Fuel PC

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 86
  2. Negative: 18 out of 86
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GunnarZ
    Oct 1, 2009
    8
    Considering that in every racing game I ever played I strayed off the course and just enjoyed driving around in the scenery, this game seems to be taylor made for me. Like other people I was not too sure about it because of all the reviews, but I sure am glad I got it. I do see the shortcomings, especially the engine sounds are disappointing, 3 out of 4 vehicles sound like scooters. The Considering that in every racing game I ever played I strayed off the course and just enjoyed driving around in the scenery, this game seems to be taylor made for me. Like other people I was not too sure about it because of all the reviews, but I sure am glad I got it. I do see the shortcomings, especially the engine sounds are disappointing, 3 out of 4 vehicles sound like scooters. The racing is satisfactory anough, even spectacular at times (weather effects!). But what I really enjoy is the "pointless" driving around, hunting for everything that's out there, trying to reach this roof or the top of that cliff... admittedly, I'm probably weird. But I suggest you give this game a try before you give it up. (Plus, I expect there will be a patch to address at least some of the shoftcomings). Expand
  2. JohnR
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    This game has been given a bad review by so many people. I almost did not buy it. I am glad that I did. It is an imaginative racing game that reminds me of my youth when I would ride motorbikes through the Australian bush. My children spend hours exploring in search of all the hidden surprises thoughout the landscape.
  3. VinceD
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This game is probably being rated by people not involving enough time in the game to enjoy it. Just an observation from a few posts. I love this open world, it only seems like theres not much in there because of the amount of area there is to drive! I for one cant stand the games that can be beat in a day or a week then they never get played again, this game is sure to give you months or This game is probably being rated by people not involving enough time in the game to enjoy it. Just an observation from a few posts. I love this open world, it only seems like theres not much in there because of the amount of area there is to drive! I for one cant stand the games that can be beat in a day or a week then they never get played again, this game is sure to give you months or years of gaming. Now for the not so good, the physics is garbage, shame on you for borrowing that physics engine from an outdated game and put it in this beautiful setup. I would have to say to keep this big of a map a constant thrill would have taken an army of programmers. Cut these guys some slack for a good effort and lets support them so they may release something a bit more tuned next time instead of bashing them and causing their sales to go to hell. Cant we all just get along? lol Expand
  4. NicolasG.
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    This was probably the best game i have ever played. Really easy to handle. Wonderful graphics and good racing! You have to love it!
  5. guyo
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Cant believe all the bad reviews for this game? Not everybody is interested in a Complete sim game. Fuel is simple, and perfect for the casual gamer. Tons of land, tons of vehicle, cool weather, beautiful landscape and fine gameplay.
  6. DavidD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Its just the prfect game. he graphics, how to handle it... Its just perfect. I love it!!!
  7. Buddhamind
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    FUEL is so badly rated, and maybe objectively there are a lot of points which could be better. Yet I am quite a fan of race games - like more than a decade - and intuitively this game feels just right. Personally I like to drive the huge open ended world even though it is a bit 'empty'. But the races make everything more than good. Unlike Burnout Paradise which goes way to soon FUEL is so badly rated, and maybe objectively there are a lot of points which could be better. Yet I am quite a fan of race games - like more than a decade - and intuitively this game feels just right. Personally I like to drive the huge open ended world even though it is a bit 'empty'. But the races make everything more than good. Unlike Burnout Paradise which goes way to soon way too fast, FUEL has just exactly the right speed. Maybe in the beginning the cars and bikes are a bit slowy, but I think the programmers want players to focus on steering/ drifting which is exactly what the challenge is in races. Also unlike ANY game I've played before the races have a certain bigness. You're not cramped up in a city, but you're driving these big plains, rolling down mountains is just superbly done. I have not seen anything like this before. So even though there are some theoretical flaws (they're not really obvious or an annoyance while playing like in most games), I find myself just being extremely excited everytime I play, not knowing exactly why. Expand
  8. DylanT
    Jul 3, 2009
    8
    FUEL delivers on almost all its promises. Having said that, from what I've played the actual racing lacks a sense of speed and the sound effects become annoying after a short time.
  9. WayneO
    Feb 7, 2010
    8
    I love this game even with its few problems.. yes, its hard to find online players... but you will eventually build up enough friends to have an epic experience online. I mean free-riding with friends over endless terrain never gets old. I have to say that some cars/vehicles handle better than others and there are some ai issues...but if you love racing you will love this.. simple. Get I love this game even with its few problems.. yes, its hard to find online players... but you will eventually build up enough friends to have an epic experience online. I mean free-riding with friends over endless terrain never gets old. I have to say that some cars/vehicles handle better than others and there are some ai issues...but if you love racing you will love this.. simple. Get the demo is you are unsure... I have spent many hours just in awe of this game. The races with typhoons r epic. Expand
  10. mitch
    May 18, 2010
    8
    What can I say? This is a game that can really test your nerves, but then when you take a look at the beautiful scenery rushing past as you hurtle across a landscape at full throttle, you can become instantly relaxed. There are many, many different vehicles to choose from, each with the varying statistics and strengths. The huge area makes exploring one of the major things to do in this What can I say? This is a game that can really test your nerves, but then when you take a look at the beautiful scenery rushing past as you hurtle across a landscape at full throttle, you can become instantly relaxed. There are many, many different vehicles to choose from, each with the varying statistics and strengths. The huge area makes exploring one of the major things to do in this game, with hours and hours of enjoyment simply by trying to collect all of the game's pieces. Mountains, rivers, hills, sand dunes, forests, tornadoes - these are the sorts of things that really separates this game from the rest of the pack. However, what draws me back from giving this game a better score is the way that it can be quite repetitive in the tasks you are required to do, and the fact that one needs to be quite the racing expert to be able to complete the game up to the final area. But if it had touched up the graphics just a smidge, and set up a broader range of things to do, I might've been persuaded to give it a nine or a ten. Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    update edit: Have about 80 hours in Fuel. Enjoyed it very much. Lots of different vehicles that all handle differently, and races across lots of different terrains offroad/onroad.

