User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 189 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 189

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Turn based grid-less version of X-COM but without the resource management and metagame. The most interesting part is planning out both your moves and predicting your enemy's moves, playing it out, and optimizing your turn based on your available information and predictions. LoS and cover can be frustrating with you occasionally you being shot before you can shoot the enemy withoutTurn based grid-less version of X-COM but without the resource management and metagame. The most interesting part is planning out both your moves and predicting your enemy's moves, playing it out, and optimizing your turn based on your available information and predictions. LoS and cover can be frustrating with you occasionally you being shot before you can shoot the enemy without explanation from the game. Single player is pretty generic and multiplayer is a bit empty. I assume most people set up their own matches between friends because I get the feeling this is one of those games that a dozen hardcore people play publicly just to stomp people online. This could be a great tactical play-by-email game between friends but I wouldn't recommend it unless your friends get it or you buy multiple copies for some. Be prepared for 30min-1hr long turns and week long games; this is something you really have to dig deep into. Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    I seem to be the one person this doesn't work for. I've loved squad based tactic games from Laser Squad on the Amiga through the XCOM series through Jagged Alliance and love turn based strategy and maybe... maybe that's the problem. Because this isn't turn based strategy it's paused realtime where you queu up moves and are unable to react to stimuli and personally that just doesn't seem asI seem to be the one person this doesn't work for. I've loved squad based tactic games from Laser Squad on the Amiga through the XCOM series through Jagged Alliance and love turn based strategy and maybe... maybe that's the problem. Because this isn't turn based strategy it's paused realtime where you queu up moves and are unable to react to stimuli and personally that just doesn't seem as fun to me. Plus you get trapped in the old school chasing round the map way too often. Expand
  3. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    This was a game I enjoyed but it's definitely not for everyone. The complexity and the amount of time it'll take to actually get good at this game seem daunting. But if your willing to go out of your way to learn the ropes then you'll enjoy this game quite a bit. I personally have not played in an online match so far but I hear the community is a good one and is willing to help you to getThis was a game I enjoyed but it's definitely not for everyone. The complexity and the amount of time it'll take to actually get good at this game seem daunting. But if your willing to go out of your way to learn the ropes then you'll enjoy this game quite a bit. I personally have not played in an online match so far but I hear the community is a good one and is willing to help you to get better, instead of bashing you for learning how to play. I'd recommend it to people, but the one person I've already talked to said they hated it. Definitely read up on this game first before you buy it as it might not be for you. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Think of Frozen Synapse like playing chess with military soldiers, but the board changes each time you play. I love to play chess so that is probably the reason I like this game. There's an intricate amount of detail underneath its simplicity. This is turn-based strategy done right.
  5. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    The game is ok, but the AI is what really disappoints me since that is the main ingredient to play this game. It's not about controlling things entirely yourself. I got bored of the tutorial, and decided to move on to the campaign, I know what I'm doing. But when I reached the hostage mission its impossible to complete it. Thanks to the overpowered sniper, that is basically an aimbotThe game is ok, but the AI is what really disappoints me since that is the main ingredient to play this game. It's not about controlling things entirely yourself. I got bored of the tutorial, and decided to move on to the campaign, I know what I'm doing. But when I reached the hostage mission its impossible to complete it. Thanks to the overpowered sniper, that is basically an aimbot because he always detects my soldier when I attempt to kill him. So, this game could had been really good if they improved the AI; I also think they ripped off the theme of DEFCON and Uplink Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2012
    4
    I've played it, passed few maps, did what seemed to be correct and failed. Failing itself isn't that frustrating (it's part of every game) but the loading times between each part of the decision making process... I don't have time for such a thing! Idea seems good and the art direction is recognizable but entry barrier is too high. Sorry.
  7. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    Such a simple concept, yet so brilliantly executed. A superb comination between RTS and TBS, and one of few strategy games were strategy really matters (as opposed to say multi-tasking, or memorising building orders).
  8. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    WOW! What a game. I wonder why it's taken so long to create a game like this? Anyway, the concept is simple, you make moves at the same time as your opponent and your goal is to pre-empt them. The controls are simple, the UI futuristic, soundtrack is worthy of an album and gameplay is up there with the best. It's war-chess and I love it.
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    I think this game has a lot going for it and deserves more praise than it currently has. It is a incredibly deep strategy game and when a turn is being played out, it provides a tension unlike any game I have played. I will agree that the AI in single player can be frustratingly clever at times and unfortunately, the online community is fairly quiet at the moment. The gameplay however isI think this game has a lot going for it and deserves more praise than it currently has. It is a incredibly deep strategy game and when a turn is being played out, it provides a tension unlike any game I have played. I will agree that the AI in single player can be frustratingly clever at times and unfortunately, the online community is fairly quiet at the moment. The gameplay however is hugely satisfying and addictive. When a plan goes your way, it feels awesome. The music is also great (at first) as well as the cool art style. The fact you get two copies with each purchase is clever, so get someone to play with, and you will enjoy this immensely. Expand
