Galactic Civilizations II: Dark Avatar PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 5 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CollinD.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    All frustration aside, due to the difficult AI, this is a great game. If you have the patience to actually build yourself a space
  2. BenH.
    Sep 23, 2007
    2
    Why does everyone like this game? It is so completely boring. The interface stinks. The art stinks. The creators forgot that Space Is Not Flat. It's cool that you can customize your ships, but the feature is merely annoying because by the time you build them, they're obsolete! The research system is just a handful of linear tracks with techs numbered 1,2,3,4. If you want to play Why does everyone like this game? It is so completely boring. The interface stinks. The art stinks. The creators forgot that Space Is Not Flat. It's cool that you can customize your ships, but the feature is merely annoying because by the time you build them, they're obsolete! The research system is just a handful of linear tracks with techs numbered 1,2,3,4. If you want to play the good version of this game, play Civilization 4. Homeworld was better if you like realtime. I have no idea why GalCiv continues to get good critic reviews, I almost always agree with the critics. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    this game is a hell of alot of fun it didn't take me long to get into it, my favorite raCe is the humans (weird huh) but i'm here to review the game so you want to know what it's like thenthis game is a hell of alot of fun it didn't take me long to get into it, my favorite raCe is the humans (weird huh) but i'm here to review the game so you want to know what it's like then .......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... play it Expand
  4. DerickC.
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    This expansion adds so much to the original, not just maps or units but it actually makes the game better with its new features and ai. I can safely compare this expansion to Warcraft 3: The Frozen Throne in terms of making the original game unplayable without the expansion.
  5. JonathanS.
    Jun 13, 2007
    10
    This is a must-buy for any civilizations fan. If you dont think there was action enough in sid meyers games, this might be something for you too. In this expansion everything has been improved, This is like way more than just an expansion but not really a sequel. There is nothing to complain about the graphics they are quite good (they got improved alot), and most of all, its got the best This is a must-buy for any civilizations fan. If you dont think there was action enough in sid meyers games, this might be something for you too. In this expansion everything has been improved, This is like way more than just an expansion but not really a sequel. There is nothing to complain about the graphics they are quite good (they got improved alot), and most of all, its got the best AI i have ever seen. one bad thing could be the diplomacy, its not very deep and from time to time a bit confusing, but it still cualifies for a 10. The only reason more people dont buy it is becourse they are afraid to try something they havent heard about. Expand
  6. KyleT.
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    I Think that this is one of the best expansions to come out in a while, even beating my all time favorite, Half-life: Opposing Force in terms of new content. There are enough new features and gameplay improvements that Stardock could have realesed this as a full blown sequel, and it would not have been considered more of the same. It even manages to improve the amazing AI from the I Think that this is one of the best expansions to come out in a while, even beating my all time favorite, Half-life: Opposing Force in terms of new content. There are enough new features and gameplay improvements that Stardock could have realesed this as a full blown sequel, and it would not have been considered more of the same. It even manages to improve the amazing AI from the original, which i thought was impossible. The only reason I don't give it a 10 is the lack of multiplayer. Civilization 4 found a fun solution to TBS multiplayer, and so should Gal Civ II. Expand
  7. MatthewW.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    I didn't think it was possible, but Stardock has managed to improve Galactic Civilizations II, which was already the finest 4X space strategy game I'd ever played. All of GalCiv II's original faults have been eradicated, and new features have made the game all the sweeter. A joy to play.
  8. MichaelR.
    Feb 23, 2007
    9
    The expansion improves the game in so many ways - better graphics (including unique ship designs for each alien race), more technologies, epic events . . . . My only criticism of this wonderful game is that spying was better in GCII.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Dark Avatar still suffers from a few minor issues present in the original game, like non-allied aliens setting up colonies inside a rival faction's solar system without fear of repercussions. However, the positives far outweigh the negatives.
  2. A great game. It’s detailed, well thought out, and planned. It has real science in it. It has real politics in it. It has drama and it has humor.
  3. The new features in Dark Avatar elevate the already superb Galactic Civilizations II to the title of undisputed best turn-based space strategy game on the PC.