Galactic Civilizations II: Dread Lords PC

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 70
  2. Negative: 7 out of 70
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrianY.
    Jun 20, 2006
    9
    Old time strategy gamers like me who fell in love with the MOO series knows how disappointing it has been waiting for something to even come close to the Microprose classics. Well Galactic Civilizations II comes prett darn close to filling the void. A nice technology tree, awesome AI, customizable ships, and a great 3D strategy engine helps you relive the glory. One thing missing is Old time strategy gamers like me who fell in love with the MOO series knows how disappointing it has been waiting for something to even come close to the Microprose classics. Well Galactic Civilizations II comes prett darn close to filling the void. A nice technology tree, awesome AI, customizable ships, and a great 3D strategy engine helps you relive the glory. One thing missing is tactical control of starship battles as they are played out only in cinematic view. The technology tree is also a little bland as Laser I-IV are as creative as they can get. On the plus side it is a constant design challenge to use equip your ships with the proper defense and weapons. Ship design is also a great feature where your options as far as cosmetic are limitless. Your ships on the starmap actually look like the one you designed too. The 3D starmap is a direction these games need to go where you set at what level you see the model of your ship or a color coded icon from a GOD's eye perspective. Diplomacy is also more fullfilling as the AI is truly the best I have seen in these type of games, MOO included. As far bugs, I have encountered very few bugs, and none that detract from the game. There practically weekly updates so the you know the publisher is on top of their game. Expand
  2. PeterB.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    For those who like gameplay over graphics this game is fantastic.
  3. Mr.Moby
    Mar 16, 2006
    10
    I picked up Galactic Civ II as a Copy and found it a very very adictive game. as mine was a copy i was unable to get the patches for it so as i felt this was a fantasic game i went out and brought the game so i could get the updates for it. i comend the developers for not using the Dreded Starforce kit as my DVD burner has never been the same since i unwitingly installed starforce. the I picked up Galactic Civ II as a Copy and found it a very very adictive game. as mine was a copy i was unable to get the patches for it so as i felt this was a fantasic game i went out and brought the game so i could get the updates for it. i comend the developers for not using the Dreded Starforce kit as my DVD burner has never been the same since i unwitingly installed starforce. the game is in my opinion better than CIV IV, i love the way you can build your own ships so that it can be as zany or trekkie as you like. there is plenty to reserch and the game has a second to non replay value. if you have a pirate copy of this game i say go out and byt the full game and support stardoc for not using starforce in the first place. Expand
  4. Richie
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    Please don't let the negative reviews regarding bugs dissuade you from this great game! New FREE updates are already out and have patched most of the major bugs. While there are still some bothersome bugs, the dev team is hard at work releasing new updates on a regular basis. Can you say the same for other game developers?
  5. PaulC.
    Mar 8, 2006
    10
    Excellent game - improving on GalCivI was hard. Stardock had spent 4 years tweaking and polishing the first game - and adding so much new content that I struggled to think of what more they could add. The planet logistics is great - specialised planets - Population and growth centres could be close to home -where a good factory centre with a starpost just on the edge of enemy territory a Excellent game - improving on GalCivI was hard. Stardock had spent 4 years tweaking and polishing the first game - and adding so much new content that I struggled to think of what more they could add. The planet logistics is great - specialised planets - Population and growth centres could be close to home -where a good factory centre with a starpost just on the edge of enemy territory a "net loss" in terms of budget - but strategically - a lovely little Cuba circa 1962. In fact so many strategies can be used- but BEWARE - on the highest levels the CPU will outguess you - do the same - do better - adapt - win - and leave you wanting another go. I feel for people with bugs - I'm luckiy in having no show stoppers so far - but that doesn't mean the game is flawless. I Got sick of X3 ( a real-time competitor to this in many ways) where one half of the community couldn't get the game to run - while the other half told them to shut up and stop whinging" All in all a top game. Expand
  6. T.W.
    Nov 9, 2006
    9
    With so many great things about this game already brought to light, I would just be echoing what is already said if I typed it all out. But one thing I would like to reiterate is that the game designers need some serious Kudos for really LISTENING to player input, with great/responsive version patches. Nice to see a game company that really takes it's audience to heart. Looking With so many great things about this game already brought to light, I would just be echoing what is already said if I typed it all out. But one thing I would like to reiterate is that the game designers need some serious Kudos for really LISTENING to player input, with great/responsive version patches. Nice to see a game company that really takes it's audience to heart. Looking forward to the expansion. Expand
