FTL: Faster Than Light Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You manage the Kestrel and its crew as you explore the galaxy. Strategic, real-time combat involves managing power between essential systems and choosing which enemy systems to target. Meanwhile, you control your crew to keep the ship functioning and fight off intruders. The combat isYou manage the Kestrel and its crew as you explore the galaxy. Strategic, real-time combat involves managing power between essential systems and choosing which enemy systems to target. Meanwhile, you control your crew to keep the ship functioning and fight off intruders. The combat is difficult but, being a "roguelike-like" game, frequent permadeath is at the core of the experience.

    While exploring the galaxy you will encounter a variety of situations requiring decision making that can result in many outcomes. Since all events are randomly generated, each play-through will be significantly different.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
FTL - Gameplay Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    It's amazing and you should definitely check it out.
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    Most playthroughs of FTL end the same way, but this pulse-poundingly vital, consistently surprising game manages to make death feel like merely the beginning of another great adventure.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Faster Than Light is kid's dream becoming a video game. On the deck of a piece of metal, at the helm of its crew, you will start by sticking out your chest like a 10 years old boy, shooting on sight. Then the harsh truth of the reality of a boundless space will come to bite you in the ass, your decisions will cost lives, and you will end up being the chief of your own demise. But his is why you will love offering, once more, your innocence to FTL.
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    If they can keep updating FTL with new scenarios, new spaceships and new stories with the same intelligence and restraint, we could well be seeing the birth of a future classic.
  5. CD-Action
    Oct 24, 2012
    80
    In terms of gameplay design, difficulty level and visuals it's a true indie game. But once you get over this fact, it's a great mix of spaceship simulation and a roguelike. [12/2012, p.83]
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    FTL is a small game with a huge tactical soul, and above all it's the only game that puts you in control of a spaceship and its crew against all the odds of a dangerous journey.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    70
    Like Spelunky before it, survival often depends on what you're carrying, and when you happen across life-prolonging shops and lucky weapon drops. But FTL is a less masterful game than Derek Yu's cave diver, throwing more chance into the mix.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 350
  1. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    If you thought Minecraft was the only successful indie-game, then you haven't seen FTL: Faster Than Light. It's a great concept, and I wasIf you thought Minecraft was the only successful indie-game, then you haven't seen FTL: Faster Than Light. It's a great concept, and I was interested about it when I first saw gameplay of it. Many people would say the graphics in this game are not the best, but I think that the graphics in this game are brilliant. The music in this game is also catchy in my opinion, and it doesn't stress you out. Some scenarios in this game are well thought-out about, and that the unexpected is usually around the corner. You may be boarded by pirates, approaching at a sun, or suffer ion storms on nebula systems. Also, if you die, you may rethink about what you have done to accidentally lead yourself to danger, and you may need to think on picking a different ship in case things go wrong on another one, if you have unlocked one. This is a game which says perfection to me. Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2015
    10
    FTL manages to immerse you in a new story every single time that you fly out in a shiny new ship. As you might have surmised from the otherFTL manages to immerse you in a new story every single time that you fly out in a shiny new ship. As you might have surmised from the other reviews, you will die in a fiery space explosion, your crew will suffocate to death, they'll be eaten by giant mutant space spiders, they'll be beaten to death by giant rock aliens or mantises, you'll fly too close to a sun and burn up, a virus will devastate your crew, etc. etc. etc. more time than you can count. FTL is brutally hard, and that's where it's beauty lies.

    Your crew members and ship upgrade individually and you'll be heartbroken each time a beloved slugman, human, or android is sucked into the cold abyss. In terms of setting, few games manage to create as intricate, random, and volatile a universe as FTL does. The tactical sacrifices you'll be forced to make while playing this game will make you cringe and curse your opponents, giving you all the more reason to persevere and destroy the rebel forces once and for all.

    The actual fighting of this game is so complex it deserves it's own wikipedia page. The strengths, weaknesses, and intricacies of each weapon, ship upgrade, character trait, and system must be studied carefully (as well as those of your opponents). The need to balance your ship's power between your weapons, shield, and other subsystems is quite possibly the most genius game mechanic of all time. You never know what you'll run into with your next FTL jump so you'll be taking a gamble with every bit of scrap you spend to upgrade your shields instead of fixing your hull or hiring a new crew member or purchasing a new beam drone. The game is intelligent, difficult, and completely engrossing. On top of all of this, the boss is a serious feat and, once finally vanquished, will make you want to write all of your friends and family to tell them of your greatest life achievement.