    original review 12-20-2011: I am so glad I downloaded this game from Steam and played it. I was interested in some things I read about the huge world, free rides in an open world, and it just sounded cool
    update edit: Have about 80 hours in Fuel. Enjoyed it very much. Lots of different vehicles that all handle differently, and races across lots of different terrains offroad/onroad.

    original review 12-20-2011: I am so glad I downloaded this game from Steam and played it. I was interested in some things I read about the huge world, free rides in an open world, and it just sounded cool to me. This has become my favorite game on steam for a while now. I can't explain why, but it keeps pulling me back. I like the races and challenges it's particularly good to help the learning curve for someone like myself who's not a hardcore gamer or hardcore racing fan, but the pacing is great and the free ride aspect in a big open world makes it fun for me just to go ride around and get better driving my different vehicles.

    I remember riding around in a thunderstorm last night and pulling up under an abandoned barn on a faraway hillside and just watching it rain and watching the thunder and lightning light up the landscape. It really is a beautiful game that gives a lot back if you like to explore.

    I've only played about 8-10 hours on steam so far, but something about the game makes me want to get better, and driving around the countryside, be it on-road, off-road, make-your-own-road approach is rewarding in-and-of itself. BTW- there a tons of races and challenges for those who are goal oriented, but if you're free-riding it's also fun to try to figure out how to jump that old building on the side of the road also.
    Expand
  12. Jul 25, 2013
    8
    Fuel, with all its faults is an extraordinary game. Many have said it all looks the same I disagree, you need to drive and the scenery changes. The demo should have been red rocks zone, they would have sold a lot more games. Yes the AI is hokey and there is no hood or view. Sill many of the races are quite epic. The racing is very arcade, while the world is Sim. Some races are tough andFuel, with all its faults is an extraordinary game. Many have said it all looks the same I disagree, you need to drive and the scenery changes. The demo should have been red rocks zone, they would have sold a lot more games. Yes the AI is hokey and there is no hood or view. Sill many of the races are quite epic. The racing is very arcade, while the world is Sim. Some races are tough and almost have a puzzle quality to them. Some races require the right car and take the right short cuts to win. Some races are easy. There are over 70 different tracks, one review said there were few tracks, what game is he playing? The graphics on PC with a good card are very good, setup in card configuration overriding the games settings. Immediately download the mods from the internet, which corrects many car handling and AI issues, as well as gives you accesses to all cars (when you can afford them) and free fast movement to all tracks, helipads, etc. Its not completely cheating, you still have to win the races, but you see what this game has to offer quickly. I first played the xbox version and put in about 120 hrs. I opened all areas and did 90% of the races. Then I got the PC version with my new gaming pc and it is fantastic, especially with the MODs even more so. I just love driving around and have spent most my time doing that. Although racing can be quite challenging and fun. Its cheap, give it a shot I love it, and I have nearly all the other racing games too, like dirt, grid, forza, etc, etc. Oh yeah, I use a playseat and a cheap wheel. It really is different then any game out there. Expand
  13. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    Just another game that's proof of a lot of winey game now.. graphics are awesome the whole idea kicks ass and it a huge massive very big open world where you can go anywhere.. enter races of challenges and unlock sweet stuff.. boring? maybe the reviewer should actually race against other people instead free ride and then write a review
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. We had high hopes for FUEL, which promised to offer an expansive game world teaming with insane weather and even crazier racing. Ultimately, however, Asobo Studio has served up a barren wasteland filled with nothing to do, bland race events, and weather effects that are far less dynamic than Codemasters might have you believe.
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    Even if some of the fundamental stuff has been sacrificed to the creation of this huge world, Fuel still makes it across the finish line on a far-from-empty tank. [July 2009, p.97]
  3. FUEL is a huge project but never quite fulfills its potential. The game lacks polish and style, and the overwhelmingly enormous world is too lifeless to keep you entertained. Thus, FUEL never manages to impress, making it nothing more than an average off road-racer inferior to competitors like Pure and Motorstorm.