  10. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Im after 9 hours of gameplay and i can only say - amazing tactical game! First minutes were pretty hard, you can easily get discouraged... Controls does not seem clear, but when you get hang of it - it becomes easy and intuitive. Gameplay is tactical driven, but you'll mostly find rock-paper-scissors mechanics here. In every mission you will take control of soldiers, in random generatedIm after 9 hours of gameplay and i can only say - amazing tactical game! First minutes were pretty hard, you can easily get discouraged... Controls does not seem clear, but when you get hang of it - it becomes easy and intuitive. Gameplay is tactical driven, but you'll mostly find rock-paper-scissors mechanics here. In every mission you will take control of soldiers, in random generated scenery. There's always an objective, but nothing will surprise you - attack, defend, take hostage, rescue hostage.. and so on. In most situations you'll have limited turns to complete you task, so no messing around. Gameplay involves planning phase, when you give orders... then you can test your plan and finally - execute it. The other side is doing the same thing so you need to think ahead of your opponent. So where's the rock-paper-scissors mechanics? Your team operate in simple ways - soldier in cover always beats exposed unit, shotgun wins with everyone in close quarters, sniper always beats every unit in distance ( vice versa he gets killed in close quarters in a second) ... and so on and so on. You'll at least hour to get a grip of it and think about every possible situation and its outcome. Then you can really enjoy the game ! :) Single Player Campaign is about 50 (!!!) missions long... I guess im not far than 10 and it's getting seriously hard. Nevertheless, multiplayer is the most interesting feature in Frozen Synapse. Playing with live opponent is far more exciting. The mechanics allow you to participate in 5 or more matches in one time, you just conclude your turn and while waiting for other player - play another skirmish. Of course your can compete in leaderboards or even upload your replays on youtube... instantly. What else can i say? Buy it. It's great. Support indie developers. Support GOOD games. Expand
  11. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Frozen Synapse is a turn based military strategy game. FS sacrifices pretty graphics and fast action, for a more thoughtful, bare bones experience. The soundtrack is very good, and fits nicely to the mood of the game. The single player campaign is long and challenging, but it's the multiplayer mode that really shines. The secret sauce for this game, in my opinion, is that both players'Frozen Synapse is a turn based military strategy game. FS sacrifices pretty graphics and fast action, for a more thoughtful, bare bones experience. The soundtrack is very good, and fits nicely to the mood of the game. The single player campaign is long and challenging, but it's the multiplayer mode that really shines. The secret sauce for this game, in my opinion, is that both players' turns resolve at the same time. You can plan out your own moves, and then endlessly simulate what you think your opponent will do until you get your plan just right. You not only have to account for what your opponent has done, but also what you think he might do. After both players submit their turns, you get to see the results. The anticipation of waiting to see if your plan worked the way you thought it would is awesome. Games can take from several minutes, to several days, depending on how fast each player submits their turn. You can get email notifications that it's your turn if you are offline, which is a neat feature. The slow pace and fairly high learning curve may turn some people off. It took me about 5 hours of playing before I really had any clue what I was doing. It's a different kind of strategy game, but potentially very rewarding if you have the patience. Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    An extremely polished, unique, underrated game. People complain about the AI, Graphics, and Price. Fact is, the AI will beat you many times, but you realise that "Oh, I should've noticed that rocket over there." Another fact, since when did graphics make up a game? Walk in with an open mind. It's a small indie game, not a massive AAA game. Also, the price is not $25. It actually is $12.50,An extremely polished, unique, underrated game. People complain about the AI, Graphics, and Price. Fact is, the AI will beat you many times, but you realise that "Oh, I should've noticed that rocket over there." Another fact, since when did graphics make up a game? Walk in with an open mind. It's a small indie game, not a massive AAA game. Also, the price is not $25. It actually is $12.50, but you can't buy one copy. My only complaints are the storyline and the unfair advantage the AI gets. Usually, I start with 1 rocket and two machinegunners while the AI also gets a shotgunner. The story I could not understand, but you don't need to in order to like this game. Otherwise, it is a very good game that deserves all the respect it can get. Expand
  13. Jul 31, 2013
    4
    Great idea, I really like both the design and the gameplay. The difficulty level is very high, but that is okay for me. However, Frozen Synapse has two major flaws: It becomes repetitive after a rather short time. And the loading times in between turns are really bad: waiting for 25 seconds for the game to move on to the next turn despite me not having given any orders? I don't have theGreat idea, I really like both the design and the gameplay. The difficulty level is very high, but that is okay for me. However, Frozen Synapse has two major flaws: It becomes repetitive after a rather short time. And the loading times in between turns are really bad: waiting for 25 seconds for the game to move on to the next turn despite me not having given any orders? I don't have the patience for this, sorry. Expand
  14. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Definitely one of the best Indie games I've ever played, if not THE best. An over the head, simultaneous turn tactical shooter might sound confusing, but the game is brilliantly put together. You have 5 different types of units, each specialized for certain tasks. You plan out your troop's movements in 5 second intervals while your enemy does the same, trying to predict where he's hidingDefinitely one of the best Indie games I've ever played, if not THE best. An over the head, simultaneous turn tactical shooter might sound confusing, but the game is brilliantly put together. You have 5 different types of units, each specialized for certain tasks. You plan out your troop's movements in 5 second intervals while your enemy does the same, trying to predict where he's hiding his guys and what he's likely to do. Then you prime the movement and pray that everything goes according to plan, because it sure as hell isn't likely to.

