Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1084 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You manage the Kestrel and its crew as you explore the galaxy. Strategic, real-time combat involves managing power between essential systems and choosing which enemy systems to target. Meanwhile, you control your crew to keep the ship functioning and fight off intruders. The combat is difficult but, being a "roguelike-like" game, frequent permadeath is at the core of the experience.

    While exploring the galaxy you will encounter a variety of situations requiring decision making that can result in many outcomes. Since all events are randomly generated, each play-through will be significantly different.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    95
    It's amazing and you should definitely check it out.
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    90
    Most playthroughs of FTL end the same way, but this pulse-poundingly vital, consistently surprising game manages to make death feel like merely the beginning of another great adventure.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Faster Than Light is kid's dream becoming a video game. On the deck of a piece of metal, at the helm of its crew, you will start by sticking out your chest like a 10 years old boy, shooting on sight. Then the harsh truth of the reality of a boundless space will come to bite you in the ass, your decisions will cost lives, and you will end up being the chief of your own demise. But his is why you will love offering, once more, your innocence to FTL.
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    80
    If they can keep updating FTL with new scenarios, new spaceships and new stories with the same intelligence and restraint, we could well be seeing the birth of a future classic.
  5. Oct 24, 2012
    80
    In terms of gameplay design, difficulty level and visuals it's a true indie game. But once you get over this fact, it's a great mix of spaceship simulation and a roguelike. [12/2012, p.83]
  6. Oct 3, 2012
    80
    FTL is a small game with a huge tactical soul, and above all it's the only game that puts you in control of a spaceship and its crew against all the odds of a dangerous journey.
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    70
    Like Spelunky before it, survival often depends on what you're carrying, and when you happen across life-prolonging shops and lucky weapon drops. But FTL is a less masterful game than Derek Yu's cave diver, throwing more chance into the mix.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 305
  1. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    FTL is a well polished roguelike-inspired masterpiece. Each time through you pray for a good run, and each failure teaches you a valuable lesson. The combat is very interesting and challenging, the dialogue is fun and interesting, and the graphics are simple yet pleasing. There is a modding community if you get bored, and the developers have stated they will soon release a version with additional features. My only issue with the game is that there aren't more like it. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    I write this review 45 hours later... Wait, what? 45 hours?!?

    This game sucked me in extremely fast. I didn't buy it until a friend started
    playing it, and after watching him, I had to try it myself. The game has a very high replay value, but that might be due to the game's quite short playthrough.

    To start, the game is brutal and unforgiving. Making mistakes will quickly lead to a game over, and sometimes the RNG plays dirty by giving you time and time again the negative side of every random event. The enemies scale quickly, so you'll need to find a way to keep the pace. The first 10, maybe even 20 times you're going to lose. On easy.

    However, once you've got an understanding of how the game works, it's not as random and luck based as people make it out to be. Being tactical about your movements and not taking needless risks will take you consistently to the end of the game. Using resource management for your ship can save you tons of cash that you can use to upgrade other things or purchase more weapons at stores. Playing smart will almost always win, except for the very worst generated maps.

    No matter what type of gamer you are, I highly recommend this game. For $10, it's well worth the money.
    Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    im new to Meta and this is my 2nd review.
    FTL is a great game in so many ways! low price tag and endless replays win! overall the game is
    simple, but well crafted...its what it needs, and nothing else!
    over 20 hours played and I still have a drive to play it again.
    for an indie game its one of the best ive played
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    If you like maddeningly difficult old school games then this one is for you. The graphics are primitive, but I feel like that just adds to the old school feel of the game. The game play is simple enough to pick up quickly, yet complicated enough to keep you thinking and coming back for more.

    The basic mechanics of shields, weapon systems, drones, and boarding parties make me feel like I'm the captain of a Star Trek vessel in a way that previous Star Trek and other Sci-Fi games have failed to do so well.

    For an inexpensive indie game with such a small team the design is nearly perfect. Aside from having not quite enough different random encounters (expect to play through the same encounters over and over again) I don't think I have any complaints for this title. I hope a AAA studio decides to make something like FTL, or picks up these guys and makes FTL2.
    Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game! The graphics are simple and the fictional universe it's incredible rich, a little barely tapped, but still fun and interesting. The difficulty of the game it's very disappointing and exciting at the same time, if you are a impatient person may you be angry sometimes. Anyway, it's amazing! Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    This 'game' is not even worth playing unless you have a thing for either A) Modding files and making things easier, B) having the luck of a dozen leprechauns or C) enjoy failure. The game is mind-blowing difficult, requiring a restart from square one. No second chances or back-up saves. The difficulty starts out well for the first few sectors, but then it jumps to near-impossibility, even on easy mode. I would have liked an option to turn the perma-death off, but until the producers add in an option to respawn at, say, the start of you current sector, I'm not wasting any more of my life on this game. Expand

See all 305 User Reviews

Trailers