  7. ChrisW.
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    Easily one of the best strategy games I've played. You can tell when a game is truly a labor of love -- these guys really poured their souls into this thing. The ship design feature is awesome, the AI is fantastic; as for the bugs...anyone who played Galciv 1 knows that this company backs up its products with patches and support -- long after sales have tapered off. I actually Easily one of the best strategy games I've played. You can tell when a game is truly a labor of love -- these guys really poured their souls into this thing. The ship design feature is awesome, the AI is fantastic; as for the bugs...anyone who played Galciv 1 knows that this company backs up its products with patches and support -- long after sales have tapered off. I actually haven't experienced any major bugs yet, but for those who have you can be sure that Stardock will get it fixed ASAP. A must have for strategy fans! Expand
  8. J
    Feb 24, 2006
    9
    This game is wonderful. A return to the thoughtful, challenging, turn-based strategy titles that many of us long for companies to put out. My guess with Neil B. is that he didn't bother to read the readme and make sure his drivers etc. were up to date. The company is among the best in terms of product support and not only updates its products but puts out extra material for free. This game is wonderful. A return to the thoughtful, challenging, turn-based strategy titles that many of us long for companies to put out. My guess with Neil B. is that he didn't bother to read the readme and make sure his drivers etc. were up to date. The company is among the best in terms of product support and not only updates its products but puts out extra material for free. (okay, got a bit long winded there). The game features customizable races, ships etc. and is the spiritual successor to Master of Orion II in my opinion. The many ways to win (cultural, military, trade, diplomatic) are all excellent and balanced and have overtones of Civ. IV. I haven't been this happy with a purchase and its replayability in a long time. Expand
  9. ChuckS.
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    Haven't found any bugs at this point. This is a fantastic strategy game with superb graphics. The ability to create your own modular spacecraft is terrific. Superb game and worth the money.
  10. MichaelH.
    Mar 1, 2006
    9
    It takes several turns for the game to start moving along. I was nearly tempted to put it down at first. But after getting in to it I find it hard to stop. I like how I can buy my ships if I need them in a pinch. Designing my own ships is great! I've had no crashes and found no bugs. The company supports it fully and it is easy to update. I'm very pleased with the game.
  11. InterplanetJanet
    Mar 1, 2006
    8
    Any rating below a 7 is a farce! Either someone has picked up this game and expected Real Time action or is addicted to FPS. Stardock is really the dream company we all want behind our games with free content and lots of love shown to their cutomers. This game is not easy. You better bring your brain and have a strategy coming right out of the gate or you will be working to come from Any rating below a 7 is a farce! Either someone has picked up this game and expected Real Time action or is addicted to FPS. Stardock is really the dream company we all want behind our games with free content and lots of love shown to their cutomers. This game is not easy. You better bring your brain and have a strategy coming right out of the gate or you will be working to come from behind by turn 30. The animation is nice and menus streamlined. This game is what you make it, it can be a military fight or a diplomatic chess game...just make sure you build some kind of military or you will be eliminated. The game smells your weakness and guilts you about your bloodthirsty strengths. I give it an 8 but that's just because I think a 10 truly means Hall of Fame game to me. An 8 to me is a game that I will never get rid of but not play exclusively like BF2, XCom, or Morrowind...I'd say this is a solid customizable game with solid gameplay where brains over mouse clicks will decide if you win. The only thing I wish in a game like this is a little more "fun" factor that entertains you while you play. Expand
  12. Rhett
    Mar 12, 2006
    9
    Great game, and likely to get better as they continue to patch it. Only thing really lacking right now is multiplayer, though there are still a few persistent bugs here and there that can be a bit of a pain. For those looking for a spaced based answer to CivIV, this is it. I still think CivIV is the better game, but then, I have a feeling it was done on about 10 times the budget. Overall, Great game, and likely to get better as they continue to patch it. Only thing really lacking right now is multiplayer, though there are still a few persistent bugs here and there that can be a bit of a pain. For those looking for a spaced based answer to CivIV, this is it. I still think CivIV is the better game, but then, I have a feeling it was done on about 10 times the budget. Overall, Galciv2 deserves the rating it has been getting. Expand
  13. XenoM.
    Mar 12, 2006
    8
    As everyone else keeps saying, this is a great game. But what nobody else has said is the producers are to be commended for not crippling this game with annoying copy-protection like starforce -- i can *actually* play this game! Of course those of us with legit serials receive free updates & fixes. What a stroke of briliance! Thank you stardock!
