• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Freedom Force Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From a distant corner of the galaxy, an evil alien race sets in motion a sinister plan to conquer the Earth. They unleash a powerful catalyst - Energy X - that imbues the planet's worst miscreants with super-powers to bring the planet to its knees. Now Earth's only hope lies with a new breedFrom a distant corner of the galaxy, an evil alien race sets in motion a sinister plan to conquer the Earth. They unleash a powerful catalyst - Energy X - that imbues the planet's worst miscreants with super-powers to bring the planet to its knees. Now Earth's only hope lies with a new breed of heroes... The Freedom Force! Command a squad of comic book heroes in the defense of Patriot City. Choose from over a dozen heroes or create your own comic champions. Fight for freedom in over 20 action-packed missions. Restore order in a completely interactive 3D world. Take your heroes online and join the fight in multiplayer mode. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. The best superhero-themed game to ever crash through the screen of your PC. [10 May 2002, p.84]
  2. The game features one of the most intuitive camera control systems yet seen in this style of game. While it doesn't grant the player complete freedom, it does establish a delicate balance between ease of use and flexibility.
  3. It is the total package. It has excellent gameplay, lighthearted humor, and flawless graphic and audio execution.
  4. Freedom Force has a winning personality and a developed style that's as good as PC gaming has ever offered--it joins the ranks of games like "Interstate '76" and "Grim Fandango."
  5. The stability woes, a few clipping problems, and finite game boards do present some drawbacks to the game. The good news is that this game is so good you can forgive all that.
  6. An excellent game, one that has restored my enthusiasm for the comic characters of old and their exciting, ideologically simple-minded pursuit of life, liberty and happiness.
  7. Like the comic books that inspired it, Freedom Force features slick animation and plenty of boffo, whiz-bang special effects.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. TheMan
    May 25, 2007
    10
    The best comic book game I have ever played and I've played a lot. The graphics are striking and the sound gives you a versatile The best comic book game I have ever played and I've played a lot. The graphics are striking and the sound gives you a versatile experience. It runs smooth as silk and I can honestly say that no comic book game I have played could even compare to Freedom Force. Expand
  2. AndrewJ.
    Feb 4, 2004
    10
    This is the most fun I've had in ages playing a PC game. I hope they bring out some expansion packs!!
  3. ChristianB.
    Feb 23, 2004
    10
    The Best super hero game i ever played. The chance to customly create your own hero is great.
  4. K.Blankenship
    Apr 1, 2002
    9
    After waiting for 6 long months I can now say that I REALLY love this game!! Everything I had hoped for is there: bright exciting characters, After waiting for 6 long months I can now say that I REALLY love this game!! Everything I had hoped for is there: bright exciting characters, great powers and fun, Diablo styled adventuring. This game is for anyone who grew up reading and loving comic books!! And it played without a single glitch on my 2 year old system! Something NO other game I've bought (except NOX) can boast! It's nice to see a game that doesn't need a patch straight out of the box! I would give this game a perfect 10 but I haven't played it long enough (or online yet!) to rate it that high, but mark my words.. if it continues to play this well - I'll rate it an 11 when I'm done. Its a polished jewel!!! Collapse
  5. Marko
    May 16, 2005
    9
    This is one of the more convincing games out there with excellent atmosphere, humor, graphics, voice acting and hip 60's music. The This is one of the more convincing games out there with excellent atmosphere, humor, graphics, voice acting and hip 60's music. The gameplay is nearly as good and I love that you can create your own custom characters (to fit your personality and gaming style) to recruit later. This is an instant classic. Expand
  6. CarlosG.
    Mar 30, 2002
    8
    Game is good, but if it was great, I wouldn't be writing this, I would be playing it.
  7. May 16, 2012
    3
    The game is pretty terrible. I love the art and the over-the-top comic book-esque voice acting, and the atmosphere really captures that comicThe game is pretty terrible. I love the art and the over-the-top comic book-esque voice acting, and the atmosphere really captures that comic book feel, but the gameplay is awful.

    Though the basics are in place, click something to interact with it, it's the extras that just flat out fail. There are pseudo-stealth elements to the game, and they just do not work. Enemies can see you no matter where you stand, your character is too slow and inaccurate to react accordingly. In fact, the slow pace is very obvious throughout. The characters seem to wade through water, and though your character is noticeably faster when running (at least compared to enemies) he manages to have the attacking speed of an epileptic sloth, and, on the rare occasion when a projectile based attack hits, you have basically wasted your time because of the sheer slowness of the game.

    The earliest (and best) example of this, that I noticed, was the second mission. Though this is supposed to be a tutorial mission, unfortunately focused on the aforementioned stealth elements, the overall goal, especially the secondary mission goals, seem to be outright impossible with the guide of the game. Admittedly, if you're clever, you can get around this by ignoring the tutorial, but the point is that it seems to me to be a huge oversight when a tutorial doesn't actually lead to success, at least when it's intention is supposed to be success.

    Though the game technically works, it has not aged well. The game is slow and plodding and the action is pretty underwhelming. Damage seems completely randomized, ranging from one hit kills (for no apparent reason) to barely scratching the enemy with the same attack an instant later, and, though you can technically react to the situations that play out, I never found anything more useful than letting my character auto-beat the hell out of the enemy with my only input being to tell him which enemy. Though there are many skills to choose, and many characters, it all just seems pointless.

    This game just suffers from age. The mechanics are either boring or don't work, and, though it has a fantastic setting and voice acting (that really captures that comic book world) it doesn't manage to deliver on the action that should accompany that. It's just overall a disappointing game.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games

    Ranked: Best and Worst Computer Strategy Games Image
    Published: July 26, 2010
    How good must the new "StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty" be to crack our list of the best PC strategy games of all time? Here's how our top ten list currently stands.