Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    73
    A gorgeous and rich land-sculpting simulation that's lovely to tinker with, but often buggy and stressful to play.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 30, 2011
    50
    To truly enjoy playing God you have to beat a few obstacles – technical issues, arguable DRM and user-unfriendly controls. Console-to-PC conversion took its price this time. [Oct 2011]
  3. Aug 16, 2011
    74
    Quite an usual game. Changing landscapes may sound dull, but it's amanzingly motivating due to the great physics. It's a shame that the presentation is quite dry and the game may be too difficult for beginners.
  4. Aug 19, 2011
    65
    As such, like I said at the beginning, it's a game I want to like, and, on any other platform except PC, you can quite happily add a couple of points to the overall score. But, on PC at least, Dust doesn't quite push the right buttons for me to consider it the amazing game it could have been.
  5. Aug 19, 2011
    72
    From Dust is an exceptional game with outstanding art design and gameplay mechanics. Unfortunatly the PC port is not that good on the technical side and you can't play it offline. If you want to play that game, which I would recommend that you do, stick to the console version.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 368 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 368
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    3
    Once again a promising idea is destroyed by what I assume is publisher meddling. Ubisoft have pulled a 'Spore' with From Dust. Trailers andOnce again a promising idea is destroyed by what I assume is publisher meddling. Ubisoft have pulled a 'Spore' with From Dust. Trailers and Interviews hinted at a powerfully beautiful return to the God game. Instead what we have is a tepid puzzle game that suffers from horrible camera, controls and lack of any reason to continue whatsoever. Altering the landscape turns out to be a haphazard affair, with the game ignoring some attempts, shifting the camera and getting in your way at every turn. The concept was solid, but what happened? Only a publisher like Ubisoft could mess something up so horribly. Jump cuts to pre-rendered cutscenes and forced camera pans jar you about, while the music cuts suddenly during transition.

    Frustration sets in when the controls fail, Villagers are willfully stupid, and an invisible puddle of water somewhere impedes the construction of another village. Could we not move the village to a safer spot? No. This is where the game has railroaded you. The only winning option is not to play.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    4
    An great example where the publisher **** up a game. A decent game that could have easily been a 7 or 8 out of 10, now becomes a 4 out of 10An great example where the publisher **** up a game. A decent game that could have easily been a 7 or 8 out of 10, now becomes a 4 out of 10 thanks to Ubisoft's brilliant DRM (and lying). Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    2
    A game with huge potential, absolutely spoiled by a sloppy port and tyrannical DRM. Ubisoft lying about the DRM being present is unacceptable,A game with huge potential, absolutely spoiled by a sloppy port and tyrannical DRM. Ubisoft lying about the DRM being present is unacceptable, ESPECIALLY for a single-player game. Highly recommend against purchasing. Full Review »