Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    100
    I'm hardly a hardcore strategy nerd, so maybe it's the accessibility and surface-level depth I can get down with. I can't wait to dig deeper to see what else I'll enjoy about this topnotch turn-based masterpiece.
  2. Jun 10, 2011
    100
    Frozen Synapse is an amazing refinement of the tactical strategy genre. It's both approachable for those new to the genre and deep enough to keep you coming back.
  3. Jun 2, 2011
    95
    The most moreish and brilliant game I've played in years. It's responsible for me dreaming in shades of blue for the last three nights running and I wouldn't have it any other way.
  4. Oct 19, 2011
    90
    A fast-paced tactical game that is easy to approach but has depth in spades when you dig into it. The mix of randomness and determinism isn't quite optimal, but the end result is mostly excellent. Despite some lacklustre storytelling, even the single player side provides hours and hours of quality gaming. A cult classic. [Aug 2011]
  5. Aug 8, 2011
    90
    Puts its core mechanics before everything else and with good reason - they're as near-perfect as we're ever going to get. [Sept 2011, p.102]
  6. Aug 2, 2011
    90
    It's been a long time since any triple A title gave me as much fun as this humble indie game did. It will keep you entertained not for hours or days but for long weeks. It's worth every penny. [August 2011, p.68]
  7. Jul 10, 2011
    90
    Quite simply one of the most exciting strategy games to come out in years. [Aug 2011, p.58]
  8. 90
    Turn-based tactical combat has never seemed so accessible and exciting, in this ground-breaking new indie classic.
  9. Jun 13, 2011
    90
    Superb multiplayer game with modern twists. Recommended for players who want brains involved with action.
  10. Jun 5, 2011
    90
    At first Frozen Synapse looks like a very basic turn-based strategy game, but when you look closer you'll find that it has a ton of strategic options and possibilities. Running simulations and thinking things through can keep you busy for endless amounts of time.
  11. Jun 5, 2011
    90
    Frozen Synapse manages to turn the intricate nature of turn-based tactical combat into something that is deviously complex yet accessible for all, and it does so in style. You might break it a couple of times, but you'll always come back for more.
  12. Jun 2, 2011
    90
    The fundamentals of the game are intoxicating.
  13. May 27, 2011
    90
    Frozen Synapse takes the old, the stuffy and the traditionally glacial and it makes it brand new, instant and brutal. It's such an achievement.
  14. Jul 14, 2011
    89
    An elegant game of pure tactics and psychology, won by wits instead of reflexes. Good against AI, great with friends.
  15. Jul 14, 2011
    87
    Intricate, turn-based tactical combat delivered straight to your inbox. [Sept 2011, p.64]
  16. Jun 20, 2011
    87
    Frozen Synapse widens the concept of gaming turns and brings tactics so close to chess that players can easily become addicted or flee screaming.
  17. Aug 3, 2011
    85
    Frozen Synapse is a great turn-based game with stirring tactical multiplayer battles that reward clever thinking.
  18. Jun 15, 2011
    85
    The subtle tension that builds as strategic plans are hashed out and executed simultaneously on the battlefield is priceless, resulting in a fresh, chaotic experience you'll want to dive into over and over again.
  19. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Pure strategy, complex but solid controls and an irresistible multiplayer make Frozen Synapse a surprise hit. It's not a beautiful looking game, but ignore the basic presentation, because this is a game everyone should try at least once.
  20. Jul 31, 2011
    80
    It's a fantastic way to scratch the strategy itch, and a damned relaxing one to boot.
  21. Jun 20, 2011
    80
    After I took a few deep breathes and stopped trying to play the game like something it wasn't, I discovered that it was something truly special. It's a clich├ęd but appropriate phrase in this case: they don't make them like the used to. Frozen Synapse is so enjoyable, it makes you wonder why.
  22. Jun 8, 2011
    80
    Something like Frozen Synapse could only come from the indie scene. A tactical, turn-based simultaneous simulator. Mode 7 gives us a rich and enticing gameplay base, with a appealing universe and smart multiplayer on top, and room to grow it even further.