  14. Twelvefield
    Mar 17, 2006
    8
    This game definitely boosts the tired genre of space exploitation games. However, GalCiv 2 could still use more high-end gloss to really finish it off. The graphics and interface are certainly workable, but not gorgeous, and the sound is rather weak. Defenders of this type of game will tell you that this is the way all space-exploitation games should look, but I think there's roomThis game definitely boosts the tired genre of space exploitation games. However, GalCiv 2 could still use more high-end gloss to really finish it off. The graphics and interface are certainly workable, but not gorgeous, and the sound is rather weak. Defenders of this type of game will tell you that this is the way all space-exploitation games should look, but I think there's room for more chrome and anodized metal in this game. I'd like to see the genre come up with a game that played out like Civ 4, but had the graphics of X3.

    That being said, GalCiv isn't nearly as polished-looking or -sounding as Star Wars: Empire At War. It doesn't have as many cohesive features as Civ 4. But the game play is very good at the get-go, there's tons of room for customization by every level of user from beginner to expert, the forum support is not bad, and the game developers, Stardock, are extremely willing to listen and react to their user base.
    I'd still reccommend Civ 4 as the best conquest game out right now, but if you want to know what happens to your civilization after you complete the space quest, the absolute best way to do that is to play Gal Civ 2!
    Expand
  15. Rroberto
    Mar 21, 2006
    10
    with the latest 1.1 patch adding loads more content and fixing some minor issues this game just suck hours away from your life. i found the various AI settings very impressive and challenging. Turn based games for the PC are few and far between and this game just makes it so much sweeter, what with planet management trading fleet management this game keeps things simple and fun. also with the latest 1.1 patch adding loads more content and fixing some minor issues this game just suck hours away from your life. i found the various AI settings very impressive and challenging. Turn based games for the PC are few and far between and this game just makes it so much sweeter, what with planet management trading fleet management this game keeps things simple and fun. also another plus is how you can create your own ship designs. ive managed to create so far the battlestar galactica, enterprise, cylon raider klingon bird of prey, basicly you can design almost anything that takes your fancy. another thing about this game is that they decided not to add the starforce protection system and you have to comend stardoc for doing this. and the last plus is that after its installed you dont need the disk in the drive to play it. Expand
  16. Bass
    Apr 23, 2006
    10
    An exceptional game in every way. The first GalCiv was a smart and wel designed title that completely deserved the merits it garnered, however the follow up is so much more than a generic sequal and fully expands on the elements that made its predecessor so successful. By taking the best aspects of other turn-based strategy games (namely the superb CivVI) and adapting them to fit a An exceptional game in every way. The first GalCiv was a smart and wel designed title that completely deserved the merits it garnered, however the follow up is so much more than a generic sequal and fully expands on the elements that made its predecessor so successful. By taking the best aspects of other turn-based strategy games (namely the superb CivVI) and adapting them to fit a space-based back drop Stardock have expertly crafted a gaming experience that is both challenging and gratifying and reminds you why you love computer games in the first place. The graphics are lush, the sound is idyllic and the whole game exudes an overall quality that only titles such as CivVI, KOTOR and Deus Ex possess. This is one of the most engrossing games that you will ever play. Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. One of the best strategy games I've played recently. The depth of gameplay offered is truly remarkable and the AI is good enough to almost make me forget that there is no multiplayer (almost).
  2. It is clear that the development team used the development cycle to full effect and have created a fantastic game, with all the components coming to together expertly.
  3. Fun and enjoyment wise nothing has touched Galactic Civilization II this year and we’ll be surprised if that stance changes in December. Stardock and Paradox have without doubt created a hugely enjoyable and highly customizable space simulation that deservers every ounce of your attention.