Galactic Civilizations III PC

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. May 16, 2015
    90
    Like its predecessors, it brings something unique to the 4X table that goes beyond the sum of its parts.
  2. May 15, 2015
    90
    I’m hooked in the same way I was with the last game, and not because it’s stayed the same, but because it’s managed to strike that balance between the comfortingly familiar and the refreshingly new.
  3. May 14, 2015
    90
    Galactic Civilizations 3 is a constantly rewarding experience, a colossal box of toys with which you can create some truly memorable stories.
  4. May 14, 2015
    90
    Galactic Civilizations III is a great game, containing a mix of familiar mechanics and new ideas that can keep both fans and newcomers occupied for a frighteningly long period of time...The best thing about the new Stardock-created turn-based experience is that it is so customizable, and the experience of playing in the resulting galaxies creates stories that are consistently fun and filled with surprises.
  5. May 17, 2015
    88
    It’s in-depth, addictive, time consuming and a helluva lot of fun. Whether you want to be a money maker, a military genius or a peacekeeper, you can do it. With very few drawbacks and some very interesting game modes still coming, this game is going to be a life suck.
  6. May 15, 2015
    88
    It’s a fun, deep, and somehow accessible entry in a genre that’s often viewed as complicated and excessively complex.
  7. Apr 29, 2016
    87
    Galactic Civilizations III is a great 4X space strategy game, one that will keep you pushing for one more turn late into the night. If you’re looking for a terrific multiplayer experience, GalCiv III won’t scratch that itch, and some parts of its core pacing stumble. But the combination of depth, ease of gameplay, and a sometimes-funny, snarky aesthetic, make GalCiv III a delight to play.
  8. May 21, 2015
    87
    More of a refresh than expected, but still hands down the best modern way to conquer unknown space.
  9. May 21, 2015
    86
    GalCiv 3 gives you everything a galactic conquest has to offer: Plenty of victory conditions, scalable enemies and fleet battles. Unfortunately with the exception of tech trees the races play too similarly while the diplomacy can be broken down to math. So while there is lots to improve in small details, in the big picture Galactic Civilizations is one of the best of its kind.
  10. May 14, 2015
    86
    Galactic Civilizations 3 doesn't do much to change the established explore, expand, exploit, and exterminate grand strategy model aside from its ideological advancement tree, but its extensive customization, faction personality, and overall quality make it an excellent game.
  11. May 19, 2015
    85
    Galactic Civilizations III stays the course on the strong path laid by Galactic Civilization II— at times to a fault.
  12. Jun 15, 2015
    84
    Stardock built a sturdy 4X platform to build upon in future expansions.
  13. May 26, 2015
    81
    Galactic Civilizations III is a solid entry to a beloved strategic saga. It's just a bit disappointing that the calls for bolder innovations were not heard.
  14. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 3, 2016
    80
    Galactic Civilizations 3 is too much work and too little game. [Jan 2016]
  15. Oct 12, 2015
    80
    The universe of Galactic Civilizations III is so great - gigantic environment, generous editor and ever-improving game balance is hopefully a good apology to fans disappointed that new installment doesn’t change anything.
  16. Aug 23, 2015
    80
    GalCiv3 is a brilliant game that delivers seamless graphics with a tremendous engine that delivers as small or as large an empire-experience as you could possibly hope for. While some were nervous after Stardock stumbled with the poorly-received Elemental, they have used the time to take a running start and put themselves back in the pack, though one wishes that they included a bit more hand-holding.
  17. Jul 26, 2015
    80
    A new king is on the throne, yet one who shows the empire is old, formulaic and in dire need of evolution.
  18. Jun 11, 2015
    80
    Stardock Studio stood up to the task. Third Galactic Civilizations is an absorbing strategy game, one of the best of its genre. It's also a difficult game, but accessible and worth the time.
  19. Jun 4, 2015
    80
    A good game marred by bugs and lack of documentation. Once it is fixed it should be back on top but it does not justify a higher score.
  20. May 29, 2015
    80
    Galactic Civilizations III is a great rebuild of a great series. The game is much bigger, multiplayer is here to stay, and the ship designer will keep some players occupied for hours. Is it missing a few features from previous entries? Sure, but GalCiv III is still worth your time and money.
  21. May 27, 2015
    80
    Given how complex GalCiv3's overlapping systems are, getting good at the game can become quite a daunting task, but it's worth it. Few games offer the same sense of flexibility and depth that this game has.
  22. May 17, 2015
    80
    Only a minor improvement on the last game, but still a hugely accomplished space strategy game – with an almost infinite range of customisation options.
  23. May 14, 2015
    80
    Galactic Civilizations keeps its focus right where it needs to--on excellent fundamentals. Progressive pacing makes the enormity of space amenable and paradoxically personal, while the sheer number and variety of tools and options at your disposal allow you to succeed and win if you can out-think everyone else.
  24. May 14, 2015
    80
    It innovates from prior games in the series, and is undeniably fun, but Galactic Civilizations III isn't the clear leader in a packed genre.
  25. Sep 30, 2015
    77
    After ten years one of the most important 4X comes back, but without any true innovation.
  26. PC PowerPlay
    Aug 9, 2015
    70
    It's not perfect, but it's a worthy successor to the now 20-year franchise. [Aug 2015, p.58]
  27. Aug 3, 2015
    70
    This game plays safe and gets away with it for the most part. The gigantic scale and endless possibilities make this game a charming one. Unfortunately the interface is sad and the multiplayer is deserted.
  28. Jul 1, 2015
    70
    Galactic Civilizations III is good (and I love the cutscenes which really build up the universe), it’s just not good enough to stand out in such a crowded market, particularly due to its endgame and micromanagement problems.
  29. Jun 10, 2015
    69
    It can be fun, even addictive, but the overly complicated controls and bugs prevent it from being a great game. Wait for patches.
  30. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jun 29, 2015
    67
    Endless Legend showed that even basic concepts may be reinvented. I’m not saying Stardock should plagiarize them, but it’s a proof that it can be done. Still, is such reinvention necessary for Stardock? Nope. They have a steady fan base, so GC III’s success was guaranteed. Furthermore, despite how inconsequential the changes are, it’s not exactly a bad game. But it doesn’t reach for the new stars. [Issue#199, p.80]
  31. CD-Action
    Jul 27, 2015
    60
    Galactic Civilizations III lacks the magic of its outstanding predecessor. The developers promise that it’s just a beginning, that new content is on the way, but right now you’ll be better off playing Sid Meier’s Starships. [08/2015, p.77]
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 199 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 52
  2. Negative: 16 out of 52
  1. May 18, 2015
    5
    Its a good game, but a little boring and I believe that this is due to "easy mode" economics. One of the biggest challenges in galciv2 was toIts a good game, but a little boring and I believe that this is due to "easy mode" economics. One of the biggest challenges in galciv2 was to balance production, economy, research and approval. Well in galciv3 economy is stupid easy to maintain. Its trivial to maintain positive income even with no economic improvements on planets. Further, production seems to the king of all resources in this game as you can convert production to other types resources (like money or research as you could in Galciv2) but you can increase production much more easily than the other two and you can set up production based planets almost 3-4 times as fast. Since there are so many ways to amplify production, you can easily have a planet with 2x-3x as much production than any other possible resource with their bonus buildings. As a result, my main production center almost always acts as my best research planets (same for money but I never need money in this game)... very disappointing when you consider how much longer it takes to build research planets, one would think there should be a reward for it but nope, you are better off making all production and converting to research.