    Delightfully unforgivable, FS trains you to anticipate and plan for everything. Is he going to shoot a rocket here, or is it safe to keep your gunner behind this wall for another turn? It's been 10 seconds since you saw that shotgunner, better lob a grenade around the corner, in case he's hiding there. Get your sniper trained on that wall and blow it open with a rocket so you can start taking potshots at whoever's on the other side. Your prerun shows that you can't get a gunner across this battlefield before he gets his brains blasted. Have a spare unit draw some fire long enough to get both troops to cover!

    Overall, FS is a great game at a great price. Challenging, fun to master, and put together very well, I'd recommend this game for any fan of the slower, more thoughtful strategy game.

    My only criticism of the game is that every match is ranked. Even a friendly practice round with a buddy will affect your overall score. I'd like an unranked game feature, to take the pressure off of winning even casual round.
    Expand
  15. Jul 4, 2011
    1
    An absolute failure right out of the gate. The flaws in this game were so many and so immediately apparent that after 20 minutes of "play" I needed a break. For starters, the user can't customize the controls. This may not be a huge concession for most players, but in the year 2011 it astonishes me that developers still can't grasp the most basic of needs. It isn't hard to programAn absolute failure right out of the gate. The flaws in this game were so many and so immediately apparent that after 20 minutes of "play" I needed a break. For starters, the user can't customize the controls. This may not be a huge concession for most players, but in the year 2011 it astonishes me that developers still can't grasp the most basic of needs. It isn't hard to program customizable controls and almost every user will want to change at least one aspect of a control scheme. In a complicated strategy game the last thing a user should have to do is hunt for the proper key. Not to mention the fact that there is no reference for the control scheme, which brings me to my next point. The tutorial system is horrible. Not only does it baby the user with overly simplified instructions, it goes so far as to assume that the user is a moron and needs to be told that "doubling clicking" means "to click the mouse button twice in rapid succession." The worst part? You can't skip ANY parts of the tutorial. It isn't broken down by chapters or subjects and there is no way to skip forward or backward. You have to do everything step-by-step and if you want to review something you just did you have to start the entire tutorial over. This includes trying to figure out the how the computer interprets your commands. Trying to make the AI do one specific thing? Run through the entire tutorial and pay extremely close attention, because if you miss it you'll be doing it all over again. Finally, there's the AI. Absolutely horrible. No matter what you do your team will never spot the enemy first. In fact the enemy AI will often avoid your line of sight as if by some magical psychic power. Set up the perfect trap? The enemy will never go near that section of the map. What's worse, the game starts you out with short range guns. Good luck trying to get within the required twenty feet to actually shoot at an enemy. This game is frustration incarnate. I will admit that the premiss behind the game is fantastic. However the execution is so poor that the most fun you'll have with this game is uninstalling it while you scream at your monitor. Don't waste your time or your money. Expand
  16. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    当年预购CODMW3时得到的,同时得到的还有那个梦境模拟游戏Trauma。玩了一小会,仅仅因为不想玩和难度稍高就没再玩过,但是我很清楚这个游戏的操作机制和游戏性都没问题。推荐尝试。
  17. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    I'm absolutely astonished by this game. Agreed, the graphics are not much to look at, but the gameplay more than makes up for it. This is tactical excellence to the fullest.
    Basicly, you take full control of a squad of infiltrators, and have to eliminate the opposing force. Micromanagement is a must if you want to succeed in this game, and this makes the planning sequence of the game
    I'm absolutely astonished by this game. Agreed, the graphics are not much to look at, but the gameplay more than makes up for it. This is tactical excellence to the fullest.
    Basicly, you take full control of a squad of infiltrators, and have to eliminate the opposing force. Micromanagement is a must if you want to succeed in this game, and this makes the planning sequence of the game crucial to your success. Turns are in 5 second intervals that you have to plan out in advance, and not knowing what the enemy will do can have lethal consequences if you're sloppy in your planning.
    If you're impatient of nature, this is NOT a game for you, especially in multiplayer where waiting for the other player to finish the planning can be quite long.
