67]
  4. Sep 30, 2013
    70
    Foul Play is a combination of good and not so good. On one hand the overarching theme, visuals, and humor are top notch. But on the other the gameplay is boring and there is little challenge.
  5. Sep 26, 2013
    70
    Its fresh looks and swashbuckling attitude ultimately don't change the fact that this is a game better enjoyed in small dosages. I love endless combo series as much as the next guy, but Foul Play's fighting engine and general run of play are a tad bit too simple to merit longer sessions. That said, this is one hell of a likeable game, if this sort of brawler floats your boat.
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    60
    If the filler were stripped out Foul Play would only be a two hour game but it would be two hours flush with ideas instead of five hours sprinkled with them. It would make for a more appealing co-op game, too. You won’t find yourselves saying “Just one more act,” you’ll be loading up Castle Crashers.
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    The excessive linearity, the mismanagement of the combat system, and a too easy difficulty level, irreparably damage a title with lots of potential.
  8. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    Foul Play is a classic beat' em up that stands out because of its original stages and great sense of humor. But maybe it's not enough, because it's a simple and repetitive action game with a poor combat system too.
  9. Nov 21, 2013
    55
    The lack of depth hurts Foul Play the most, and it's really a shame considering how brilliant the aesthetic is. I wanted to run around the stage, but playing the game made me exit stage left.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    This game is just awesome. Amazing handcrafted art, a large variety of combos, and a main character who looks just like the pringles guy. The gameplay is fast, intuitive and never really gets boring.

    The idea of an on-stage brawler alone is pretty genius, seeing the audiences reaction to your on-screen action is bloody awesome. The fact that Foul Play is good enough to going to keep me away from playing GTA 5 for the weekend should say something too, lol :)

    My english isnt that good, so ill just stick with the pros and cons:

    +graphics, handcrafted +gameplay, mechanics +level up system +unlockable goodies and combos //+rewarding button mashing +humour, dialogues

    cons: so far i didnt really find cons, though its too bad the game doesnt really have a voiceover. i imagine how amazing it would be to have the pringles guy aka Baron Dashforth with an english accent.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    3
    Foul play have a lot of potential but fail in every aspect. The gameplay is repetitive, you need to press the same attack button for achieve the best combo. The sound is repetitive, same music from stage to stage. It's not even original as an idea. I don't vote 0 because have a good design. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    In Foul Play the developers have really excelled themselves in creating a beautiful, charismatic, original and extremely playable game my only criticism is that there's so much beautify stuff to look at I sometimes struggle to keep up! Full Review »