    My only other gripe is the AI. It seems to me that the AI cheats in higher difficulties rather than playing by the rules. I am not sure if Galciv2 was that way but I dont like that because it cheapens a win and a loss does not really feel like a loss since I know the AI is cheating.

    Overall a good game despite the above gripes. Much of the old game is in Galciv3 but I really did not think that any of the new additions made the game any better. I think Galciv2 is a better game.
    Full Review »
  2. May 14, 2015
    9
    I’ve been Beta testing this game through steam early access for some time and find that it doesn’t disappoint. If you like epic 4x turn basedI’ve been Beta testing this game through steam early access for some time and find that it doesn’t disappoint. If you like epic 4x turn based strategy and galactic conquest this is the game for you.

    When I say epic scale the largest map size labelled “insane” has 500,000 map hexes and you can play against up to 100 AI opponents.

    They have taken Galactic Civilization 2 and enhanced all aspects of it, the ship designer that allows you to design your own ships by scaling, rotating and clipping together premade parts is awesome fun. You also add practical things like weapons, defences, drives, and special equipment.

    The game has 7 premade factions all of which have some of their own unique abilities, technologies and planetary improvements out of the box and allows you to create further custom ones.

    It also includes a campaign that follows on from the GC1 & GC2 story lines though I have to confess I prefer to play in sandbox mode.

    The game still has a few bugs and rough edges here and there but StarDock have a well-deserved reputation for patching their games with not only fixes but features and improvements for years after release aside from already planned DLC and expansions so you can’t really loose with this game.

    Unlike its predecessor this game also supports multiplayer.
    Full Review »
  3. May 23, 2015
    6
    Huge disappointment!

    The game at its current state makes me think that the game is rushed and under a poor budget. A campaign with only
    Huge disappointment!

    The game at its current state makes me think that the game is rushed and under a poor budget.

    A campaign with only 3 scenarios? Are you kidding me? It is the shortest campaign in any game I have ever played. On top of that, the campaign is dull and boring, adding little to the original story.

    The game is very unstable, many if not most players encountered blue-screen-of-death or crash-to-desktop issues from time to time.

    The game is very imbalanced. I can own everyone with a single carrier fleet on the hardest difficulty or keep producing the most overpowered ship 100 times the strength of my enemie's flagship every turn with my ridiculous manufacturing power; I could make a radar ship that reveals the whole map for me. I could make some "teleport" transport ship that is capable of bring 3 billions of my soldiers from one side of the universe to another, taking my rival's colony all in a single turn!

    Serisouly, I feel the game developers had spent little time on balancing the game because they don't even have enough time to fix the stability issue.

    In conclusion, the game is rushed and not polished at all. I suggest anyone who haven't already bought the game to wait until they fix the game or wait for a -75% price cut on Steam before buying it or just buy GalCiv 2 now because it is 100 times better than its successor.

    I would leave the game at a rating of 6 until they fix the game.
    Full Review »