    But if you like turn based strategy and tactics, the gameplay will keep you hooked for hours.
    Expand
  18. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Game is a serious gem. Genius design, pure strategy, your wits vs his, no fancy micro just brains. As of the time of me writing this, I'm not too pleased with how the 'replays' are only available per sever, not globally. Also, their USA servers run about 10x slower than their UK servers, pretty annoying since I play on both. Those issues aside, the game is worth a buy if you're at leastGame is a serious gem. Genius design, pure strategy, your wits vs his, no fancy micro just brains. As of the time of me writing this, I'm not too pleased with how the 'replays' are only available per sever, not globally. Also, their USA servers run about 10x slower than their UK servers, pretty annoying since I play on both. Those issues aside, the game is worth a buy if you're at least capable of tying your own shoes, more than can be said for the 0 score guy. Pick this up! Expand
  19. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    Great game! Some consider it too hard but its a pure tactical game. I also agree with that it can be too difficult but hey, all games can't be casual
  20. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Great game. Once you get out of gray zone of understanding underlaying rules it becomes great pleasure to play. Levels are randomly generated and no matter how well you play there is always a factor of surprise as turns are completely simultaneous and you can only guess what your opponent might do. During planning, it is possible to even control images of enemy units and observe differentGreat game. Once you get out of gray zone of understanding underlaying rules it becomes great pleasure to play. Levels are randomly generated and no matter how well you play there is always a factor of surprise as turns are completely simultaneous and you can only guess what your opponent might do. During planning, it is possible to even control images of enemy units and observe different outcomes depending on what the other side might do. There are 5 types of units, each having its own strengths. Shotgunner moves fast and owns everyone in close range. Machine gunner moves at normal speed, has long range and heavily benefits from cover. Grenadier has ability to toss grenades directly or bounce them on the walls. Rocket soldier is the only unit able to destroy walls (killing everyone in small radius). Finally, sniper is incredibly balanced. It has its place and is very useful but not overpowered. When two equal units meet head to head, their orientation, previous movement and relation to covers decides who will win. Frozen synapse's rules are deterministic. I am giving 9 just because rules IMO are not sufficiently well explained in the game and graphics could be a bit more complex. Bare game-play is pure 10. Expand
  21. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    Playerbase: Great
    Gameplay: Great
    Strategy: Great
    Pricing: Not so great

    Other than that I must say I really enjoyed this game, although I don't feel as it's worth $25
  22. May 31, 2011
    8
    Like chess, it's fairly easy to learn, but impossible to master. The gameplay is fun and rewarding and has a clean style. Planning out your moves to be executed simultaneously with the opponent can lead to amusing clashes. The only thing I feel it lacks is COOP vs AI and team battles, which they say they are working on. On a side note, the soundtrack is great.
  23. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    Frozen Synapse is an advanced TBS game. I've had a lot of fun with it, even though I pretty much sucks at it. The whole idea is very unique, though there's a lot of TBS's out there, Frozen Synapse might be one of the best. I love that a game could go on for months because the way you can leave the game at any turn, and your opponent will be okay with it. He can just go ahead and start aFrozen Synapse is an advanced TBS game. I've had a lot of fun with it, even though I pretty much sucks at it. The whole idea is very unique, though there's a lot of TBS's out there, Frozen Synapse might be one of the best. I love that a game could go on for months because the way you can leave the game at any turn, and your opponent will be okay with it. He can just go ahead and start a new game with someone else in the meantime. I got like 7 games running at the same time.
    The soundtrack is a total blast too!
    Expand
  24. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    Frozen Synapse is an interesting blend of realtime strategy and turn based strategy. This game is quick paced, yet deeply involved. The multitude of options allow you to do anything with your soldiers you can imagine in the battlefield (minus telling them to take a leak).