  23. Aug 9, 2011
    78
    If you win, it's because you planned your moves right and not because you've been lucky. And if you lose, then just because of your bad planning. This makes Frozen Synapse different and so motivating.
  24. Jun 5, 2011
    78
    One of the most interesting Indie Game of the year. Frozen Synapse offers a different kind of warfare strategy, and all the fans of the genre should try it.
  25. Aug 14, 2011
    70
    Frozen Synapse is no rival to full-fledged tactical strategy games, but it's an ideal time-killer for a lunch break.
  26. Jun 3, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  27. 50
    Hardcore, innovative and interesting strategy is spoiled by "old AutoCAD" visuals and overcomplicated controls. [July 2011]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55
  1. Jul 4, 2011
    1
    An absolute failure right out of the gate. The flaws in this game were so many and so immediately apparent that after 20 minutes of "play" I needed a break. For starters, the user can't customize the controls. This may not be a huge concession for most players, but in the year 2011 it astonishes me that developers still can't grasp the most basic of needs. It isn't hard to program customizable controls and almost every user will want to change at least one aspect of a control scheme. In a complicated strategy game the last thing a user should have to do is hunt for the proper key. Not to mention the fact that there is no reference for the control scheme, which brings me to my next point. The tutorial system is horrible. Not only does it baby the user with overly simplified instructions, it goes so far as to assume that the user is a moron and needs to be told that "doubling clicking" means "to click the mouse button twice in rapid succession." The worst part? You can't skip ANY parts of the tutorial. It isn't broken down by chapters or subjects and there is no way to skip forward or backward. You have to do everything step-by-step and if you want to review something you just did you have to start the entire tutorial over. This includes trying to figure out the how the computer interprets your commands. Trying to make the AI do one specific thing? Run through the entire tutorial and pay extremely close attention, because if you miss it you'll be doing it all over again. Finally, there's the AI. Absolutely horrible. No matter what you do your team will never spot the enemy first. In fact the enemy AI will often avoid your line of sight as if by some magical psychic power. Set up the perfect trap? The enemy will never go near that section of the map. What's worse, the game starts you out with short range guns. Good luck trying to get within the required twenty feet to actually shoot at an enemy. This game is frustration incarnate. I will admit that the premiss behind the game is fantastic. However the execution is so poor that the most fun you'll have with this game is uninstalling it while you scream at your monitor. Don't waste your time or your money. Full Review »
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    6
    Overall this game idea is quite original, the style however seems quite Defcon-like to me. There are a few things that bug me about this game, first is the music seems to be rather repetitive, the second is the fact in single player after you get past the newbie missions the AI seems to psychically know where your guys are. Psychic AI is a bad idea, it makes AI appear to be smarter than it is, I put 1 guy in the corner on his own and didn't move him for 10 turns, instantly after the other guys were eliminated, all the enemies flocked his position, he was completely out of sight in a corner with his back to them, they didn't vet out any of the other rooms that had not been occupied. I like to play strategy games but ones that are not reliant on an active user-base (I think of Defcon again because it's pretty much a dead community now), so a decent single-player is essential. I like reactive AI instead of AI that knows where all your units are and just employs strategy to fool you into thinking it doesn't. It needs to experiment with techniques during a game and learn from it's mistakes. Sure if you give away your position with gunfire or fast movement, you could expect an enemy to know where you are, but this is just ridiculous!
    6/10 for the psychic AI but 7/10 otherwise.
    Full Review »
  3. May 30, 2011
    10
    Yep.. Its great.. Buy it.. What more can i say? Oh well, the community is great and even when i'm losing, and it happens a lot, they encourage you and give tips how to avoid similar situations. And the thrill of pressing that commit button and waiting to see if your tricky plan worked is intense. Had a really hard time sleeping last night because i was rethinking my strategy and plans.
    Buy it or just try it.. If you ever loved tactical games you will love this one
    Full Review »