    Get this game on PC or iPad (PC is obviously better but it's probably the best iPad game out there) and you're making an investment in your future – I'm convinced my IQ went up by 20 points after figuring this gem out.
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I write this review 45 hours later... Wait, what? 45 hours?!?

    This game sucked me in extremely fast. I didn't buy it until a friend started
    I write this review 45 hours later... Wait, what? 45 hours?!?

    This game sucked me in extremely fast. I didn't buy it until a friend started playing it, and after watching him, I had to try it myself. The game has a very high replay value, but that might be due to the game's quite short playthrough.

    To start, the game is brutal and unforgiving. Making mistakes will quickly lead to a game over, and sometimes the RNG plays dirty by giving you time and time again the negative side of every random event. The enemies scale quickly, so you'll need to find a way to keep the pace. The first 10, maybe even 20 times you're going to lose. On easy.

    However, once you've got an understanding of how the game works, it's not as random and luck based as people make it out to be. Being tactical about your movements and not taking needless risks will take you consistently to the end of the game. Using resource management for your ship can save you tons of cash that you can use to upgrade other things or purchase more weapons at stores. Playing smart will almost always win, except for the very worst generated maps.

    No matter what type of gamer you are, I highly recommend this game. For $10, it's well worth the money.
    Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    9
    Once bought this game i letterally spent nights on it.
    Have you ever experienced a roguelike? Me myself had in the past, but i couldn't get
    Once bought this game i letterally spent nights on it.
    Have you ever experienced a roguelike? Me myself had in the past, but i couldn't get fun out of 'em, ever.

    This game made me experience the fun behind losing. Because believe me: you are going to lose so many times, and still you'll need to try again. And not in the way "i have to beat this crap!", but instead more something "this one is going to be THE ONE!". And Evrytime in the end you think that you could have done better, so you try again. And you enjoy it, and stick to your tactics which will be proven good or bad only after many trials and errors.

    Oh, and the developer is ok with modding, and encourages it. So in the future, the basic game-play of the game (which is brilliant: the fights are really enjoyable and fresh) will experience a more opening to modalities many people felt the game was lacking (i'm quite sure in the future there will be tons of mods on the "privateer" style).

    Seriously, you want to buy this game. It's just tons of neverending fun. it's just like old arcades in which you kept on playing for the very sake of becoming better at them! Never felt this sensation since years!
    Expand
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    I love this game I really do but it seems to hate me. There's a lot of dick moves the game pulls off along with giving some amazing amounts ofI love this game I really do but it seems to hate me. There's a lot of dick moves the game pulls off along with giving some amazing amounts of frustration. But you really do care about your crew and your ship.
    Super addictive as well and I always come back for more. The game has a few faults such as a poor soundtrack and truly frustrating moments that it throws your way, such as the final boss who is just insane levels of powerful. Overall I would say watch a video of someone playing it and see if its for you before putting money into it.
    Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    17OCT2012 - It's an alright game. I wasn't expecting much from this simple looking game but I really enjoyed it. Haven't beaten it yet but I'm17OCT2012 - It's an alright game. I wasn't expecting much from this simple looking game but I really enjoyed it. Haven't beaten it yet but I'm still working on it. First impressions for me was that the game looks crappy and a cheap throwback to games from the 1990's. Still though, gameplay is fun and addictive. If the price remains low I would recommend this game. Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2016
    0
    Game is based purely on luck. I have spent too long just reading guides to make a ship viable for system 5 let alone come close to evenGame is based purely on luck. I have spent too long just reading guides to make a ship viable for system 5 let alone come close to even beating the game. Save yourself some time and trouble and avoid this one.

    Basically you have to treat this like any other crap tier roguelike and if you don't get a perfect run in the first system(take too much damage, don't find the right weapons, make 1 wrong decision) you need to restart. Basically you have to streamline every possible combination and then have super good luck or restart until that happens.

    If there were some way to actually customize your load out before starting the game or not making certain pieces of equipment a requirement to proceed then the game might be enjoyable, as it stands now its the "space cookie cutter ship with the identical build to everyone else is the only way to proceed" game and is not fun at all.
    Expand

See all 350 User Reviews

Trailers