    Though this game is vehemently entertaining, the lack of customization hurts a bit. I rather like being able to equip
    Frozen Synapse is an interesting blend of realtime strategy and turn based strategy. This game is quick paced, yet deeply involved. The multitude of options allow you to do anything with your soldiers you can imagine in the battlefield (minus telling them to take a leak).

    Though this game is vehemently entertaining, the lack of customization hurts a bit. I rather like being able to equip individual soldiers with weapons and gear, but this game doesn't allow it. It doesn't have equipment at all, just soldier types. But this formula works, snipers do great at long range, rifle men at medium ranges and shotgun soldiers for close combat. It's like a rock paper scissor formula. BUT my love of customization of individual soldiers comes from X-COM, and this game doesn't try to be X-COM. Other than that, the game is well worth the price tag and will provide plenty of entertainment to those willing to play!
    Expand
  25. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    It is perfect. I cannot remember the last time I had this fun with a PC game. Rebirth of Rainbow Six feelings (before Ubisoft kill the licence), chess game with rocket launchers. Love it !
    (Dark mode only)
  26. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This game is so simple and so complex at the same time. In a world where turn based games seem to have been forgotten, Frozen Synapse comes as a refreshing option to strategy fans. The game is pure fun and addiction.
  27. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    The best way to explain this game is, it is essentially a complex game of chess. It really tests ones ability to strategize and to out-smart the opponent. If you enjoy a game that puts your mind to the test, I could not recommend this game more. But if you are a casual gamer that does not enjoy much of a challenge, then I guarantee this would be a waste of your time and a major cause ofThe best way to explain this game is, it is essentially a complex game of chess. It really tests ones ability to strategize and to out-smart the opponent. If you enjoy a game that puts your mind to the test, I could not recommend this game more. But if you are a casual gamer that does not enjoy much of a challenge, then I guarantee this would be a waste of your time and a major cause of frustration. It is a bit pricey for being a relatively simplistic indie game at $25. But I find it well worth the money. Download the demo on Steam and try it for yourself. Expand
  28. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    Frozen Synapse is a great little turn-based strategy game, but before you eagerly click the "buy" button, know a few things:

    -It's targeted to a niche slow-paced strategy crowd, so if you prefer fast-paced RTS games or twitchy shooters, you may want to pass on this one. -The AI is hard as balls and is almost psychic. It takes a lot of PATIENCE to beat the campaign. You can't just pray
    Frozen Synapse is a great little turn-based strategy game, but before you eagerly click the "buy" button, know a few things:

    -It's targeted to a niche slow-paced strategy crowd, so if you prefer fast-paced RTS games or twitchy shooters, you may want to pass on this one. -The AI is hard as balls and is almost psychic. It takes a lot of PATIENCE to beat the campaign. You can't just pray that the AI won't make a certain move- you need to position your units such that the AI will be forced into a loss. That being said, it makes winning all the more satisfying =]

    -I couldn't really understand the storyline. It's probably just me. Maybe you have to play it a few times, but it involves a lot of strange names that are hard to keep track of.

    -The main reason I gave it an 8/10 is because there are a lot of bugs and frequent crashes. The final mission bugged out on me so I had to watch the ending on Youtube. This is rather frustrating.

    If you're cool with all that, then you really can't go wrong for the price.
    Expand
  29. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    This is an awesome tactical game. The only thing I find annoying about it is that I've yet to find a full list of hot-keys for the different commands. I've discovered most on my own but there are still some commands I can't issue without right-clicking. It's disappointing because otherwise the game is well polished.
  30. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    This game is absolutly brilliant !!! Even though it envolves alot of thinkinh and strategy it is at the same time so much intense and fun packed !! Just buy it really ... enough said
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    90
    A fast-paced tactical game that is easy to approach but has depth in spades when you dig into it. The mix of randomness and determinism isn't quite optimal, but the end result is mostly excellent. Despite some lacklustre storytelling, even the single player side provides hours and hours of quality gaming. A cult classic. [Aug 2011]
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Pure strategy, complex but solid controls and an irresistible multiplayer make Frozen Synapse a surprise hit. It's not a beautiful looking game, but ignore the basic presentation, because this is a game everyone should try at least once.
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    70
    Frozen Synapse is no rival to full-fledged tactical strategy games, but it's an ideal time-killer for a lunch break.