FreeSpace 2 Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2367. Thirty-two years have passed since the Great War. As Terrans and Vasudans struggle to rebuild their civilizations, civil war erupts in the Polaris system. A rogue Terran admiral declares war against the Vasudans, threatening the stability of the Alliance. Without warning,The year is 2367. Thirty-two years have passed since the Great War. As Terrans and Vasudans struggle to rebuild their civilizations, civil war erupts in the Polaris system. A rogue Terran admiral declares war against the Vasudans, threatening the stability of the Alliance. Without warning, the Shivans return, and Terrans and Vasudans face annihilation at the hands of their Great War nemesis. [Interplay] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Whether you've played the original or not, Freespace 2 takes its place among the greatest space-flight sims of all-time.
  2. It is highly addictive, due mainly to the trite but compelling story, is great fun to play, and should provide as much of a challenge to those who aren't familiar with this genre as it does to space-sim veterans.
  3. Breathtaking action, atmosphere, story, and graphics come together to create a truly compelling combat experience. [Jan 2000, p.172]
  4. The emphasis on story and involving missions, combined with great visuals, audio, and exceptional control make this a top-notch game.
  5. Multiplayer of course shines, and there's never been a better excuse to splash out for that cable modem than the multi-tiered dogfights possible in FreeSpace 2. The best of its kind yet.
  6. The enemy AI isn't really what it should be. This is a minor criticism, but when a game reaches this level things like this tend to stand out.
  7. But playing the game makes you realise just how little effect any one pilot has on a war, and how futile and dehumanising the whole thing is. I'm sure it wasn't meant to, but there you go... The world's first pacifist space combat sim?

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    10
    it computer games one of the rarest things is when everything come together flawlessly. you know those incredible games with incredibleit computer games one of the rarest things is when everything come together flawlessly. you know those incredible games with incredible gameplay but bad graphics, or the ones with incredible graphics but bad story, etc. etc. well, in freespace 2 everything just came together and you don't have to make a single sacrifice to enjoy it. flawless victory! Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    I still play this game, along with the original, at least once a year or two. Every time I play it, I still have genuine fun, which is moreI still play this game, along with the original, at least once a year or two. Every time I play it, I still have genuine fun, which is more than I can say even new games these days. A true masterpiece in category, this game lives up the original and then some. Haven't played it? Play it. Expand
  3. Dec 15, 2011
    10
    Absolutely excellent game. It has an elegantly simple (but very compelling) plot, and excellent graphics. Although it involves enough controlsAbsolutely excellent game. It has an elegantly simple (but very compelling) plot, and excellent graphics. Although it involves enough controls to blur the line between 'simulator' and 'game,' this is actually a highlight--the control scheme is well-designed and unobtrusive. Ever 2-3 years I try it out again and find that I instinctively remember how to play and shortly thereafter why I liked it so much.

    Even better, the original Freespace 2 has been vastly improved since it's release (see the Freespace Source Code Project). My only regret while playing this was that I could never find anyone on the multiplayer servers, despite rumors of crazy tournament-based fun, etc.
    Expand
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    10
    Definitively the best space-sim ever made. While it creates it's own universe instead of basing on Star Wars or Babylon 5, there is similarDefinitively the best space-sim ever made. While it creates it's own universe instead of basing on Star Wars or Babylon 5, there is similar depth in the space of FreeSpace. The plot is linear (with a few exceptions), but extremely immersive. The game is fairly easy on normal difficulty, but "hard" and above can be really challenging.

    An open source port of FreeSpace (FreeSpace Open) enhances the graphics, fixes some bugs, even adds some new features. What's even more important are the free community made campaigns - some of which are just as good as the original one.
    Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The best space shooter ever. It's absolutely incredible today, and it was released almost 15 years ago now. Volition?? Hellooo? I want myThe best space shooter ever. It's absolutely incredible today, and it was released almost 15 years ago now. Volition?? Hellooo? I want my Freespace 3, 4, and 5, RIGHT NOW.. Collapse
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Greatest combat space sim ever made fullstop. Probably my favourite PC game ever and one of the last of dead breed of games the combat spaceGreatest combat space sim ever made fullstop. Probably my favourite PC game ever and one of the last of dead breed of games the combat space sim. If you ever enjoyed Tie fighter/X-wing/rogue squadron then get yourself a joystick and grab this game and freespace source code project (the community upgrade) and prepare to fall in love. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2014
    4
    It's a nice game, but there are better ones out there made near the same time. The controls are all over the place and there is very littleIt's a nice game, but there are better ones out there made near the same time. The controls are all over the place and there is very little polish in the look of everything. The gameplay got old fast and made me want to play better titles. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews